GREAT MOUNTAIN GETAWAY ON THE SHENANDOAH RIVER! ON THE SHENANDOAH RIVER, WATERFR

Eugene

Advertiser since 2010
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Eugene

Advertiser since 2010
Speaks english
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

GREAT MOUNTAIN GETAWAY ON THE SHENANDOAH RIVER! ON THE SHENANDOAH RIVER, WATERFR

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Overview

Elkton Cabin Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedrooms + Loft, 1 Bath (Sleeps 6-8)

River Haven Cottage is nestled on the beautiful Shenandoah River with a spectacular year round view. The very name River Haven hints to its warm and cozy place on the river. Life at the cabin is very low key, just the place to relax and take it easy while having the full features of a home at your finger tips. Explore the river or the nearby national parks, all at your own pace. River Haven has something to offer for all who visit.

River Haven is the perfect place to relax. Enjoy a local hike or sit back on our large deck and enjoy the river. River Haven offers all the comforts of home with the advantages of being located by the Shenandoah River. Bring a pole and lures and enjoy our abundant small mouth bass or take the canoe and tour the river.

River Haven is situated on the northwestern portion of a 200 acre farm named Rivercrest that dates back to an original land grant from the King of England. The original deed granted hundreds of acres to the Moyer/Taylor family who were also distant relatives of our 12th President of the United States , Zachary Taylor. While the Taylors amassed most of their holdings through many local business dealings of the 1800’s, the fertile soil and incredible waterfront beauty of Rivercrest always interested the last heir Everet to farm and cultivate the rich soil and produce abundant crops. In the 1960’s, Mr. Taylor sold roughly an acre of riverfront property to a local businessman and soon after River Haven was born. The previous owners of River Haven upgraded and maintained the waterfront retreat and decided to share its peace, quiet, and solitude with the rest of those looking for a retreat away from the stresses of modern day life. And, to this day, these qualities make River Haven such a unique and incredible property and it invites you to feel like a part of the infamous Shenandoah River like no other can offer. As the owners of Rivercrest and now River Haven we are pleased that the two are once again joined together and we are anxious to add our touches to River Haven and for our guest to experience the stress and tension leaving as you make your way down past the historic farm that we and Mr. Taylor love and cherish and find your peace, solitude, and enjoyment in all that River Haven has to offer.

The Unique Benefits of this Cabin: Explore the river or the nearby national parks, all at your own pace. River Haven has something to offer for all who visit. River Haven is the perfect place to relax. Enjoy a local hike or sit back on our large deck and enjoy the river. River Haven offers all the comforts of home with the advantages of being located by the Shenandoah River. Bring a pole and lures and enjoy our abundant small mouth bass or take the canoe and tour the river.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Eugene (Property Manager)
Advertiser since 2010
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

About Eugene

River Haven is owned by Paul and Linda, mother and son. It is their sincere pleasure to offer River Haven to you as your home away from home. Your Cabin Concierge is Kim. Paul, Linda and Kim are life long residents of the Elkton and Shenandoah area and share a love for the Valley and for River Haven.

Eugene purchased this cabin in 2012

Why Eugene chose Elkton

River Haven is situated on the northwestern portion of a 200 acre farm named Rivercrest that dates back to an original land grant from the King of England. The original deed granted hundreds of acres to the Moyer/Taylor family who were also distant relatives of our 12th President of the United States , Zachary Taylor. While the Taylors amassed most of their holdings through many local business dealings of the 1800’s, the fertile soil and incredible waterfront beauty of Rivercrest always interested the last heir Everet to farm and cultivate the rich soil and produce abundant crops. In the 1960’s, Mr. Taylor sold roughly an acre of riverfront property to a local businessman and soon after River Haven was born. The previous owners of River Haven upgraded and maintained the waterfront retreat and decided to share its peace, quiet, and solitude with the rest of those looking for a retreat away from the stresses of modern day life. And, to this day, these qualities make River Haven such a unique and incredible property and it invites you to feel like a part of the infamous Shenandoah River like no other can offer. As the owners of Rivercrest and now River Haven we are pleased that the two are once again joined together and we are anxious to add our touches to River Haven and for our guest to experience the stress and tension leaving as you make your way down past the historic farm that we and Mr. Taylor love and cherish and find your peace, solitude, and enjoyment in all that River Haven has to offer.

What makes this cabin unique

A true sense of relief touches you as you rest on the deck and look over the river. Your mind wonders as to who traveled the water ways long before automobiles and you are swept back to a much simpler time.

Guestbook comments from the manager

I had a great time; I was really impressed with the cabin. My daughters and my wife had a splendid time. Something I would consider is the timing to check out. I think it should be 12:00 o’clock due to Saturday night you do a lot and in the morning there is not enough time. I really thank you for the opportunity to share the cabin with us and trust me we are going to come back and fish again and maybe bring someone to help me row the canoe, because my wife wouldn’t get in because the girls were afraid of the canoe in the water. Thanks for everything.
Mar 2012
  • 1 of 16

Why HomeAway

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.3
based on 30 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Great Mountain Getaway on the Shenandoah River! on the Shenandoah River, Waterfr
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 46 reviews
business
Great Mountain Getaway on the Shenandoah River! on the Shenandoah River, Waterfr
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295879
+1 -540-383-2755
Elkton Shenandoah Valley
Charleston, SC, USA
5

River Haven

  • 5 of 5
Want a secluded getaway with a great view, privacy and access to blue ribbon fishing? This is the place. Exceptional service from our concierge when the slightest hiccup was experienced. We will return every year...
  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Great Mountain Getaway on the Shenandoah River! on the Shenandoah River, Waterfr
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295879
+1 -540-383-2755
Elkton Shenandoah Valley
5

River Ranch

  • 5 of 5
Our stay at the River Ranch was wonderful. The hot tub on the deck was heaven in the morning and the perfect remedy for after long hikes. The deck was the highlight of the place with a beautiful view of the river at all different times of day, and we grilled almost every night. The house was comfortable and equipped with TV and games for times of poor weather or just taking a break from the outside. Food stores and restaurants were close by, but a car was needed to get around. It is a peaceful getaway and I would recommend it to anyone.
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Great Mountain Getaway on the Shenandoah River! on the Shenandoah River, Waterfr
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295879
+1 -540-383-2755
Elkton Shenandoah Valley
5

great cabin

  • 5 of 5
I came from Colorado to my nephew's wedding at Elkton. This was a very convenient place to stay with my sister and her husband. I can not imagine anymore than 4 people staying here. The loft can only be used by kids and there is only one bathroom. Great shady deck with wonderful views of the river. We were there for the flood last week and had front row seats. A few days later we took out the canoe and saw many turtles, goslings and ducklings. We did contact Kim when we could not figure out the tv and she came by immediately and fixed it. The hot tub worked for us and was quite pleasant. Would stay there again. Emilie
  • Submitted: May 22, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Great Mountain Getaway on the Shenandoah River! on the Shenandoah River, Waterfr
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295879
+1 -540-383-2755
Elkton Shenandoah Valley
3

Great weekend but some things to point out!

  • 3 of 5
We had a great time and the cabin is very peaceful. Kitchen well stocked so made it easy. Cabin clean. The negative things I would have to say is we recieved an email the night of check in at 4:10PM letting us know the hot tub is not working(check in at 3PM)...many people book places specifically for the hot tub feature. We were alittle upset we recieved the email AFTER check in. We wisht they would have told us well in advance...Although disappointed, we just let it go. Also, the loft area does not have stairs, it is literally a ladder to go up to the loft. Not ideal for small kids at all and dangerous. I am pregnant, and my two brothers have young kids so sleeping arrangements were rather difficult with that surprise. The TV did not work all weekend. The front door literally opens up to the one bathroom which was odd. We used the back door all weekend so it was fine. Shower only, no bath. Shower very small. We arent picky people so it worked and we had a great time because it was a short stay but would not recommend an extended stay. The desk on the river is awesome :)
  • Submitted: May 7, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We take all reviews very serious and use them to help improve River Haven Cabin and make it the best it can possibly be for our customers. To address a few issues, we had recently had a flood in the area, thus knocking out the cable for not only us but a lot of others in the area. We do apologize for this and are looking into other options for our television service. The hot tub has been repaired, I do apologize that you were not notified until on your way but do to scheduling I was not notified until late that day that there were issues, and Once again I do apologize. We take the safety of our guest seriously and have posted on our website that the loft area is ladder accessed and not suitable for children under a certain age. I am glad that you were able to enjoy your stay and partake in the beauty that surrounds the cabin. I will pass along all of your concerns and assure you that they will be discussed and plans will be put into place to avoid these incidents in the future. www.shenandoahcabins.com
business
Great Mountain Getaway on the Shenandoah River! on the Shenandoah River, Waterfr
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295879
+1 -540-383-2755
Elkton Shenandoah Valley
5

Perfect weekend getaway!

  • 5 of 5
Like the rest of our trip to the Shenandoah Valley, our stay at the River Haven was filled with pleasant surprises and a desire to return -- soon!

There were lots of small touches that we immediately noticed upon checking in, such as the freshly cleaned interior, fresh linens, and ample supply of information that made us feel like it was truly our home for a few days. The river made the perfect wake-up scenery and a very pleasant way to retreat from our day-to-day city hustle. There is a two bed loft that our under-10 year old boys thought was the greatest, and I sense that twenty years from now they will still be telling stories of the "cabin with the loft."

We enjoyed exploring the nearby small towns of Shenandoah and Elkton. For our younger kids, we really liked the WigWam village playground, and we hiked the portage path to the base of the river dam, which is about 400m downriver of the cabin.

We enjoyed Hanks BBQ which was close to Massanutten. We drove about a half hour south and found the Grand Caverns, which was a far better show cavern than the touristy-trappy Luray Caverns. We decided to take a small detour and check out the CrossKeys Winery which had a great Merlot. There was no shortage of new experiences!

I want to thank the owners and property managers. We had a small issue with the cabin that we wanted to bring to their attention and we received literally immediate feedback and follow up to ensure that we were happy.

We would recommend this place to any family looking for some time away from the everyday and we're already looking on our calendar to see when we can repeat the trip again. The pictures are very representative of the property.
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Great Mountain Getaway on the Shenandoah River! on the Shenandoah River, Waterfr
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295879
+1 -540-383-2755
Elkton Shenandoah Valley
1

cute place

  • 1 of 5
Well two things happened we didn't have the code to get in, and the magor issue was no TV in the living room nor internet svc was a very down fall on this part. The cabin itsself was nice and cozy but we should had been told before we came down that the TV and interent svc was down for over 2 weeks and we were not told of this problem. I was very disappointed in finding this out when we arrived. It rained all day on Sunday so we could not watch any of the football games other than an 19" tv in the bedroom. Nice location it's better for a summer retreat in my opinion and not for a winter adventure. I beleive if you want good customer svc you should be very truthful to your customers of any issues the cabin has before you make that long journey and we did not get that chance. Over all I rate our trip a 4 due to a major issue of no TV nor Internet svc if somehting had happened we would had no way of getting help to us since they didn't as well have any phones at the cabin and cell svc was out of reach.
Thank You Kindly,
Anita & Tom Disney
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry that the lack of T.V service was an issue during your relaxing peaceful retreat. After your departure we investigated further, the internet was working fine and we were able to obtain connection. As for no phone, in our final paperwork we send out it clearly states that cell phone service in the area is sometimes not very good and even listed what providers in the area service was best with. A key code is always listed in the final paperwork as well and apologize if for some reason it had been omitted. We do understand your concern regarding the phone and your safety had something happened, and will be reviewing our options on this issue. Once again we apologize for any inconvenience this posed during your stay and are constantly searching for ways to ensure this does not happen in the future. It is very hard, when working with and outside provider, to get a resolution in a timely manner. I do apologize for not letting you know prior to your stay and will implement this action into all future situations. We do value your feedback as we find this very helpful in making River Haven Cabin the best it can possibly be.
Email Manager Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
28 Miles
Shenandoah Valley Regional, Weyers Cave, VA
Nearest Barpub
6 Miles
Jack Browns Single Wide
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Massanutten Ski Resort, McGaheysville, VA
Nearest Train
114 Miles
Washington Union Train Station, Washington, DC
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Route 340,, Shenandoah, VA
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Mamma Mia, North Side Country Diner
Nearest Ski
8 Miles
Massanutten Ski Resort, McGaheysville, VA
Nearest Beach
220 Miles
Virginia Beach, VA
Car: necessary

The very name River Haven hints to its warm and cozy place on the river with spectacular views year round. Life at the cabin is very low key, just the place to relax and take it easy while having the full features of a home at your fingertips.

Other Activities: River Haven offers easy access to abundant recreational opportunities from canoeing, tubing and kayaking rentals nearby, numerous golf courses, tennis, miniature golf, horseback riding, go carts, hiking, antiquing, museums, wineries, dining, historic Towns, battlefields, Skyline Drive, Luray Caverns and so much more.

Golf: Golfers in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia have a wide variety of courses on which to test their skills. These golf courses are located in some of the most scenic surroundings in Virginia with breath taking views of the Blue Ridge and Allegheny Mountains and the beautiful Shenandoah Valley.

Heritage Oaks Golf Course, Spotswood Country Club, Lakeview Golf Course, Massanutten Resort, Packsaddle Ridge, Shenvalee

Ski: Massanutten is one of the Mid-Atlantic's premier snow resorts with over 3 million skiers and snowboarders having experienced the joy of sliding on their snow. Massanutten boasts 1,110 feet of vertical - the most in Virginia, Maryland, or Pennsylvania. If you ski, snowboard, snow tube or want to learn how, Massanutten is the place to be!

Email Manager Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Manager Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Elkton Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Peak Seaspm
Apr 1 2015 - Sep 30 2015
2 night minimum stay
$180
From
$245
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$110
 

Additional information about rental rates

Additional Pet Fee $10
Processing & Pet $99
Notes Rates are always subject to change. For the most up to date rates and specials visit our website at: www.shenandoahcabins.com * For pet owners add an additional $20 for 2 pets, $30 for 3 to the standard $69 processing and pet fee.

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting manager when booking.
Email Manager Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Elkton Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • River ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Fireplace ...
  • Firewood
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Loft - 2 twin/ single , ladder accessed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Queen Futon *The Loft bed area is not tall enough for an adult to stand upright in and is accessed by a vertical ladder that you will have to climb. When considering occupancy always remember the Futon in the living room folds down to sleep two adults comfortably if the ladder is an issue for your guest.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Canoe
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Wood Deck
  • 8 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting small game
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
River Haven has two bedrooms with queen size beds, a loft with two twin beds and a queen sleep sofa in the great room. The large great room has a stone fireplace with electric logs for those chilly fall and winter evenings. Also there is cable TV, board games, a gas grill and a fully furnished kitchen with dishwasher and microwave. The 1000+ square feet of deck overlooks the river plus there is a private boat dock that guest can fish off of.
Email Manager Contact Me

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote