Ted H. Franse

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Bedrooms 1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay nights

Contact the Owner

Ted H. Franse

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


Wailua Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

First I would like to address. Due to all the Scammers out there. I do not advertise on Craiglist. LAST MINUTE SPECIAL PRICING and I do ALL-Inclusive pricing. That way you don't get a quote and then they add all the taxes due, after you thought that was the final cost. This is not just Ocean view. This is OCEAN FRONT property. My condo is now even listed as one of only two (2) condos at Wailua Bay View in the New Hawaii for Dummies travel book on page 438. As being very CUTE,with a great view.I have put a lot of hard work into my two condos at Wailua Bay View and lots of pride too.

THERE ARE SOME LAST MINUTE SPECIALS AT TIMES!!The sooner you book in advance, the better the DEAL! Wailua Bay View #205 is a second floor premium unit in this oceanfront condo building, with an awesome view of the ocean.On Oceanside just a stones throw from the Famous Old Coco Palms resort, where Elvis would stay and filmed movies, such as Blue Hawaii! With FREE DSL high speed wireless internet access, free local & long distance telephone calls to mainland is available in the unit. FREE use of security safe also available.

All new TEAK furniture, very HIGH class. New sofas, Queen sized sleepers too. New Teak outdoor funiture. I spent thousands and thousands on these upgrades. Yours to enjoy!

There are at times some last minute specials . Work with me and I will work with you.

The private lanai overlooking Wailua Beach is furnished with comfortable outdoor furniture, positioned to allow a clear view of Wailua Bay and the coastline looking toward Lihue.(more photos upon request).

There is a lot of new livingroom tropical furniture with all the comforts of home. Including 2 color TV's, VCR, DVD player, stereo radio. The newly condos hold all the comforts of home, plants, beautiful pictures and a lovely ceiling fans all with a very Tropical feeling and look. The couch also serves as a thick pull out queen sized bed. With the sounds of the ocean from the lanai you'll drift off to dreamland in no time.

Need to catch up on business while on vacation? Kitchen counter doubles as a desk for your portable computer. I have two telephones, both cordless for your convenience, the other with digital answering machine and speaker phone and data port for local dial up internet connections, in addition to the Wi-Fi internet access,three way calling, caller ID etc.

The kitchen in Wailua Bay View #205 have been completely redone in in travertine tile and are well equipped for monthly rentals as well as weekly stays. Large appliances include full size refrigerator with ice maker, full size range oven, built in microwave and dishwasher. And many small appliances plus both are fully stocked with dinnerware, serving pieces, glassware, cookware, bake ware, linens, picnic ware and coolers for your use.

And if you don't want to stay and cook there are many Kauai restaurants within walking distance or just a short drive from Wailua Bay View.And now right across the street the Famous Wailua pizzeria 'Brick Oven Pizzeria' is now open. Eastside restaurants include many in Kapaa, Wailua, Lihue.

The bedroom includes a king size bed, large closets, full size dressers, brand new air conditioners, television, telephone, new ceiling fans and lots of additional bedding and linens. With the air conditioners on and the shutters closed it will filter out any potential noise and light, so you can get a good night's sleep. I even provide white noise machines for the extremely light sleepers. I have thought of everything.

The bathroom features a tub and shower, medicine cabinet and also upgraded with travertine tile. The laundry area includes a stacked washer and dryer. The linen closet holds plenty of bath towels, beach towels, hair dryer and assorted sundries, furnished for your convenience.

Whether you stay at Wailua Bay View to enjoy the pool, barbecue area, walking to the beach, on a brand new walk-path and bicycle path to nearby shops and restaurants, or take advantage of our easy drives to Kauai's North Shore, East Shore, South Shore, West Shore beaches and attractions, you'll find Wailua Bay View a comfortable place to spend your vacation on Kauai. I have put a lot of time into making it a place where I would love to live and in hopes to make it that way for you too.

A short drive takes you to nearby Lydgate Park and Kamalani Playground, Wailua River State Park, Fern Grotto, Sleeping Giant, Waterfalls, Smith's Tropical Paradise Luau and strolling paths. Also nearby are Kauai activities and adventures such as hiking, kayaking, helicopter and airplane tours, golf courses, water-skiing and more.Wailua Golf course is one of the best muni. course in all 50 states and only costs about $49.00 with cart, for a non-Hawaiian resident.

Also, ask for last minute booking deals? Sometimes there are spots that come up last minute. I may be able to provide nice discounts!!

Thanks for looking at my listing!


P.S. And if you ever need a vacation place in Key West Florida? Go to VRBO #171894 or #208439,#219051,#249689 #442437 or #265376.

Here is writeup, others provided on request:


The 1 bedroom was very spacious with a large living room and walk out balcony. The sound of the surf carries through to the bedroom at the rear of the unit. The condo was a quiet building. It is close to several restaurants and a good base from which to explore the island. We would definately stay there again. The guestbook indicates that many couples return each year. The development directly across the bay rents a single room--not a condo for FOUR times the price.

Transient Accommodations Registration ID number is W48645207-01

Check out a Video on the Royal Coast!

More Details
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Ted H. Franse (Owner)
Advertiser since 2007
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

About Ted H. Franse

This is a picture of Me and My Girlfriend up at Waimea Canyon on Kauai,( The Grand Canyons of the Pacific). We went riding on two Harley's for the entire day. What a great way to take in the beautiful sights on the island. I go almost 6 times a year and either go with My girlfriend or my Son or both or alone to do work in my two ocean front condos at Wailua Bay View.

Ted H. Franse purchased this condo in 2004

Why Ted H. Franse chose Wailua

I have always loved the tropics, so I own 9 different vacation properties, which are also on VRBO. 7 in Key West, Florida, and these two on Kauai at Wailua Bay View, in Kapaa. The reason I purchased in Kapaa at Wailua Bay View, was the view and being so close to the Ocean. What a great sound to hear the waves crashing and the view is to kill for. Kapaa also provides a great central point for going either direction on Kauai.Versus the other islands? I have been on them all, but Kauai is so peaceful. It's like Maui 30 years ago.

What makes this condo unique

The peace and quiet. You can do everything like on any of the other islands, ocean sports, surfing, zip-lining,riding,hiking,kayaking,big camp fires on the beach right on Wailua Bay, or just do nothing and have a glass on wine or a cold beer and sit on the Lanai looking and listening to the waves.The people on Kauai are real nice too, very friendly!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Aug 16, 2010 | Trip type: Couples My husband and I spent a week at Wailua Bay View in unit #205 for our honeymoon at the end of May. We found this unit on VRBO and the owner, Ted, was excellent at answering any and all questions we had before we booked.

We arrived and parked and received a parking pass from the property manager who was very friendly. The unit is on the 2nd floor, facing the Bay. You enter and on your right is a good sized bedroom with an AMAZING king sized bed. Seriously, it had to be one of the best beds I have ever slept in!! There was an AC unit in the room. Next to the bedroom is a stackable washer and dryer (So handy!) and then the bathroom. All the towels and rugs were fluffy and nice in the bathroom and the water pressure and temperature were perfect. Further into the unit is the completely stocked kitchen and breakfast bar. We wanted for nothing when it came to utensils and dishes, etc. There were cooking items I didn't even recognize, that's how thoroughly stocked it was!! And there was a dishwasher!

The kitchen opens to the living room with a couch, tv/entertainment center, cd player, and table and chairs. There is a large ceiling fan to keep the room cool. Beyond that is the lanai with the most amazing post-card perfect views of Wailua bay. We felt at home right away. We stocked up on food at the Safeway down the highway and ate almost every meal on the lanai. Sometimes we had a gecko guest on the lanai watching us eat! :)

We used the BBQ's down at the pool one day and that was really handy. I swam while my husband cooked- perfect! The location of the condo is awesome: exactly halfway between the north and south coasts. You can walk to Smith's family luau (a neat experience if you've never been to a luau- the grounds are amazing!) and Coconut Marketplace (shops, bars, and restaurants).

We never ever had a problem with the noise in our unit. You couldn't hear the highway over the crashing waves! The beach in front of the condo was a little too rough for swimming but it was nice to watch the surfers. We swam on the North Shore mostly.
Aug 2010
  • 1 of 22

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.



based on 10 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Great Ocean Front Condo for Your $$. Ranked A++ by Travel Guide!
average rating of 4.4 based on 10 reviews
Great Ocean Front Condo for Your $$. Ranked A++ by Travel Guide!
(916) 965-8266
Wailua Kauai
Roseville, CA


  • 5 of 5
This was by far the best family vacation on the islands we've had. The condo is perfectly located for easy access to the island sights and has a breathtaking view. The owner has gone above and beyond to make this a home away from home. Even two Hurricanes and an earthquak didn't put a dull on this condo's shine. I have already recommended this place to everyone for a Perfect family vacation. Thanks for the memories.
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for the nice review. Most that have a nice time don't bother to write reviews. Only the few that can't be pleased. Thanks again. Glad the hurricanes weakened before coming ashore.
Great Ocean Front Condo for Your $$. Ranked A++ by Travel Guide!
(916) 965-8266
Wailua Kauai

Love this place!

  • 5 of 5
I gotta say, I just love the condo. The owner has done everything he can to make our stay very comfortable. We rented from the owner before. He is very responsive and is so easy to deal with. We also like that he does not gouge us with fees. He is a no haggle type of person, and is easy to communicate with. It’s nice to know he has been the same owner for years and has complete pride in keeping up his two condos there.
We had a lovely time and the new pathway to the beach is perfect, plus a new bike path too. Nice to see Coco Palms is coming back to life across the street.
Thanks again, for allowing us to stay at your condo.
  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks you very much for the nice review. I really appreciate the nice comments. Ted The Owner!
Great Ocean Front Condo for Your $$. Ranked A++ by Travel Guide!
(916) 965-8266
Wailua Kauai
Seattle, WA

Wailua Bay Area

  • 2 of 5
When we arrived at the complex, the property manager happened to be in the office and gave us a parking pass. This was our first visit to Kauai and the manager was friendly and gave us a lot of information about the local area. Our unit was on the 2nd floor, and faced Wailua Bay with a great view of the bay when viewed from inside the unit. The unit was well furnished and included ample dishware and towels. There was a washer and dryer. We found a notice on the door of our unit that stated the water would be turned off on October 21nd at 10:00pm for 4 hours. This was not a problem because we were notified ahead of the time and adjusted our water usage accordingly. The water was back on the next morning.
The beach access was not easy for my wife who has MS. Access to the beach is hampered by the abandoned remains of the oceanfront dining room of the Coco Palms Resort destroyed by a 1992 hurricane and several flights of stairs. The walk to the beach is along the heavily traveled Hwy 56. The remains of the dining room surrounded by a chain link fence is also visible when looking down from the lanai of the unit. We found the snorkel gear was not usable and the ice chest was not in very good shape. We left our new one at the unit for future guests and rented snorkel gear.
Noise from heavy the traffic was noticeable well into the evening and we could smell gas fumes from the gas station across the street when the wind was blowing from that direction. We needed to leave the louvers on the door open in order to get cross ventilation in the unit as there was only A/C in the bedroom. The A/C was adequate for the bedroom with the door and windows closed. The A/C on high and the white noise machine did drown out the traffic noise if you are used to sleeping in a noisy environment.
Our biggest disappointment was the fact we were not notified of re-construction of the pool area. The last two days of our stay were disrupted by constant jack-hammering from 8am-4pm while the tile around the pool was removed. This was the time we planned to stay at the unit to rest and relax by the pool. We had spent the previous week touring the island and my wife needed some down time before heading home. When we mentioned this fact to the condo owner, he never apologized, and only stated we should have gone to the beach to rest, or driven around the island instead.
We would definitely not stay here again.
  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: First of all, I do not provide updated snorkel gear or ice chests. Those are items left behind from folks that have stayed. 2nd of all, there is a Brand New pathway and walkway to the beach, for which cost the County Millions to build; and provides easy access to the beach. 3rd of all the work on the pool was brief and during daytime hours and you're rates were lowered because of these conditions. Next time maybe remember how little you paid, because I can almost guarantee that you couldn't stay anywhere in your local city for how little you paid. I guess everyone gets a bad review, and this is the only one I have. Can't please every "Human".
Great Ocean Front Condo for Your $$. Ranked A++ by Travel Guide!
(916) 965-8266
Wailua Kauai
Raymond, CA USA

A week in Paradise!

  • 5 of 5
We just returned from 10 days in Hawaii. We spent the first 7 days in this condo. The view is absolutely amazing. The lanai has a table to eat at, plus a bar with barstools so you can sit and look right over the ocean! We absolutely loved it. The condo itself is very nice. It has been upgraded with very nice furniture and is clean and attractive. Ted, the owner, has everything you'd want for a day at the beach. We particularly enjoyed the ice chest that was provided and were able to take it on picnics. It was a wonderful experience and we are forever grateful for the time we were able to stay here. I would recommend it to anyone.
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks guys. I am very pleased that you liked my condo. I appreciate the kind words. Many people don't take the time to write when they loved my place. And, that is when I really like when they remember to take a moment to tell me all my hard work has been worth it. Thanks again. I'm glad you had a nice time.
Thanks, Ted the Owner.
Great Ocean Front Condo for Your $$. Ranked A++ by Travel Guide!
(916) 965-8266
Wailua Kauai
Central, PA

Beautiful decorated, clean condo with nice view.

  • 4 of 5
My husband and I stayed here for one week in late March, 2012; please excuse the late entry. We found this condo to be as depicted/described. It is clean and very beautifully appointed. The furnishings are both comfortable and beautiful at the same time. The condo's lanai has sweeping views of the East coast of Kauai and Wailua Bay. We enjoyed several dinners on the lanai after making meals in the well equipped kitchen. The only downside to this condo is not the fault of the condo, but rather the location of Wailua Bay View itself. It is located just a short distance from the Wailua Bay Bridge at the split of Kuhio Hwy/HI-56 N and Papaloa Rd. There can be quite a lot of road traffic and road/traffic noise, even well into the night. This may not be a problem for some people, but the bedrooms in most of the units at Wailua Bay View are on the Mauka (Western / roadside) end of the condos which overlooks Hwy. 56 N, Papaloa Rd, and a Shell (?) station. Even with roadside windows shut tight, the AC unit on high at night and/or the provided "white noise" sound machine on, we were still disturbed by road noise. We are from a very small town and live "in the country" so we are probably more sensitive to road noise than most people. That said, I think it merits mentioning. It was the only downside to the property to us. Some people may be upset to find that most East and North facing beaches on Kauai and all Hawaiian islands can be hazardous and basically only for "locals" especially in the winter months. If staying here, do not expect that you can walk right out your door and down to the beach and swim. While the view from the lanai is oceanfront, access to the beach is not as easy as you may think, and is hampered by the vestiges of the oceanfront dining room of the Coco Palms resort destroyed by Hurricane Iniki in 1992 . These things considered, you will be hard pressed to find a better appointed, cleaner condo than this for the money and its central location in Kapaa is worth immeasurable dollars and time. Kapaa has multiple fine restaurants, grocery stores and shopping, and some decent "night life". You will find Kapaa a great choice if you are visiting Kauai for the first time. It can take a LONG time to travel short distances on this island, depending upon time of day at "contra flow" traffic pattern adjustments of the main thoroughfares during rush hour. You can save yourself frustration by staying at a central location like Kapaa.
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
Owner's Response: Wailua Bay View is right on the Ocean. And the roadway does follow the Ocean and Beach there too. No matter where a person goes, be it here for as little as we charge per a night? Which, I cannot even stay at a Hotel back at home for that price, unless I want to see people doing "Tricks" all night outside and worry about my car being stolen. I have heard about folks staying at the Most expensive locations, paying well over four to five times what I charge a night and they had to deal with Kids screamimg down the hallways or a couple yelling and fighting. For what I charge? It's a bargain. This is the Bargain of the Century. I hate that I have had to cut my rates to less than half what I used to get only a few years ago. It doesn't even cover the Mortgages. I agree, you would be hard pressed to find a better deal and a place so nice as this for such little expense.
Great Ocean Front Condo for Your $$. Ranked A++ by Travel Guide!
(916) 965-8266
Wailua Kauai
Bothell, WA

Beautiful island

  • 4 of 5
The location of this condo (#205) was great and we were able to explore all of Kauai from here. The view is wonderful as well as the sound of the waves. Having a washer and dryer was so convenient and the swimming pool is absolutely amazing, with wonderful foliage surrounding it. Having two propane grills next to the pool was perfect for grilling our dinners each night (Costco has wonderful prices here). Also, air conditioning and a white noise machine in the bedroom made sleeping easy, although street noise was not noticeable. The downside was I expected the new kitchen to be in this unit after having read the other reviews and looking at the photos. After arriving, I realized it probably was in his other unit. For us, the couch was too deep and quite uncomfortable (we're both tall and the seat was still too wide for us). The only other thing that happened was that when my husband turned on the shower for the first time (and this was the only time it happened), ants sprayed out with the first gush of water. This wasn't anything that could have been forseen, but sure was surprising. Our first morning we awoke to over 50 sea kayaks putting out in the ocean, along with a ceremony and drums playing. It couldn't have been more magical to watch that from the lanai.
  • Submitted: May 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Owner's Response: The Kitchen has been remodeled. Not sure what was the issue there. All the Furniture is very expensive Teak and the Couch / sleeper in the Family Room, was the best on the Island. This is the first time I have had a complaint about my expensive furnishings.

Sorry that you are real tall. I cannot please everyone.



Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Nearest Point of Interest
Wailua Bay!
Nearest Point of Interest
Coco Palms
Nearest Point of Interest
Wailua River Rafting
Nearest Point of Interest
Brick Oven Pizza
Nearest Point of Interest
Nearest Point of Interest
Lygate Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Wailua Golf Course!

I have provided plenty of water toys in both condos.



Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates


Wailua Condo Rental Rates


  • $125-$165/nt
  • US Dollars
  • Dec 15th to April 15th .. $135-$165/night
  • April 16th to Dec 14th .. $125-$150/night
  • Long Term Stay Discounts Available
  • Contact Me for Availability and Discounts
  • Payment Options: Checks or Cash or Paypal, Credit Cards too.
  • Please e mail me or call for availablity of units.
  • The longer the stay the better rate I can give you!
  • November specials 25% off and I pay your sales tax and hotel tax.



Wailua Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Beach View ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Internet
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1) Room 205 now has a new King bed, Queen size Beds (1) Room 203 has a new King bed, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Both units have brand new additional pullout Queen sozed Sofa beds in living room area on Ocean side.
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • CD Player
  • Stereo
  • VCR
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Balcony ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
  • zoo
  • restaurants
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • pond
  • rain forests
  • recreation center
  • forests
  • reefs
  • ruins
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • horseshoes
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
  • miniature golf
  • shuffleboard
  • boating
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • walking
  • shelling
  • whale watching
  • scenic drives
  • luaus
Local Services & Businesses:
  • Babysitter
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
  • fitness center
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • mountain climbing
  • water skiing
  • sailing
  • hunting
  • rafting
  • cycling
  • tennis
  • kayaking
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • fishing
  • basketball court
  • parasailing
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • wind-surfing
  • surfing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • jet skiing
  • golf
  • skiing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • roller blading
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • equestrian events
  • pier fishing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • water tubing
  • deepsea fishing
  • hunting small game
Completely renovated both condos.