Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Luxury New Home and Cottage Private Beach & Saltwater Pool Set in 4 acres

Jude and Mark James

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Contact the Owner

Jude and Mark James

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 27, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Luxury New Home and Cottage Private Beach & Saltwater Pool Set in 4 acres

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

Governor's Harbour House Rental Photos and Description

4 Beds, 4 Baths, Separate self contained cottage sleeps upto 8 comfortably.

Miss Ruby is one of the newest on the island and is located on the Bank's Road Governor's Harbour with spectacular views of the dramatic coastline.

This 4 acre property is located 10 minutes walking distance to Tippy's restaurant, arguably the best on the island, and a 2 minute walk from one of the most beautiful 'pink' beaches on Eleuthera. Shops and amenities are also within a short driving distance.

Read this brief independent review.

http://700experience.com/2013/11/05/7-on-7-miss-ruby-myrtles-cottage/

The property consists of a two level main house and a guest 'Myrtle' cottage to be rented with the house not separately.

Miss Ruby is surrounded by a lush garden which is home to many fruit trees, Bougainvillea, Hibiscus, Aloe and Coconut palms. Those are just a few of the plants that grace this serene property. The 'salt water' pool serves both Miss Ruby House and Myrtle's Cottage. The pool deck is expansive and raised with views of rolling palmetto trees and coconut palms as far as the eye can see.

Both are newly appointed featuring aircon and the finest of facilities including WIFI.

House Features: Miss Ruby is exclusive in every detail featuring traditional Bahamian architectural style while boasting unique contemporary furnishings, white hardwood floors and high ceilings. The house has two levels with two large bedrooms, a wrap around upper terrace and the quaint separate Myrtle Cottage. Both houses feature tastefully decorated modern interiors and top of the line furnishings, amenities and appliances. The modern airy kitchen is fully equipped with top of the line stainless steel appliances (refrigerator, dishwasher and oven). Both houses feature air conditioning, WIFI wireless internet, hi-fi stereo, cordless telephone, DVD player with USB and TV screen on which to watch your movies or downloads.

Along with the saltwater pool, perfect for those like me allergic to chlorine, for those who like to partake there is a fully adjustable basketball hoop next to the pergola car porch. For the kids, in the trees at the rear of the house there are swings and climbing ropes.

Vegetable Garden : All around the property in close proximity to the house you will find Squash, Carrots, Melons, Tomatoes, Zucchini, Corn, Sapadilla, Avocado, Mangoes, Chillies, Radishes and Beetroot and no doubt other things I have forgotten to mention. Just ask the gardener what's in season?

Both properties are supported by a LPG generator which comes in handy out here on out island Eleuthera......trust me.

Separate Utility Room - Beneath Cottage: A Extra Large Whirlpool washer and dryer are available for use in the utility beneath the cottage

Further images www.eleutheradreamrentals.com

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Jude and Mark James (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 27, 2015

Why HomeAway

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

5
based on 24 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Luxury New Home and Cottage Private Beach & Saltwater Pool Set in 4 acres
average rating of 5.0 based on 24 reviews
5

Heaven! Perfect location in Bahahams

  • 5 of 5

Thank you Jude and Mark, Hendricks, Miss Audrey and Shauna! We had a heavenly ten day stay at Miss Ruby. We were two families of four and the accommodations worked perfectly for us. We have kids ranging from 8-13. It was great having the flexibility of the pool and the beach as the kids could come and go as they pleased. The open layout of the house and outside seating made for a very relaxing stay. We were also thankful for the air conditioning and fans! We needed them at night. We had been to Eleuthera several times before, but the beauty of this beach is just stunning and although we made plans to go to different beaches, we were happy to just stay here most of the time.

Having Tippy's so close allowed us to walk there from the beach for dinner and cocktails! Banks Deli was a morning staple for croissants and morning pastries. DaPerk was our go to for lunch for great sandwiches and salads.

Jude and James were very helpful during our planning and easily accessible via email and phone.

Hendricks (the caretaker) was fantastic. We had a good laugh on our fishing outing and was a great resource for us.

Shauna, what a treat! This wonderful lady cooked two fantastic dinners for us. Her food was amazing and always enough for us to eat the next day as well. She is just an all around fun lady as well.

We keep looking at our pictures with such great memories and hopes to return next year!

  • Submitted: May 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
5

Miss Ruby is a true gem!

  • 5 of 5

Upon arrival at Miss Ruby, we were warmly greeted by Mr. Hendricks (the caretaker) and the cleaning staff. This was our seventh trip to the island and we were not disappointed. The house was clean, comfortable, tastefully decorated and very accommodating. The kitchen, beds and bathrooms were as described with plenty of beach towel and linens. The beach in front off Miss Ruby is amazing....the little lagoon provided a perfect spot to float away the day and the beach is perfect for walking. Miss Ruby's pool was delightful to continue relaxing and lounging. While we didn't have small children, this would be a perfect house with children's toys and games. I recommend having Shauna prepare an in house meal as well as Beach House, Tippy's, the new Pascal and you must try 1648! I truly relaxed and unplugged, although WIFI is there if you want it!! The owners, Mark and Jude James, were quick to respond to questions and very helpful. A wonderful week!

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5

Just returned from a perfect vacation in Eleuthera. Tempted to not write a review to keep this gem to ourselves, but wanted to pass along how great our stay was. Miss Ruby house was fantastic. We have two toddler boys and they were in heaven. The house is beautiful, but very kid friendly. Lots of toys and activites just for them. There are TVs, but we didn't turn them on once! Also wifi worked well, but again we were totally disconnected. Kitchen is very well equipped, but if you intend to cook, bring spices, etc from home as they are very expensive on the island.

Mark and Jude (the owners) were super accesible via IM or phone. We encountered no difficulty during our stay.

The staff at the house was great. Hendricks (the caretaker) was so wonderful. We feasted on fresh grouper and gigantic stone crab claws.

As for our stay, I would not come here unless you plan on renting a car as it is a bit of a walk to most any place. BUT that being said, it is really easy to get around in a car. We spent the mornings checking out all of the amazing beaches on the island, and the afternoons poolside or at our own little beach (which is breathtaking!).

Tippys is delicious and very close by, but our kids loved The Buccanneer Club (right in Governors Harbor) the best...they loved chasing the roosters. Everyone on Eleuthera is friendly and down-to-earth. Don't come here if you are looking for a developed Nassau-like experience. The beauty of Eleuthera is the fact that it is the opposite of that.

Loved it. Started planning our return on the plane ride home.

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
5

Wonderful Home at Wonderful Location

  • 5 of 5

We had a great week at the home. If I were to build a house, it would be just like this. The owner is incredibly resourceful and provided a great list of restaurants, car rentals, a wonderful cook (Shauna, ask for her!!!) and other activities (check out oceanview farm for horseback riding)..our kids loved the pool, the basketball court and the beach at the end of the path is incredible for kids and adults.

  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Jamie, thanks so much for your kind words. We are really pleased you had such a great time. Hope to see you next year. Thanks Mark, Jude and the little James'.
5

Beautiful and relaxing

  • 5 of 5

We loved our week at Miss Ruby and on Eleuthera and would recommend both wholeheartedly.

The house is lovely, spacious, elegant, and well equipped, exactly as described. The beautiful, deserted beach is a short walk with no roads to cross on the way. Mark, the owner, provided impeccable service both before and during our stay. He had the one issue we brought to his attention (wifi out of order) taken care of immediately. The staff at the house (housekeepers, general maintenance person) were very friendly and helpful, as well.

We spent most of our time enjoying watersports, walking, and lounging on some of the many spectacular and mostly deserted beaches. We cooked most of our meals in the large,well-equipped kitchen, but made sure to get croissants from the Banks Road Deli for breakfast a few times.

Lighthouse Beach and the Cape Eleuthera Institute/Island School were particular highlights of our week, although they required a fair amount of driving.

It was a real pleasure staying at Miss Ruby. Our only complaint is that our week went by too quickly.

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Michael, thanks so much for the review, so glad you had a great time. You were patient and understanding of the island life and technology collision. The Cape institute and Island School are both amazing and doing great work for the good of the ocean, the islands and the local community. Genuinely look forward to seeing you and your family again.. you get it! Mark, Jude and the boys
5

Fantastic family get away!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great experience with Mark in reserving and settling into this property. Set in a beautiful setting of fields of palm trees and tropical gardens, the house and cottage were perfect for our extended family (3 kids ages 7, 5, and 4, plus extended family members (x4)). Secluded, private, and totally relaxing, the location was everything we were looking for in a family vacation away from tourists, resorts, line-ups, etc.

With Mark's recommendation we had a fantastic local chef, Shauna Knowles, cook three excellent meals for our group during our stay. There was nothing better then coming off the beach after spending a day building sandcastles and playing in the waves of the ocean and finding Shauna working her magic in the kitchen with appetizers waiting on the table.

Speaking of the beach, miles of beautiful beach, sparkling ocean, and it's all yours! Every day we spent on the beach we generally ran into one to 6 people over the entire day! It was amazing!

We had a great experience and are already planning for next year.

  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Jodi / Derek, for your review, very kind words, really pleased your family had a perfect break. We look forward to your return. I will pass on the compliments to Martina, Vincent, Audrey, JJ and of course Shauna. Very much appreciated Mark, Jude and the little James'

Map

Nearest Airport
3 Miles
Governor Harbour
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
The Beach House
Nearest Ferry
4 Miles
Cupids Cay
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Tippy's
Car: recommended

This unique property is one of the newest on the island and is located on the Bank's Road Governor's Harbour with a spectacular views of the Atlantic and its dramatic coastline north of Culmers Rocks.The house is BEACH SIDE of the Banks Road, so a short SAFE walk down our driveway to the beach - very safe for kids.

This 4 acre property is located less than10 minutes walking distance from Tippy's restaurant, arguably one of the best on the island, and a 2 minute walk from one of the most beautiful 'pink' beaches on Eleuthera. Shops and amenities are also within a short driving distance.

Other Activities: Lobster and Bonefishing

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $550 Per night

Governor's Harbour House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Spring/Summer
May 1 2015 - Aug 31 2015
3 night minimum stay
$600
From
$600
Fri,Sat,Sun
$4,200
$9,107
 
 
Quiet Season
Sep 1 2015 - Oct 31 2015
3 night minimum stay
$550
From
$550
Fri,Sat,Sun
$3,850
$9,107
 
 
winter/spring
Nov 1 2015 - Apr 30 2016
4 night minimum stay
$650
$4,550
$9,107
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$550
From
$550
Fri,Sat,Sun
$3,850
$9,107
 

Additional information about rental rates

Notes Travelers are required to pay a 50% deposit to secure the property and the remiander 50% 4 weeks before arrival.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Governor's Harbour House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2700 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Carport
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sunbed
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Catering Available ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 15 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Ensuite
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Ensuite
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , Family / Downstairs
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower , Ensuite
  • All bathrooms are with tumble marble - very discreet - sink units are all custom made plain white with plain white tongue and groove units, subtle.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Balcony and sea views
    Bedroom 2 - 3 twin/ single , 2 child bed , Balcony and sea views
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , Downstairs lower deck separate access.
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 2 sleep sofa /futon , Myrtle Cottage - fully self contained unit
  • The 2 large upstairs beds have hardwood floors, independant mitsubishi aircon units, recessed downlights on dimmers for perfect light. The Master has a hand made locally built hardwood bed a design my wife and I had spotted in Far East when travelling. The ensuite has a tumbled marble tile floor and walls, discreet and modern with a custom made kohler double sink units. The kids room is again hardwood floor and has beds from 'flexa' - hardwaring and safe, scandinavian in origin. The ensuite is virtually identical to that of Master except double shower heads. The third bed on the ground floor can double as a TV room or a granny flat - separate access and has close proximity to downstairs restroom and shower, again in tumbled marble. Myrtle Cottage is bedroom 4, 500 sqft of self contained luxury. Custom made bed and separate single daybeds for the toddler perhaps who doesn t want to bunk up in main house. Fitted kitchen fridge and cooker and hob, aircon and ensuite.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Shed
  • Small Cooler
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 20 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Car Optional
  • Concierge
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Ideal rental for 2 families or just couples 2 or 3 - secluded pink beach cove 2 minute walk down our private lane, meaning no one else has access therefore very, very private stretch of beach. Natural formation of a queen's bath happens from time to time, it is quite literally a bath formed by the swirl of the sea in the pink sand, fantastic to see and dive in.

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote