STUNNING MODERN LUXURY WATERFRONT WITH ITS OWN BROOK/WATERFALL

From
$2,800
Enter dates to see total
Email Owner Email

Owner

Speaks english
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms5
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

STUNNING MODERN LUXURY WATERFRONT WITH ITS OWN BROOK/WATERFALL

Northeast Harbor Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 5 Bedrooms, 5 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

The sounds of a small waterfall will lull you to sleep or enhance your evenings on the deck of this contemporary cottage on the shores of Somes Sound. With its open, grand living space, this home creates a perfect setting for entertaining, relaxing by the fire, or soaking up the views.

Open Living/Dining/Kitchen area with fireplace and floor to ceiling windows looking out to Ocean. Bedroom with queen bed, Private Full Bath; Bedroom with twin beds, Private Full Bath and 2nd Full Bath across the hall. Master Bedroom with king bed and Private Full Bath. Bedroom with single bed and upper bunk; sharing a Full Bath with another Bedroom with single bed and upper bunk (no guard rails on either upper bunk). Laundry room. Separate office, or den (with seating for 8, computer and T.V.), private card/game room and carport. All on one floor.

Large open Deck with fireplace overlooking a narrow cove that opens to Somes Sound and the ocean beyond.

SPECIAL: 7/8/12-7/22/12 - 20% OFF

Keywords: Shorefront Contemporary Cottage

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
  • limited accessibility
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2010
Speaks english

My husband and I enjoy vacationing in Maine. We cherish the opportunity to be on the water, hiking and playing golf, tennis, bridge and attending the wonderful lectures and concerts.

The Owner purchased this cottage in 1992

My husband and I enjoy the peacefulness and the beauty of our surroundings. This is our get away time thus the cottage is 'Quiet Times.' Since my husband still works we cannot spend the whole summer here so we decided to rent part-time for others to enjoy too.

You can enjoy a fire in the fireplace on the deck while listening to the brook and watching the tide come in and out. You can eat fresh lobster caught that morning and even fish a bit.

This is a one-of-a-kind property located on the gold coast of Maine, right on the water and minutes from town. Get the fun and peace of the ocean and the convenience and amenities of town in one package.

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms5
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Property Reviews

Stunning Modern Luxury Waterfront with its Own Brook/Waterfall
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 3 reviews
business
Stunning Modern Luxury Waterfront with its Own Brook/Waterfall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p289434vbi
Northeast Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
St. Paul, MN, USA
5

Owners responded positively

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2011
This note confirms the owner's statement that they sent a check to split the cleaning costs.
We highly recommend this very special place. We looked at other options - nothing is as unique as this. It's a perfect location to explore the surrounding area and a gorgeous house with all the amenities. I noticed recently that our daughter has a picture of this place (taken from the harbor) as one of her screen savers on her office computer! Anyone looking for a vacation rental in Acadia would make a mistake if they used our one complaint (now resolved) to skip this home. It's a gem. Obviously, the owners want to please their renters.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Stunning Modern Luxury Waterfront with its Own Brook/Waterfall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p289434vbi
Northeast Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
St. Paul, MN, USA
4

Wrote too soon

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
Our above review was written too soon. Future renters should be forewarned about unpleasant ending transactions. We paid a security deposit. We and the owner agreed we did no damage to the property, therefore, we assumed the security deposit would be returned. However, deep in the fine print of the lengthy contract we signed prior to renting, was inserted: "Tenant agrees to be responsible... for any cleaning required to return the premises to the condition they were in prior to tenant's occupancy and agrees that such costs may be charged to tenant." We believed this referred to damage covered by the security deposit and "may" meant we would not be charged, since the premises were in pristine condition when we left. Only 35% of our security deposit was returned, with 2/3rds taken out for normal cleaning, (an itemized bill was provided.) This meant the owners had a very small security deposit for their attractive home and artifacts! Buyer beware - the security deposit and cleaning are co-mingled. Normal cleaning is not included in the rental fee. Because this is so different from our experience in many other rentals, we complained. To erase our poor memories at the end of our vacation, the owner offered to split the cleaning fee, but we've waited 3 weeks and no check has arrived. Hopefully, our complaint has resulted in clearer language in the contract for future tenants.
Owner's Response: We are very glad the Rossmans enjoyed their visit so much. We are a mystified, however, by their misunderstanding of the "lengthy contract," which is a 3 and 1/2 page version of a standard rental form. For purposes of quality control and sanitation, it is necessary to clean the cottage after each guest departs. Nonetheless, in view of their misunderstanding, as they say, we did agree to split the cleaning fee and, as promised, mailed the check the day we returned from travel, which was the day after their second review appeared on the VRBO web site.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stunning Modern Luxury Waterfront with its Own Brook/Waterfall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p289434vbi
Northeast Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
St. Paul, MN, USA
5

Fantastic in Every Way

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
Our family of 5 adults and 4 children stayed in this one-of-a-kind property in late May, early June, 2011. The location on Soames Sound is perfect. We watched tides, searched tide pools, listened to the brook, easily accessed Acadia National Park, walked to an excellent bakery in NE Harbor, went to SE Harbor for fishing boat trip, and enjoyed B.Harbor without being in the crowds. The large, architect-designed house is artfully decorated with vivid colors, primitive sculptures, big and small baskets, vases and modern art. Chairs in all the room are comfortable and inviting. We roasted marshmallows in the fireplace on the huge deck. There were spaces for everyone to do their "own thing." It's better than the pictures! The landscaping is lovely. The place was spotlessly clean. The kitchen is well-equipped. The monogrammed towels were fluffy. The owner and caretakers are responsive and helpful. There is TV. The Wi-Fi worked sporadically. The description of the bedrooms and bathrooms in the overview is confusing. There are 5 bedrooms: 1 King, 1 Queen, 1 Twins, 1 Single with Loft Bunk and 1 Single with loft bunk. The King, Queen and Twins all have full private baths. The 2 Singles with Loft Bunks share a connecting bath. There is another full bath close to the card room and living area. We highly recommend this place, our only concern is that it might not be available when we want to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Email

Map

Whale watching, bridge tournaments (duplicate weekly), summer concert series in Bar Harbor and N.E.H., lecture series at Claremont Hotel in Southwest Harbor. Farmers market in summer and early Fall.

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Northeast Harbor Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Minimum Stay
 
May
May 1 2014 - May 31 2014
$3,000
$10,000
7 nights
 
 
June
Jun 1 2014 - Jun 30 2014
$3,950
$11,500
7 nights
 
 
July
Jul 1 2014 - Jul 31 2014
$7,000
$27,000
7 nights
 
 
August
Aug 1 2014 - Aug 31 2014
$9,000
$34,000
7 nights
 
 
September
Sep 1 2014 - Sep 30 2014
$3,500
$12,000
7 nights
 
 
October
Oct 1 2014 - Oct 31 2014
$2,800
$9,500
7 nights
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500.00
Tax Rate 8.0%
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Northeast Harbor Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront
General:
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Telephone
  • Covered Parking
  • Broadband Access
  • Computer Available
Kitchen:
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Dishwasher
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 -
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , 1 is upper bunk
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single , 1 is upper bunk
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Bunk Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • VCR
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Deck / Patio ...
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
  • limited accessibility
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • horseshoes
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • sailing
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
  • tennis
  • mountain biking
  • kayaking
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hunting
  • swimming
  • hiking
  • rock climbing
  • golf
Notes:
Indoor and outdoor fireplaces outdoor is on the deck, brook by house with a small waterfall, fishing, landscaped in a Japanese manner.
Email Owner Email

Other Vacation Properties

$2,800 - $9,000 per week
7 night minimum stay
  • 5 BR,
  • 5 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$3,000 - $12,000 per week
7 night minimum stay
  • 5 BR,
  • 6 BA,
  • Sleeps 12
$821 per night
6 night minimum stay
  • 5 BR,
  • 4 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 10