STUNNING MID CENTURY HOUSE IN HIP OLD PALMAS NEIGHBORHOOD.

Vacation Rental Owner/Agent

Advertiser since 2010
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Manager

Vacation Rental Owner/Agent

Advertiser since 2010
Speaks english
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

STUNNING MID CENTURY HOUSE IN HIP OLD PALMAS NEIGHBORHOOD.

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Overview

Palm Springs House Rental Photos and Description

4 bedroom, 4 and a half baths. Sleeps up to 10.

Luxury in old Palm Springs. Beautifully restored mid century house, with terrazo floors and open plan living. Huge kitchen and bar with views to the pool and mountains. Indoor/outdoor living at its best. Large pool with hot tub and expanse of grass lawns. 2 outdoor firepits to take advantage of the views while dining al fresco. Massive bedrooms all ensuite and private, with ample closets. Furnished with magazine worthy flare.

For Discerning Renters: House was recently entirely remodelled and decorated. Extra large living spaces all over one level. Bedrooms are oversized and all have large ensuite bathrooms, tvs and new closets. Two bedrooms have king beds and two have 2 double beds in each. Great for girls/boy weekends. Equally roomy enough for 2 families. Never feels crowded!

Each bedroom has large sliding doors. Master and king guest open to the pool and garden. Living and dining room also have large sliders that open to pool and garden. Very easy access from kitchen to outdoor eating and lounge area with bbq and firepit.

Extremely well supplied kitchen has all new dishes and glasswear and serving pieces. New small appliances and commercial ice maker.

Exceptional sound system throughout main parts of house and poolside. Remote system can access radio, sirius, ipod and cd player.

Extra large hot tub has powerful jets and overflow waterfall feature. Automatic landscape lights and sprinklers.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Vacation Rental Owner/Agent (Property Manager)
Advertiser since 2010
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

About Vacation Rental Owner/Agent

We are two Canadians from Vancouver with two teenage children.

We love to hike and be outdoors so when the rain makes that difficult where we live we take a trip down south to the desert and enjoy the sun!

Vacation Rental Owner/Agent purchased this house in 2009

Why Vacation Rental Owner/Agent chose Palm Springs

We fell in love with this house when we rented it ourselves 4 years ago. A few years later we successfully outbid other offers and we set about doing minor renovations and decorating to keep its mid century charm.

We love the easy access to Palm Springs, only 2 and a half hour flight or less, and the house is only 10 minutes from the airport! With a morning flight you can be sitting poolside with a cocktail by noon.

What makes this house unique

The neighborhood is like a step back in time. Charming and retro and wonderfully in tact. It is not over manicured or artificial like parts of Palm Desert. Lately there have been many new furniture shops and cool restaurants opening up. No Pottery Barn here and if a chain restaurant isn't you're idea of cool you've come to the right place ;-)

Why HomeAway

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.6
based on 10 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Stunning mid century house in hip old Palmas neighborhood.
average rating of 4.6 based on 10 reviews
business
Stunning mid century house in hip old Palmas neighborhood.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299100
Palm Springs California Desert
Santa Monica, CA USA
5

A perfect vacation

  • 5 of 5
We had a perfect Palm Springs weekend at this house! We had four families (with young kids between 2 and 8) and despite the 105 degree weather had three days of non-stop fun. The pool was a crucial component, but the house also was so well stocked with opportunities to play and hang out that we never really left the house the entire weekend! Everything was thoughtfully decorated and high-quality. Not only was it well-appointed and family friendly, but the house was beautiful on its own.

Thank you for accommodating us! We hope to be back again soon...
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Stunning mid century house in hip old Palmas neighborhood.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299100
Palm Springs California Desert
5

Incredible getaway!

  • 5 of 5
This home and grounds are stunning. We were 4 couples who rented the house for a long weekend. Every bedroom has its own bathroom. We never left the property except to buy food. The house is gorgeous and well equipped. The rooms are all really large and in excellent condition. Everything you need is supplied. The property and pool were perfect. The pool is a great size and has a hot tub at one end. There are several areas around the property to lounge and enjoy. We had friends who owns homes in Palm Springs stop by throughout our visit and they all fell in love with this house too. We will definitely go back again! The agent, Cheryl, was wonderful to work with. I would highly recommend this property.
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Stunning mid century house in hip old Palmas neighborhood.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299100
Palm Springs California Desert
5

Best house in Palm Springs

  • 5 of 5
This was our second time renting this house. Perfect family house. Large enough for us to spread out yet the flow of the home has us all together. The house is outfitted with high end appliances and accessories (i.e. interior and exterior speakers, Missoni towels) making it feel like our own home.
The managers of the home add the special touch with personalized service and complete accessibility... Cheryl is always an email or phone call away.
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Stunning mid century house in hip old Palmas neighborhood.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299100
Palm Springs California Desert
5

Best Weekend Ever

  • 5 of 5
Be very cautious of the negative reviews folks. They aren't true. This house is stunning. The mother/son management team are stellar. Rent this home. Seriously.

Every room was ridiculously comfortable. The outside spaces - whether it be in the shallow chill area under the umbrella in the pool (our fav spot) or in the cushy sectional on the patio or up above the pool in the private sunbathing area - yield perfect opportunities for rest and relaxation. The kitchen performed perfectly for us, plenty of plush towels and paper products were ready for us when we arrived. And Derek, the son of the manager, made himself available for any thing we needed (and is awesome/great sense of humor) AND never came over unannounced. If you appreciate high end style and comfort then you'll appreciate the expense the owner Effie put into this house. I should not forget the stunning views of the mountains, amazing sunsets and the close proximity to nightlife.

I could not recommend this property more highly. What an amazing place!

(PS - they don't mess with you on your deposit. I got all of mine back)
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
business
Stunning mid century house in hip old Palmas neighborhood.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299100
Palm Springs California Desert
1

Horrible experience - don't let the pics fool you!

Horrible experience - don't let the pics fool you!
  • 1 of 5
What a lovely house -- ruined by the kind of irritations you hope won't happen with your vacation rental. We rented this property for our mother's 70th birthday, for her to spend time with her children and grandchildren. It was the kind of high-end experience we were hoping would be memorable and special for everyone. We got a nice looking place....and these headaches:

(1) multiple appliances that weren't working upon our arrival -- think of this house as a movie set...pleasing to the eye, but nothing works.

(2) no soap, toilet paper, or paper towels in the house --- we were told we needed to buy them ourselves.

(3) a mother-son management team that shows up unannounced and uses their key to walk into house when they feel like it...This lack of privacy feeling altered the feeling of the whole stay.

(4) the son of this management team, who made lascivious comments about the women there, used all kinds of profanity around 3-8 year old kids, and, at check-out time, entered the house and yelled at us to get out, continuing the "let's go, everyone out" as we lugged our bags into our cars. An imposing and threatening guy, not what you'd hope to encounter on a vacation.

(5) an admonishment that you're required to strip the beds and load the linens in the washing machine upon departure (who does this?).

(6) a garbage disposal that was broken upon arrival and which we reported immediately -- which, in turn, was blamed on us. Ultimately, the landlord claimed we broke it and took the repair fee out of our security deposit.

(7) we also were hit with one of those large post-visit "additional cleaning fees" (on top of the initial big cleaning fee we paid up front). Oldest trick in the book, right?

(8) An accusation that we ruined multiple towels, also money taken out of our security deposit. We're a low-key extended family, not a frat house! It seems pretty hard to ruin multiple towels during a 3-night stay.

(9) Worst of all, my attempts to respond to these things were met with either silence or outright dismissal. From an email from the owner, Effie:

"We don't make a big profit from renting, but barely cover the costs of our mortgage. You're renting from us. It's our house. You pay us a security deposit, that's how it works. That money is now ours."

Anyway, there are lots of great houses to rent in PS. I'd steer clear of this one. This place left a bad taste in our mouths...which is a bummer on an expensive vacation.
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately most of what was written here is untrue. I think it is sour grapes because yes we did in fact keep a small portion of the damage deposit for additional cleaning and damaged towels as well fedex of his mothers reading glasses and book. No charges were made for disposal unit that didn't work but was fixed immediately or other requests for help in the house, like how to use the Wii...
Our property management team are helpful and responsible and make every effort to help our renters, within reason. They are not a free concierge service. It is their responsibility to make sure everything in the house is working properly and to trouble shoot any issues that may arise. They are also responsible to make sure the house is not being abused in any way and that check out times are respected, especially when we are expecting other guests. We always supply toilet paper, soap and napkins in the house and other basic goods. The house is always clean and we never expect guests to strip beds or do laundry before they leave. However, a pile of every towel left dirty for cleaning staff and a kitchen covered in dirty dishes and garbage that was never put out. Not what we expect from the kind of cliental that rents our house. If this is how they treat their own home, God help them!
business
Stunning mid century house in hip old Palmas neighborhood.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299100
Palm Springs California Desert
5

Beautiful Home - Perfect Desert Getaway

  • 5 of 5
I enjoyed spending two nights in this gorgeous home! I was pleasantly surprised that the home was even more beautiful (and larger) than it appeared in the photos. Everything was perfect, and the property managers were very accommodating and easy to work with. Deposit was refunded promptly. A perfect stay! Will be back for sure. :-)
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Email Manager Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Palm Springs airport
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Car: recommended

Exclusive Las Palmas area of Palm Springs. Quiet and private location with amazing views of the mountains. Close to downtown shopping and restaurants, The Riviera Resort and The Viceroy Hotel. Hiking at your back door and walking distance to the Art Museum and galleries. Quick drive to Cabazon Outlet shopping too! Our big pool and grassy lawn will be a hit with the kids.

Email Manager Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Manager Contact Me

Rates & Availability

Rates & Availability

From $1,200 Per night

Palm Springs House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Coachella
Apr 10 2015 - Apr 13 2015
4 night minimum stay
$10,000
Flat fee
 
 
Coachella
Apr 17 2015 - Apr 20 2015
4 night minimum stay
$8,000
Flat fee
 
 
Spring Break
May 16 2015 - May 22 2015
7 night minimum stay
$7,800
Flat fee
 
 
Spring Break
May 23 2015 - May 29 2015
7 night minimum stay
$7,800
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$1,200
From
$1,400
Fri,Sat
$8,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pool heat per day $70 + Tax
Cleaning $300 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $1,500
Tax Rate 11.5%

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable
Email Manager Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Palm Springs House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 5000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain ...
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Free Long Distance
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Security System
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 5 - toilet
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 2 double
    Bedroom 4 - 2 double
  • Futon or blow up mattress available for children.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Game Console
Communication / Internet:
  • fax
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gazebo
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Housekeeper
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • roller blading
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
There are 2 childrens bikes and 2 adult cruiser bikes available for use, tennis rackets, ping pong table. Printer/fax machine and telephone for local calls. Speakercraft sound system in main parts of house, master bedroom and outside with ipod dock, cd player, radio and sirius sattelite. TV's in every bedroom, as well as kitchen and media room with big flat screen and surround sound.
Email Manager Contact Me

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote