Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Southend Home w/ all the Extras! 5 BR. Slps 18! Dipping pool/Hot tub

Shelly Fields

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps18
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Contact the Owner

Shelly Fields

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 19, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Southend Home w/ all the Extras! 5 BR. Slps 18! Dipping pool/Hot tub

Sleeps18
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

Tybee Island House Rental Photos and Description

House, 5 Bedrooms, 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 14-18)

Casa Oceano Rio is the ultimate Tybee vacation rental. Located at the convergence of the Atlantic Ocean and Tybee's Back River it is less than a block to 5 miles of one of the best beaches on the east coast. It is also less than a block walk to the secluded and protected Back River beach which offers a quieter and more tranquil environment.

Recently renovated the 1st floor and restored original 'bath house' from 1929. 1st floor has 2 large BR, 2 baths, including laundry facilities. 2nd floor has kitchen, living room, dining room, 2 BR, and 1 1/2 baths. 3rd floor is the master bedroom loft suite with large recently renovated bathroom with large walk in slate shower. Spiral staircase provides access to the roof top deck for a panoramic view of the island and the most amazing sunsets.

This custom built private residence features a 12 person hot tub/dipping pool that is ideal for relaxing after a day at the beach or on the water. This home offers all the toys for an unforgettable beach vacation including 4 Ocean Kayak Scramblers, beach chairs, umbrellas, bocce balls, beach cart, boogie boards, beach toys and a large cooler on wheels. No need to pack up all this stuff and bring it with you.

This home is in Tybee's popular south beach area. It is off the main thoroughfares but within walking distance of Tybee's main shopping, restaurant and nightlife district.

Great place to vacation with multiple families and friends. Especially kid friendly as the kids like the privacy of staying downstairs with their own bedrooms and baths, with a TV for movies and a gaming system, while the adults like the quiet of being upstairs. This is a family type home in a quiet neighborhood and the rental party must be 25 years old.

Please check our calendar before inquiring on availability as it is kept up to date. Also, the Rates section reflects our current rates and all additional charges for taxes and cleaning fee are clearly defined.

VISIT OUR WEBSITE to see additional photos by clicking on the Link to More Information below.

Keywords: 5 Bedroom,Amenities,Roof top deck,Ocean view,Hot Tub, Dipping Pool, Tybee, Savannah, beach, river, kayaks, extras

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Shelly Fields (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 19, 2015

About Shelly Fields

We used this home as our family residence for 17 years. We have raised our 2 sons, now 20 and 18, here and have recently moved to Wilmington Island to be closer to their school and all of their activities. We love Tybee and may move back after both boys are off to college but for now we're going to share our dream life with others.

Shelly Fields purchased this house in 1986

Guestbook comments from the owner

This is our first season renting our home and don't have guest comments at this time. We will certainly post them as they become available. We want our guests to be as happy and comfortable in our home as we have been over the years and welcome any suggestions or recommendations to improve our guests' stay.
Oct 1993
  • 1 of 1

Why HomeAway

Sleeps18
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.8
based on 43 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Southend Home w/ all the Extras! 5 BR. Slps 18! Dipping pool/Hot tub
average rating of 4.837209 based on 44 reviews
Chapel Hill, NC
5

Beautiful house!

  • 5 of 5

We loved this house! Perfect place for 16 (quiet) college students to spend their final spring break. Gorgeous beach, short and easy drive to Savannah, walking distance to food/ice cream/bars, and clean and beautiful house. Additionally, I made a pretty major mistake with my booking, and the hosts were nothing but helpful, kind, and very easy to get in touch with. Highly recommend!!

  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
EASTHAM MA.
5

JAY MONAHAN

  • 5 of 5

OUR STAY IN YOUR HOME WAS FANTASTIC, GREAT BEACH LOCATION, (AND COMING FROM CAPE COD WE KNOW BEACHES). IN OUR OPINION TYBEE ISLAND IS VERY "CAPE LIKE", IT IS LIKE GOING BACK IN TIME TO ESCAPE THE HUSTLE AND BUSTLE. THE HOUSE IS A DELIGHT, SO MANY AREAS TO ESCAPE TO AND ENJOY. LOVED THE DIPPING POOL AND CROWS NEST THE MOST. WE WILL AND HAVE RECOMMENDED YOUR HOME TO OTHERS.

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Decatur, Georgia
5

Fabulous, relaxing, everything you need!

  • 5 of 5

Our family so enjoyed our get together at your beautiful beach home on Tybee Island over Labor Day Weekend. It was quite simply the best vacation home our large family has ever stayed in. Your home is perfectly suited for a large group, with the rambling floors going off into areas where privacy and quiet is completely available. The downstairs of your home is absolutely gorgeous and my niece, who is a marketing director and buyer for an Atlanta based home building supplies company thought the tile work and bathrooms downstairs were the cutest thing she had ever seen. I agree! We loved the patio, the kitchen, the hot tub area. It was just perfect. We will definitely be back! Thanks again for sharing your home with us. It was beyond lovely.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
5

Perfect 60th birthday celebration!

  • 5 of 5

We had an amazing experience from start to finish with this property. Shelly was quick to respond to all of my many questions. She was very accommodating as well as hospitable to my check-in/out requests and I never felt as if I were a bother.

We had a group of 18 in our group for a surprise 60th birthday party for my husband. The layout of the house was perfect to keep us from being on top of each other, and was so clean that we were comfortable allowing the baby to play on the floor. The house was inviting and the kitchen was very well stocked, although the local grocery store is incredibly close.

We stayed during one of the hottest weekends on Tybee Island, but the temperature in the home was always very comfortable. The crow's nest was perfect in the evening with the cool breezes. The views it provided were amazing. Because of the heat, the dipping pool a bit too warm to refresh, but was beautifully maintained.

The house is so close to the beach and pier and we took advantage of both. The kayaks were very nice and there were more than enough beach chairs, umbrellas, and toys. Having the cart handy to transport was an added bonus.

If you're planning on renting, take advantage of the hover feature on the information page. Had I been looking closer, I wouldn't have asked as many questions as I did. It was great to have not only the full sized coffee pot, but a Keurig machine as well.

The only excursion we went on was Captain Derek's Dolphin tour; we weren't sure whether we would book this or Captain Mike's. Based on reviews we chose Captain Derek and it didn't disappoint. The only thing that might have swayed us is that the boat had only a small area that was covered whereas I believe the entire seating area for Captain Mike's has shelter. Captain Derek provided a very informative tour and we saw many dolphins.

We had so much fun staying at the home and if we are ever visiting Tybee Island again, I would definitely return here! We loved it!

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow! I couldn't have asked for a nicer review. Thank you! We truly try to think of our guests' every need and a great deal of thought went into decor and furnishings and what makes the most sense for our guests. We hope you consider us on your next visit to beautiful Tybee Island.
4

Family wedding

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time at your Tybee house when we came to the Savannah area for our son's wedding. It was the perfect distance from the beach and even the two year old could walk the distance. Being walking distance to restaurants and shops also made it perfect. The six kids really loved the dipping pool and were in it every extra minute they could squeeze in. Never had to turn on the TV or Wi because they were so entertained.. The kids all slept on the first floor which was a little camp like, but they all enjoyed it. We had a large extended family dinner catered by the Tybee Social Club the night before the wedding. The kitchen counter/bar worked perfectly for the buffet. The house got lots of compliments for comfort, the private feel to the deck and pool, and for the layout of the main floor. There were plenty of towels for showers, lots of beach toys. We enjoyed using the boogie boards, beach chairs,and beach cart, didn't have time to use the kayaks. Overall, we had a great time staying at a very nice beach house.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Always love to hear that guests enjoyed our home and all the amenities we provide. We try to provide everything we would want and need on a beach vacation. We do hope you consider our home on your next trip to Tybee.
4

Very Nice Stay

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay very much! The space was big and confortable. The dipping pool was a wonderful addition, especially with a bit of crazy weather.

The only downside was that the lower level is nothing like the first and second floors. The sleeping accomodations on the lower level were a dissapointment when we had 16 of us and needed to use all beds. The pull-out queen and futon were both in such poor shape that no one wanted to sleep on them. And the lower level has separate air conditioners that are old and noisy. The showers are older and dorm-like.

Other than that, the house is lovely and big enough for everyone.

We loved using the kayaks and the fishing pier was very close to the house. Thanks for all of the beach chairs and a well-stocked kitchen!

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay in our home and on Tybee. Future renters, please note that in our description we clearly state that the two bathrooms on the 1st floor are a renovated "shower house" on Tybee. We kept the original tile and floor where we could and renovated the bathrooms a few years ago. We also state there are window AC units on the 1st floor. In our description we comment that it is ideal for children on the 1st floor as it does have 2 large bedrooms with multiple beds in each. This should not be a surprise to anyone.

Map

There is no better way to see the saltwater marsh and natural surroundings of Tybee Island and Little Tybee than kayaking. It is exhilarating, relaxing and truly one of Tybee Island's best activities. Kayaks are around $40 a day to rent and we are providing 4 with your rental.

Tybee also has bike routes designated to safely bike around the island. Be sure and make stops along the way at the Lighthouse, Fort Screven, or stop at Seaweeds for an ice cream cone or Huc-a-Poos for a great slice of pizza. Tim's Bike Gear has daily or weekly rentals and will deliver/pick-up bikes to/from the house.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $450 Per night

Tybee Island House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Easter/Spring Break
Mar 27 2015 - Apr 11 2015
5 night minimum stay
$600
 
 
Peak Season
May 22 2015 - Sep 8 2015
5 night minimum stay
$600
From
$650
Fri,Sat
 
 
Mid-Season A
Sep 9 2015 - Nov 4 2015
2 night minimum stay
$450
 
 
Rock n Roll Marathon
Nov 5 2015 - Nov 9 2015
3 night minimum stay
$600
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$600
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $49
Cleaning Fee $200 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.0%

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Tybee Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 17 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
  • 4.5
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
  • King size beds (1) King Bed in Master Suite, Queen size Beds (5) Queen Beds in both 2nd floor bedrooms, and Queen Beds in both 1st floor bedrooms, Twin or Single Beds (2) 2 twin beds in one of the 1st floor bedrooms, 2 twin beds in one of the 2nd floor bedrooms, Futon - (1) futon in 1st floor bedroom converts to a bed. Would recommend for 1 or 2 small children - not adults.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Roof Top Ocean & Back River View, 12 person hot tub/swim spa, 4 kayaks (including life jackets) beach gear, and walking distance to Tybee shops and restaurants.

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote