SHENANDOAH VACATION RENTAL

lee dearing

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

Contact the Owner

lee dearing

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

SHENANDOAH VACATION RENTAL

Massanutten House Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6-10

Overlooking the water park and enjoy the arcade /food in the waterpark which is walking distance to the house.

SUMMER END SPECIAL 750 for a week ONLY--NO EXTRAS

Unique pool pass( outdoor - summer season only ) - area reserved normally for owners now available to you -enjoy pool and kids can do bumper cars/mini golf /waterless slide while you enjoy the pool.

A unique mountain retreat in a quiet cul-de-sac, within walking distance to a all year round water park rated one of the best in the country with two unique golf courses in summer and ski slopes in the winter.

A screened-in porch off the kitchen, a front deck and a deck off each of the bedrooms will give you and your company quality time together. Enjoy the basement with a game room which has everything you need for a fun outing - dartboard, pool table, board games and a 50 inch TV to enjoy.

New Furniture with the quality linens for beds and baths provided for added comfort.

All year indoor Water Park with both outdoor and indoor water in the summer.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
  • Long-term Renters Welcome

lee dearing

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2010
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

3.2
based on 12 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Shenandoah Vacation Rental
average rating of 3.1666667 based on 12 reviews
business
Shenandoah Vacation Rental
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291928
540 746-6636
Massanutten Shenandoah Valley
1

KNOW BEFORE YOU GO

  • 1 of 5
I wanted to give this house a great rating - reasonably priced, great location. But the one star is because the house is not as advertised and the owner has cut corners in ridiculous ways that impact your vacation. I had to write a detailed review because honesty is what allows this website to work for all of us.
GRILL - it was the July 4th weekend so we asked 3 times about having a grill and gas. The grill was disgusting (cracked, rusted and caked on grates, spider webs etc.) and none of the knobs worked. The caretaker gave us his own grill, we hooked up the tank, fired it up and almost immediately ran out of gas, which the caretaker was not authorized by the owner to replace. We had to buy our own tank of gas. Why tell us the grill had been checked when we called?
GOLD PASS - this is available to owners, but these owners did not pay their dues, as we found out when we tried to use the pool and were refused entry. Why advertise it as an amenity???
MAINTENANCE- our kids woke up screaming when one fell through the bottom bunk bed in the middle of the night because a support slat is broken. Every guest in the guest book commented on the missing light bulbs, but they are still missing. This may seem minor, but its dark in the mountains!!!! Rental properties get banged up, so I can live with broken handles etc., but there seems to be a lot of penny pinching when it comes to basic maintenance.
BASIC AMMENITIES - you are allotted 1 roll of toilet paper. If you want more, you have to call the caretaker. He brings it right over, but is this a vacation house or a Russian prison??? We were given one old hand towel. One of the bath towels had makeup and brown stains on it (ew!!).
GAMES ROOM: we didn't need it, but its not as advertised. Broken pool cues, TV doesn't work. Seems like its left there so it can be listed as an amenity.
SLEEPS 10: does this include the moldy, stained futon that is stinking up the basement?

For less than $50, the owners could have corrected all of the maintenance issues we faced and have been reported before, but they don't. If the description was more accurate - basic and "bring-your-own", we could have prepared and would have been excited about the house. Instead, we had one summer vacation and dealing with the house almost ruined it. Luckily, the resort was really fun.
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are a small house and the issue with maintenance with one renter not taking care of the house can lead to such issues and with fast turnover things get left out -- I do think the truth is some where in in-between -- As an owner I was told my local management that the renter were not cooperative in getting him to fix things and do feel that some small issues should have been checked -- All I would say is that I have made sure all these issues are fixed and will ask renters to look at all the great reviews that have come before and two unhappy renters can ruin the rating of this home which we try very hard to keep up
thanks for letting us know the issues
business
Shenandoah Vacation Rental
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291928
540 746-6636
Massanutten Shenandoah Valley
Maryland
1

DISAPPOINTING RENTAL

  • 1 of 5
This was a last minute rental and we chose it because it has a 2 night minimum stay versus a 3 night minimum stay and no cleaning fee. The house was adequate, but I would not recommend staying here. The basement was very dirty and the basement table there was precariously balanced so that it could not be used. The pool table was not safe to use because the sticks were missing the tips and the table was against the wall. Even though it said that towels were provided, there were very few of them and there were not enough for even 6 people. There were no extra spices or cooking staples there. This is not necessary, but it is nice when renting a VRBO home. My deposit was not returned within the first month after renting. I had to call the owner three times and email 3 times before I got a response in which case he told me that we were being charged for taking a broom, dustpan, mop, and for extra cleaning. (We did not take anything from the home and we cleaned up after ourselves before we left.) I have rented homes through VRBO for the past 6 years and have never had such a bad experience. If it were not for the negative interaction with the owner, I would probably give a rental a "Fair" rating.
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry for the disappointment but as a owner i need to follow the rules of making sure the damage is paid from the deposit

1. There were a lot of broken/ missing items in the house( as told to me by the property magnager) and i wanted to be sure what to charge them -- they are upset as i had to take money out of the deposit -- i did not want to charge them unless i was 100% sure - so there was the delay

2. As far the the pool table since it was a short notice of arrival - the guests before them must have moved it --

All i can say is to look at all the positive reviews and not be base the stay on a renter who had not left the property the same way they had found it
business
Shenandoah Vacation Rental
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291928
540 746-6636
Massanutten Shenandoah Valley
4

ERI

  • 4 of 5
The property was great, exactly what we expected, will definitely be back!
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
business
Shenandoah Vacation Rental
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291928
540 746-6636
Massanutten Shenandoah Valley
Maryland
4

WE HAD A GREAT TIME !!!

  • 4 of 5
The stay was very comfortable, the house was very well maintained and kitchen was fully equipped.
The only disappointment was, we checked with the owner if the grill was working and after confirmation we got ready for a grill night and realized when we got there that it was not working. The grill was also very very DIRTY and seemed like it was not cleaned for ages. So we just cooked everything in the oven instead :( . Excepting for that, it was a very good and pleasant break !!! The house was very kid friendly and child proofed to a large extent, which gave us more peace of mind :) All of us including the kids had a wonderful time. Overall experience was definitely a 9/10
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: THank you very much for your kind words about the house -- I have asked the property manager to clean the grill asap.
business
Shenandoah Vacation Rental
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291928
540 746-6636
Massanutten Shenandoah Valley
4

WONDERFUL FAMILY VACATION RENTAL

  • 4 of 5
We were looking to do a waterpark mini-vacation with the kids during spring break and wanted to avoid the traffic associated with a slog down 95 from DC to Great W*lf L*dge. The waterpark at Massanutten proved to be just the ticket. This rental house was perfectly located about 1 minute's drive from the waterpark (you can actually see the top of the waterpark roof from the deck). We had a great time. The house was all we needed it to be. Well, with the exception of no internet access, and bare bones TV/cable for the kids (ie., no Nickelodeon, Disney Channel, etc.) Still, I highly recommend this home if you're looking to poke around the McGaheysville area on or off-season! We also did some hiking, go-carting, zip-lining and all that over at the main Massanutten resort. Oh, and we also were able to bring our dog along, which was a big plus for us. All in all, this was an accommodating and very pleasant rental house!
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Shenandoah Vacation Rental
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291928
540 746-6636
Massanutten Shenandoah Valley
Virginia
5

EXCELLENT VALUE, VERY CONVENIENT TO MASSANUTTEN!

  • 5 of 5
While this is not a luxury home, it is a very solid home with everything you need for a fun vacation. There was plenty of space and everything worked as it should. My 7 year old said several times that he wanted us to move there!
The house has a flat driveway (I didn't think was a big deal until I drove through the neighborhood) and is about half a mile from the waterpark and about 4 miles from the slopes. I would be happy to stay here again!
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children

Map

Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Massanuetten
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
water park indoor food court

Ski during the day and come back home to walk to the water park -kids play in the water/play different games in the water park while we can enjoy the bar!

Other Activities: Shopping, snowboarding, basketball, kayaking, mini golf, wildlife viewing, rock climbing

Photos

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Massanutten House Rental Rates

Notes

  • Low Rates. (3rd week of march to week before Memorial day./ sept. to december 15 . $180/Night .. $700/Week
    Peak .. Memorial Day-Labor Day, Dec-Mar.. $200/night .. $750/Week.
    Holiday .. Good Friday-Easter/JUN Grad Weekend/JUL 4th/Thanksgiving/Christmas
    Holiday ........NO CLEANING.............. $220/night .. $900/week




    Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.

    *

    Credit Cards Accepted:
    * Visa
    * MasterCard

    Dates available: Year Round
  • No cleaning fees (a saving of hidden fees of 75 to 100 dollars!!!)
    Summer Special!

Amenities

Massanutten House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Resort
  • Mountain
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Adventure
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Heating
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
  • Parking Off Street
  • Air Conditioning
  • Linens Provided
  • Clothes Dryer
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Freezer
  • Oven
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Wood Deck
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • playground
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • live theater
Leisure Activities:
  • sight seeing
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • sledding
  • bird watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • ski lift privileges
  • skiing
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • tennis
  • swimming
  • fishing
Notes:
Pet Friendly: 1 Adult dog /must sign pet policy and pet deposit-- 50 dollars extra Kid Friendly: Cul-de-sac for kids to ride the bike while you watch from the deck