CHARMING, ECO-FRIENDLY CABIN RETREAT, HEART OF DEEP CREEK

Sean Surla

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Owner

Sean Surla

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

CHARMING, ECO-FRIENDLY CABIN RETREAT, HEART OF DEEP CREEK

Oakland Cabin Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9

Our cabin is a charming retreat in a native woodland setting. It's in the heart of Deep Creek Lake, offering recreational activities year round. Wisp Ski Resort is 2.3 miles and the lake is a short stroll away. Stay at our cozy hideaway under the stars. In winter you'll find a snow filled wonderland as you relax by the crackling fire. Spring, summer or fall take a swim, explore nature or go boating. Walk to the nearby cafe or stay and have cappuccino on the deck. Take a day trip to Frank Lloyd Wright's Fallingwater. Our cabin is an accommodating, truly hip, cozy getaway for families and singles. It's the place for a wonderful healthy break at an affordable price.

We will continue to make changes to the property in keeping with a greener world. We would appreciate your insights in creating a 'greener' cabin as well. Here's to a healthy body, mind, planet and lifestyle. We look forward to sharing our cabin retreat with you.

Eco Friendly Living: It's our goal to have the cabin completely renewable(green)and self sufficient, as soon as technology and financing allows(keep renting and we will get there sooner!) Currently we have used eco-paints that do not emit harmful gases. We've furnished the cabin using Craig's list which means most everything is recycled at least one generation. We use renewable products and recycle whenever possible. Water is renewably drawn from our well and heat is enhanced by the fireplace.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only

Sean Surla

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2009
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.6
based on 20 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Charming, Eco-Friendly Cabin Retreat, Heart of Deep Creek
average rating of 4.55 based on 20 reviews
business
Charming, Eco-Friendly Cabin Retreat, Heart of Deep Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296657
+1 (240) 676-7252
Oakland Deep Creek Lake
Stevensville, MD USA
5

Cozy cottage in the woods

  • 5 of 5
This was our third year spending Thanksgiving week at Deep Creek and our favorite rental to-date. It was exactly as presented in the listing: clean, very well appointed, pefect location. The Hot Tub is brand new, and beautiful. We had some early winter weather, so it was nice to be close to the Market, movie theater and Pizza Uno. I recommend 4 wheel drive if visiting in winter.
  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming, Eco-Friendly Cabin Retreat, Heart of Deep Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296657
+1 (240) 676-7252
Oakland Deep Creek Lake
Rockville, MD
5

Great Escape

  • 5 of 5
This cabin is a great escape. We stopped at Firefly Creamery for a wine and cheese tasting on the way to Deep Creek. In the morning we liked hanging out on the deck, breathing the fresh air and looking at the boulders. One day we made a reservation and took the one hour scenic route to Frank Lloyd Wright's Fallingwater. It was a great tour. Mostly we enjoyed spending time at the quaint cabin. This place made us feel like we really had a vacation from our busy lives. Next time we want to check out Adventure Sports Center at the top of Wisp mountain!
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming, Eco-Friendly Cabin Retreat, Heart of Deep Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296657
+1 (240) 676-7252
Oakland Deep Creek Lake
Chesapeake Beach, MD
5

SECOND VISIT JUST AS WONDERFUL!!!

  • 5 of 5
Once again we, the Mattingly and McGuire clan, had a wonderful stay at this rental over the President's Day Holiday weekend. The property is delightful and the owners are fantastic! Totally ignore the negative reviews. These types of guests need to stay home. We will be back! Thank you Sean.
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming, Eco-Friendly Cabin Retreat, Heart of Deep Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296657
+1 (240) 676-7252
Oakland Deep Creek Lake
4

Nice weekend getaway!

  • 4 of 5
We had a great weekend! Nice little getaway. Its is very close to wisp which was great for us to hit the slopes!
  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Charming, Eco-Friendly Cabin Retreat, Heart of Deep Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296657
+1 (240) 676-7252
Oakland Deep Creek Lake
Bethesda
5

Lovely Girls Getaway Weekend!

  • 5 of 5
We arrived to find this absolutely adorable cabin and we immediately fell in love. Very clean with a well-stocked kitchen and very comfortable. The owners were great to deal with, even though we asked to change the date several times.

I noticed that there is another review that claims that the property was dirty. I am very surprised. One of the reasons that I chose this cabin is because of other stellar reviews.

We will definitely return, and are already planning our visit for next year.
  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming, Eco-Friendly Cabin Retreat, Heart of Deep Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296657
+1 (240) 676-7252
Oakland Deep Creek Lake
1

Dirty, Dirty, Dirty

  • 1 of 5
I rented the cabin for a quick weekend get away with my girlfriend. The pictures on the website are accurate with exception of cleanliness and location. The cabin is in a very rural area rather than a quite "woodland" setting as described and the cabin itself is very dirty. For example, there were dirty women's panties on the floor in the bedroom closet, food smears over the kitchen table and counter tops, and the jacuzzi was filthy. According to the contract, the jacuzzi is drained prior to every visit but there was dirt, leaves, etc in the bottom and mold and fuzz (i.e. bacteria) growing from the filter intakes and jets. Clearly the jacuzzi water had not been drained in quite a while. I called the owner, upon arrival, who simply said she would check into and get back to me. Naturally, I never received a reply. We actually left one night early because we were so disappointed. The owner did refund half the rent but unfortunately, she was difficult to work with and very, very rude throughout the refund process.

My advice - There are way too many places to chose from to just settle for this place. Move on to the next cabin and cross your fingers!
  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This review breaks my heart. We work so hard to make our cabin a wonderful place. There is no doubt that this renter encountered problems. We refunded his money, along with a sincere apology. The cleaning and hot tub services have been UPGRADERD and are now regularily overseen by an excellent management service. I CAN ASSURE FUTURE RENTERS THAT THE PROBLEMS HAVE BEEN CORRECTED.

Please read the PRIOR EXCELLENT REVIEWS and know that we will be more careful than ever to make sure that you have a wonderful time.
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

The landscape is a native hemlock and pine forest with moss strewn boulders and ferns. At nearby Swallow Falls, a 12 minute drive, you can see spectacular waterfalls and Maryland's last stand of old growth hemlock forest with 300 year old trees.

Other Activities: Kayaking, snowboarding, rock climbing, miniature golf

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Oakland Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Jun 19 2014 - Aug 31 2014
2 night minimum stay
$175
From
$250
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,100
 
 
Fall
Sep 1 2014 - Nov 30 2014
2 night minimum stay
$160
From
$225
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,000
 
 
Winter
Dec 1 2014 - Mar 31 2015
2 night minimum stay
$175
From
$250
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,275
 
 
Spring
Apr 1 2015 - Jun 18 2015
2 night minimum stay
$160
From
$225
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$950
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $100
Notes 3rd Night $50. (except for Mon, Tues, Wed)
Flexible Check-in / Check-out times
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Oakland Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lake
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Iron & Board
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Sofa Bed
  • Parking
  • Internet
  • Wireless Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Kitchen
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Pantry Items
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Full 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Full 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
  • Ceiling fans in King and Queen bedrooms
Entertainment:
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • VCR
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Video Library
  • Television
  • Games
  • Books
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • waterfalls
  • restaurants
  • autumn foliage
  • forests
  • recreation center
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • miniature golf
  • boating
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • mountain climbing
  • golf
  • cross country skiing
  • kayaking
  • rock climbing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • pier fishing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • jet skiing
  • rafting
  • swimming
  • sailing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • skiing
  • wind-surfing
  • water skiing
  • mountain biking
Notes:
Fire Pit on the large boulder next to the deck
Email Owner Contact Me