Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Hill House - Mountain Retreat in the Pines

Cory B Sargent

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps11
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Cory B Sargent

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
April 12, 2015
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Hill House - Mountain Retreat in the Pines

Sleeps11
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

Ouray House Rental Photos and Description

House, 4 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10-11)

The Hill House is a beautiful mountain style home in located about 2 miles north of Ouray, CO. The location is very quiet and private but still close to town. The Hill House is over 2000 SF, sleeps 11 people and has plenty of parking, making it an ideal vacation rental home for families and large groups.

Our house has everything you need from high quality linens to a fully equipped kitchen. Our family has worked hard to make everything just perfect for your stay. We think we have succeeded in creating an atmosphere that was relaxing and homey, yet elegant and beautiful.

Ouray has an abundance of outdoor activities anytime of year including hiking, biking, fishing, rock climbing, ice climbing and jeeping. We have loved living in Ouray and hope you will enjoy our home and beautiful Ouray,Colorado.

**Floor Plan of the Hill House**

On main level: Newly remodeled chefs kitchen with stainless appliances, granite counter tops and porcelain tile floor. Spacious main living area with hardwood floors, a wood burning stove and window seats with great mountain views. Two decks, on the front and rear of the house.

On second level: Master bedroom with small deck and vanity and a queen bed. Guest room with a double bed and two twin beds (one mattress is a hide a way. Bathroom with jetted tub and guest bedroom.

Loft: A spiral staircase up to the sunny loft bedroom with a queen bed.

Ground level: Efficiency apartment w/a queen bed, full bathroom and small kitchen/living area.

Keywords: vacation rental, cabin rental, weddings, family reunion, mountain retreat, 4 bedroom, 2.5 bath, cabin, quiet, shaded, upgraded, close to town,

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Cory B Sargent (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
April 12, 2015

About Cory B Sargent

We have lived in the San Juan Mountains for nearly 8 years and have experienced many of it's adventures. We love the these mountains! We hope you enjoy Ouray and all it's beauty as much as we have. Give us a shout if you have any question about local climbing or hiking.

Cory B Sargent purchased this house in 2014

Why Cory B Sargent chose Ouray

We love that this home was close to town, but still felt very private and had access to hiking trails and a beautiful canyon.

What makes this house unique

We are about 2 miles from town but still close to hiking and jeeping trails. As well, there is rock climbing about 2 miles away as well.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps11
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.3
based on 7 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Hill House - Mountain Retreat in the Pines
average rating of 4.285714 based on 7 reviews
4

Quaint, Quiet, Clean, Cozy, Comfortable, Classy - CABIN

  • 4 of 5

Our family of 7 (kids 4-16) came for our Spring Break Vacation and stayed in the Hill House for a week. I cannot put into words how much we loved this sweet little cabin. The location was exactly what I wanted, just remote enough to be nestled in the pines with the San Juan at your backyard, and quietly placed outside the noises of town (not that there is much noise in Ouray anyhow), but close enough to town that a run to the store was an easy 5 minute trip. The interior was a nice blend of rustic, country and eclectic art gatherings from the owners trips afar (pictures in the house would testify that they are an adventurous, rock-climbing couple). This 4-story home has a nice big front porch, nice big back porch and a balcony porch attached to the master bedroom. Being 4 stories, the best shower in the house was of course in the basement apartment where the pressure was good. The kids were a little disappointed they couldn't get the DVD players to work on most of their movies, and the TV's in the bedrooms have no cable or dish, but I kind of relished the fact that they were forced to use their imaginations and spend more time outside, which they needed to do. The house had a wonderful assortment of board-games and the huge tub full of Legos kept the kids occupied for hours! The Kitchen was well-equipped with all bare essentials (including condiments, spices and baking goods). Outlaws in Ouray was by far the best eating we did all week. We visited Silverton and skied at Kendall Mountain, visited Telluride and rode the gondolas, visited Roudy out near Norwood and had a carriage ride with the team (was supposed to be a sleigh ride but the snow melted right before we arrived) and a horse ride. We also rode the Narrow Gauge railroad from Durango to Cascade Canyon. This area truly is the Switzerland of America. Just beautiful!!! Thank you Hill House!!!

  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Breckenridge, CO
5

Great Place to Stay With a Large Group

  • 5 of 5

This was a great place to stay for a few nights in Ouray during winter. There is plenty of space for 10 adults and the home has been taken care of. This is the most affordable home of this size in Ouray and was an excellent value.

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Denver, CO
5

Family Reunion in Ouray

  • 5 of 5

We had a family reunion with 50 people, and our group of 10 stayed in this cabin. Overall very good experience. PROs: Updated, in great shape, very clean, minutes from Ouray, quiet, nice decks, fun swing for kids. CONs: Only 1 full bathroom to accommodate main house (1 full down in studio apt, but not as convenient), no air cond & we had hot weather (usu. not a problem, we heard), too far to walk to town (if you need that), most neighbors live there year-round, so we had one person complain that we were loud on a weeknight out on the deck. I think we picked a wonderful place, would go there again, and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind words about our home. Glad your family enoyed their stay. Yes another full bathroom would be great, we continue to update and improve our home as the funds become available. As for the AC...wow, it must have been hot. In the 8 years we lived there I had very few days where I wanted AC. Some box fans in the windows would probably help. I'll make that happen.
Mansfield Texas
5

Great place

  • 5 of 5

We loved Hill House, located in quiet neighborhood, just outside of Ouray, cost more than a hotel stay but was a much better experience. House was clean and ready to go. Beautiful views, (photos don't do it justice). Will stay there again if I get the chance. Owners go out of their way to accommodate you. Great kitchen made me want to cook. Do yourself a favor, bypass hotel room, and rent this great house. Would buy it if I could afford it. D.C. Oct, 2012

  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Arizona
1

We paid and showed up to a dirty house with laundry all over, dog hair and cleaning supplies.

  • 1 of 5

Worst VRBO I have ever experienced. Not ready, dirty, and now a refund problem.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes. there was some communication issues w/the cleaning person and we are sorry for that, but the house was completely clean and ready by 5 pm as my staff promised. But you chose to stay somewhere else anyway....so therefore I lost a week of rental income in the high season. As well, my staff were treated quite poorly. I spoke w/several other prop. mgrs. and came to the conclusion that keeping $200 of the deposit was quite fair.
Sanger,TX
5

Great Ouray Area House

  • 5 of 5

Had a great stay at the Hill House. Plenty of room for everyone, amenities in place, very convenient to Ouray and Ridgway. A great break from the Texas Summer, Thanks.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Montrose
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Ouray Brewery
Nearest Golf
40 Miles
Telluride
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Outlaw Steak House
Car: recommended

Ouray Colorado is a great place to visit any time of year. There is an abundance of outdoor activities including hiking, rock climbing, ice climbing, back country skiing, jeeping and more. It’s the ideal place for your next family reunion, wedding or outdoor adventure.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $200 Per night

Ouray House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Low Season
Mar 1 - May 31
3 night minimum stay
$200
$1,050
$1,500
 
 
High Season
Jun 1 - Aug 31
3 night minimum stay
$300
 
 
Mid Season
Sep 1 - Feb 28
3 night minimum stay
$250
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$250
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25
Cleaning Fee $125
Tax Rate 7.0%

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Ouray House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Apartment bathroom
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
  • 2.5
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Queen size Beds (3) master bedroom, loft bedroom and apartment, Double Beds (1) guest bedroom, Twin or Single Beds (2) guest bedroom, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) in apartment
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting big game
  • hunting small game
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

$840 - $1,250 per week
3 night min stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$1,200 - $1,800 per week
3 - 7 night min stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
  • 5 BR,
  • 5 BA,
  • Sleeps 20

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote