Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Polar Peak Mountain Side Ski-in Townhome with Hot Tub

Richard or Sue

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Contact the Owner

Richard or Sue

Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 8, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Polar Peak Mountain Side Ski-in Townhome with Hot Tub

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

Fernie Townhome Rental Photos and Description

Townhome, 3 Bedrooms + Bunk Area, 3.5+ Baths (Sleeps 8)

Enjoy the best of both worlds - the seclusion of Polar Peak Lodges nestled among the tall pines while the convenience of ski-in accommodation. This mountainside town home is beautifully appointed, and has a well equipped granite kitchen ideal for large families.

The town home works extremely well for two families. Parents can enjoy privacy upstairs (3 bedrooms - master has queen bed with ensuite and walk-in; 2nd and 3rd bedrooms have king and double beds respectively, all decorated with True North pine furniture). The entertainment unit on the main floor features a flat screen TV, DVD and stereo. The lower level is great for the kids, with 2 sets of single bunks, a full private bathroom, and separate entertainment area with fireplace.

.

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Richard or Sue (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 8, 2015

About Richard or Sue

We (Sue and Richard) hail from Southwestern Ontario and Trinidad respectively, and currently make Toronto our home. Our blended family of four children, all in their twenties, are now leaving the nest one by one. We are an eclectic group of avid skiers/snowboarders, swimmers, scuba divers, hikers, sailors, musicians, food and wine lovers!

Richard or Sue purchased this townhome in 2001

Why Richard or Sue chose Fernie

We vacationed in Fernie in 2000, and fell in love with the hometown feel and friendliness of this small and historic mining community which offered the best powder skiing in Canada.

Polar Peak is a magical place for us, nestled amongst the pines and firs at the Fernie Alpine Resort. By day it is a great base for the many activities offered in Fernie and the Elk Valley. By night it is engulfed by a wondrous canopy of stars so bright that you realize that the universe has taken extra special care to create this unique and unspoiled mecca. It is a place to re-balance, to pursue the joy of life (and its real priorities!), and enjoy family and friends.

Our favourite outings – apart from fabulous skiing (Oh... what powder!!!), hiking the Lost Boys Pass along the ridge to Polar Peaks or the trails around Island Lake Lodge, and thereafter enjoying a BBQ with friends. Farther afield, hiking Glacier and Waterton National Parks.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

5
based on 24 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Polar Peak Mountain Side Ski-in Townhome with Hot Tub
average rating of 4.9583335 based on 24 reviews
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
5

Upscale Fernie home away from home.

  • 5 of 5

This family retreat within walking distance (or a very short drive) to the base of Fernie has everything you need to feel at home. The downstairs bunks in the walkout basement are set up exceptionally for teens/ tweens and youngsters to feel like they have their own clubhouse with TV, wifi, bathroom with shower and a fireplace.

Views of mountain vistas abound from every window.

The walkout to the covered hot-tub was very much welcomed, and the open area on two side allowed for unobstructed views of the mountains. Nice sized hot tub fantastic for apres ski soak of tired muscles.

Kitchen is a foodie kitchen...and well equipped to make big breakfasts prior to hitting the hill and enormous meals for starving stomachs upon return. Basic spices were available and most gadgets you would need are all at your fingertips. Fridge is regular size.

Upstairs and downstairs, good quality linens, sumptuous duvets and plush towels are ready for your use with luxe bedrooms upstairs and closets to unpack and feel like home.

The photos of the area are a nice touch as well and really capture the essence of Fernie. I think the host should make them available for purchase!

Honestly within a day, I felt like I was at my home away from home and relaxed in a totally different environment.

We came as two families with 4 tween/ teens between us and found the space and layout perfect.

Lots of washrooms are also a huge bonus!

Stores are in town and a short drive away. Much more economical than the small local grocery/ convenience store near the base of Fernie. If you are driving from Calgary however, I'd suggest you stock up at Costco for your basics and cost of food, etc is more pricey locally.

The apres ski life at Fernie is a bit of a disappointment if you have kids and there wasn't much left open due to the poor snow conditions this year. Certainly this has nothing to do with the property however! Ski out is not possible, but ski in with enough snow would.

Everything in this rental property is as you see it. No gimmicks or clever photography. And it is new enough and well kept to feel like you have truly been on vacation and pampered but cozy enough to feel like you can slump on the couch and relax with a glass of wine.

I think the space is a bit too much for one family, but definitely accommodates two families and all of the ski equipment without being cramped.

I would recommend this property and the process of rental, etc highly!! Thank you Richard and Sue.

  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your very kind words and excellent review. We try to keep things up to date as much as possible. Fernie has been our little piece of heaven and we were glad to share it with you. Thanks again.
5

Fabulous Fernie Hideaway!

  • 5 of 5

If you are looking for a comfy, cozy family hideaway, this place is for you! Just a short walk to the ski lifts and a shorter way back, if there's enough snow. The chalet itself, was exactly as stated in the write up. We love to cook dinners and we were pleasantly surprised on how well stocked the kitchen was with utensils and pots & pans. (we usually have to bring steamers, garlic presses, etc with us, and this trip, they stayed packed!) The hot tub was fabulous after a hard day skiing. Richard was a gracious host, calling us at our arrival to see if everything was OK. We'll have to try another time to experience the famous Fernie powder! A definite thumbs-up! :o)

  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We try to keep up with guest needs and have added a crock pot, additional cutting boards, wok, etc. Hope you do return to experience Fernie powder. Thank you for your excellent review.
Toronto, ON, Canada
5

Fernie ski trip

  • 5 of 5

We planned a ski trip for 8 adults. Although the snow gods were not on our side this year, the chalet itself provided everything we needed. Very clean upon arrival, all ammenities listed are new and function great. Lots of bathrooms for everyone. If I had to be a tough critic, living room smaller (for large groups) but large island and stools for people to sit.

Richard is always quick to reply to emails and very helpful. 6-8 min walk to lifts. "Ski-in" normally but unfortunately for us not nearly enough snow this year.

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Cory, We enjoyed having you and your friends stay with us. I'm glad we were able to accommodate your needs. We try to make everyone feel at "home". Cheers.
5

4 Adults & 4 Kids aged 5-8 on a ski weekend

  • 5 of 5

Our trip consisted of two families of 4 getting together for a ski weekend. We were looking to rent a place that had enough beds for kids and rooms for adults, and had ski-in accessibility. This was our first time booking through VRBO, and Richard made the whole procedure painless. He responded to emails right away, and effortlessly guided us through the rental process. The condo suited our needs perfectly and was exactly as pictured and described. All of the quality and just plain neat amenities kept everyone in our party happy, relaxed and entertained. It was unfortunate luck that snow conditions were less than ideal for our trip. When Richard called to sort out a mistake I had made on one of the forms, he had checked the conditions and was genuinely concerned that we find some good skiing despite our rotten luck. He recommended which chair and runs would take us to the snow, and gave us a website we could use to check up to the minute conditions. And after a surprisingly fun but soaking wet day at the mountain with kids, boy oh boy were we ever grateful that warmth, comfort and most importantly, a dryer were right there at the bottom of the hill waiting for us :) At the end of the weekend, all the adults agreed that they had never had so much fun skiing in the rain. And astonishingly not one kid complained about skiing or being cold or wet all weekend, which is the truest measurement of success for this adventure. This whole experience has been nothing but positive. I would recommend this condo to anyone planning to go to Fernie. We will definitely book back at Polar Peak and try our luck with the Fernie Snow Gods again :)

  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was great to have you, your family and friends stay with us. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come again. Thank you for your positive feedback. It's appreciated!
Saskatchewan
5

Fernie Ski Trip at Polar Peak

  • 5 of 5

Our trip was with a group of eight adults for a ski weekend before the busy Christmas season. The Polar Peak townhouse was a perfect location and lay out for our group. Its big enough that everyone can have their own space but cozy enough to all sit together and have dinner and relax after a big ski day. The hill is within 5 minutes walking distance and I imagine pretty awesome to ski out to. As the snow conditions were not the best, we did not have the luxury to ski out but I hope to be back when there is a bit better snow! Richard is very organized and very prompt at replying. He even checked in when we got there to make sure we were finding everything adequate - a very nice touch. I would definitely recommend this accommodation to a friend or family! Thank you so much for having us!

  • Submitted: Dec 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and kind words Kelsey. Please let me know if I can be of assistance to you or your friends in the future. Cheers!
5

Fernie ski trip with friends!

  • 5 of 5

Our trip was a reunion of a large group of friends from around Canada, Australia and NZ. We very much enjoyed the size, layout and amenities of this unit. It was so close to the hill, and easy to get into town via car or taxi (as we did for St.Paddy's day). Richard was very organized and accommodating with our requests. The photos display the unit well, and it is a very accurate description of the lovely layout and proximity to the ski hill. We also lucked out and got 35cm of Fernie powder, so it made for excellent skiing! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: HomeAway

Map

Airports:

Cranbrook/Canadian Rockies International Airport, BC - 62 miles or 99 km

Calgary International Airport, Alberta - 193 miles or 311 km

Glacier International Airport, Kalispell, Montana - 110 miles or 177 km

Other Activities: Hiking, river tubing, white water rafting

Photos

Rates & Availability

From C$300 Per night

Fernie Townhome Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring/Early Summer
Apr 20 2015 - Jun 25 2015
3 night minimum stay
C$300
From
C$350
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
C$1,950
 
 
Summer Vacation
Jun 26 2015 - Sep 7 2015
3 night minimum stay
C$350
From
C$375
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
C$2,100
 
 
Autumn Season
Sep 8 2015 - Nov 26 2015
3 night minimum stay
C$300
From
C$350
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
C$1,950
 
 
Early Winter
Nov 27 2015 - Dec 17 2015
3 night minimum stay
C$429
From
C$429
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Christmas/New Year
Dec 18 2015 - Jan 3 2016
5 night minimum stay
C$729
From
C$729
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Early Winter
Jan 4 2016 - Feb 4 2016
3 night minimum stay
C$545
From
C$545
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Mid-Winter High Season
Feb 5 2016 - Feb 21 2016
5 night minimum stay
C$729
From
C$729
Thu,Fri,Sat
 
 
Late Winter Season
Feb 22 2016 - Mar 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
C$545
From
C$545
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Spring Season
Apr 1 2016 - Apr 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
C$429
From
C$429
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning C$225.00
Tax Rate 5.0%
Notes Payment:
Email transfer, cheques, wire transfer
Credit Cards Accepted: Visa, MasterCard (3% fee extra)
Applicable tax (5%) will be added to all rates above. Cleaning charges will apply. Rates will be higher for two day stays.

Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.
30% on signature of agreement and balance one month before arrival.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Fernie Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • Resort
  • Ski-In ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Foosball
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Ski & Snowboard
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
After an incredible day of skiing, mountain biking, rafting or hiking, relax away the aches in your own private hot tub or challenge friends to a game of foosball. In the warmer months entertain on the spacious balcony complete with natural gas BBQ. (Note: Damage deposit required). Cooking Utensils Provided: The kitchen is fully equipped and just like home, complete with waffle-maker, blender, mix-master and crock pot. Kid Friendly: This unit is ideal for two families with kids, with games, foosball, and lower level bunk bed and entertainment area.

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote