Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Luxury New Home and Cottage Private Beach & Saltwater Pool Set in 4 acres

Owner

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Contact the Owner

Owner
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
May 4, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Luxury New Home and Cottage Private Beach & Saltwater Pool Set in 4 acres

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

Governor's Harbour House Rental Photos and Description

4 Beds, 4 Baths, Separate self contained cottage sleeps upto 8 comfortably.

Miss Ruby is one of the newest on the island and is located on the Bank's Road Governor's Harbour with spectacular views of the dramatic coastline.

This 4 acre property is located 10 minutes walking distance to Tippy's restaurant, arguably the best on the island, and a 2 minute walk from one of the most beautiful 'pink' beaches on Eleuthera. Shops and amenities are also within a short driving distance.

Read this brief independent review.

http://700experience.com/2013/11/05/7-on-7-miss-ruby-myrtles-cottage/

The property consists of a two level main house and a guest 'Myrtle' cottage to be rented with the house not separately.

Miss Ruby is surrounded by a lush garden which is home to many fruit trees, Bougainvillea, Hibiscus, Aloe and Coconut palms. Those are just a few of the plants that grace this serene property. The 'salt water' pool serves both Miss Ruby House and Myrtle's Cottage. The pool deck is expansive and raised with views of rolling palmetto trees and coconut palms as far as the eye can see.

Both are newly appointed featuring aircon and the finest of facilities including WIFI.

House Features: Miss Ruby is exclusive in every detail featuring traditional Bahamian architectural style while boasting unique contemporary furnishings, white hardwood floors and high ceilings. The house has two levels with two large bedrooms, a wrap around upper terrace and the quaint separate Myrtle Cottage. Both houses feature tastefully decorated modern interiors and top of the line furnishings, amenities and appliances. The modern airy kitchen is fully equipped with top of the line stainless steel appliances (refrigerator, dishwasher and oven). Both houses feature air conditioning, WIFI wireless internet, hi-fi stereo, cordless telephone, DVD player with USB and TV screen on which to watch your movies or downloads.

Along with the saltwater pool, perfect for those like me allergic to chlorine, for those who like to partake there is a fully adjustable basketball hoop next to the pergola car porch. For the kids, in the trees at the rear of the house there are swings and climbing ropes.

Vegetable Garden : All around the property in close proximity to the house you will find Squash, Carrots, Melons, Tomatoes, Zucchini, Corn, Sapadilla, Avocado, Mangoes, Chillies, Radishes and Beetroot and no doubt other things I have forgotten to mention. Just ask the gardener what's in season?

Both properties are supported by a LPG generator which comes in handy out here on out island Eleuthera......trust me.

Separate Utility Room - Beneath Cottage: A Extra Large Whirlpool washer and dryer are available for use in the utility beneath the cottage

Further images www.eleutheradreamrentals.com

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Owner
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
May 4, 2015

Why HomeAway

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

5
based on 22 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Luxury New Home and Cottage Private Beach & Saltwater Pool Set in 4 acres
average rating of 5.0 based on 22 reviews
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5

Just returned from a perfect vacation in Eleuthera. Tempted to not write a review to keep this gem to ourselves, but wanted to pass along how great our stay was. Miss Ruby house was fantastic. We have two toddler boys and they were in heaven. The house is beautiful, but very kid friendly. Lots of toys and activites just for them. There are TVs, but we didn't turn them on once! Also wifi worked well, but again we were totally disconnected. Kitchen is very well equipped, but if you intend to cook, bring spices, etc from home as they are very expensive on the island.

Mark and Jude (the owners) were super accesible via IM or phone. We encountered no difficulty during our stay.

The staff at the house was great. Hendricks (the caretaker) was so wonderful. We feasted on fresh grouper and gigantic stone crab claws.

As for our stay, I would not come here unless you plan on renting a car as it is a bit of a walk to most any place. BUT that being said, it is really easy to get around in a car. We spent the mornings checking out all of the amazing beaches on the island, and the afternoons poolside or at our own little beach (which is breathtaking!).

Tippys is delicious and very close by, but our kids loved The Buccanneer Club (right in Governors Harbor) the best...they loved chasing the roosters. Everyone on Eleuthera is friendly and down-to-earth. Don't come here if you are looking for a developed Nassau-like experience. The beauty of Eleuthera is the fact that it is the opposite of that.

Loved it. Started planning our return on the plane ride home.

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
5

Wonderful Home at Wonderful Location

  • 5 of 5

We had a great week at the home. If I were to build a house, it would be just like this. The owner is incredibly resourceful and provided a great list of restaurants, car rentals, a wonderful cook (Shauna, ask for her!!!) and other activities (check out oceanview farm for horseback riding)..our kids loved the pool, the basketball court and the beach at the end of the path is incredible for kids and adults.

  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Jamie, thanks so much for your kind words. We are really pleased you had such a great time. Hope to see you next year. Thanks Mark, Jude and the little James'.
5

Beautiful and relaxing

  • 5 of 5

We loved our week at Miss Ruby and on Eleuthera and would recommend both wholeheartedly.

The house is lovely, spacious, elegant, and well equipped, exactly as described. The beautiful, deserted beach is a short walk with no roads to cross on the way. Mark, the owner, provided impeccable service both before and during our stay. He had the one issue we brought to his attention (wifi out of order) taken care of immediately. The staff at the house (housekeepers, general maintenance person) were very friendly and helpful, as well.

We spent most of our time enjoying watersports, walking, and lounging on some of the many spectacular and mostly deserted beaches. We cooked most of our meals in the large,well-equipped kitchen, but made sure to get croissants from the Banks Road Deli for breakfast a few times.

Lighthouse Beach and the Cape Eleuthera Institute/Island School were particular highlights of our week, although they required a fair amount of driving.

It was a real pleasure staying at Miss Ruby. Our only complaint is that our week went by too quickly.

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Michael, thanks so much for the review, so glad you had a great time. You were patient and understanding of the island life and technology collision. The Cape institute and Island School are both amazing and doing great work for the good of the ocean, the islands and the local community. Genuinely look forward to seeing you and your family again.. you get it! Mark, Jude and the boys
5

Fantastic family get away!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great experience with Mark in reserving and settling into this property. Set in a beautiful setting of fields of palm trees and tropical gardens, the house and cottage were perfect for our extended family (3 kids ages 7, 5, and 4, plus extended family members (x4)). Secluded, private, and totally relaxing, the location was everything we were looking for in a family vacation away from tourists, resorts, line-ups, etc.

With Mark's recommendation we had a fantastic local chef, Shauna Knowles, cook three excellent meals for our group during our stay. There was nothing better then coming off the beach after spending a day building sandcastles and playing in the waves of the ocean and finding Shauna working her magic in the kitchen with appetizers waiting on the table.

Speaking of the beach, miles of beautiful beach, sparkling ocean, and it's all yours! Every day we spent on the beach we generally ran into one to 6 people over the entire day! It was amazing!

We had a great experience and are already planning for next year.

  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Jodi / Derek, for your review, very kind words, really pleased your family had a perfect break. We look forward to your return. I will pass on the compliments to Martina, Vincent, Audrey, JJ and of course Shauna. Very much appreciated Mark, Jude and the little James'
5

miss ruby's house is a slice of paradise

  • 5 of 5

We are presently at the airport awaiting our flight back home...our memories of miss ruby's house will remain a treasure in our minds & hearts! From the moment we booked the house with Mark (and all of his amazing recommendations and guidance) to our meals prepared

by Shauna, to the marvelous beach...we truly enjoyed our time on Eleuthera. The house was sparkling clean, the grounds were well appointed, the linens fresh and amenities top notch. We ate at Tippy's and the Rainbow Inn~all very good~yet none as amazing as the meals prepared by Shauna. She stayed and ate around the table with our family of 10. She shared history of the island with us and we exchanged laughs. If she should prepare a meal for you~everything she cooks is top notch~but do request the rum cake it is superb!

Truly vacation memories to cherish~and for that we are grateful~thank you Mark!

The Baez, Barnard & Ashe Family

Connecticut

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your humbling review. It is sooo appreciated. You guys are welcome back anytime. I will pass on your regards to JJ Shauna Vincent Martina and Audrey. Thanks again. Mark, Jude and the little James' XXxxxx
Chicago, IL
5

Beautiful House and Amazing Beach!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I just returned from a week at Miss Ruby and wow, what a great house! It fit our family perfectly as there were only 6 adults which gave us plenty of room to spread out (the house can actually sleep ~12 people). The house itself is so bright and open, includes every amenity you could need on the beach (and more!), and is in a great location- 2 min. drive to Tippys, 4 min to the Beach House, 10 min to the center of Governor's Harbour, etc. Most of all, the beach is amazing!!! We sampled a few other beaches while we were there and we all agreed that "our" beach was one of the best. There is a natural pool that is formed at the beach depending on the tide and it was a great for those who just wanted to wade, look for fish, or for young kids since it's so shallow. Mark was great to work with on the planning and gave us great recommendations for car rentals (Stanton Cooper), someone to cook (Shauna), and overall making sure we were connected with the entire staff (Martina- Property Manager, Audrey- Housekeeper, and Vincent- Gardner). This was our first visit to Eleuthera and I knew we were in for a relaxing and laid back trip when a quick email to Stanton secured the car (no contract), several discussions with Mark secured the house (again no contract), and loved the directions from ELH from Mark "drive south to Tippy's and then the house is a mile further"! It's a great island with friendly people, beautiful beaches, and overall a laid back vibe. We would absolutely return to the island and stay at Miss Ruby again. We're already talking about bringing other family members with us next time! Thank you to Mark and his family for sharing his beautiful home!

  • Submitted: May 29, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Lesley, Grateful for your kind words and wonderful review, really glad to hear you had a excellent time, and that our friends were able to look after you guys. It makes us so happy when we can share our home with people who appreciate it. We welcome you and your family anytime, and look forward to your return. Thanks Mark, Jude and James boys

Map

Nearest Airport
3 Miles
Governor Harbour
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
The Beach House
Nearest Ferry
4 Miles
Cupids Cay
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Tippy's
Car: recommended

This unique property is one of the newest on the island and is located on the Bank's Road Governor's Harbour with a spectacular views of the Atlantic and its dramatic coastline north of Culmers Rocks.The house is BEACH SIDE of the Banks Road, so a short SAFE walk down our driveway to the beach - very safe for kids.

This 4 acre property is located less than10 minutes walking distance from Tippy's restaurant, arguably one of the best on the island, and a 2 minute walk from one of the most beautiful 'pink' beaches on Eleuthera. Shops and amenities are also within a short driving distance.

Other Activities: Lobster and Bonefishing

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $550 Per night

Governor's Harbour House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Spring/Summer
May 1 2015 - Aug 31 2015
3 night minimum stay
$600
From
$600
Fri,Sat,Sun
$4,200
$9,107
 
 
Quiet Season
Sep 1 2015 - Oct 31 2015
3 night minimum stay
$550
From
$550
Fri,Sat,Sun
$3,850
$9,107
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$550
From
$550
Fri,Sat,Sun
$3,850
$9,107
 

Additional information about rental rates

Notes Travelers are required to pay a 50% deposit to secure the property and the remiander 50% 4 weeks before arrival.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Governor's Harbour House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2700 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Carport
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sunbed
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Catering Available ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 15 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Ensuite
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Ensuite
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , Family / Downstairs
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower , Ensuite
  • All bathrooms are with tumble marble - very discreet - sink units are all custom made plain white with plain white tongue and groove units, subtle.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Balcony and sea views
    Bedroom 2 - 3 twin/ single , 2 child bed , Balcony and sea views
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , Downstairs lower deck separate access.
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 2 sleep sofa /futon , Myrtle Cottage - fully self contained unit
  • The 2 large upstairs beds have hardwood floors, independant mitsubishi aircon units, recessed downlights on dimmers for perfect light. The Master has a hand made locally built hardwood bed a design my wife and I had spotted in Far East when travelling. The ensuite has a tumbled marble tile floor and walls, discreet and modern with a custom made kohler double sink units. The kids room is again hardwood floor and has beds from 'flexa' - hardwaring and safe, scandinavian in origin. The ensuite is virtually identical to that of Master except double shower heads. The third bed on the ground floor can double as a TV room or a granny flat - separate access and has close proximity to downstairs restroom and shower, again in tumbled marble. Myrtle Cottage is bedroom 4, 500 sqft of self contained luxury. Custom made bed and separate single daybeds for the toddler perhaps who doesn t want to bunk up in main house. Fitted kitchen fridge and cooker and hob, aircon and ensuite.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Shed
  • Small Cooler
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 20 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Car Optional
  • Concierge
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Ideal rental for 2 families or just couples 2 or 3 - secluded pink beach cove 2 minute walk down our private lane, meaning no one else has access therefore very, very private stretch of beach. Natural formation of a queen's bath happens from time to time, it is quite literally a bath formed by the swirl of the sea in the pink sand, fantastic to see and dive in.

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote