CHARMING OCEANFRONT COTTAGE JUST STEPS FROM THE BEACH!

Sandra McCluskey

Speaks french, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Sandra McCluskey

Speaks french, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

CHARMING OCEANFRONT COTTAGE JUST STEPS FROM THE BEACH!

North Topsail Beach House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 5)

Surf's Up, our cozy cottage by the sea, is the perfect family getaway! The best thing about this house is that you can walk out the back door and down the steps to the beach! The deck is a pleasant place to enjoy a cup of coffee in the morning and watch the sunrise if you're early enough! Then walk down the steps and go for a run or walk the dog (we're pet friendly!). The beach is wide and beautiful and rarely crowded even in mid-summer. You can swim, fish and surf right in front of the house.

This quintessential beach cottage has simple yet tasteful decor. The main living and dining area is light, cheerful and comfortable with soft yellow walls, bright white trim and wispy sheer white curtains. There are fabulous ocean views from all the windows. There is a television with DVD and CD player and lots of books and board games for family fun. The kitchen is fully equipped and offers a choice of dining at a white tile top table for six or a center island breakfast bar for four. Down the hallway are three bedrooms. The master has a double bed and its own private half bath. The second bedroom has a double bed and the third room has two twins. There is one full bathroom opposite the two bedrooms. Covered parking for two vehicles is offered below the house. There is also a utility room with a washer and dryer, beach chairs, and a variety of beach toys and surfboards. The outside deck runs the length of the house facing the ocean and has a table and chairs for outdoor dining or Adirondack chairs if you simply want to sit and enjoy the view.

Topsail Island is a family-oriented, casual beach community and undeveloped compared to most other beaches along the coast. Life is simple here, and there are no high-rise hotels, boardwalks or fancy restaurants. Pristine white sand beaches meet the ocean in the east, while the serene intra-coastal waterway borders the marshes and creeks on the sound side, where you can go boating or kayaking and look for great blue herons, osprey and other wildlife. There are nearby bike rentals and a bike path that goes down the entire length of the island. Our cottage is located down the road from Surf City, where there is a wide variety of restaurants, gift and beach shops, groceries and a market where you can buy fresh local seafood.

This is a spot where you can truly unwind and leave your worries behind. Plan to visit soon and enjoy our little piece of paradise on the edge of the beach!

Saturday to Saturday Rental -- Check-In at 3:00 pm and Check-Out at 10:30 am.

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Sandra McCluskey (Owner)
Advertiser since 2010
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks french, english

About Sandra McCluskey

Our family is from northern Virginia and we lead the typical busy DC lifestyle. We vacationed in a lot of different beaches on the East coast before stumbling across Topsail Island a few years ago. We love the fact that it is less commercial and developed than a lot of other beach towns. It has a true local feel to it and sometimes it seems like you're stepping back in time when you visit. We chose our cottage because it was right on the water. We were tired of the rentals where you had to carry all your stuff across the road or down long walkways to reach the beach. My husband is a surfer and windsurfer so this is his little paradise. I love the long walks on the beach with my dog and simply hanging out on the deck, enjoying a cup of coffee in the morning, reading in the afternoon or eating fresh steamed crabs from the Crabpot in the evening! The kids love being right on the beach, going boogey boarding or swimming, playing Frisbee or simply hanging out, and they hardly come inside during the day. Our beach cottage is our sanctuary and provides the perfect place to relax when we want to get away from it all.

Sandra McCluskey purchased this house in 2005

Why HomeAway

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.2
based on 12 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Charming Oceanfront Cottage Just Steps from the Beach!
average rating of 4.1666665 based on 12 reviews
business
Charming Oceanfront Cottage Just Steps from the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p288843vb
+703 (703) 930-5352 (Virginia, USA)
North Topsail Beach Topsail Island
Where do you live?
5

A Week of Great Memories!

  • 5 of 5
This was our first stay at "Surf's Up" and our experience couldn't have been better! The home was the perfect size for our family of four and two Yorkie's and we had all the amenities we needed. We loved the location and it couldn't get any better than only being a few steps away from the beach. The covered porch served us well for time out of the sun, watching the sunset with a glass of wine and kept us sheltered as we watched some beautiful storms roll in. The house was clean and the hardwood flooring was lovely. We brought our own bikes and took a 3 mile ride into town for lunch (easy ride - no hills!) and there was plenty of small shops to browse on a night out for dinner and ice cream. The grocery store was close by and the town provided everything we needed. We really loved the small town feel. Sandra, the owner of this home, was a joy to deal with, was extremely thoughtful and was quick to respond to our questions prior to our stay. We've dealt with several rental homes by owner and Sandra, by far, provided the best experience for us. We loved our whole experience and were sad to leave ... but we hope to make it back to "Surf's Up" again one day!
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming Oceanfront Cottage Just Steps from the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p288843vb
+703 (703) 930-5352 (Virginia, USA)
North Topsail Beach Topsail Island
USA
4

A Real Beach Cottage Getaway

  • 4 of 5
Thank you for making it possible for us to enjoy your beach cottage for our annual family outing. It was one of the cleanest and most comfortable rentals we have ever experienced - just the kind of place we would create for ourselves. We have rented places where we had to clean before we could stand to cook or eat off of the dishes; and some places where either the furniture was too formal and uncomfortable or just about to fall apart. We like your style of a place at the beach! It was just right!
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming Oceanfront Cottage Just Steps from the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p288843vb
+703 (703) 930-5352 (Virginia, USA)
North Topsail Beach Topsail Island
Raleigh
5

Even Better!!

  • 5 of 5
We have stayed at "Surf's Up" a couple of times before and have never had a bad experience. The owner, Sandra, is always accomodating and nice. The property is very clean and everything works! It is quiet, private and very affordable. The pictures online are not as what you will find when you arrive, as the owner has and continues to upgrade and improve her beach cottage. We were pleasantly surprised to find new bedding in every room and hardwoods extending into the bedrooms. We have stayed in Topsail many times since moving to North Carolina three years ago, we've yet to find a place as perfect as Surf's Up!
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming Oceanfront Cottage Just Steps from the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p288843vb
+703 (703) 930-5352 (Virginia, USA)
North Topsail Beach Topsail Island
hopewell new jersey
1

Surf's Up was a major disappointment

Surf's Up was a major disappointment
  • 1 of 5
Have rented beach houses for 17 years. Looking for house for us and two dogs. Surf’s Up looked exactly like we wanted--one level, on dead end street, and oceanfront. Internet pictures/overview description, and great guest reviews, convinced us this was the perfect place.

Had we paid more attention to Bert’s review, we would have booked a different place and had a more enjoyable week. Appears nothing has changed since Bert’s stayed. Screens on windows and slider door have yet to be repaired/replaced. Sliding door to deck extremely hard to open. We worked on it and tighten screws on handle. Deck furniture needs replacing. Wood table and chairs to “enjoy a cup of coffee … ” are old and corroded. Beach chairs had rusty water in them and stained my sneakers.

Only one light near entry door. Going up and down stairs in dark was hazardous. Switch at bottom of stairs on beam when turned on flickered so bad thought it had an electrical problem. Light under the microwave didn’t work. Someone needs to be responsible for seeing that all light bulbs are present and working. Dishwasher kept throwing the utensil basket forward and dumping the silverware and didn’t clean the dishes when basket removed. Had to do all dishes by hand!

Cottage appears in midst of updating but has a long way to go. Nice pictures on the walls and other decorations and nice large flat screen TV. Only full bath was worst I’ve ever seen. Vinyl tile is extremely old and stained and can see subflooring around toilet. Overall cleanliness of cottage is substandard and having to leave a check for a cleaning lady an insult. Not sure when the house was cleaned last but the “wispy sheer white curtains” need laundering. There is lot of sand under furniture. Baseboard, molding and doors need heavy cleaning. Would suggest new cleaning person. A new property manager might also be something to look into. We would have called the property owner or property manager about these concerns but most of what needed to be corrected requires the cottage to be vacant.

We have no problem renting an older home but it needs to be clean and in good repair. This one does not fulfill that need. Of all the houses we have rented, this one was the most disappointing and to think we were going to invite a cousin and wife to join us from Florida. We would have died of embarrassment.

For size and condition of cottage, and compared to others we checked out during our stay, this cottage is overpriced for this time of year.
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I’m very sorry the tenants didn’t enjoy their stay at Surf’s Up because I want everyone to have a wonderful experience. I was surprised & disappointed to read their review because we’ve done a lot of work on the house this year. We extended the hard wood flooring into the bedrooms, replaced the A/C, installed new faucets and shower fixtures in the kitchen & bathroom & replaced the bedding & kitchen rugs. In addition, we have done various repairs throughout the season such as replacing the light fixture in the parking area, reinforcing the stairs down to the beach & replacing light bulbs and window blinds. Now that the busy season is over we will be making other improvements such as installing new bathroom flooring and replacing the deck furniture.
In response to their specific complaints:
A torn screen in one of the dining room windows was replaced 2 months ago. If there is a new one, it will be replaced. There are 8 windows in the living area, so the other 7 can be opened.
The glass sliding door was replaced last season and it is a model without a screen so nothing is missing. I e-mailed the next week’s tenant to inquire about the door and he said “It was a little hard to close but not a big deal.” We have since checked the door; there was sand in the track and it has been repaired.
The deck furniture will be replaced for next season. The salt and humidity really take a toll on outdoor furniture.
The light bulb by the front door was replaced last month and a new fixture was installed in the parking area. I didn’t realize the back deck light was broken and that will be fixed. There are extra bulbs in the kitchen drawer if any burn out in the future.
I can’t explain the problem with the dishwasher because the last three tenants have said it was working just fine and the cleaning woman said it was full of clean dishes the past two Saturdays.
I wholeheartedly disagree that the “overall cleanliness of the cottage is substandard.” Lottie is honest, dependable and hard working. I know she really cares about doing a thorough job and making our tenants happy.
Obviously Surf’s Up was not a good fit for this family and I’m sorry they were disappointed. I try to be as friendly & accommodating as possible to all my tenants and appreciate all feedback so I can make improvements. Everything might not be perfect, but Surf’s Up is a lovely little cottage right on the beach & I will continue to do my best to make sure everyone is happy & has an enjoyable stay.
business
Charming Oceanfront Cottage Just Steps from the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p288843vb
+703 (703) 930-5352 (Virginia, USA)
North Topsail Beach Topsail Island
Washington DC
5

Fabulous time!!!

  • 5 of 5
This cottage was absolutely lovely!! The deck has fantastic views and direct beach access. The beach is pristine! The family room was cozy and comfortable with a nice TV. Also, there's a nice view of the beach from kitchen & family room too! The bedrooms are all spacious and comfortable. My family and I enjoyed our stay immensely. Sandra the owner was extremely accommodating. I would highly recommend this cottage to anyone and we will certainly be back!!
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
business
Charming Oceanfront Cottage Just Steps from the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p288843vb
+703 (703) 930-5352 (Virginia, USA)
North Topsail Beach Topsail Island
Ohio
5

Surf's Up is a Must

Surf's Up is a Must
  • 5 of 5
Every aspect of our experience was perfect. When I walked into the house, it was walking into the on line pictures. The house was well maintained, and clean. The owner was so very helpful and I would heartily recommend this property for a peaceful, wonderful, restful time.
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Wilmington, NC

Other Activities: shopping, mini golf, boating

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

North Topsail Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Post-Summer
Aug 31 2014 - Sep 27 2014
3 night minimum stay
$200
$1,400
 
 
Fall Season
Sep 28 2014 - Oct 31 2014
3 night minimum stay
$175
$1,200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $90
Refundable damage deposit $250
Pet Fee $100
Notes The refundable security deposit of $250 is due when you book and return the contract. A 50% deposit is due two months prior to the rental and the balance is due two weeks prior to your arrival.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

North Topsail Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Beach
  • Waterfront
  • Oceanfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
General:
  • Internet
  • Parking Off Street
  • Wireless Internet
  • Covered Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Air Conditioning
Kitchen:
  • Stove
  • Oven
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Ice Maker
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable
  • VCR
  • Stereo
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
Outside:
  • Wood Deck
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Deck / Patio
Suitability:
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • walking
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • beachcombing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • pier fishing
  • surf fishing
  • fishing
  • swimming
  • cycling
  • wind-surfing
  • surfing
  • jet skiing
Email Owner Contact Me

Other Vacation Properties

$695 - $2,395 per week
4 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$500 - $1,200 per week
2 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 7
$895 - $1,095 per week
3 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 8