CHARMING A-FRAME BUNGALOW IN THE JUNGLE

letty

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 1
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay nights

Contact the Owner

letty

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

CHARMING A-FRAME BUNGALOW IN THE JUNGLE

Manuel Antonio Bungalow Rental Photos and Description

Bungalow, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

This house is located in Bungalows Las Palmas, a group of 16 A-frame houses situated on two and one-half acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, located off the main road which connects Quepos and Manuel Antonio.

Although you are far enough away from the main road not to hear it, you are only a three minute walk away from the bus stop on the main road. The local bus costs about 40 cents US and it takes you to the beach and the famous Manuel Antonio National Park, or into the town of Puerto Quepos. If you are driving, there is off street parking. We are about 7 minutes from town and about 10 minutes from the beach.

We lived in this house for ten years, and we know it very well. Inside, the house is shaded enough to be cool during the day and at night. Ceiling fans in all rooms [except the bathroom], plus tropical breezes that blow through the house, ensure a comfortable stay. At night, you can hear the sounds of the tropical rainforest or, if you are lucky, the tropical rain on the roof. . Sleeping here is an unimaginable pleasure.

The Las Palmas community and our manager focus on the serenity of the place. A lot of our guests study Spanish or go visit the beach, the park, the mangroves, or go out on ocean cruises during the day, and relax by the pool in the afternoon.

If it’s peace and tranquility in a jungle setting that you’re after, this is the place.

Keywords: villa, a frame, casita

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only

letty

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2010
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

The owners are local musicians, here pretty much for the pura vida!

letty purchased this bungalow in 2000

Creature comforts: pure water, nice big fridge, jungle view, pool nearby, beach just down the street, howler monkeys you can hear and titi monkeys you can watch when they come by....

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 1
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.5
based on 15 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Charming a-Frame Bungalow in the jungle
average rating of 4.5333333 based on 15 reviews
business
Charming a-Frame Bungalow in the jungle
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292915vb
+506 2777 2295 (Costa Rica)
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
Canada
5

CAN NOT BE BEAT

  • 5 of 5
We are actually here and wow! This bugalow meets all of our dream stay in Costa Rica! We are enjoing the place very much with our young boys, seing wild life every day. We cook a lot and we are finding everything we need! Lance and Letty are wonderfull owners. They took care of us the minut we got in Quepos. This couple is serein and it reflects everywhere in their sweet house. Lance, Letty, please, if you want to sell, give us a call! :))
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
business
Charming a-Frame Bungalow in the jungle
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292915vb
+506 2777 2295 (Costa Rica)
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
New Orleans, Louisiana
4

PARADISE W/BUILT IN POOL, MONKEYS, TROPICAL SETTING, WAITING FOR TARZAN & JANE, CLOSE TO EVERYTHING

Paradise w/built in pool, monkeys, tropical setting, waiting for TARZAN & JANE, close to everything
  • 4 of 5
Wonderful bungalow, 2 story, gets cool at night needing blanket at times to sleep. Sounds of the jungle, except lions and tigers, frogs, birds, monkeys are so melodic. Amenities are fantastic, not a 5 star, but very comfortable acommodations, linens, towels, kitchen, pots and pans and utensils. Cooked daily, and also ate out at great restaurants nearby. Costa Rican people and ex-patriots are just sooooo nice, very helpful and so friendly. Many say, "thank you for visiting my country" !! SERIOUSLY. My 4th time back in 18 months, from 3 to 6 weeks each visit. OK, Letty, send me a check......lol
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming a-Frame Bungalow in the jungle
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292915vb
+506 2777 2295 (Costa Rica)
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
Longview, WA USA
5

VRBO 292915

  • 5 of 5
Comfortable and convenient to the pool, bus, quepos, etc. lack of A/C was not a problem for the most part. Ventilation was not a problem for sleeping. We were thrilled with the up close experiences with the birds, sloths, and monkeys. Last day we were visited by the titi monos in our cashew trees, all over the roof and everywhere. You must learn to live with the Tico hot water heaters, but it was not an issue with us. Plenty of personal attention from the owners whenever needed. Lance and Letty went above and beyond. Thank you Lance and Letty

John and Marcia
  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming a-Frame Bungalow in the jungle
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292915vb
+506 2777 2295 (Costa Rica)
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
Phoenix
4

A RARE BARGAIN IN MANUEL ANTONIO

  • 4 of 5
We stayed two weeks at this condo. Letty and Lance own the unit, have lived there, and have put in those special touches like the surge protectors for the computers and the heated locked linen closet, which is far more valuable than you might imagine. Humidity can be high in Manuel Antonio, and having a secure place keep towels and other items safe and dry was an unexpected, but very valuable, amenity.

Letty picked us up at the Quepos airport, and took us to the local market to pick up provisions prior to showing us the condo. If you can imagine living in a condo in the jungle, you will like it here. Be sure to bring extra headlamps or flashlights, as the power can go out with some frequency during the rainy season.

Remember, too, that ants are everywhere (you're in the jungle, after all), so cleanliness in the kitchen is essential. Everything must be sealed, tightly.

The petite "tico clothes washing machine" is really a hoot. It reminds me of how my grandmother washed clothes 40 years ago. It really works great.

If you are looking for a four-star hotel experience, if you must have long, hot showers, and if you require a bug-free environment ... you probably should look somewhere else (and probably choose a different place to visit entirely). However, if you like the idea of camping in the jungle with many of the comforts of home (including cable tv and great internet), and you like the thought of getting a true deal in an area where bargains are few and far between, this condo is for you!
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming a-Frame Bungalow in the jungle
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292915vb
+506 2777 2295 (Costa Rica)
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
Canada
5

A MONTH OF TOTAL SERENITY!

  • 5 of 5
After spending a week in San Jose we were very excited to fly down to Quepos. Upon arriving at the airport, Letty was there to meet us and drive us to the condo, where she gave us a quick tour and then offered to drive us into town to stock up on groceries, which we did. Our first impression of Letty is that she is well educated and had an abundance of information to offer, from pamphlets left in the condo to places to eat. The condo in our mind was everything we needed, we are in our late 40's and have travelled extensively. Our criteria for renting this was the laid back atmosphere and far enough away from any commercialism. We found it very peaceful and quiet, the only sounds were from the wildlife which was wonderful. There is a pool in the complex which is great in the afternoon's when it can become quite hot and sticky. Even though it can become quite hot we were always comfortable in the bungalow as it was protected from direct sun which along with the fans kept it very comfortable. We were within walking distance to the town of Quepos and a short bus ride to Manuel Antonio Park. This is not a five star property but if you are looking for value for money and an intimate setting with tons of wildlife, this is the place. We did not end up cooking in the kitchen very much, mostly breakfast, but the large fridge is definitely essential. During the month that we were there we saw more wildlife while sitting on the upper deck than we saw during our hikes through Manuel Antonio Park. We loved spending time in the screened porch, reading, sketching and generally unwinding. The washing machine is wonderful and knowing it was there really helped us pack lightly as we could 'wash and wear'. We would definitely recommend this wonderful place, we hope to return. Lance and Letty were phenomenal!
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming a-Frame Bungalow in the jungle
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292915vb
+506 2777 2295 (Costa Rica)
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
Michigan
2

CHARMING A- FRAME BUNGALOW IN THE JUNGLE

  • 2 of 5
Our party of 3 adults stayed in the bungalow for nine nights out of our required 14, by our choice as we visited the volcano for two nights before getting to the bungalow. The owners were prompt at meeting us at the agreed destination. We thought the bungalow somewhat appeared as the pictures on the web site, but felt it was quite dark and somewhat dreary inside. We didn't really look forward to getting back to the bungalow from an outing. Maybe if there had been more seating inside, it would have made a difference. Only a futon in the living room, a very simple futon on the porch, a concrete dining nook on the porch and 4 straight back wicker chairs. Nothing to really make you feel comfortable. The property seemed pretty clean, with the exception of a dishwasher and some other things pushed under the stairway for storage. The bathroom was quite nicely tiled. The shower had some what of a strange hot water set up. Kind of like camping. Turn on the hot water, turn off the hot water, lather , turn the water back on to rinse, otherwise you run out of hot water. That wasn't really a problem for us, the problem was, most of the time there was no water pressure. Just a dribble of water. We were only able to take four showers between the three of us for our entire stay. The bed upstairs was comfortable and the third adult said the futon in the living room was comfortable as well. We ran out of propane for cooking after boiling about 3 cups of water. After two phone call messages and one e mail to the owners....and two days, a propane tank was finally delivered. Great places to eat and buy groceries close by. We were leaving a couple of days early, and the owner was persistant about when we would be leaving so she could get the place cleaned for the next tennant. We told her we would try to be gone by noon....she informed us that the cleaning lady would be there at 12:30 pm if we were there or not. I found that to be irritating, especially as we had a whole extra day if we wanted it. She had already re rented the bungalow on our time. I guess money is the bottom line. I guess for the money it is not a horrible deal. It's probably okay for someone who is on the go a lot and not wanting some relaxing time in the bungalow. I have mixed feelings about recommending the property. I would not stay there again. We didn't have a very enjoyable experience with all that happened and with the feeling that we were being pushed out the day we left.
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We thank these clients for taking the time to review the property.
The clients wrote that they needed the house for only 12 days, and did we have a lower rate to offer? We told them we rent for a two-week minimum and we do not give discounts for shorter stays. They booked. When we had an inquiry for a rental for the entire month of January we wrote the clients, told them the situation, and asked if their leaving date was still firm. This was four months before their arrival. They asked for a rate reduction. We offered them one, they accepted, and again confirmed the departure date. It was a done deal and everyone was happy – or so we thought. On the day, they seemed reluctant to leave. Check out time is 11 am, we had clients arriving the next day. We are sorry they felt pushed out, but they had agreed to leave on that date.

We feel this negative review is really about money. We give all of our clients written instructions that they should call the property manager if they cannot reach us [as is the case of the propane tank]. We cannot respond to situations such as low water pressure in the shower unless someone tells us about it.

We do listen to criticism: we think that our 3 padded sofas are sufficient. We have upgraded the wooden chairs to accommodate larger people. We have also installed an outdoor shower to wash off pool chlorine and beach sand, and we have put a spare propane tank in the house. We do not agree that our house is dark, dreary, and not quite clean,

We are a small operation and we do our very best to accommodate our guests and to treat them with honesty and respect. We have found that almost all of our guests have been very reasonable people who get a real sense of the ‘pura vida’ while they are in Costa Rica. Recently, the migratory pattern of the local wildlife has changed and we see a lot more monkeys, toucans, and sloths than ever before. Many clients have told us the most beautiful experience of their Costa Rica trip consists of sitting on our porch or on the upper deck, watching life go by outdoors.

Regarding this group, we are sorry their sense of financial injustice seems to have overwhelmed their entire Costa Rica experience. This is our bottom line: our rental unit stands as advertised and described, and priced.

Map

Famous sports fishing area; good rivers for white water rafting; ziplining; horse back riding; nature hiking and tours in the area and especially in Manuel Antonio Park. The area has great night life with live music and discos; area amenities include shops, pharmacies, ATM machines, car rental, a travel agency. it's all here.

Photos

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable
This listing does not have a published calendar. Please contact the owner for availability.

Manuel Antonio Bungalow Rental Rates

Notes

  • $300-$700/2 wks - $600-$1100/mo
  • US Dollars
  • January and February .... $700/2 weeks .. $1100/month
  • December, March,l April .. $650/2 weeks .. $ 1000/month
  • May June July August.. $600/2 weeks $900/month
  • Green Season (Sep-Nov) ... $300/2 weeks .. $ 600/month
  • Christmas [14 days or less] $800
  • minimum two week rental, lower rates for stays longer than one month.

Amenities

Manuel Antonio Bungalow Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • bungalow
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Telephone
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Broadband Access
Kitchen:
  • Microwave
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Refrigerator
  • Catering Available ...
  • Kitchen ...
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 6
  • Double Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
  • health/beauty spa
Leisure Activities:
  • shopping
  • boating
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • snorkeling
  • jet skiing
  • deepsea fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • paragliding
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • hiking
  • parasailing
  • tennis
  • fishing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • rafting
  • cycling
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • kayaking
  • golf
Notes:
Purified water from the tap in the kitchen. You will not need to buy water. Hot water available throughout the house.

Other Vacation Properties

$980 per week
3 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 2
$425 - $650 per week
3 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 3
$600 - $800 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 2