CHARMING HILLTOP VILLAGE HOUSE WITH KING-SIZED BED IN MENERBES.

Property Manager

Speaks french, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 6 nights

Contact the Manager

Property Manager

Speaks french, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

CHARMING HILLTOP VILLAGE HOUSE WITH KING-SIZED BED IN MENERBES.

Menerbes House Rental Photos and Description

House - 2 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s) - 1 Bath - (Sleeps 2-4)

The High View House is located in the heart of Provence, in the “perched” or hilltop village of Menerbes. This village, which Peter Mayle wrote about in “A Year in Provence,” is an exceptionally authentic village in the heart of the Luberon with its hills, vineyards, fruit trees and lavender fields.

The High View House layout permits a couple, small family or group to enjoy renting a house in the heart of one of Provence’s most beautiful villages without having to take on a large 3-5 bedroom farm house which is so common in the area. Many families or two couples traveling together, however, choose to take the entire joined house so they may fully enjoy village life.

The High View House is three stories in height and is reached via a pedestrian-only street. Parts of the house date back at least 500 years if not more, but it has been lovingly renovated and modernized.

Conveniently located near: * The central location of Menerbes allows easy exploration of Provence by car, bicycle, foot or even horseback.

* Aix-en-Provence is less than an hour away, as is Marseilles airport.

* Avignon, the Palace of the Popes, and the TGV station are less than 40 minutes away.

* St. Remy-de-Provence is about 30 minutes away.

* Isle-sur-la-Sorgue, the center of antique wheeling and dealing, is only fifteen minutes away.

Services include: * Weekly cleaning

* All linens

* Telephone service

* Cable television

* Wireless high-speed Internet access

* Hair dryer in bathroom

* Iron and ironing board

* Washer and dryer

* Parking available

More Information: For additional info, photos, and testimonials search HISTORIC RENTALS HIGH VIEW SUITE in Google's search engine!

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Property Manager
Advertiser since 2005
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks french, english

Guestbook comments from the manager

We have just returned from an amazing holiday in Provence! Just a short note to let you know that we had a most enjoyable stay in Menerbes and were rather sorry to leave after just one week! The village folk were so friendly and accommodating – our last evening's meal to celebrate a family birthday was one of the best meals we have ever had. The early morning visit to the butchery and the daily croissant orders made the reality of small town living a real prospect to consider. The amount of steps to climb is a winner to staying slim, trim, and young! We watched A Good Year again last evening just to have another look at one amazing part of the world. We took thousands of photographs so will be re-living our holiday for years to come.



Regards,



Sandi K.

South Africa
Jul 2011
  • 1 of 7

Why HomeAway

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 6 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

Charming hilltop village house with King-sized bed in Menerbes.
average rating of 2.0 based on 1 reviews
business
Charming hilltop village house with King-sized bed in Menerbes.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294071
8005375408
Menerbes Luberon
2

needs a facelift

  • 2 of 5
We were excited to be renting this property from the photos on the website. However, upon arrival we were quite disappointed about many items. It seems like a nice residence, but on entering the property it is difficult to ignore the pervasive smell of heating oil on the main floor. It would be difficult if not impossible to live and/or sleep on this floor with that smell. The storage tanks are behind the fireplace in a looked room on that floor. Also, a tool box sat on the floor in the corner (could have been put away), and the bookshelf and its drawers were full of outdated books, pieces of hardware for various things in the house, and outdated travel books---just a bunch of junk that should be organized and thrown away. It's just not a look that we appreciated. The two bedroom floors were clean, but the bathrooms did not have any toilet paper, so we had to buy our own. We learned later that the toilet paper was hidden in the boiler room in the main floor kitchen. Looking inside that room was not a pleasant experience.

The top living room floor looked fine until we sat on one of the dining room chairs. It had a broken leg (a piece was actually off the leg). No effort to repair it---it should have been taken off the property or put in the storage room. The fireplace had burned wood in it. I enquired and the owner does not supply firewood---why not just clean out the fireplace. The kitchen upstairs looked like the floor had not been cleaned in weeks. Very dirty. However, with our first housecleaning visit (weekly) this was taken care of.
All the closets and the drawer unit in the upstairs living room are full of junk that should be organized and thrown out. The stairs to the upstairs kitchen, which are open underneath, are being used to store floor tiles in boxes. Totally visible.
One night it rained heavily and water leaked in through the roof down the side of the chimney in the living room.
Overall, we were not impressed with the upkeep. It needs a major maintenance overhaul and a major cleaning. And a facelift.
The owner and the building manager (in Menerbes) are nice and cooperative, but seemed to ignore my email comments on a few of these items we brought to their attention.
The bedrooms will sleep 6. There is a trundle bed in each of the living rooms which would sleep an additional one each, but I wouldn't want to sleep in those based on the condition of the property. There are two bathrooms.
  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We called up the Australian guests staying in the house immediately after this reviewer, explained that we had gotten a terrible review from the guest who stayed the week before, and asked if the house was in OK shape for them. The Australian lady said, “You can’t please everyone, the house is just fine. It’s a lovely old house.”

The reviewer seemed to be unhappy from the start:

Small example: we provide liquid soap in all the bathrooms and kitchens. We received an email from this reviewer complaining that there was no bar soap and the reviewer said, “How am I supposed to take a shower without bar soap?” We suppose he has never heard of a wash cloth…which we provide.

In one of his comments he complains about outdated guidebooks on the dining room sideboard. The books he suggests throwing out include all of the Peter Mayle books on Provence, the New York Times cookbook, and other guidebooks for the region. We wonder if he just doesn’t know how to read….

But for the record, the house does not have a smell of fuel oil and it is carefully cleaned.

And we won’t mention that they broke one of the toilet flushing mechanisms (apparently it wasn’t like the outhouse back home and they yanked too hard), requiring a plumber to visit…

We could go on, but we suggest that any interested guest, just read the other reviews at www.historicrentals.com, our home site.
Email Manager Contact Me

Map

Map

Car: recommended

This lovely, old-stone village house is perched in the hilltop village of Menerbes located in the heart of France's Luberon.

Menerbes is a storied village, famous for its beautiful stone architecture long before Peter Mayle wrote “A Year in Provence.” Picasso lived in Menerbes for a period after World War II and bought a large house for his lover Dora Marr which is now being turned into a museum. This village became a hotbed of Protestantism in the 17th century and withstood a siege for seven years until treachery opened the gates to Louis XIV’s troops.

A village in France is for relaxing, savoring the culture and the food, and peace and quiet. The High View House will give you the warm welcome to start your exploration of Provence.

The village has two bakeries, a butcher, pharmacy, a grocery, two cafes, and from two to five restaurants depending on the season. This commercial life allows you to enjoy the rhythm and delights of French village life.

Email Manager Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Manager Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Menerbes House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Sep 12 - Oct 30
Sep 12 - Oct 30
6 night minimum stay
$186
 
 
Oct 31 - Nov 20
Oct 31 - Nov 20
6 night minimum stay
$150
 
 
Nov 21 - Dec 4
Nov 21 - Dec 4
6 night minimum stay
$136
 
 
Dec 5 - Dec 18
Dec 5 - Dec 18
6 night minimum stay
$136
 
 
Dec 19 - Jan 8
Dec 19 - Jan 8
6 night minimum stay
$136
 
 
Jan 9 - Mar 5
Jan 9 - Mar 5
6 night minimum stay
$136
 
 
Mar 6 - Jun 4
Mar 6 - Jun 4
6 night minimum stay
$150
 
 
Jun 5 - Jul 2
Jun 5 - Jul 2
6 night minimum stay
$150
 
 
Jul 3 - Sep 11
Jul 3 - Sep 11
6 night minimum stay
$171
 

Additional information about rental rates

Notes Discounts available for stays of more than two weeks. Please inquire!

Ask us about special rates for add-on nights!

Please note that the above rates are the minimal rates per period shown.

Rates are based on a double occupancy, and, until confirmed, are subject to change without notice.
Email Manager Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Menerbes House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Village
Theme:
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Toilet Paper
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Wireless Internet
  • Fireplace
  • Sofa Bed
  • Linens Provided
Kitchen:
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Coffee Maker
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Cooking Utensils
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 twin/ single
  • The large bedroom features a king-sized bed and the smaller bedroom/office has a single bed. The Grand Salon also has a lit-gigogne, the French answer to a sleeper sofa. The lit-gigogne turns into a single bed with another single bed underneath that can be pulled out in trundle fashion and then raised to bed height.
Entertainment:
  • Television
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • forests
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • bird watching
  • walking
  • horseback riding
  • sight seeing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • hiking
Notes:
The top floor has an entry way, breakfast/dining area and kitchen. The kitchen has a completely modernized oven, stove top, refrigerator, and dishwasher. This top floor features a balcony which overlooks the large Grand Salon on the floor below, and through the windows of the Grand salon are uninterrupted views of the Luberon hills. The Grand Salon, which takes up the next floor down the hill, is a large, high-ceilinged living/dining/reception area with a magnificent stone fireplace and windows onto the roofs of the village and the countryside below. Down one more flight of stairs guests will find a large bedroom and a smaller bedroom/office. There’s also a bathroom with shower and a small laundry area with washer and dryer.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Email Manager Contact Me