Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Big Sky Views of ~Ka'u~ Coast and 2 Volcanoes on Hawaii Island

Thomas Schnetlage

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Contact the Owner

Thomas Schnetlage

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 28, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Big Sky Views of ~Ka'u~ Coast and 2 Volcanoes on Hawaii Island

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


Naalehu House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Aloha kakou and welcome to our beautiful 3 bedroom/2 bath guest house in the southernmost Ka’u district of Hawai’i Moku. The house has clean modern lines, a modern open kitchen with gas range and dishwasher, vaulted ceilings, stunning views and skylights everywhere. The master bedroom with a king bed has its own bath with a large jacuzzi tub, and opens onto a large covered lanai. There are 2 other bedrooms, each with queen bed, and a second bathroom. We have provided internet access, along with premium cable TV in the living room and 2 of the bedrooms. There is a washer dryer for your convenience, and a garage with direct entry to the house - no getting wet!

We are remote enough to be exceptionally private and quiet, but a 10 minute drive brings you the amenities of the historic plantation town of Na’alehu. 15-20 minutes away are 3 beautiful beach areas: Punalu'u Black Sand Beach (Turtles!) and Whittington/Honu'apo with full facilities, and stunning Kawa Beach which is newly purchased by the county and reopened for public access.

No big hotels or tourist traps, but you’ll find a 2 day a week organic farmers’ market, local style restaurants with live music, a fabulous bakery and a small supermarket. The community of Ocean View is 20 minutes away with expanded services and shops. Golfing is available at Sea Mountain and Volcano courses.

We are only minutes off the highway but a world away from the crowds of Kona. The climate is drier than Hilo, but more lush than Kona - 60 inches average rainfall per year. Our hale is surrounded by 1/3 acre of tropical garden. Settle in with your morning cup of locally grown Ka’u coffee on one of the two large covered lanai. There you will experience transcendent views of Mauna Loa floating over forested hills to the north, and Kilauea crater to the northeast. As you watch the sun rise over the ocean and illuminates the big sky. let your eyes sweep up miles of untouched coastline and sparkling water. When it is clear you will see the eruption plume rising from the Halema'uma'u crater, home of Pele, at Kilauea.

As your hosts, we will be delighted to provide you with detailed visitor information about the area. South Point, or Ka Lae, is 15 minutes away, where you can fish, hike, and encounter Hawaiian sacred sites. For the adventuresome, the hike to Green Sand Beach starts there. The famous Black Sand Beach at Punalu’u, with its estimated 1400 member colony of Green Sea Turtles is a 20 minute drive. There, besides fishing, swimming and snorkeling, you can hike along the coast past an ancient heiau on a section of the old Hawaiian road that once surrounded the island. The beach at Honu ‘Apo, (Whittington Beach Park), now the largest State Park in the islands, is 20 minutes away and features a large inland estuary that attracts waterbirds and monk seals. Kawa Beach is newly reopened to the public. The new Kahuku Ranch section of Volcanoes National Park, where large forests of native trees and plants have grown untouched, is a 5 minute drive to the entrance. This exciting new part of the park is just beginning to become known to visitors now that the Park Service is allowing public entry on weekends. Access points to the higher elevations of this spectacular area are within easy driving range as well. The main area of Volcanoes National Park is a 40 minute drive away. See our links for more info.

Whether you want to spend your days relaxing on the lanai, or seeking out adventures, we say to you: E Komo mai I kou hale kipa a na kupuna (a warm welcome to our “home that cherishes the elders”).

Keywords: hale, bungalow

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Thomas Schnetlage (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 28, 2015

About Thomas Schnetlage

We live in Berkeley, California and plan to retire on Hawai'i Island.

Thomas Schnetlage purchased this house in 2009

Why Thomas Schnetlage chose Naalehu

We love the area and have many friends there. We feel a deep spiritual connection to Hawai'i Island and Ka'u.

What makes this house unique

Peace, quiet and adventure.

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 14 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Big Sky Views of ~Ka'u~ Coast and 2 Volcanoes on Hawaii Island
average rating of 4.785714 based on 14 reviews
Blairsville, GA

Paradise revisited

  • 5 of 5

We loved this wonderful home for our two month visit to the Big Island! What did we love about it? In a word, everything! Spacious, well equipped, very clean, wonderful king size bed (three bedrooms, but only two of us), centrally located for our needs, quietness of the area, views of the mountains, ocean, and beautiful sunrises made this the ideal home for our visit. The owners are really nice people and very accommodating. We had great communication and even additional photos before our arrival and provided a list with descriptions of exciting things to do on the island. They even provided beach chairs, snorkel gear, beach towels and anything else needed for the beach.

We were here during the winter visits of Humpback whales and blessed with many spectacular viewing opportunities. There are great beaches and hiking opportunities in the immediate area and Hawaii Volcanoes National Park is just a short drive away with many sights and hikes to enjoy. We really enjoyed two local places to eat and snack, Hana Hou Restaurant with a full and the Punaluu Bakery with great sandwiches, ice cream and malasadas. The central location, which is roughly halfway between Hilo and Kona, enabled us to do several day trips to other parts of the island and we even got in an overnighter in the backcountry of the national park.

For us this home was magical and the great value allowed us to do more things than if we had stayed in a resort area. We hope to be able to return in the future.

  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Perfect for us

  • 5 of 5

We felt this was exactly what we saw in the pictures inside and out. Loved the sunrises from the lanai, and was a good home away from home to kick off and unwind before and after our many hiking and snorkeling adventures up both the east and west side of the island. We are a family of four and it gave us some space to spread out and fun places to hang together.

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Strathmore, Ab, Canada

Wish I could have taken the Lanai home with me...

  • 4 of 5

My family and I recently stayed at the Big Sky house for 2 weeks April 2014. Our family includes 2 adults, two teenagers and one 8 year old. We loved the house, especially the Lanai and yard. If we hadn't wanted to see so much we would have been happy to spend the day on the Lanai staring at the view of the ocean and beautiful yard. The area of Discovery Harbor where the house is located is very nice and quiet and the residents we came across were all very friendly. I enjoyed a nice 7 mile run every morning and felt very safe during. Everybody I came across either gave a wave or a friendly aloha. Even though the square footage of the house is not that large it feels very spacious and my family of five always had room to spread out.

I found all my interactions with the owner Tom, very agreeable. He always responded to my questions and inquiries very promptly and gave us lots of valuable information. He always seemed very concerned that all was well and we were happy.

In regards to another review I read as to the cleanliness of the house, I found it very clean but not immaculate. By not immaculate I mean it has a more 'lived in' appearance. Yes the bathtub and shower doors have some permanent stains on it but I never felt it was dirty. I did notice the ceiling fans had some dust on them but I honestly didn't really care that much. The beds were extremely comfortable. I slept in the king and one of the doubles one night and they were both very comfortable. My daughter also spent a night sleeping on the hammock on the covered lanai and it was one of the highlights of her trip.

The only negatives of staying at the Big Sky house we found were, if you are planning on spending a lot of time at the best beaches which are near Kona, it is a bit of a trek. The distance is not that far but the road is fairly winding and the speed limit is pretty low so it can take over an hour. And the other negative was the cleaning lady.... I never discussed with Tom a check out time, and going over all my house information the day before I couldn't find any specific check out. I assumed that it was probably around noon. We planned to be out of the house by 11:30. The cleaning lady showed up at 10:30 and was quite rude. We felt really rushed as she wouldn't leave and started cleaning as we were trying to pack up. That really was our only major negative.

  • Submitted: May 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Sevierville, TN

Fell in Love with Discovery Harbour

  • 3 of 5

My husband and I spent 10 days here. The neighborhood is excellent! Neighbors are polite and friendly. It was very nice to wake up to sunrise over the ocean in one direction and green hills in the other. The house is comfortable and well equiped. I would have given it 5 stars if it had been cleaned. In the owners defense he did offer to refund the cleaning fee and stated that he had not updated the rental calendar which informs the housekeeper of incoming guest. He responded very quickly when I contacted him; however, the house really needed a DEEP cleaning - the shower doors and tub in the master ensuite had soap scum buildup, fans and baseboards were covered in thick dust. Our only other complaint was the bed in the master bedroom was very uncomfortable. When considering this area you need to be aware of the distance to Hilo or Kona - about 65 miles to each and no major grocery stores in between. With this being said we would definitely stay in Discovery Harbour or the Naalehu area again!

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: A big thank you to these guests who took the trouble to write- we appreciate a review that provides us with real feedback about how to improve. Because of a calendar glitch, the guests arrived without our housekeeper knowing, and coincidentally during a time she had set aside to complete her periodic deep cleaning. We assure future guests that the bathrooms and baseboards will be sparkling. The king mattress in the master bedroom is not new. When we stay there we are comfortable and we’ve had no complaints before now. However, now that we know, we will be replacing it within the next month. Mahalo nui, Fran and Tom

Very nice house and peaceful

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed to stay overthere . The house is perfect , clean, spacious, well located and not to far fron Volcano national Park and close to Green sand beach. We have been hiking around

Lots of room for a family. The lanai is great too.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Brunswick, Ohio

Absolutely lovely/spacious Na'alehu home

  • 5 of 5

Upon driving up to Tom/Fran's home, I was totally surprised and thoroughly pleased. The photos displayed on VRBO do not do this home justice. The nicely landscaped yard is filled with flowering shrubs, palms and a papaya tree.Having a garage with a door opener is a great plus! Even though I didn't make use of it, there was a gas grill available.Not only is there a front porch but a deck off the diningroom and one off the master bedroom too, complete with sitting area as well as a hammock. The view out the livingroom window is beautiful, but the view from the master deck is spectacular because you can see the ocean. The kitchen is open and light and has a lovely view as well. There is plenty of counter space in addition to an island for dinner prep. Stainless appliances and dishwasher. The high speed internet is great and if you are using your laptop at the desk, you won't get much work done because you'll be staring out the huge window at the lush green hillside. The master bedroom has more than enough closet space and drawers. Relaxing in the jetted tub was heavenly after a full day of sightseeing. There is another full bath as well as two very nice queen sized rooms. A full sized washer and dryer are onsite for your convenience and were much appreciated. I cannot comment on the restaurants in Na'alehu as I didn't eat in any; however, there is the Punalu'u Bakery which is phenomenal.They not only make mouth-watering pastries but have a great sandwich and salad selection, delicious ice cream plus a nice variety of souveniers, and a pleasant seating area outdoors. Definitely worth a visit (or two!) We found it convenient to stay on the southern end of the island as it made visiting either side doable if you started out in the morning. There is undoubtedly alot of miles to be covered while visiting the Big Island and this home makes a good base for accomplishing that feat.Tom is very efficient in his correspondence when making a reservation and the process progresses smoothly.I wholeheartedly recommend staying in this lovely home when you visit the Big Island. It truly measures up to any others I have stayed in.

  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway


Nearest Airport
55 Miles
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Car: necessary

Entry gate to Kahuku Ranch section of Hawaii Volcanoes National Park is 5 minutes drive. Main part of the National Park is 50 minute drive. 20 minutes from Black Sand Beach home of hundreds of green sea turtles. 12 miles from Ka Lae, southernmost point in U.S., sacred to Hawaiian People.


Rates & Availability

From $79 Per night

Naalehu House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Off season
Apr 13 2015 - Dec 10 2015
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee >=2 weeks $125
Cleaning fee <2 weeks $75
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 13.25%
Notes Cancellation Policy: Full amount of amount paid will be refunded with at least 30 days notice. For less than 30 days notice, refund amount will be prorated. Owner reserves right to cancel reservation and refund amount paid in rare case of unforseen circumstances out of owner's control.
Checks and Paypal accepted. Reservation confirmed when deposit of 50% of total amount due received. Balance due 30 days prior to arrival.
Enter dates to see total


Naalehu House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq. ft.
  • 1 story
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Master bathroom has large jacuzzi tub/shower, second bathroom has full tub and shower.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Large master bedroom with king size bed and cable tv, 2 more bedrooms each with a Queen size bed
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 2 beach chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
Tropical landscaped garden, 2 huge wind protected and covered lanai with views

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

$895 - $1,170 per week
3 night min stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 12
$450 per week
4 night min stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$245 per week
5 night min stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 2

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote