Charming A- Frame Bungalow In the Jungle
Our party of 3 adults stayed in the bungalow for nine nights out of our required 14, by our choice as we visited the volcano for two nights before getting to the bungalow. The owners were prompt at meeting us at the agreed destination. We thought the bungalow somewhat appeared as the pictures on the web site, but felt it was quite dark and somewhat dreary inside. We didn't really look forward to getting back to the bungalow from an outing. Maybe if there had been more seating inside, it would have made a difference. Only a futon in the living room, a very simple futon on the porch, a concrete dining nook on the porch and 4 straight back wicker chairs. Nothing to really make you feel comfortable. The property seemed pretty clean, with the exception of a dishwasher and some other things pushed under the stairway for storage. The bathroom was quite nicely tiled. The shower had some what of a strange hot water set up. Kind of like camping. Turn on the hot water, turn off the hot water, lather , turn the water back on to rinse, otherwise you run out of hot water. That wasn't really a problem for us, the problem was, most of the time there was no water pressure. Just a dribble of water. We were only able to take four showers between the three of us for our entire stay. The bed upstairs was comfortable and the third adult said the futon in the living room was comfortable as well. We ran out of propane for cooking after boiling about 3 cups of water. After two phone call messages and one e mail to the owners....and two days, a propane tank was finally delivered. Great places to eat and buy groceries close by. We were leaving a couple of days early, and the owner was persistant about when we would be leaving so she could get the place cleaned for the next tennant. We told her we would try to be gone by noon....she informed us that the cleaning lady would be there at 12:30 pm if we were there or not. I found that to be irritating, especially as we had a whole extra day if we wanted it. She had already re rented the bungalow on our time. I guess money is the bottom line. I guess for the money it is not a horrible deal. It's probably okay for someone who is on the go a lot and not wanting some relaxing time in the bungalow. I have mixed feelings about recommending the property. I would not stay there again. We didn't have a very enjoyable experience with all that happened and with the feeling that we were being pushed out the day we left.
Owner's Response: We thank these clients for taking the time to review the property.
The clients wrote that they needed the house for only 12 days, and did we have a lower rate to offer? We told them we rent for a two-week minimum and we do not give discounts for shorter stays. They booked. When we had an inquiry for a rental for the entire month of January we wrote the clients, told them the situation, and asked if their leaving date was still firm. This was four months before their arrival. They asked for a rate reduction. We offered them one, they accepted, and again confirmed the departure date. It was a done deal and everyone was happy – or so we thought. On the day, they seemed reluctant to leave. Check out time is 11 am, we had clients arriving the next day. We are sorry they felt pushed out, but they had agreed to leave on that date.
We feel this negative review is really about money. We give all of our clients written instructions that they should call the property manager if they cannot reach us [as is the case of the propane tank]. We cannot respond to situations such as low water pressure in the shower unless someone tells us about it.
We do listen to criticism: we think that our 3 padded sofas are sufficient. We have upgraded the wooden chairs to accommodate larger people. We have also installed an outdoor shower to wash off pool chlorine and beach sand, and we have put a spare propane tank in the house. We do not agree that our house is dark, dreary, and not quite clean,
We are a small operation and we do our very best to accommodate our guests and to treat them with honesty and respect. We have found that almost all of our guests have been very reasonable people who get a real sense of the ‘pura vida’ while they are in Costa Rica. Recently, the migratory pattern of the local wildlife has changed and we see a lot more monkeys, toucans, and sloths than ever before. Many clients have told us the most beautiful experience of their Costa Rica trip consists of sitting on our porch or on the upper deck, watching life go by outdoors.
Regarding this group, we are sorry their sense of financial injustice seems to have overwhelmed their entire Costa Rica experience. This is our bottom line: our rental unit stands as advertised and described, and priced.
Helpful votes: 1/3
Did you find this review helpful?