TWO STORY CONDO IN GATED COMMUNITY

Larry Kerns

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Larry Kerns

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

This owner accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn more

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

TWO STORY CONDO IN GATED COMMUNITY

Tamarindo Condo Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedrooms, 2 1/2 bath sleeps 4

Walk to the beach!! New condition condo fully furnished with all the comforts of home. Rain forest, active volcano, zip line, river boat ride, wild animal park, all easy driving distance from condo or let a tour driver do it for you. Don't speak Spanish, that's OK almost every local speaks English and everyone takes US dollars. Condo is easy walking distance to grocery and gift shopping and Tamarindo has a wide variety of nightlife. Tamarindo also has a local casino for those interested in games of chance. Sorry, no smoking and no pets allowed.

All local beaches are safe for swimming and surfing with long stretches of white sand. Surfing lessons are available and local fishing boats have a variety of trips available to catch tuna, marlin, sailfish and many other exciting species. Snorkeling is also a favorite ocean activity.

Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Larry Kerns

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2010
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

This owner accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn more

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.4
based on 7 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Two story condo in gated community
average rating of 4.428571 based on 7 reviews
business
Two story condo in gated community
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294115
+1 559-248-1061
Tamarindo Guanacaste
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
3

AN OK EXPERIENCE

  • 3 of 5
The condo is exactly as advertised, and looks exactly like the photos. It is a secured complex with a guard at the gate at all times, and is less than 10 minutes walking to the beach, stores, and restaurants. It was nice to have laundry in the unit, and great to have towels for the beach provided. The pool in the courtyard is nice, and is well used by other residents & vacationers.

We did have a couple of issues. The first was the water. The water pressure is not great out of any faucets (including showers), and at two different occasions during the week the water was off completely - once for about 5 hours and a second time for at least 8 hours (it went off at 4pm; we went to bed at midnight and it was back on in the morning when we woke up). The first time it went off, we texted Barbara, the property manager, and it took her over 12 hours to respond asking if the water was back on. She explained the water problem as "Welcome to Costa Rica", but we never saw any problems at any restaurants we visited, so my guess is that the problem is with the residential neighborhood where Villa Verde II is located.

Our other issue was the A/C unit in the master bedroom. We e-mailed the owner to tell him it was not working well, and I guess he asked Barbara to have it looked at, as one afternoon when I walked into the condo, there was a repair contractor in the living room. I was quite surprised to see him standing there. He said that Barbara was supposed to let us know he was coming, but she did not. That was a little concerning, as we had a lot of valuables lying around. As luck would have it, the A/C was working when he looked at it, but then stopped working again a day later. When we checked out on Jan 1, it was still not working.

Aside from these problems, we still had a mostly enjoyable experience, and the condo is definitely great value for being so close to the beach.
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
business
Two story condo in gated community
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294115
+1 559-248-1061
Tamarindo Guanacaste
5

GREAT CONDO, GREAT SERVICE

  • 5 of 5
This condo at Villa Verde II was perfect for 2 couples. The furnishings and kitchen equipment are all excellent quality and Larry (the owner) and Barb (the property manager) were both very helpfull in all aspects of the rental. This unit has one of the best locations in the Villa Verde II complex and it is a short walk to the beach or town. There are 2 grocery stores only a couple of blocks away and probably 30 restaurants and bars within easy walking distance. The condo is very quiet at night as it is in a residential area, so sleeping was great. I would highly recommend this property to anyone and hope to get back myself soon!
  • Submitted: Dec 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Two story condo in gated community
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294115
+1 559-248-1061
Tamarindo Guanacaste
Santa Domingo, Ometepe Nicaragua
5

GREAT APARTMENT AND THE BEST HOSTS I HAVE EVER HAD

  • 5 of 5
I stayed for 5 weeks in this apartment with my wife and I want to start this review by saying Larry is the best host I have ever dealt with.
For the basics - the pictures are accurate. The furniture is all in great shape just as shown - not like some places I have stayed in where the pictures seemed to be 5 years old and the furniture showed the difference.
When we arrived Larry picked us up at the bus stop and gave us a quick tour of the town recomending a few restaurants and just giving us a feel for the place. Before we rented it Larry answered all questions quickly and gave us his number to call about any concerns we may have.
Those though are things you would expect from any host, to show that you are a great host there has to have been some difficulty. Around the second week of our stay the ac went out in the downstairs (luckily the apartment has 3 ac units, 1 for downstairs and 2 smaller ones for the upstairs bedrooms). It wasn't working when we woke up but we were hoping it was something that would fix itself and wanted to go to the beach...so we waited until the afternoon to call Larry. The way he handled this is why I say he is a great host. Despite not being near enough to come check on it himself he told me he would immediately look into getting a repair man to come by. About an hour later he called back and apoligized that he could not get someone to come look at it until the next day - I've been in Central America for over a year now and I was expecting a few days minimum to have it looked at. The next day the repair man did finally show up, a bit later than promised (not Larry's fault by any means, you deal with this in any country I've ever been in). After looking at the unit the repair man was telling me it would need to be completely replaced.
At this point I assumed I would have a week or more of my stay without the lower ac - which would be a rather sever issue as it does get hot and I work as I travel.
Larry however handled this better than I could have ever hoped. He trusted the repair man (it seems they have used the same guy in the past and developed a relationship). Larry authorized the order of a new ac, and I must assume he paid extra to have it delivered and installed the next day.
If everything goes perfect you only see the good, by having this issue I saw how well Larry treats his guests.
Larry - thank you for letting us stay for so long, if I'm ever in Tamarindo again I will be calling you.
  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Matthew,
It was a pleasure having you stay in our place and would love for you to stay with us again, when your travels bring you back to Tamarindo. My goal, as a host, is to help our visitors have a memorable and enjoyable stay and be very responsive when something needs to be repaired. We take great pride in providing a homelike setting for our guests to enjoy. For many of our guests, their visit may be the one and only time they visit Costa Rica. We want them to have a terrific visit and take back fond memories of their time in this beautiful country.
business
Two story condo in gated community
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294115
+1 559-248-1061
Tamarindo Guanacaste
4

MARCH 2012

  • 4 of 5
Villa Verde II was great. Owner and manager were great help and super accomidating. The two bedrooms and living area were great. Wifi easy to connect to and a great convience. Kitchen is fully stocked with every appliance you could ever need. Very clean and updated and fully stocked with bath towels and beach towels. Not so close to the beach, which makes it very peaceful at night, 10 minute walk to beach. street parking available. Gaited community.
If your staying in Tama this is a great spot. would deffinantly come back.
thanks barb and larry.
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Two story condo in gated community
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294115
+1 559-248-1061
Tamarindo Guanacaste
Branchburg, New Jersey
5

AMAZING!

  • 5 of 5
Staying in Costa Rica was the best vacation I have ever been on. Having a nice place to stay definitely helped. The condo was exactly as described, even better! Kitchen was updated, furniture was nice, 2.5 bathrooms was great, two balconies, it was great. The property manager and her husband (both American) were a HUGE help. Shawn picked us up and brought us to the airport, as well as drove us through town and told us where everything was when we arrived. Barbara and I stayed in contact all week and if we needed anything, she helped us. The condo is in a gated community with a guard in front at all times. It is a 5 minute, simple walk to the beach and a 3 minute walk to the best restaurant in town, Kahiki. The town is in close proximity and the perfect distance from the condo. You do NOT need to rent a car, maybe a bike if you wanted. Everything about the condo was great and I can't wait to go back, neither can my three other girlfriends (p.s. we all felt very safe!). THANK YOU!
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Catalina,

We are very please you had a great time in Tamarindo! We take great pride in maintaining a top quality rental because, we also vacation in Tamarindo and enjoy staying in our condo. It is our home away from home and we appreciate you taking good care of our condo during your visit.
It is great having Barbara and Shawn provide the excellent service to our renters and we know their efforts have made your stay more enjoyable. We love Costa Rica and we are very happy when other vacationers have the same type of experience as we have had on our many visits. Thank you for the great review and we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Larry Kerns
business
Two story condo in gated community
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294115
+1 559-248-1061
Tamarindo Guanacaste
Medicine Hat, Alberta
5

GREAT VACATION CONDO

  • 5 of 5
The condo was just as described. Owner was very helpful with vacation tips for the area and always replied quickly to e mail questions. Friendly guards at the gate, ensured that our vehicle was safe during our stay. Condo Manager (Barb) was readily available and ensued that our stay was enjoyable, as well as a wealth of local information.
Recommend this condo highly, even had movie nights with the supplied DVD's !
All the comforts of home in a vacation paradise- what could be better ?
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Brad,

Thank you very much for the great review. We always appreciate comments from our renters and we want them to enjoy their visit to Costa Rica. We are very pleased with the ourstanding service Barbara provides to all of our renters. If you chose to visit Tamarindo in the future, please keep us in mind. We appeciate your business and thank you for being great renters.

Larry Kerns
Email Owner Email

Map

Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Tamarindo
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Tamarindo
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Tamarindo
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Tamarindo
Car: recommended
Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Tamarindo Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
May 1 2014 - Aug 31 2014
5 night minimum stay
$65
$350
$1,100
 
 
Fall
Sep 1 2014 - Dec 17 2014
5 night minimum stay
$75
$450
$1,250
 
 
Holiday
Dec 18 - Jan 1
6 night minimum stay
$135
$805
 
 
High season
Jan 2 2015 - Mar 28 2015
5 night minimum stay
$85
$525
$1,350
 
 
Easter
Mar 29 2015 - Apr 5 2015
7 night minimum stay
$850
 
 
low season
Apr 6 2015 - Jun 30 2015
5 night minimum stay
$70
$450
$1,150
 

Additional information about rental rates

Notes Please inquire for stays 30 days and longer. Special rates available. Long term rental rates negotiable
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Tamarindo Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Town
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Laundry Soap
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Toilet Paper
  • Broadband Access
  • Internet
  • Towels Provided
  • Air Conditioning
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
Kitchen:
  • Stove
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Blender
  • Refrigerator
  • Freezer
  • Oven
  • Microwave
  • 4 Ring Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 3 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
  • Master bedroom has an eastern king and guest bedroom has a full size bed.
Entertainment:
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable
  • DVD Player
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Beach Towels
  • Gated Community
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
Attractions:
  • rain forests
  • restaurants
  • volcano
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • walking
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • ATM/bank
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • hiking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • deepsea fishing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • fishing
Email Owner Email