Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

LUXURY NEW HOME AND COTTAGE PRIVATE BEACH & SALTWATER POOL SET IN 4 ACRES

Mark James

Advertiser since: 2010
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Contact the Owner

Mark James

Advertiser since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
December 23, 2014
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

LUXURY NEW HOME AND COTTAGE PRIVATE BEACH & SALTWATER POOL SET IN 4 ACRES

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

Governor's Harbour House Rental Photos and Description

4 Beds, 4 Baths, Separate self contained cottage sleeps upto 8 comfortably.

Miss Ruby is one of the newest on the island and is located on the Bank's Road Governor's Harbour with spectacular views of the dramatic coastline.

This 4 acre property is located 10 minutes walking distance to Tippy's restaurant, arguably the best on the island, and a 2 minute walk from one of the most beautiful 'pink' beaches on Eleuthera. Shops and amenities are also within a short driving distance.

Read this brief independent review.

http://700experience.com/2013/11/05/7-on-7-miss-ruby-myrtles-cottage/

The property consists of a two level main house and a guest 'Myrtle' cottage to be rented with the house not separately.

Miss Ruby is surrounded by a lush garden which is home to many fruit trees, Bougainvillea, Hibiscus, Aloe and Coconut palms. Those are just a few of the plants that grace this serene property. The 'salt water' pool serves both Miss Ruby House and Myrtle's Cottage. The pool deck is expansive and raised with views of rolling palmetto trees and coconut palms as far as the eye can see.

Both are newly appointed featuring aircon and the finest of facilities including WIFI.

House Features: Miss Ruby is exclusive in every detail featuring traditional Bahamian architectural style while boasting unique contemporary furnishings, white hardwood floors and high ceilings. The house has two levels with two large bedrooms, a wrap around upper terrace and the quaint separate Myrtle Cottage. Both houses feature tastefully decorated modern interiors and top of the line furnishings, amenities and appliances. The modern airy kitchen is fully equipped with top of the line stainless steel appliances (refrigerator, dishwasher and oven). Both houses feature air conditioning, WIFI wireless internet, hi-fi stereo, cordless telephone, DVD player with USB and TV screen on which to watch your movies or downloads.

Along with the saltwater pool, perfect for those like me allergic to chlorine, for those who like to partake there is a fully adjustable basketball hoop next to the pergola car porch. For the kids, in the trees at the rear of the house there are swings and climbing ropes.

Vegetable Garden : All around the property in close proximity to the house you will find Squash, Carrots, Melons, Tomatoes, Zucchini, Corn, Sapadilla, Avocado, Mangoes, Chillies, Radishes and Beetroot and no doubt other things I have forgotten to mention. Just ask the gardener what's in season?

Both properties are supported by a LPG generator which comes in handy out here on out island Eleuthera......trust me.

Separate Utility Room - Beneath Cottage: A Extra Large Whirlpool washer and dryer are available for use in the utility beneath the cottage

Further images www.eleutheradreamrentals.com

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Mark James (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2010
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
December 23, 2014

Why HomeAway

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

5
based on 21 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Luxury New Home and Cottage Private Beach & Saltwater Pool Set in 4 acres
average rating of 5.0 based on 21 reviews
business
Luxury New Home and Cottage Private Beach & Saltwater Pool Set in 4 acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299365
+1 -760 230-5510
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
5

Wonderful Home at Wonderful Location

  • 5 of 5
We had a great week at the home. If I were to build a house, it would be just like this. The owner is incredibly resourceful and provided a great list of restaurants, car rentals, a wonderful cook (Shauna, ask for her!!!) and other activities (check out oceanview farm for horseback riding)..our kids loved the pool, the basketball court and the beach at the end of the path is incredible for kids and adults.
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Jamie,
thanks so much for your kind words. We are really pleased you had such a great time. Hope to see you next year.
Thanks
Mark, Jude and the little James'.
business
Luxury New Home and Cottage Private Beach & Saltwater Pool Set in 4 acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299365
+1 -760 230-5510
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
5

Beautiful and relaxing

  • 5 of 5
We loved our week at Miss Ruby and on Eleuthera and would recommend both wholeheartedly.

The house is lovely, spacious, elegant, and well equipped, exactly as described. The beautiful, deserted beach is a short walk with no roads to cross on the way. Mark, the owner, provided impeccable service both before and during our stay. He had the one issue we brought to his attention (wifi out of order) taken care of immediately. The staff at the house (housekeepers, general maintenance person) were very friendly and helpful, as well.

We spent most of our time enjoying watersports, walking, and lounging on some of the many spectacular and mostly deserted beaches. We cooked most of our meals in the large,well-equipped kitchen, but made sure to get croissants from the Banks Road Deli for breakfast a few times.

Lighthouse Beach and the Cape Eleuthera Institute/Island School were particular highlights of our week, although they required a fair amount of driving.

It was a real pleasure staying at Miss Ruby. Our only complaint is that our week went by too quickly.
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Michael,
thanks so much for the review, so glad you had a great time. You were patient and understanding of the island life and technology collision.
The Cape institute and Island School are both amazing and doing great work for the good of the ocean, the islands and the local community.
Genuinely look forward to seeing you and your family again.. you get it!
Mark, Jude and the boys
business
Luxury New Home and Cottage Private Beach & Saltwater Pool Set in 4 acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299365
+1 -760 230-5510
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
5

Fantastic family get away!

  • 5 of 5
We had a great experience with Mark in reserving and settling into this property. Set in a beautiful setting of fields of palm trees and tropical gardens, the house and cottage were perfect for our extended family (3 kids ages 7, 5, and 4, plus extended family members (x4)). Secluded, private, and totally relaxing, the location was everything we were looking for in a family vacation away from tourists, resorts, line-ups, etc.

With Mark's recommendation we had a fantastic local chef, Shauna Knowles, cook three excellent meals for our group during our stay. There was nothing better then coming off the beach after spending a day building sandcastles and playing in the waves of the ocean and finding Shauna working her magic in the kitchen with appetizers waiting on the table.

Speaking of the beach, miles of beautiful beach, sparkling ocean, and it's all yours! Every day we spent on the beach we generally ran into one to 6 people over the entire day! It was amazing!

We had a great experience and are already planning for next year.
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Jodi / Derek,
for your review, very kind words, really pleased your family had a perfect break. We look forward to your return. I will pass on the compliments to Martina, Vincent, Audrey, JJ and of course Shauna.
Very much appreciated
Mark, Jude and the little James'
business
Luxury New Home and Cottage Private Beach & Saltwater Pool Set in 4 acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299365
+1 -760 230-5510
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
5

miss ruby's house is a slice of paradise

miss ruby's house is a slice of paradise
  • 5 of 5
We are presently at the airport awaiting our flight back home...our memories of miss ruby's house will remain a treasure in our minds & hearts! From the moment we booked the house with Mark (and all of his amazing recommendations and guidance) to our meals prepared
by Shauna, to the marvelous beach...we truly enjoyed our time on Eleuthera. The house was sparkling clean, the grounds were well appointed, the linens fresh and amenities top notch. We ate at Tippy's and the Rainbow Inn~all very good~yet none as amazing as the meals prepared by Shauna. She stayed and ate around the table with our family of 10. She shared history of the island with us and we exchanged laughs. If she should prepare a meal for you~everything she cooks is top notch~but do request the rum cake it is superb!
Truly vacation memories to cherish~and for that we are grateful~thank you Mark!
The Baez, Barnard & Ashe Family
Connecticut
  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your humbling review. It is sooo appreciated. You guys are welcome back anytime. I will pass on your regards to JJ Shauna Vincent Martina and Audrey.
Thanks again.
Mark, Jude and the little James' XXxxxx
business
Luxury New Home and Cottage Private Beach & Saltwater Pool Set in 4 acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299365
+1 -760 230-5510
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
Chicago, IL
5

Beautiful House and Amazing Beach!

  • 5 of 5
My family and I just returned from a week at Miss Ruby and wow, what a great house! It fit our family perfectly as there were only 6 adults which gave us plenty of room to spread out (the house can actually sleep ~12 people). The house itself is so bright and open, includes every amenity you could need on the beach (and more!), and is in a great location- 2 min. drive to Tippys, 4 min to the Beach House, 10 min to the center of Governor's Harbour, etc. Most of all, the beach is amazing!!! We sampled a few other beaches while we were there and we all agreed that "our" beach was one of the best. There is a natural pool that is formed at the beach depending on the tide and it was a great for those who just wanted to wade, look for fish, or for young kids since it's so shallow. Mark was great to work with on the planning and gave us great recommendations for car rentals (Stanton Cooper), someone to cook (Shauna), and overall making sure we were connected with the entire staff (Martina- Property Manager, Audrey- Housekeeper, and Vincent- Gardner). This was our first visit to Eleuthera and I knew we were in for a relaxing and laid back trip when a quick email to Stanton secured the car (no contract), several discussions with Mark secured the house (again no contract), and loved the directions from ELH from Mark "drive south to Tippy's and then the house is a mile further"! It's a great island with friendly people, beautiful beaches, and overall a laid back vibe. We would absolutely return to the island and stay at Miss Ruby again. We're already talking about bringing other family members with us next time! Thank you to Mark and his family for sharing his beautiful home!
  • Submitted: May 29, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Lesley,
Grateful for your kind words and wonderful review, really glad to hear you had a excellent time, and that our friends were able to look after you guys. It makes us so happy when we can share our home with people who appreciate it. We welcome you and your family anytime, and look forward to your return.
Thanks
Mark, Jude and James boys
business
Luxury New Home and Cottage Private Beach & Saltwater Pool Set in 4 acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299365
+1 -760 230-5510
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
5

Incredible Vacation!!

  • 5 of 5
We cannot say enough about our vacation at Miss Ruby and Mertyl
Cottage. It was a true escape. The house was immaculate and the décor
was comfortable. We were away with a range of ages from 0-60 and
everyone enjoyed our stay. We are avid ocean people so the short walk
to an entirely private beach was a treat. We would gather our dive
gear and swim a short distance off shore to see stunning reefs. We
rented kayaks for the week, which was great for exercise. Mark James
(the owner) is incredibly helpful in planning your trip before going –
VERY responsive and wants you to enjoy your stay. He connected us with
a local – Shauna – who cooked dinner for us each evening. We discussed
our groceries and menu with her in advance. Arriving to a house
stocked with food (especially when traveling with kids) and coming off
the beach at the end of each day to a delicious meal really made the
trip relaxing for us. We loved having Shauna around and asked her to
stay with us for dinner each night. She shared with us much about
local life – we fell in love with her. We did lunch out two times at
The Beach House Restaurant and Tippys – both were not as delicious and much more expensive that Shauna’s cooking. The house and cottage
were immaculate and beautifully decorated. We five adults, two
teenagers, and a baby and everyone found something to do each day. We
felt that the entire experience for us was very personal. And, being
our first every Home Away rental, we would love to go back and would
not look at another place to stay. Thanks so much, we look forward to
visiting again!
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thankyou Lindsay,
for your 5 star review, very kind words. We look forward to your return. I will pass on the compliments to Martina, Shauna, Vincent and Annette.
Much appreciated
Mark, Jude and the little James'

Map

Nearest Airport
3 Miles
Governor Harbour
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
The Beach House
Nearest Ferry
4 Miles
Cupids Cay
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Tippy's
Car: recommended

This unique property is one of the newest on the island and is located on the Bank's Road Governor's Harbour with a spectacular views of the Atlantic and its dramatic coastline north of Culmers Rocks.The house is BEACH SIDE of the Banks Road, so a short SAFE walk down our driveway to the beach - very safe for kids.

This 4 acre property is located less than10 minutes walking distance from Tippy's restaurant, arguably one of the best on the island, and a 2 minute walk from one of the most beautiful 'pink' beaches on Eleuthera. Shops and amenities are also within a short driving distance.

Other Activities: Lobster and Bonefishing

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $500 Per night

Governor's Harbour House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Base Rate
3 night minimum stay
$500
From
$500
Fri,Sat,Sun
$3,500
$9,107
 
 
Winter/Spring
Nov 1 - Apr 30
5 night minimum stay
$600
From
$600
Fri,Sat,Sun
$4,200
$9,107
 
 
Spring/Summer
May 1 - Aug 31
2 night minimum stay
$600
From
$600
Fri,Sat,Sun
$4,200
$9,107
 
 
Quiet Season
Sep 1 - Oct 31
3 night minimum stay
$500
From
$500
Fri,Sat,Sun
$3,500
$9,107
 
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Governor's Harbour House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 2700 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Carport
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sunbed
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Catering Available ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 15 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Ensuite
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Ensuite
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , Family / Downstairs
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower , Ensuite
  • All bathrooms are with tumble marble - very discreet - sink units are all custom made plain white with plain white tongue and groove units, subtle.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Balcony and sea views
    Bedroom 2 - 3 twin/ single , 2 child bed , Balcony and sea views
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , Downstairs lower deck separate access.
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 2 sleep sofa /futon , Myrtle Cottage - fully self contained unit
  • The 2 large upstairs beds have hardwood floors, independant mitsubishi aircon units, recessed downlights on dimmers for perfect light. The Master has a hand made locally built hardwood bed a design my wife and I had spotted in Far East when travelling. The ensuite has a tumbled marble tile floor and walls, discreet and modern with a custom made kohler double sink units. The kids room is again hardwood floor and has beds from 'flexa' - hardwaring and safe, scandinavian in origin. The ensuite is virtually identical to that of Master except double shower heads. The third bed on the ground floor can double as a TV room or a granny flat - separate access and has close proximity to downstairs restroom and shower, again in tumbled marble. Myrtle Cottage is bedroom 4, 500 sqft of self contained luxury. Custom made bed and separate single daybeds for the toddler perhaps who doesn t want to bunk up in main house. Fitted kitchen fridge and cooker and hob, aircon and ensuite.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Shed
  • Small Cooler
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 20 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Car Optional
  • Concierge
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Ideal rental for 2 families or just couples 2 or 3 - secluded pink beach cove 2 minute walk down our private lane, meaning no one else has access therefore very, very private stretch of beach. Natural formation of a queen's bath happens from time to time, it is quite literally a bath formed by the swirl of the sea in the pink sand, fantastic to see and dive in.

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote