Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Otero Cabin - Spacious Log Cabin Minutes from Downtown

Marcus Myer

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps14
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Marcus Myer

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
March 26, 2015
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Otero Cabin - Spacious Log Cabin Minutes from Downtown

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

Ruidoso House Rental Photos and Description

House, 4 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 10-14)

PLEASE INQUIRE BY EMAIL IF YOU ARE SEEKING TO STAY LESS THAN THE MINIMUM NIGHTS REQUIRED FOR THE SEASON. I WILL TRY MY BEST TO WORK WITH YOU IN REGARDS TO PRICE AND MINIMUM NIGHTS STAYED DEPENDING ON THE DATES AND SITUATION.

Our home is a 2,200 square foot rustic log cabin located close to the Lincoln National Forest recreation area, downtown Ruidoso, and Ski Apache. It has a hot tub on the second level deck and also a third story loft that serves as a game room great for kids. The neighborhood is peaceful and quiet, and there is plenty of parking space for all types of vehicles.

The home has a master bathroom with a full bathroom attached, along with two other bedrooms (both queen size beds) located down the hall with a full hallway bathroom nearby. The loft easily fits three more beds and serves as a great bedroom for the kids. Finally, downstairs there is an additional large bedroom with a king bed. The main living area and kitchen are located on the second story and is accessible from a stairway in the garage/entry area and a much shorter back-door entrance from where the driveway curls around the house through the master bedroom.

Thank you for considering our lovely home. Please be sure to check the calendar for availability, and email me to receive an exact quote or to answer any questions you may have.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Marcus Myer (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
March 26, 2015

What makes this house unique

Skiing, horse racing, gambling and snowmobiling

Why HomeAway

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.4
based on 17 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Otero Cabin - Spacious Log Cabin Minutes from Downtown
average rating of 4.352941 based on 17 reviews
San Antonio, TX
1

OK except 3 Major Issues

  • 1 of 5

1. The hot tub was not working which was one of the major selling points and would have had us rent elsewhere if we had been told this. It had a semi-permanent looking "temporarily out of order" sign. 2. The toilet in the second bathroom takes several hours to refill so we had to keep the tank lid off and pour a bucket of water in the tank when we wanted to flush it. 3. The owner seemed somewhat unprofessional and unsympathetic to our issues and eventually stopped replying because I guess they just didn't care to have a satisfied customer once we had left the house. Also, the listing mentions games and a pool table neither of which are maintained to where they can actually be used.

  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Just ok

  • of 5

To rent this cabin you pay a hot tub fee and a cleaning fee. However, the hot tub was not working when we arrived and the check out procedures involved us doing most of the cleaning. The furnishings were nice and there are lots of beds and seating available for large groups, but only two bathrooms and the water pressure from the shower heads is extremely weak, making showers longer and the wait time for your turn longer. If you come with more than four people, have a plan for showering and decide how you will divide up the chores that are required in addition to the cleaning fee.

  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The hot tub needed reset as it seems the GFI breaker must have tripped due to the wetness of the winter season. It was operational for their use for the remainder of their stay other than the first night since it needed to warm up. In the five years we have been renting out this home, this is the first customer out of hundreds to my knowledge that has complained about the shower pressure, so I really wish they would have brought it to my attention during their stay, rather than posting a review that is not a true description of our home. Also, the requirements of our guests upon check-out is in line with industry standards - take out your trash, strip your beds, pile your dirty linens, and don't leave nasty messes. Our professional cleaning service does a great job of doing the actual cleaning - these tasks just help them to move more quickly in case guests are checking in that same day. This guest seemed to be upset because I did not allow a later check-out due to the fact that we did have guests checking in that same evening.

Ruidoso Cabin

  • of 5

We paid extra for a home with a hot tub. The hot tub never worked the entire time we were there. Nobody addressed our issue. The owner said he has taken due diligence to take care of it. It feels like a small refund would have addressed the issue. This was my fourth time using VRBO for a cabin in Ruidoso. It will be my last. As far as the cabin, there are far better homes in the area. The photo below is of us having to fill the toilet with water since it would not work on it's own.

  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our spa tub did have a malfunction the week leading up to this guest's stay. The parts were ordered and scheduled to be installed the morning before they arrived. When the hot tub guy showed up to install, he found he needed one more part. The guest and I spoke about the issue, to which I said we were working as fast as we could to fix the problem. It was repaired on Monday late afternoon, and these guests did not check-out until Wednesday morning, so they did have use of it for a period of time of their stay. As our rental agreement states, we do our very best to repair maintenance issues as fast as we can, and we did so in this situation. The guests also never notified us of an issue with the toilet or we would have had someone over there right away to fix it. Every home has a maintenance issue or two from time to time, and it is unfortunate that it fell during a guest's stay. That is why we worked diligently to get it operational as soon as possible.

Orero Cabin

  • of 5

Our family had a wonderful 3 nights & 4 days at this cabin. The beds & furnishings were very comfortable. The location is perfect. We will definitely stay here again in the future!

  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway

Holiday vacation

  • of 5

Had a great vacation with family. Would recommend!

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway

Family Ski trip

  • of 5

We were amazed at the beauty of the place. We were all so very comfortable there. We will definitely book with you again.

  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway

Map

Car: recommended

Our cabin is located in a quiet residential area not far from anything in Ruidoso. It takes only minutes to get to restaurants, shops, the grocery store, the movie theater, golf courses, and more.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $175 Per night

Ruidoso House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring Season
Mar 23 2015 - May 7 2015
2 night minimum stay
$175
$1,155
 
 
Early Summer 2015
May 8 2015 - May 20 2015
2 night minimum stay
$195
From
$225
Fri,Sat
$1,225
 
 
Memorial Day 2015
May 21 2015 - May 24 2015
3 night minimum stay
$315
 
 
Mid Summer 2015
May 25 2015 - Jul 1 2015
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,575
 
 
July 4th 2015
Jul 2 2015 - Jul 5 2015
3 night minimum stay
$315
 
 
Later Summer 2015
Jul 6 2015 - Sep 2 2015
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,575
 
 
Labor Day 2015
Sep 3 2015 - Sep 7 2015
3 night minimum stay
$325
 
 
Fall Season
Sep 8 2015 - Nov 23 2015
2 night minimum stay
$185
From
$195
Fri,Sat
$1,100
 
 
Thanksgiving 2015
Nov 24 2015 - Nov 30 2015
4 night minimum stay
$325
 
 
Christmas Break 2015
Dec 18 2015 - Jan 3 2016
4 night minimum stay
$325
 
 
Spring Break 2016
Mar 11 2016 - Mar 26 2016
4 night minimum stay
$315
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$195
$1,365
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning and Hot Tub Maintenance Fee $150
Processing and Administration Fee $50
Pet Fee $50
Property Damage Protection $49
Tax Rate 5.12%
Notes Two night stays will be considered during the week of the Fall and Spring Seasons or where there is a small gap between reservations. We do charge Holiday Rates for Memorial Day, July 4th, and Labor Day as well. We discount the nightly rate for stays of four or more nights. We require 5 night minimums for the main week of Spring Break and over Christmas Day.

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Ruidoso House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • Town
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom #2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king , TV - bathroom attached
    King Bedroom #2 - 1 king , TV with love seat
    Queen Bedroom #3 - 1 queen
    Queen Bedroom #4 - 1 queen
    Loft - 1 king , 1 double , TV, bumper pool, and bar for games.
  • King size beds (3), Queen size Beds (2), Double Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • live theater
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting big game
  • hunting small game
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote