|Minimum Stay||2 nights|
Looking for a get-away? Come to the Donaldson's Bar-D on Indian Lake in Manistique, MI for a great time. Manistique is a smaller town in the U.P., just 1.5 hours west of the Mackinaw Bridge.
The cabin is a great place for family and friends to vacation, with plenty to do and see. The lake is fairly sandy, (not mucky) so it makes wading in the shallow water inviting. There is also some fishing to be done for Walleye, Perch and Pike. Just be careful, there's a large rock pile on the north end! Other endless lake activities include: jet-skiing, waterskiing, tubing, kayaking, swimming, etc.
Lake Michigan is also just a few miles away if you feel like exploring the rest of Manistique.
*Ask us about our dock and where to launch your watercraft!
Besides aquatic activities, there's a huge front lawn to host outdoor activities like football and baseball and plenty of trails to take a walk or run.
-2 queen beds (Brand new mattresses!)
-1 w/bunk bed
-BRING OWN LINENS AND PILLOWS
3 Large couches
-1 w/pull out queen bed
-2 large enough to sleep on
-Basic cooking accoutrements
-Electric Stove / Oven
1 Full Bathroom
-13' VHS playing TV
-Could hook up portable DVD player
- plenty of room for card playing
-Some patio furniture
Let me start by saying my vacation was good. When we arrived at the cottage it was left exactly as description stated. Unfortunately we started our vacation with my son being stung 6 times by bee's due to a football sized bee hive in the overhang above the side door that was not cared for. Once we established the side door and surrounding area were no longer an access point to the cottage, we just stayed away. The property of the cottage was absolutely beautiful. However the trees and bushes were overgrown taking away the view of a beautiful lake. The swimming was great and the water is very accessible for kids and all ages, sandy bottom. However the dock was not properly built and very unstable/unsafe. The dock size was approximately 2-1/2' by 10' long, there was nowhere to sit comfortably directly near the water to watch young kids. You can sit at the top of the hill at the top of the stairs and a short path to watch.
The Cottage???? This cottage simply served the purpose for the week. Day 1 we spent 3 hours washing splattered bugs from the walls, washing floors and in general cleaning so we could just feel somewhat comfortable. It appeared to just be poorly surface cleaned prior to our arrival. We moved the couch over 6 inches to give a little more room at the door way and it looked like a dog lived there for months is all I am saying. I also read about bed bugs in previous reviews. The owner replied the beds were bought within the last couple of years. NOT TRUE! maybe 1 bed was newer. The others were gross and stained and old. We did not get any medially diagnosed bed bug bites that we were aware of. In the 1 bedroom the door less closet were full of crap and junk. TV's are not functional either. The deal breaker for me is the washer and dryer (unhooked) and dishwasher was marked not working "BROKEN". i would rather have been told the truth. Propane and hydro can get expensive I get it. Fortunately there is a laundry mat less than 10 minutes away. Shower is good for 1 shower every 2 hours. If you spread your showers and keep short you will be okay there.
ENOUGH with the criticisms. The Lake, The Property, The surrounding Area is great. There is a ton of things to do from 5 minutes to within a 1 hour drive of the cottage.
I do ask you to take this view and opinion seriously if you are considering. I neglected to believe on a previous review and they were right on.
The house was convenient for us because it was close to my sister's house where we were having a family reunion. The house it self was a little run down, not bad for a cabin in the woods. The house was dirty there were cobb webs all over the house and dead bugs mashed on walls and ceilings, there was black mold on the wall next to the toilet, paint chipping in all the rooms. The beds were very uncomfortable, the bedrooms were small and had no where to put luggage. The living area was a good size two good tables. The walk way to the dock was over groan with weeds and the dock was very small. The sign out front was hard to see because the weeds were so high and the sign itself was dark had to put a balloon on sign so we could find it at night then someone took it off. Could really use some updating, a little paint and soap and water plus ground maintenance would go a long way. Was not worth $125.00 a night. The owner was very helpful with e-mails and the dates that I wanted to stay, but I am guessing they are not close to over see the property. Patty G.
Cabin has an open, comfortable floor plan. Bedrooms aren't large but afford good privacy. Accommodations were clean & reasonably well kept up. Owner stopped over in person to be sure "all was well." It was ideal for our party (6 adults and an infant). Schedule permitting, we would happily stay there again. Setting is absolutely beautiful!
needs some minor repairs but over all a very nice place to stay. I hope to stay there again. Thank You!!!
We had a wonderful time at the cottage,excellent location,just beautiful view on the lake and the woods around the house. I would definitely go again,would however prefer if there is a functioning washer/dryer/dishwasher. Also with such a beautiful landscape it was too bad that there is no functional lawn/patio furniture to enjoy spending time outside. The only 2 seats outside have damaged cushions that get soaking wet in the rain so we were unable to use them. These 2 negatives were the only reason I gave it 4 stars,but overall a wonderful place and very friendly and helpful owner/manager
This cabin has a spacious layout and great potential. Trying to accommodate more than six people with one bathroom, however, is not very easy. I would hope that a good cleaning team could bring it into better shape between rentals. These were our observations and findings:
1) A dangerous hornet nest needs to be removed from the base of the birch tree in front of the cabin.
2) The windows, window casings, and skylights (which bring in wonderful light) need to be cleaned--at least at the beginning of the season--and some in the porch area are stuck or the handles have been broken. We had to fix the handle on the front door as best we could before it could be closed or locked.
3) The cords on the ceiling fans should be changed out for chains and labeled as to which one is for the lights or the fan. We were unable to turn on the lights on the fan by the bedroom because the string cord had been broken off.
4) Much of the furniture and the table lamps were charming, but the lamp with the basket weave base in the living room has a cord that could start a fire.
5) There was no propane fuel left in the tank for the outside gas grill.
6) The wash machine and dryer had a note that they weren't working but fortunately, we were able to use the dryer.
7) New shades are greatly needed in the front bedroom.
8) Some more organizers are needed in the drawers with the silverware, cutting knives, and cooking utensils. Everything was there (some scissors would have been nice, however) but we found everything thrown together.
9) Some better frying pans and pots are very much needed.
10) I have already informed the manager, that I came home with a bad case of bedbug bites. This takes a lot of time and energy to eradicate from ones clothing and luggage and a long course of antihistamines and ointments to cure. I think all the quilts and carpets should be washed more than once throughout the rental season and the couches sprayed so that this doesn't spread to other renters and ruin the reputation of this otherwise very desirable cabin.
We did like the manager very much and we realize that it's hard to manage from a distance. Perhaps over the years, a list of preferred renters will become possible.
-The Big Spring, also known as Kitch-iti-Kippi, is a sight you won't want to miss, just 4 miles from cabin.
-Depending on which direction you're coming from, you could hop on the ferry at the Mackinaw Bridge to visit Mackinaw Island (2 hours from cabin).
-Pictured Rocks, Tahquamenon Falls, and Chappel Beach make great day trips (no more than 2 hours away).
-Fayette Historic Townsite in Garden, MI (less than an hour away).
-Kewadin Cascino (15 min).
-Thompson State Fish Hatchery (5 min.).
|Rate Period||Nightly||Weekend Night||Weekly||Monthly||Event|
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
- $125, discounts are sometimes given for longer stays.
-If the cancellation is 30 or more days from the reservation date, the deposit will be returned, less a $50.00 handling fee.
Payment is usually accepted in the quoted currency (USD) unless the currency and the amount is specifically agreed in advance with the owner / advertiser.