Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

SPACIOUS RESTORED BARN ON 700 ACRE ESTATE WITH MAGNFICENT VIEWS

John Morosani

Advertiser since: 2012
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, french, italian
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms6
Property type barn
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

John Morosani

Advertiser since: 2012
Speaks: english, french, italian
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 20, 2014
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

SPACIOUS RESTORED BARN ON 700 ACRE ESTATE WITH MAGNFICENT VIEWS

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms6
Property type barn
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

Litchfield Barn Rental Photos and Description

6 Bedrooms, 6 baths, sleeps no more than 12

Large 6000 square foot living space in restored barn. If you like open, airy loft living, this is your property in the country. 2 large master bedrooms, one with Jacuzzi, 1 smaller bedroom and 3 unique bedroom/baths each located in a converted silo. Large kitchen with professional appliances, dining area, fireplace area, living room. 600 square foot deck overlooks a 24 acre private lake. Gunite pool. The property has many trails for hiking, and there is the opportunity (under a separate arrangement) to participate in a working cattle ranch featuring grass fed beef.

Located 5 miles from the Town of Litchfield, the property is in a very private area and is surrounded by 2000 protected acres of the Waterbury Water Company. Litchfield is a short drive away and features numerous bars and restaurants, museums, nature preserves, antique shops and general sight seeing opportunities.

This is the perfect spot to go with family and friends to enjoy the country and bask in the outdoors or inside the spacious barn.

Although the barn sleeps 12 people, we are not looking to rent to a large group of unrelated people-ie a 'share' type situation or a party house. The person who is contracting to rent the property must be at least 27 years old.

The barn is located on a 700 acre estate/working farm. We raise grass fed beef, and pastured pork and poultry. For an additional fee, we can offer a farm experience depending on the season at an extra cost to be determined by the type of experience desired and the number of people involved.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
John Morosani (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2012
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, french, italian
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 20, 2014

Why HomeAway

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms6
Property type barn
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.3
based on 7 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Spacious Restored Barn on 700 acre Estate with Magnficent Views
average rating of 4.285714 based on 7 reviews
business
Spacious Restored Barn on 700 acre Estate with Magnficent Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3011802
+1 -860 309 6255
Litchfield Litchfield County
5

Delightful!

  • 5 of 5
A group of ten of us went up and had a terrific time. There is so much space for everyone to spread out, enjoying the deck and huge living room. We enjoyed walking around the pond and taking the canoe out for a glide. The bedrooms did the job, and the check in/check out procedures were very easy.
It was a surprisingly hot September weekend and we would have enjoyed taking a dip, but the pool filtration system was not working which was too bad. The sunsets were breathtaking - a perfect spot place to relax, enjoy good wine and good friends!
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: the pool filtration was working, it's just that we lower the times it's on as we get into September. The water was perfectly OK for swimming.
But in any case, I'm glad you enjoyed yourselves. Hope to see you again.
John
business
Spacious Restored Barn on 700 acre Estate with Magnficent Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3011802
+1 -860 309 6255
Litchfield Litchfield County
WI
4

Relaxing and Spacious

  • 4 of 5
We just returned from a week in CT for my son's wedding. 12 of us stayed in the rental property. We found it to be a bit rustic (which made it comfortable for us). The living room and dining room(s) were extra spacious - allowing us to spread out and enjoy ourselves. We made use of the fireplace several times which was wonderful!! Just wish the weather had been a bit warmer so that we could have enjoyed the pool!!
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Spacious Restored Barn on 700 acre Estate with Magnficent Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3011802
+1 -860 309 6255
Litchfield Litchfield County
Goshen CT
4

New England Charm

  • 4 of 5
We were concerned after reading a negative review after we had already booked the house to come together with old friends from out of state. However, the house was a good match for us. What the photos didn't truly show is the expansiveness and comfort of the main floor... especially the view. We worked well in the kitchen and dining together was quite roomy, making it a pleasant time for us chatting and catching up. It was close to the town of Litchfield where we took in the sites and New England charm. The weather was warm and we enjoyed sitting on the deck and being pool side.
We wished we could have stayed longer.
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review. John
business
Spacious Restored Barn on 700 acre Estate with Magnficent Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3011802
+1 -860 309 6255
Litchfield Litchfield County
5

Our best rental for a week end out of New York

  • 5 of 5
This is our fifth week end spent at the Barn in two years. We are a large group of friends with kids and this is the perfect place for us. The Barn is very spacious and full of charm. The outdoor terrace is perfect for long lunches and the living room/ dining room is so huge that everyone has his own space. The owner is very accommodating and always ensures that we are spending a good time. It is a pleasure to spend a week end there and will continue to do so several times a year. Last but not least, the owner owns a beef cattle and the meat is excellent!
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Maybe the most fun being a host is having returning guests, especially ones who are as easy to host as Romane and friends,
business
Spacious Restored Barn on 700 acre Estate with Magnficent Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3011802
+1 -860 309 6255
Litchfield Litchfield County
5

Wedding Perfection!

  • 5 of 5
Fantastic week-long stay with a very accommodating owner! We had our wedding here with about 100 or so guests in attendance and the property was picture perfect. We were able to sleep 11 guests (our wedding party) and had ample storage for food/decorations/refrigerator truck in the garage. The property was clean, there was TONS of room, and the main living area was very spacious. The deck was beautiful and we even had a local yoga instructor stop by the property for morning yoga facing the lake.
We used the back yard for a tented reception, while hosting cocktail hour around the pool and remaining yard. We were even able to hold our ceremony under two birch trees in the back yard area. People were easily able to get/move around.
The owner was incredibly helpful with our event, thinking of considerations that the groom and I may had overlooked. The kitchen was also large enough for us to have our chef prepare the wedding meal! Plenty of restaurants and groceries nearby as well. (We managed to go to several wineries and a day spa within 10 minutes of property). Again- I can't say enough good things about this place. Quite, clean, spacious, GORGEOUS views, and wonderful owner. We are already looking forward to our next trip back for an anniversary celebration.
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're glad you enjoyed the place, and thank you for leaving it in broom clean condition. Come again for your anniversary(ies).

John
business
Spacious Restored Barn on 700 acre Estate with Magnficent Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3011802
+1 -860 309 6255
Litchfield Litchfield County
Newfields, New Hampshire
2

bad experience, not worth the money

  • 2 of 5
I just finished up a week long rental at this property and I felt it necessary to warn anyone looking at this rental of what you will find. I've used HomeAway successfully years and this is the first time I have had to give any rental a negative review.

Simply put, the house and all its furnishings were dirty and run down. The pictures posted don't give a good indication of that poor condition all the furniture, appliances and furnishings are in. When we arrived, we found pots and pans to be put away dirty, with grease and stains on them. All of the kitchen utensils and appliances are beat-up, rusty and dull. Everything is thrown together in random cabinets and drawers, all of which are falling apart. The faucet for the sink wasn't secured and would get water everywhere. The grill that is included was a tiny portable outdoor grill that was so caked with debris and soot that it simply wasn't sanitary.

The rest of the house is in the same dismal state. What little furniture exists is falling apart; with cracked chairs and seats. There are holes in the walls and doors, exposed wiring and sockets without cover. The staircase leading up to the top silo looks to be hastily constructed and is extremely narrow. There is a lack of outlets throughout so extension cords are run along the walls.

I called the owner to discuss these issues and his initial response was to ask me if I wanted $50 back b/c I had to "play maid". He later asked me if I wanted a refund of $1000 and when I told him that would be acceptable, he said he wasn't going to give me that.

I really don't think the pictures tell the true story of this place so I made it a point to take plenty of pictures and video.

No one needs this kind of frustration when going on vacation. For anyone considering vacation in this area, I would advise you look elsewhere.
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Craig:
Well I know you were not a happy camper, but I didn't know you were this unhappy. As far as I knew from our conversation, you had 4 issues-the pots that were dirty, the dull knives, the condition of the grill, and the light in the closet. You did not tell me of any of your concerns until 2 days after you checked in, by which time you claim that you had already cleaned the dirty pots. I sharpened the knives that I could, but you didn't mention that 2 of the 5 knives were serrated-ie- they are always sharp; I cleaned the grill, and your wife Pam said that it was "excellent" the next day, and I changed the light bulb that was out.
Our cleaning crew spends 8-10 hours after each visit to make sure the Barn is ready and clean for the next guests. That said, they don't have time to look at every pot, dish, glass or spoon that has been put away. I'm not happy that a pot was put away dirty, but I don't think it's reasonable to be expected to inspect every item, every time.
In the two years that I have been renting the Barn, I have had over 85 groups of guests stay there. Your review is the first negative review, and while I take your concerns seriously, I don't think what you are saying remotely reflects on the condition that I present the Barn in week in week out, and it would appear that other guests have felt the same way.
When you called to complain, you mentioned four items, and all four I dealt with. You never complained about furniture, wiring, holes in walls. As for the staircase to the top floor, it as been there for 43 years, and this is the first complaint I have ever heard. The comment we usually get is how neat it is to have the silos converted into bed/bathrooms.
When you informed me of the issues, I asked you what I could do to make it up to you, above and beyond taking care of the issues you mentioned. You did not have a response. When I offered you $50 to compensate you for the time it took you to clean the pans, it wasn't sufficient. I never offered you $1,000. In the end, I gave your wife $60 worth of our award winning grass fed beef for your troubles, and while she seemed to appreciate it, I think in your case, the gesture fell on deaf ears.
Short of refunding you your entire rent, I don't know what I could have done to make you a satisfied customer. That said, I am now going to solicit reviews from future guests. Let's see what others say going forward.
John

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Bradley International
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
at the Corner
Nearest Ferry
42 Miles
Bridgeport/ ort Jefferson
Nearest Golf
7 Miles
Stony Brook Golf Course
Nearest Train
12 Miles
Waterbury
Nearest Motorway
6 Miles
Route 8
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
West Street Grill
Nearest Ski
15 Miles
Mohawk Mountain
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Nystrom's Pond

Litchfield, CT was an important, historically significant Colonial town, once the 2nd biggest in Connecticut. Beautiful Colonial houses line North and South Streets. Local activities include walks/mountain bike rides in the 3000 acre White Memorial Foundation land as well as informative visits to the Litchfield Historical Society.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $446 Per night

Litchfield Barn Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Late Fall
Oct 22 2014 - Dec 31 2014
2 night minimum stay
$650
From
$650
Fri,Sat
$2,250
$4,500
 
 
Christmas
Dec 23 2014 - Dec 24 2014
2 night minimum stay
$2,250
Flat fee
 
 
New Year's
Dec 30 2014 - Jan 1 2015
3 night minimum stay
$2,250
Flat fee
 
 
MLK weekend
Jan 16 2015 - Jan 18 2015
3 night minimum stay
$1,500
Flat fee
 
 
President's Weekend
Feb 13 2015 - Feb 15 2015
3 night minimum stay
$1,500
Flat fee
 
 
Spring
Apr 1 2015 - May 21 2015
2 night minimum stay
$650
From
$600
Fri,Sat
$1,900
$6,000
 
 
Memorial Day thru mid June
May 22 2015 - Jun 11 2015
2 night minimum stay
$750
From
$750
Fri,Sat
$2,500
 
 
Summer
Jun 19 2015 - Sep 7 2015
7 night minimum stay
$3,125
$10,500
 
 
Early Fall
Sep 8 2015 - Oct 19 2015
2 night minimum stay
$750
$2,500
$6,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$1,500
From
$750
Fri,Sat
$2,500
$4,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $89
Pet Fee $150
Notes We are open to the idea of special events-weddings, anniversaries, special birthdays. We do not do prom parties or events that are predominately for people under the age of 21. The person who actually rents the property needs to be at least 27 years old. If your event will include more than 20 people (the Barn only sleeps 12), you will need to contact us to go over event pricing.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Litchfield Barn Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • barn
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 6000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Farm Holidays
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Free Local Calls
  • Free Long Distance
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 6 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Skylight
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower , Skylight
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 6 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master Bedroom
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , Master Bedroom 2
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Guest Room
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , Upper Silo
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single , Middle Silo
    Bedroom 6 - 2 twin/ single , Bottom Silo
  • Linens and towels are included. Master Baedroom 1, Master Bedroom 2, Guest Room, and Upper Silo have airconditioners.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Piano
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck Furniture
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Wood Deck
  • Yard
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Jacuzzi
  • Private Pool ...
  • Whirlpool
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • museums
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
Notes:
We will consider the possibility of hosting small indoor events with 50 or fewer people attending. We will not host outdoor weddings or parties. Please contact us with details of your plans and we will let you know if the site would be appropriate. The property is located on a 700 acre working farm where grass fed Angus are raised along with pigs and chickens. For an additional fee we can arrange you to work with the farmers as they move the grass fed herd from pasture to pasture and help feed the pigs and chickens.

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote