Our Family Holiday
Submitted: January 24, 2013
Stayed: December 2012
We were looking for a beachfront place to stay for our family of seven, which includes my husband and I, our two oldest children and their spouses and our youngest son. We found beachfront bliss and read the reviews, and knew in July that was where we wanted to spend our extended Christmas holiday. I contacted the owner by email and she responded that in order for us to rent it we had to overnight the first half of the money right away, a 20.00 extra expense. We could not use our visa card. It says on homeaway that you can. The contract also said that the keys will be mailed a week prior to our stay. The morning we were to leave, we still had no keys. The keys arrived 2 days after we left. If it werent for our son-in-law flying down 3 days later we would have had another expense in mailing the owner back her keys.
When we arrived the pool heater was broken, so we couldnt use the pool for the first 4 days of our stay. Both of the bike tires were flat, so they were unusable until Thursday, which we only had one more day there after they were fixed.
The bed in the cottage was so loud and squeaky. The cottage hasnt been renovated.
The grill on deck was great but you had to either get your own gas tank or charcoal...no wood for the firepit either. Just some small things that would have made it easier, would have been nice, especially since you pay so much for the place.
Overall the house worked well for our family. We loved the beachfront location.
Owner's Response: First off I am sorry that you had the problem with they keys. I am not sure why the post office was slow when we paid for overnight shipping. I think the holidays had them overwhelmed. I did however speak with you several times both on the phone directly and on the internet regarding this issue and I assured you I would be there to greet you as well as my housekeeping staff as I allowed you an early check in. The reason for overnight payment was your choice. I explained that there were several people interested in that Christmas week and I do not reserve the house until I have payment. Since you said you really wanted the house, I offered that as a solution. All money is processed through my rental company so it can get complicated. I wanted to be sure you got the house. I was aware on Saturday the pool heater was not working. It was fixed Monday and the temperature was to 83 degrees within 1 day. I am sorry about the tires on the bicycles however we have purchased a new bike and both are working. Our rental company has not recommended any home provide bicycles as they can be a problem. However we though it would be a nice amenity. We purchased a gas grill this year for our tenants however it is their responsibility to fill the gas which is easily done as well as purchase charcoal. I do supply many items homeowners do not which you did not mention. I do not supply firewood either. This is a house in move in condition, perfectly cleaned but we do not provide those services as a hotel would. We were not aware of the squeaky bed and are having a new one replaced this week. It is upsetting for me to have such a review however I feel we handled each situation to make it an enjoyable stay.
Helpful votes: 2/4
Did you find this review helpful?