WAKE UP AT THE RIDGE ROAD CABIN WITH A VIEW TO LAKE SUPERIOR'S HORIZON

Owner/Property Manager

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

WAKE UP AT THE RIDGE ROAD CABIN WITH A VIEW TO LAKE SUPERIOR'S HORIZON

Grand Marais Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6-8)

The Ridge Road Cabin is one of the nicest all-year cabins/cottages available in the area. The Cabin is fully equipped with furniture, linen, fully equipped kitchen, gas fireplace, cable TV and DVD players, as well as an IPOD and MP3 speaker docking station. The Cabin also has a collection of movies, books and games for those times spent indoors.

The Ridge Road Cabin is located on an acre, on a no through road, with lots of seclusion and privacy, and just a short walk from town. It is peaceful and quiet and it is surrounded on three sides by trees and woods. When you wake in the morning, in the main bedroom king size bed, look out across the ridge and trees to the Lake Superior's horizon. You might also enjoy sitting on the deck watching the sunset or the deer making their way through the woods.

The environmentally friendly cabin is all electric, which means you get just clean Upper Peninsula Michigan air. The gas fireplace is for extra ambiance and back-up heat. The beds have soft white comforters and warm fleece blankets, quilts or coverlets.

In summer, spring and autumn, laying in the hammock beside the deck, and reading a book while waiting for your dinner to grill, is always a favorite. The cabin has a large gas grill on the deck as well as a fire pit in an open grassy area. There is also a small charcoal grill available for use.

The driveway is paved and a good size for boats and snowmobiles and trailers. A large attached lockable garage can house the car or motorcycles. When your car or motorbike is not parked, take a drive or ride down to Sable Lake or the dunes or to the start of the many walking trails in the area. The Cabin is center to accessing the snow mobile trails, both east and west of the town. In summer, it is just a short stroll down to the lake for a swim.

The Cabin's location is approximately 0.38 of a mile from the lake as the crow flies, and is approximately 0.5 mile from the lake and center of town by road. There are a number of quaint restaurants and bars in town within easy walking distance. The West Bay Diner and Delicatessen has an excellent chef who makes fresh bread and dishes made from scratch, and it is all contained in an old fashioned diner facade. The Dune Saloon makes a mean pizza and some very good beer. The North Shore Restaurant is popular with the locals for breakfast. Lastly, the Sportsmans Restaurant houses some fascinating artifacts and popular fish dishes.

You'll relax at the Ridge Road Cabin.

Directions:

FROM H-77 - Travel on H-77 toward Grand Marais, turn right on Ridge Road (next after Carpenter Rd) before going down the hill into town, cross over Woodruff St and the Ridge Road Cabin is approximately 100 yards on your right.

FROM GRAND MARAIS TOWN CENTER: Travel along Grand Marais Ave running along the bay, turn right on Woodruff St, go up the hill and cross Wilson St then turn left on Ridge Road and the Ridge Road Cabin is approximately 100 yards on your right.

Keywords: Cabin, cottage, house, fireplace, view, lake superior, grand marais, deck, acreage, garage, furnished, linen supplied

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only

Owner/Property Manager

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2010
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

Our connection with this area started during childhood summers and has remained ever since. It is peaceful and quiet here and we know that every time we leave we don't want to go.

Owner/Property Manager purchased this cabin in 2010

It is away from the hustle and bustle of modern life.

We enjoy the many snowmobile trails and walking trails in the area. We also have fun mixing with the local residents.

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.7
based on 23 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Wake up at the Ridge Road Cabin with a View to Lake Superior's horizon
average rating of 4.7391305 based on 23 reviews
business
Wake up at the Ridge Road Cabin with a View to Lake Superior's horizon
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294031vb
+ (785) 213-2078 (call your p.m.)
Grand Marais Upper Peninsula Michigan
Kansas City, Missouri
2

DIFFERENT EXPERIENCE DURING OUR STAY

  • 2 of 5
Everything that has been said for the most part is accurate about this cabin but we certainly had a different experience. Upon entering the home there was a distinct pet urine smell in the carpeted living room. The caretaker stopped by to check on the laundry and we mentioned it and asked if cats had been there and she said no, only dogs. She didn’t seem surprised or concerned by the smell. We had to leave a day early due to a death in the family and emailed the owner to let her know we were vacating early so she could notify the caretaker. We again mentioned the pet urine smell as we didn’t want them to think it was from our dog. We never heard from the owner about our concern. It would seem the owner should take some of the pet fee charged and have the carpets professionally cleaned or replaced. We’ve stayed in many VRBO homes and we have never encountered an issue such as this, or left his kind of review. We would not choose to stay in the home again, primarily because of the pet odor.
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Let me first say that we take every complaint very seriously and we quickly scheduled professional carpet cleaners in when we read the review. Unfortunately, the first we, as owners, knew of this complaint was when this review was posted. Upon receipt of this review we checked all our emails and the VRBO permanent undeletable record of all emails between owner and renter and found that at no time did we receive any email from the renter advising us of any problem or of an early departure. We then contacted the renter to verify and supplied her a PDF copy of the VRBO reservation record of emails to and from the renter. We recognize that the renter may have tried to send it, but we just did not receive any email. We did, however, receive a copy of the content after the renter typed it into a new email to us, and it was much less negative than what was posted. As indicated to the reviewer/renter during these communications, I expect she was very disappointed when she thought I had not responded to her email and that prompted her much more negative review. I also followed up on the complaint with the local Ridge Road Cabin agent who indicated she did not receive any odor complaints at all. Our local agent prides herself on keeping the cabin spotless and very clean. The agent very quickly checked with the current renters who said they do not smell any odor. Regardless of this additional information however, and as said earlier, we take all complaints very seriously and the professional carpet cleaners were booked in to clean and scotch guard the carpet.
business
Wake up at the Ridge Road Cabin with a View to Lake Superior's horizon
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294031vb
+ (785) 213-2078 (call your p.m.)
Grand Marais Upper Peninsula Michigan
Farmington Hills, Mi
4

GREAT GETAWAY

  • 4 of 5
Before I begin, for the latest reviewer Ben, you misread the details. The bars and restaurants are in walking distance of EACH OTHER, not from the cabin. My husband and I and our little Iggy had a great time at this cabin. It's very quiet and peaceful. It's very clean and well stocked, although there weren't any napkins or extra paper towels, but we bought some so the next family need not worry. Beds were comfortable, shower was decent, everything worked as it should. If you visit in the summer be sure to bring tons of bug spray cuz this place is loaded with mosquitos! A few bummers, which is the reason for the 4 stars instead of 5...we bought a lot of meat to grill on the gas grill and when we were ready for dinner, the propane tank was EMPTY! Not good. We called Georgina, who was great, she told us since it was almost 5pm that it was too late to have it filled at Superior Hardware(the only place to get it filled) but if we wanted to try that we could give them the owners name and they'd charge it to her account. We drove down 10 min. before they closed and thank God for nice ppl cuz a nice gentlemen at Superior went out of his way to help us. Turns out they have to drive to a filling station a mile away by 4pm to refill customers tanks. Fortunately he was able to help at 10 to 5pm. Another downer is the shade in the master for the big window doesn't keep out any light so if you're ok with waking up to outrageously bright sunlight at 6am everyday then no biggy for you but we tacked up a dark blanket to keep the light out. Fire wood is very expensive and burns too fast. Would be nice if some were provided but anyway, the grass was so long it almost came up to our knees making our campfire experience a little annoying. Our little dog was buried in it. So a few downers but overall we had a nice time. Would we stay here again?.....probably not. I think I'd look for a place away from the woods so it's less buggy and closer to Lake Superior. Which reminds me, I almost forgot...there's no view of Superior from the master window as stated because the trees have now grown too tall and you can no longer see the lake. We were disappointed. That part of the description definitely needs to be updated now, or removed. We had a good time overall.
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: I am very sorry you did not enjoy some things during your stay. I will quickly address a number of the issues you mentioned in your writing. I can't do much about the unusually late season bugs though. The bugs were a couple of months late (usually April) this year because of the long winter and they have driven the residents of Grand Marais crazy. Usually there is another cold snap after the bugs come out and it kills them off. This year it didn't happen because the snow stayed so late. It also must have been a bit of an inconvenience on the propane, and we usually refill it as soon as we know it is out. We apologize for the inconvenience of the timing. The only two things I should point out is that when we stay we regularly walk into town to go to the bars and restaurants, but I recognize some people might find it onerous to walk down and up the hill, and the other is that the cabin is described a partial view to Lake Superior's horizon - people will only get a small sliver of the Lake Superior's horizon over the pine trees. The sunsets are usually very beautiful out the window.
business
Wake up at the Ridge Road Cabin with a View to Lake Superior's horizon
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294031vb
+ (785) 213-2078 (call your p.m.)
Grand Marais Upper Peninsula Michigan
Chicago, IL
5

GREAT PLACE TO STAY IN GRAND MARAIS

  • 5 of 5
We've been coming to Grand Marais around Memorial Day for several years, and this is hands-down the best place we've stayed. It is very clean and the beds are all comfortable, even the sofa sleeper is decent! Super close to town (though not completely walkable). We'll be back!
  • Submitted: May 29, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Wake up at the Ridge Road Cabin with a View to Lake Superior's horizon
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294031vb
+ (785) 213-2078 (call your p.m.)
Grand Marais Upper Peninsula Michigan
Alto, Michigan
5

GREAT SNOWMOBILING!

  • 5 of 5
This home was very clean and had everything we needed. It was a home away from home for us with access from the driveway to more beautiful snow mobiling trails that we could handle. We rode in the picture rock national lakeshore and to the Taq. Falls. Great restaurant at falls and a hot dog stand on trail to Seney.
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Wake up at the Ridge Road Cabin with a View to Lake Superior's horizon
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294031vb
+ (785) 213-2078 (call your p.m.)
Grand Marais Upper Peninsula Michigan
5

FALL TRIP

  • 5 of 5
The property listing descriptions were accurate and the photos relected the actual apearance. The property was very clean and well maintained. I loved preparing all of our meals in the kitchen rather than going out to eat. However, I could not find a cutting board! We did not spend a lot of time at the house except for meals and sleeping because we spend most of our time in Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore. It was an amazing vacation and it was nice to stay at this pet friendly rental. Our dog loved it too!
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly
business
Wake up at the Ridge Road Cabin with a View to Lake Superior's horizon
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294031vb
+ (785) 213-2078 (call your p.m.)
Grand Marais Upper Peninsula Michigan
5

CLEAN, COZY AND PRIVATE

  • 5 of 5
Comfortable bed, large bedroom, clean kitchen excellent stove, microwave lots of pans,pots even a crockpot. Key to my comfort was confidence in the cleanliness of home and the caretaker Georgina as a local contact.
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Email

Map

Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
West Bay
Nearest Barpub
0.6 Miles
Dune Saloon
Nearest Restaurant
0.4 Miles
The Diner

Boat ramp close by for your boat and water activities.

Rock collecting and bird watching are popular too.

Snowmobile rental and snow shoe rental (winter), 4 wheelers rental (summer) - contact Grand Marais Outfitters at (906) 494-3333.

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Grand Marais Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Music festival weekend
Aug 8 2014 - Aug 9 2014
2 night minimum stay
$300
Flat fee
 
 
July 4 weekend 2015
Jul 3 2015 - Jul 4 2015
2 night minimum stay
$300
Flat fee
 
 
Music festival weekend 2015
Aug 7 2015 - Aug 8 2015
2 night minimum stay
$300
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$110
$700
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $49
Tax Rate 6.0%
Notes Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

Cancellation policy: forfeit 10% of stay for all cancellations/ 7-21 days forfeit deposit/ 0-6 days
forfeit deposit plus balance cost of any nights not re-booked.

Notes:
-Pet fee $50.
-Sofa/Additional mattress $30 ea
-VRBO assoc. property damage insurance premium is non-refundable (unless booking is cancelled prior to check-in date).

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Grand Marais Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Water View ...
  • Lake View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Heating ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Garage
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Parking ...
  • Hair Dryer
Kitchen:
  • Microwave
  • Stove
  • Oven
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Toaster
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Kitchen ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Shower, toilet, vanity, washer and dryer
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • King size beds (1) Master bedroom, Double Beds (1) In loft bedroom, Twin or Single Beds (2) 2 twins in loft bedroom. Small additional cost for additional make up of mattresses (up to 4 avail) or Sleep Sofa Bed (1).
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • VCR
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Books ...
  • Television ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Boat ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets considered ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • non smoking only ...
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • wildlife viewing
  • sight seeing
  • boating
  • shopping
  • beachcombing
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • sledding
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • hiking
  • cross country skiing
  • water skiing
  • surfing
  • wind-surfing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hunting big game
  • hunting small game
  • pier fishing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • mountain biking
  • fishing
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • cycling
  • snowmobiling
Notes:
IPOD/MP3 Speaker Docking Station
Email Owner Email

Other Vacation Properties

$93 per night
2 - 6 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$1,015 - $1,200 per week
3 - 4 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 12