SPACIOUS RESTORED BARN ON 700 ACRE ESTATE WITH MAGNFICENT VIEWS

John Morosani

Speaks english, french, italian
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms5
Half Baths1
Property type barn
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

John Morosani

Speaks english, french, italian
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

SPACIOUS RESTORED BARN ON 700 ACRE ESTATE WITH MAGNFICENT VIEWS

Litchfield Barn Rental Photos and Description

6 Bedrooms, 6 baths, sleeps no more than 12

Large 6000 square foot living space in restored barn. If you like open, airy loft living, this is your property in the country. 2 large master bedrooms, one with Jacuzzi, 1 smaller bedroom and 3 unique bedroom/baths each located in a converted silo. Large kitchen with professional appliances, dining area, fireplace area, living room. 600 square foot deck overlooks a 24 acre private lake. Gunite pool. The property has many trails for hiking, and there is the opportunity (under a separate arrangement) to participate in a working cattle ranch featuring grass fed beef.

Located 5 miles from the Town of Litchfield, the property is in a very private area and is surrounded by 2000 protected acres of the Waterbury Water Company. Litchfield is a short drive away and features numerous bars and restaurants, museums, nature preserves, antique shops and general sight seeing opportunities.

This is the perfect spot to go with family and friends to enjoy the country and bask in the outdoors or inside the spacious barn.

Although the barn sleeps 12 people, we are not looking to rent to a large group of unrelated people-ie a 'share' type situation or a party house. The person who is contracting to rent the property must be at least 27 years old.

The barn is located on a 700 acre estate/working farm. We raise grass fed beef, and pastured pork and poultry. For an additional fee, we can offer a farm experience depending on the season at an extra cost to be determined by the type of experience desired and the number of people involved.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible

John Morosani

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2012
Speaks english, french, italian
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms5
Half Baths1
Property type barn
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

Spacious Restored Barn on 700 acre Estate with Magnficent Views
average rating of 3.5 based on 2 reviews
business
Spacious Restored Barn on 700 acre Estate with Magnficent Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3011802
+1 860 309 6255
Litchfield Litchfield County
Newfields, New Hampshire
2

bad experience, not worth the money

  • 2 of 5
I just finished up a week long rental at this property and I felt it necessary to warn anyone looking at this rental of what you will find. I've used HomeAway successfully years and this is the first time I have had to give any rental a negative review.

Simply put, the house and all its furnishings were dirty and run down. The pictures posted don't give a good indication of that poor condition all the furniture, appliances and furnishings are in. When we arrived, we found pots and pans to be put away dirty, with grease and stains on them. All of the kitchen utensils and appliances are beat-up, rusty and dull. Everything is thrown together in random cabinets and drawers, all of which are falling apart. The faucet for the sink wasn't secured and would get water everywhere. The grill that is included was a tiny portable outdoor grill that was so caked with debris and soot that it simply wasn't sanitary.

The rest of the house is in the same dismal state. What little furniture exists is falling apart; with cracked chairs and seats. There are holes in the walls and doors, exposed wiring and sockets without cover. The staircase leading up to the top silo looks to be hastily constructed and is extremely narrow. There is a lack of outlets throughout so extension cords are run along the walls.

I called the owner to discuss these issues and his initial response was to ask me if I wanted $50 back b/c I had to "play maid". He later asked me if I wanted a refund of $1000 and when I told him that would be acceptable, he said he wasn't going to give me that.

I really don't think the pictures tell the true story of this place so I made it a point to take plenty of pictures and video.

No one needs this kind of frustration when going on vacation. For anyone considering vacation in this area, I would advise you look elsewhere.
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Craig:
Well I know you were not a happy camper, but I didn't know you were this unhappy. As far as I knew from our conversation, you had 4 issues-the pots that were dirty, the dull knives, the condition of the grill, and the light in the closet.
As you know, you claim to have cleaned the pots; so there's not much I could do about that, I sharpened the knives that I could, but you didn't mention that 2 of the 5 knives were serrated-ie- they are always sharp; I cleaned the grill, and your wife Pam said that it was "excellent" the next day, and I changed the light bulb that was out.
Our cleaning crew spends 8-10 hours after each visit to make sure the Barn is ready and clean for the next guests. That said, they don't have time to look at every pot, dish, glass or spoon that has been put away. I'm not happy that a pot was put away dirty, but I don't think it's reasonable to be expected to inspect every item, every time.
In the two years that I have been renting the Barn, I have had over 85 groups of guests stay there. Your review is the first negative review, and while I take your concerns seriously, I don't think what you are saying remotely reflects on the condition that I present the Barn in week in week out, and it would appear that other guests have felt the same way.
When you informed me of the issues, I asked you what I could do to make it up to you, above and beyond taking care of the issues you mentioned. You did not have a response. When I offered you $50 to compensate you for the time it took you to clean the pans, it wasn't sufficient. In the end, I gave your wife $60 worth of our award winning grass fed beef, and while she seemed to appreciate it, I think in your case, the gesture fell on deaf ears.
I am not happy to have guests go away unhappy, but short of refunding you your entire rent, I don't know what I could have done to make you a satisfied customer.
John
business
Spacious Restored Barn on 700 acre Estate with Magnficent Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3011802
+1 860 309 6255
Litchfield Litchfield County
5

Relaxing weekend retreat

  • 5 of 5
I stayed at the Barn over the recent July 4th weekend with my wife and 3 kids - all of us had a great time, enjoying the fantastic views of the sunset from the back porch, as well as the pool. The house has a great open feel to it and the owners couldn't have been nicer. This house would be good for a larger group as well. The house is ideally located near everything - restaurants, markets, golf, horseback riding, etc, and was only 90 minutes from New York. I would definitely recommend staying here!
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Bradley International
Nearest Ferry
42 Miles
Bridgeport/ ort Jefferson
Nearest Train
12 Miles
Waterbury
Nearest Motorway
6 Miles
Route 8
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Nystrom's Pond
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
at the Corner
Nearest Ski
15 Miles
Mohawk Mountain
Nearest Golf
7 Miles
Stony Brook Golf Course
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
West Street Grill

Litchfield, CT was an important, historically significant Colonial town, once the 2nd biggest in Connecticut. Beautiful Colonial houses line North and South Streets. Local activities include walks/mountain bike rides in the 3000 acre White Memorial Foundation land as well as informative visits to the Litchfield Historical Society.

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Litchfield Barn Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
Jun 14 2014 - Sep 2 2014
7 night minimum stay
$3,125
$10,500
 
 
Early Fall
Sep 3 2014 - Oct 21 2014
2 night minimum stay
$750
From
$600
Fri,Sat
$2,500
$6,000
 
 
Late Fall
Oct 22 2014 - Dec 31 2014
2 night minimum stay
$650
From
$600
Fri,Sat
$2,250
$4,500
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 22 2014 - Nov 29 2014
8 night minimum stay
$2,250
Flat fee
 
 
Christmas
Dec 23 2014 - Dec 30 2014
8 night minimum stay
$2,250
Flat fee
 
 
New Year's
Dec 31 2014 - Jan 4 2015
5 night minimum stay
$1,600
Flat fee
 
 
MLK weekend
Jan 16 2015 - Jan 19 2015
4 night minimum stay
$1,500
Flat fee
 
 
President's Weekend
Feb 13 2015 - Feb 16 2015
4 night minimum stay
$1,500
Flat fee
 
 
Spring
Apr 1 2015 - May 21 2015
2 night minimum stay
$650
From
$600
Fri,Sat
$1,900
$6,000
 
 
Memorial Day thru mid June
May 22 2015 - Jun 11 2015
2 night minimum stay
$750
From
$750
Fri,Sat
$2,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$600
From
$300
Fri,Sat
$2,500
$4,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $150
Property Damage Protection $89
Notes We are open to the idea of special events-weddings, anniversaries, special birthdays. We do not do prom parties or events that are predominately for people under the age of 21. The person who actually rents the property needs to be at least 27 years old. If your event will include more than 20 people (the Barn only sleeps 12), you will need to contact us to go over event pricing.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Litchfield Barn Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • barn
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 6000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Farm Holidays
General:
  • Garage ...
  • Internet
  • Parking ...
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Iron & Board
  • Firewood
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Toilet Paper
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Towels Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Activities Guide
  • Free Long Distance
  • Free Local Calls
Kitchen:
  • Stove ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Lobster Pot
  • Pantry Items
  • Stove
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Oven
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Skylight
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower , Skylight
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 6 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master Bedroom
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , Master Bedroom 2
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Guest Room
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , Upper Silo
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single , Middle Silo
    Bedroom 6 - 2 twin/ single , Bottom Silo
  • Linens and towels are included. Master Baedroom 1, Master Bedroom 2, Guest Room, and Upper Silo have airconditioners.
Entertainment:
  • Stereo ...
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Books
  • Piano
Outside:
  • Yard
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Deck Furniture
  • Wood Deck
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Whirlpool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • pond
  • churches
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
Notes:
We will consider the possibility of hosting small indoor events with 50 or fewer people attending. We will not host outdoor weddings or parties. Please contact us with details of your plans and we will let you know if the site would be appropriate. The property is located on a 700 acre working farm where grass fed Angus are raised along with pigs and chickens. For an additional fee we can arrange you to work with the farmers as they move the grass fed herd from pasture to pasture and help feed the pigs and chickens.
Email Owner Contact Me