Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Benefit from Fall Rates for Your Stay at Beautiful Burt Lake Home


Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Owner


Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
May 10, 2014
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Benefit from Fall Rates for Your Stay at Beautiful Burt Lake Home

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


Burt Lake House Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedroom, 2 Bath, Easily sleeps 6 adults (2 Q beds, 1 Full)

Cedarset is a family home in quiet, upscale rural neighborhood. Cedarset is on the east side of the lake so you'll have spectacular evening sunset views across the lake fall, winter and summer. The lake makes possible a full range of all-season activities. Summer offers cool breezes and a lake that varies from smooth summer waterskiing weather to white-capped rollers providing hours of swimming or sailing fun. Lots of colorful nature to watch in quiet fall and spring seasons. Take quiet walks through sparkling, snow covered wooded trails, or enjoy bright winter days of snowmobiling and cross country skiing right from home. Nearby Nubs Nob & Boyne Highlands offer downhill skiing in winter. Golf opportunities abound in this area of Michigan too. Perennial gardens, natural wooded areas, two large covered porches (one facing the lake and one the entrance) and a paved patio / barbecue area ensure beautiful, comfortable places for relaxing and enjoying the views year-round, with satellite television and whole house sound system to enhance its natural setting.

Please refer to Amentities for detailed descriptions of specific house areas.

Travel Times and Provisions:: Cedarset is about 8 hour drive from Chicago and a 4 hour drive from Detroit. Major carriers fly in and out of the Pellston Airport (Emmet County Regional) several times daily and the airport is only a 30- minute drive along scenic roads to Cedarset.

No required long drive from expressways or the airport. Once you're there…you're there!

Cedarset is conveniently accessible but located in a quiet rural area blessed with abundant forests and crystalline, spring-fed streams, rivers and lakes. It is an easy 5 minute drive from N/S Interstate expressway I-75, so once you exit and drive into the woods and beyond the noise of the freeway you can start to relax, enjoy the lake and your vacation. Within a 10- minute drive are restaurants, gas, marinas, equipment rental facilities and groceries so you will have no worries about finding supplies and you can spend your time the way you really want to, enjoying yourself.

Burt Lake and Indian River: With crystal clear water and sand bottom, Burt Lake is the 4th largest inland lake in Michigan and is an all-sports lake. It is so big that even heavy holiday boat traffic seems light. The safe gentle slope of the sandy lake floor is perfect for games and splashing around by the dock. Burt Lake is central to the “Inland Waterway,' a system of lakes and rivers used to travel all the way through to the Great Lakes. You can even travel to Mackinac Island in about 6 hours in your own boat from our shore.

Indian River has most of the grocery, boat and supplies you may need, great tourist stores for souvenir shopping and an excellent selection of restaurants and candy/ice cream shops. In town, the Sturgeon River forms an uncommon natural loop around the town with the Indian River so it is possible to tube or canoe out of town then back into town on the rivers. For those looking for nightlife or good food several nearby restaurants and bars offer great food, and live entertainment

Region: Cheboygan: (20mins away)

More of what Indian River has to offer plus a large classic auditorium-style movie theater with multiple movie options and periodic live performance events at the Cheboygan Opera House as well as local art and other festive live events.

Mackinaw City: (20mins away)

At the top of Michigan’s Lower Peninsula, home to the Mackinaw Bridge--Gateway to Michigan’s rugged Upper Peninsula. Mackinaw also offers wonderful shopping and entertainment opportunities plus ferries to Mackinac Island, a beautiful old fashioned island town with only bikes and horse drawn carriages as primary transportation (also where the movie Somewhere in Time was filmed) .

Golf: Local courses within 10 to 20 minutes from home. Boyne Highlands and Nub’s Nob (both about 30 minutes away) and other local courses offer a beautiful opportunity to golf Northern Michigan's top-notch courses.

Petoskey: (30-40mins away)

A classy little town with a gas lamp district, a full range of shopping experiences, art galleries and fine dining.

30mins or less:

· The Mackinaw Bridge

· Keewadin Casino

· ferry to Mackinac Island

Within 10 minutes:

· Cross in the Woods

· Michigan Rails-to-Trails (groomed snowmobile trails)

More Details
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Linda (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
May 10, 2014

About Linda

We are pleased to share our beautiful lake home & Northern Michigan culture since we’ve had to relocate for my job serving vets. Guests can enjoy a quiet nature experience and experience the feeling of having their own lake home during their stay.

Why Linda chose Burt Lake

We want our guests to have a good time, have fun, and leave refreshed and ready to face the world with a joy-filled heart. Our home is a great place for family bonding and building memories. We intend that each new guest can enjoy the same well-maintained home and grounds as previous guests. We highly value guest relations and welcome back old friends, yet we also can understand some folks like the variety of changing accommodations year to year. Blessed by its natural setting, but still with the civilized improvements and amenities that come within a developed area, our home can provide that special retreat we all need from time to time.

What makes this house unique

Burt Lake is one of the largest natural spring fed lakes in Michigan, waiting a few steps from your front porch for recreation or quiet enjoyment. Our home, with its lawns and gardens, is at the end of small subdivision so children can play safely. Paved streets permit easy biking or you can take quiet walks strolling through woods and watching deer and other animals in the area's natural setting. Whether watching birds, sunsets or storms, you have a front row seat to nature from your family room.

Guestbook comments from the owner


We have loved staying at your place the past few summers. The place is always clean and neat, comfortable with the AC, and the bath/shower in both areas is EXCELLENT! … the furniture is very clean and confortable - especially the beds! We have found everything we need waiting for us when we arrive. …We have stayed in several different places over the past decade or so and the fact that we have returned to yours speaks for itself. Count us in for 2012.

My best,
Aug 2011
  • 1 of 2

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 4 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Benefit from Fall Rates for Your Stay at Beautiful Burt Lake Home
average rating of 2.5 based on 6 reviews
Birmingham, MI

Beautiful place with reservations

  • 3 of 5

The property was beautiful on a dead-end street with hardly any traffic. Great for morning walks. You can't beat the sunset views. The owner graciously let us bring our dog if it stayed outside the cottage which we did. We also added a couple of days to the end to enjoy the Labor Day weekend. I would have given a 5 star rating, however, the owner has kept our deposit after numerous times of our writing and contacting her, although she said she would return it. She seemed like a reasonable person, so I am puzzled. A recliner chair was broken when we got there - when you recline it is dangerously all the way to the max. Also, when cooking on the Jen-Aire grill in the home hamburgers the first night, it set all the smoke alarms off and they wouldn't stop. No more cooking on THAT grill! This is our first negative experience with an owner on VRBO/HomeAway.

  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: HomeAway

Beautiful get away.

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay. The water view and sunsets were beautiful. The kiddos had a great time. Our family enjoyed the quite seclusion, trails, ducks and deer, fresh air and even the quaint nearby town for a little shopping and nice restaurants. We haven't had such a great time at such a beautiful place in a long time. Thank you for sharing your home with us. We will be back next year!

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind review. We receive so many positive comments from folks but rarely do they take the time to leave the positive review. It seems like the only ones to leave reviews are people we have had problems with, so we really appreciate the kind review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. There's no place I'd rather be than at our home on Burt Lake but because of recent economic hardships I needed to go back to work. It makes my heart happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time at our home that we love so much. Sincerely, Linda C.

Not planning a return visit

  • 1 of 5

Although this property is very nice in many repects, it is becoming apparent that the owner lives out of state and is not keeping up with things. The owner was very particular about her expectations of renters, but upon arrival we found several problems. The shower in the second bath was not functional, the dock was unsound and unusable for any purpose and a safety hazzard, as were both advertised boat lifts. The mooring buoy had a chain which was so worn that it broke, which nearly resulted in extensive damage to an award winning classic boat. The seat on the couch was torn and an extensive wasp nest on an exterior wall posed a constant hazard. She forgot to mention that the the property nextdoor was an active construction site with dust and noise. The property was left by us in as good if not better condition than when we arrrived. We attempted to take care of the wasps. To top things off our security deposit was never returned despite multiple attempts to contect her. Her only response was "I'm on it this weekend" (that was over 2 months ago). We tried to be patient and give her more time that the promised 2 weeks. It has been 4 months. It is too bad but we certainly will not be back. Renters beware!

  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Pleased to share our beautiful lake home & Northern Michigan culture since we’ve had to relocate for my job serving vets. Hope guests accept the nature experience for what it is & love the feeling of having their own lake home during their stay. While away, I rely on local resources nearby to help them. We deal with same issues all homes have. Guests agree to let me know immediately so fixes can begin. Sadly, some block our goal to maintain our home well from one guest to the next, failing to report issues when they occur, care for home as agreed, or ask questions even if unfamiliar with home or lake. This causes problems for us & costs more to fix. Short annual visit lets me inspect/ ready our home for guests. Some occasional complaints addressed below. Immediate steps to correct each of these would have occurred during their stay if only we’d been told: //We love to return all deposits in a timely manner; means each new guest is able to enjoy the same well-maintained home as previous guests. Issue reviews delay returns (contract breaches, damage & loss). We highly value guest relations; despite losses, we returned all guest deposits to date in full. //Most plumbing issues unfounded; corrected low pressure in 1 shower head & minor toilet rocking. //We regret installer delays made me miss 2012 dock install; poor installation left dock vulnerable to unusually strong storms, but several fixes kept it safe. During my 2013 visit, I confirmed new installers upgraded our dock to be sturdy, safe, & reliable. //Lifts help to buffer dock in winds & storms. Improper use hampers complimentary use by boat owners who know how to use lifts. We must know when lifts are not working well. Courtesy tie-off buoy STILL must not be used during heavy wave action & overnight use even with its new chain. //Unaware of full extent of neighbor’s 2012 home project until end of year complaint. Construction complete. //Reupholstered all seats in Fam. Rm. couch to correct 1 unreported huge tear in 1seat. //Birds eat bugs from woods. Monthly pest service helps to rid most pests/ removes wasp nests & spider webs on/near the house. If alerted, these experts handle new problems (ants, wasps). Mom’s protective if her nest is by a door; she’ll startle folks to pull them from her babies. Please share home with them; use different door if a problem. Gulls, ducks, geese only come close if fed, so don’t feed or welcome them! Broom & lake water fix messes.
Chelsea, MI

Would not rent again

  • 1 of 5

Beautiful home and property, but 6 weeks later, still have not received security deposit, after several calls and emails. Smoke alarms all went off in the middle of the night, with half the house locked up "off-limits" so could not tell if the place was on fire or a false alarm. No compensation offered except to pay for a hotel if we wanted to leave a day early. Unorganized and unprofessional owner.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have done everything we could for this customer. We rented to them for a considerably reduced rate because they found a loophole in our listing and we felt we had a moral obligation to honor it (they got the cheapest winter rate possible in the middle of our peak summer holiday season). The contract they signed said that we would hold the security deposit for at least a week after their stay ended. This was only four weeks ago and the security deposit and a credit for their inconvenience has been sent back to them. The whole-house fire alarm system had one low battery chirp going off every 2 minutes in a remote part of the house; this is obviously different than a fire alarm going off. When we were informed of the problem we apologized profusely and sent maintenance out immediately to fix the problem. We received a call at 10pm that night and were told that the fire alarm was "going off" (chirping) again, that they had contacted their attorney and wanted to climb through a window into the unfinished top floor of our home to fix it themselves. We asked them not to do that and offered to send maintenance over again to ensure the problem was fixed. We were then told not to send anyone over, the doors were locked and they would not be let in. We offered compensation for the night and got hung up on but we sent it with the security deposit anyway. We will bend over backwards for all of the folks that stay at Cedarset because we love to share our home, but it is not a discount motel with a caretaker on the premises and that is apparently what these folks wanted. These folks were only the second guests to stay at Cedarset since we opened our doors to the public and we are disappointed that they were not happy with their stay. We would like to assure our future guests that we will do everything we can to ensure they have a relaxing and enjoyable stay..


Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Pellston Airport (Emmet County Regional)
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Hoppies (N), Breakers Bar (E), many others (S)
Nearest Ferry
25 Miles
To Mackinac Island fr Mackinaw City and St. Ignace
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Indian River Golf Club, Boyne Highlands,Nub’s Nob
Nearest Train
60 Miles
Fall and winter train trips to Agawa Canyon
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
I-75 and Topinabee Exit (Exit 313)
Nearest Restaurant
8 Miles
Vivio's - Rustic Pizza
Nearest Ski
20 Miles
Boyne Highlands and Nub’s Nob
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Our lakefront; full sand @ DeVore & State Park
Car: recommended

Burt Lake, one of the largest spring-fed inland lakes in Michigan, offers crystal clear water and a firm sand bottom . As an all-sports lake, so big that even heavy holiday boat traffic seems light, whether your thing is boating, water sports or fishing, you will be able find the space you need to do what you like. The safe gentle slope of the lake floor from waist deep water at the dock is perfect for children’s activities and water sports like water volleyball by the dock. Indian River has most supplies you may need and great souvenir shopping, restaurants and candy/ice cream shops.

Other Activities: Relax or play hard - the choice is yours


Rates & Availability

From $240 Per night

Burt Lake House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
US Dollar
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekend Weekly Monthly Event
Off Season
Aug 31 2014 - Jun 26 2015
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Off Season week runs F-F. Week-end is F+Sa nights. Week day eves run Sun-Thurs. 2 night MIN   

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 6.5%
Cleaning USD125


  • $200 booking deposit req'd; amt due with this depends on season
  • Return of any monies and timing when or if that occurs are all at the discretion of the Owner, who will use the following guidelines for consideration:

    A seventy-five (75) day notice is required for cancellation for return of the initial rental payment. Cancellations that are received in writing and confirmed by the Owner within seventy-five (75) days or more prior to the arrival date will incur no penalty except the reservation deposit.

    Full advance payment and reservation deposit will be forfeited for cancellations, or changes to original contract terms that are made with less than 75 days of the arrival date. Last minute cancellation or early departure does not warrant any refund of rent. Whether the Owner can give additional consideration to Guests related to cancellation or early departure due to unusual circumstances, such as illness, injury or death, is entirely up to the Owner, but will depend in part on how much written notice has been given & information provided.
  • Example Weekly Rate Calculation: Please note, reservation is confirmed only upon our receipt of completed and signed entire original document, $200 deposit and amount due. See below for example of basic payments.

    1 week contract value: $2401.75 (Total) = $1950.00 (weekly rate) + $126.75 (taxes) + $125 (cleaning fee is direct pass through) + $200 deposit*

    To reserve: $200 deposit + total due of $2201.75 with contract to confirm reservation for remainder of 2013.

    For 2014 reservations, 1/2 of base rate ($975) is due at time of reservation plus $200 (up to 90 days or more before 1st day of stay).

    2nd payment: Balance due in 2nd payment (60 days or more before stay; or full contract amt due if reservation less than 60 days before occupancy.) Ex: $2401.75-$1175 paid= $1226.75.

    *Refund of $200 2 weeks after successful stay
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.


Burt Lake House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Lake ...
  • Rural ...
  • Ski in/Ski out ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Ducted Cooling
  • Ducted Heating
  • Fireplace
  • Gas Heating
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • 2 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bath - toilet , shower , jetted tub , 1st Class Master Bath
    Guest Suite Bath - toilet , shower , Large Shower
  • Besides 2 sinks, Jacuzzi tub, walk-in shower, & an attached separate toilet room, the custom MBath has glass & antique doors, beautiful arched high window with a view of the tree crownsplus full window at tub, & large, warm earthy stone shower (wall mount / hand-held shower head). Relax in the extra deep tub, or just enjoy the play of light & shadow from the adjacent woods throughout these private rooms.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen , Private Section of Home
    'Lake View' - 1 queen , Faces NW
    'Garden View' - 1 double , Faces SE
  • All BRs have chair & lamp for quiet reading. Two distinct sleeping areas at opposite ends of the house: 1) Private master BR suite has large bedroom (Q sleigh bed), lots of windows, satellite television / media; MBath boasts 2 sinks, extra deep / wide 6’ Jacuzzi tub, walk-in shower (wall / hand-held) & separate toilet room. 2) Lake View (Q) & Garden View (F) BR's in 2nd suite both have televisions & share satellite, bathroom, & French doors into the suite for privacy.
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Boat ...
  • Boat Dock
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Pedal Boat
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Porch Furniture
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Deck
  • Yard
  • 5 garden chairs
  • 3 beach chairs
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Jacuzzi
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting small game
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Quiet, controlled environment ; top-grade windows & zoned heat / AC available; mild summer temperatures & cooling lake breezes. Auto generator backup. Kitchen open to large Family Rm & adjacent to separate laundry. Dining rm seats 8. Living / dining share gas FP with Master BR. Wood-burning fieldstone FP in Family Rm. Basic household items & equipment, such as some spices, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, double oven (1 convection), 2 burner gas cook top, dishwasher (hand wash & DW soap provided), frig, W/D. Outdoor amenities: Mobile fire kettle for lakeside bonfire pad ; propane gas grill; outdoor furniture like tanning loungers & wood swing; on-lake tie-off buoy; 2- person paddle boat, 12’ alum rowboat, oars. Nearby rental shops offer sports equipment including boats, jet skis, & snowmobiles. Marinas nearby with weekly berths for boats too large for lift. Call re: special need access to discuss specifics.

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote