IN SEASIDE PROPER "THE FORSYTHE HOUSE" 3BR/2.5BA-ARTIST DREAM!

Sandpiper Vacation Rentals

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 6 nights

Contact the Manager

Sandpiper Vacation Rentals

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

IN SEASIDE PROPER "THE FORSYTHE HOUSE" 3BR/2.5BA-ARTIST DREAM!

Seaside Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Located just off Ruskin Park, The Forsythe House is a 3BR/2.5BA townhome that combines both modern and traditional the while maintaining the most unique artistic elements that are sure to have you taking a second look! As a part of Ruskin's

Located just off Ruskin Park, The Forsythe House is a 3BR/2.5BA townhome that combines both modern and traditional the while maintaining the most unique artistic elements that are sure to have you taking a second look! As a part of Ruskin's Artist Colony, this premier cottage offers something for the whole family. While the kids write on the walls in the bathroom, the adults can enjoy an afternoon cocktail up on the 20x40 rooftop deck and much like the shops of Ruskin, The Forsythe House offers a little variety for everyone!

The Forsythe House gives you options from the minute you your car off Ruskin Place and enter the main level or stroll through Ruskin Park and enter through the green doors just off the porch. No matter which way you choose, you'll be greeted by distinct architectural design features and expansive living areas. The house even has two different staircases to choose from when deciding how you'd like to get upstairs.

As you make your way through the house, you'll notice there are two sides to every level. The main level offers a beautiful kitchen with commercial grade stainless appliances (including a Taulsen refridgerator), a dining table that seats 8, and beautiful handmade cabinetry. Take your time to really enjoy the flip down countertops and pull out butcher blocks, we've thought of everything! On the other side of the stairs you'll find the main living area (when you're not enjoying the several outdoor living spaces). Additional seating offers plenty of room to entertain. The 1/2 bath is also on the main level and is where you're sure to leave your own artistic "mark" on this cottage. With chalkboads for walls, you can write your name or try your hand at a masterpiece of your own.

Up the stairs (either set), you'll find the first guestroom with twin guest beds, private balcony, and privacy curtains. A guest bath is also on this level.

Up the stairs a second time, you're greeted with the king master bedroom and dual twin guestroom each with their own trundle. This room sleeps 4 comfortably. These two rooms share a guest bathroom with antique tub/shower.

Climb the last set of stairs for the best view in the house. The tower offers beautiful 360 degree views of the town of Seaside, Ruskin Park, and best of beautiful Emerald Coast! You can watch the sunrise and sunset over the gulf with the best view in all from your very own house!

Channel your inner artist when you stay at The Forsythe House and experience your beach vacation in a whole new light.

PETS WELCOME TO ENJOY THIS BEACH COTTAGE TOO!

**Please note this cottage might not be suitable for children under 10yrs of age due to the floating staircases.

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Sandpiper Vacation Rentals

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2002
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 6 nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.6
based on 17 traveler reviews

Write a Review
In Seaside Proper "The Forsythe House" 3BR/2.5BA-Artist Dream!
average rating of 4.647059 based on 17 reviews
business
In Seaside Proper "The Forsythe House" 3BR/2.5BA-Artist Dream!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p283275vb
+1 850 231-0163
Seaside South Walton
Memphis, TN
5

PERFECT FOR A GIRL'S WEEKEND

Perfect for a girl's weekend
  • 5 of 5
The Forsythe House was perfect for our bachelorette beach weekend/girl's getaway. Though it sleeps 8, I think it fit 6 comfortably. I wouldn't recommend this house with small children or people with disabilities because of the 3 sets of narrow stairs. The property was clean and well-maintained, but one of our showers was broken when we got there. It was fixed immediately after Sandpiper realized something was wrong.

Pictures don't capture all of the unique architecture and artwork throughout the house - it looks even better in person! The rooftop was beautiful - plenty of chairs and space for day or night relaxing. The house was in walking distance to the Seaside circle of shops and restaurants, as well as the beach. Forsythe was a perfect fit for our stay, and I'd highly recommend it.
  • Submitted: May 12, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car
business
In Seaside Proper "The Forsythe House" 3BR/2.5BA-Artist Dream!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p283275vb
+1 850 231-0163
Seaside South Walton
Atlanta
5

GREAT PROPERTY

  • 5 of 5
Very nice rental property in a great location in the heart of Seaside. The location is perfect on Park and with short easy access to shops, dining and the beach. Very well appointed large town home. Commercial stove was great and equipment in general is high standard (unlike most rentals): great washer/dryer, wine refrigerator etc. Comfortable layout and roomy, stairs may be an issue for older travelers. Great service team. Would highly recommend.
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
In Seaside Proper "The Forsythe House" 3BR/2.5BA-Artist Dream!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p283275vb
+1 850 231-0163
Seaside South Walton
memphis
4

GIRLS WEEKEND

  • 4 of 5
We had a great time at the house and loved the location.The only really comment i have is i wish there had been a key pad on front and back doors with keyless entry. I have rented property from you guys several times and very easy to work with.......thank you
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car
business
In Seaside Proper "The Forsythe House" 3BR/2.5BA-Artist Dream!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p283275vb
+1 850 231-0163
Seaside South Walton
Wetumpka, Alabama
3

A BIT DATED. CLEAN. GREAT LOCATION. EXCELLENT MANAGEMENT.

  • 3 of 5
I have stayed in several properties along 30A including 4 in Seaside. This property had a great location in Ruskin Place behind the circle at Seaside. I chose it for it proximity to all of the events and activities of the annual Seaside Wine Festival. I also chose this property based upon favorable reviews from past guests on VRBO and the appealing pictures shown on the VRBO page.

Problems we had during our stay: Oven would not light. It is a gas oven. We could get the range to work, but not the oven. We did not call for help. The bathrooms are on the small side. The master bath was difficult to use as the shower was in the form of a stand alone tub with shower curtains on all sides. The curtains were too long when placed inside the tub, and when outside the tub, the floor got soaked. The ice maker did not make much ice. We were there for four nights and had to supplement the ice maker with bagged ice. The placement of the television in the living room was awkward. It is a smaller unit in a closet. The remote control for the cable box was missing its battery cover and several buttons only worked with a firm push. Parking is limited. You can only fit one small car behind the property. You must seek additional parking nearby, usually available. There isn't much privacy as has been noted in previous reviews. The stairways are open and somewhat confusing. There are two paths leading up which reach the upper floors in different places. All of the chairs on the roof but two had issues. One wooden chair was missing an armrest. All but one of the plastic Adirondack style chairs were broken. The keys did not work well. One had to play with the lock to get it to work. The lighting was strange. The entire first floor and stairwells were lit with outdoor style halogen lights on dimmer switches. If you turned then on all the way, you were staring at a flood light on the way down the stairs.

Things we liked: Location, location, location. You can't beat staying on Ruskin Place. The gas grill worked well. The women in our group loved the decor/artwork. The management at Sandpiper is ALWAYS easy to work with. The property was pet friendly although the VRBO site makes no mention of an additional $100 pet fee. The WiFi signal was strong throughout the house.

In conclusion, I would not rent this property again. It needs an update. It was clean. It is in a great location. It would be great for a couple with older children/teens. It was not suitable for more than two adults.
  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your comments. We really appreciate guest feedback as it allows us to properly address any and all cottage issues. I do wish you had contacted us about these issues during your stay, as we have an operations manager on site ready to help guests with any and all concerns. Since receiving your comments, we have fixed the ice maker, oven light, remote control, and keys. We have also replaced the shower curtains to be a more suitable length and removed the broken chairs from the roof and replaced them with new ones. As for the parking and privacy comments - this is Seaside's artist district and part of the appeal is being right in the middle of everything. Unfortunately, Seaside is quaint and parking can be tricky at times. We do provide parking passes to ensure you are able to park behind the cottage and a second car has easy accessibility to Smolian Circle parking. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to working with you again!
business
In Seaside Proper "The Forsythe House" 3BR/2.5BA-Artist Dream!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p283275vb
+1 850 231-0163
Seaside South Walton
Little Rock, AR
5

UNIQUE HOUSE IN ARTIST COLONY. FABULOUS SEASIDE LOCATION!

  • 5 of 5
My husband and I stayed here on our anniversary. We loved this house! It's in an awesome location. It's a stroll to restaurants, shopping and the beach. The stairs in the house are very steep though. I would not recommend this house for small children or elderly people.
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
In Seaside Proper "The Forsythe House" 3BR/2.5BA-Artist Dream!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p283275vb
+1 850 231-0163
Seaside South Walton
Dallas, Texas
5

CHARMING! COMFORTABLE! CONVENIENT!

  • 5 of 5
We loved our stay in the Forsythe House this past week. Wish it could have lasted longer. The house is incredibly well decorated and easy to live in. From beds, to bathrooms to kitchen and sitting areas the whole place is perfectly designed to please and provide a relaxing, inspiring stay in Seaside. It's close enough to the action that we could walk less than a block to dinners, drinks, the market, book stores and shopping. Yet we felt like we had tons of privacy when that's what we needed. The rooftop view is amazing.

There are two rooms on the 3rd level with doors that each sleep 2 (one king and one with two singles). The 2nd level relies on curtains for privacy, which suited our two teenaged sons just fine, and has 2 single beds. The house has just about every appliance and kitchen tool you might need and plenty of TV, movies, books, games and internet access for those rainy days.

We loved our time at the Forsythe House and we'll be back!
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway

Map

Photos

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Seaside Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
US Dollar
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Seasonal Rate
Jul 5 2014 - Aug 8 2014
6 night minimum stay
$650
$3,900
 
 
Seasonal Rate
Aug 9 2014 - Aug 31 2014
3 night minimum stay
$550
$3,300
 
 
Seasonal Rate
Sep 1 2014 - Nov 9 2014
3 night minimum stay
$300
$1,800
 
 
Seasonal Min
Nov 22 2014 - Nov 30 2014
3 night minimum stay
$267
$1,714
 
 
Seasonal Max
Nov 22 2014 - Nov 30 2014
3 night minimum stay
$300
$1,800
 
 
Seasonal Rate
Dec 1 2014 - Dec 23 2014
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,500
 
 
Seasonal Min
Dec 24 2014 - Jan 5 2015
3 night minimum stay
$283
$1,757
 
 
Seasonal Max
Dec 24 2014 - Jan 5 2015
3 night minimum stay
$300
$1,800
 
 
Seasonal Min
Feb 27 2015 - Mar 6 2015
3 night minimum stay
$283
$1,757
 
 
Seasonal Max
Feb 27 2015 - Mar 6 2015
3 night minimum stay
$300
$1,800
 
 
Seasonal Rate
Mar 7 2015 - Apr 10 2015
6 night minimum stay
$550
$3,300
 
 
Seasonal Rate
Apr 11 2015 - May 15 2015
3 night minimum stay
$450
$2,700
 
 
Seasonal Rate
May 16 2015 - May 22 2015
6 night minimum stay
$550
$3,300
 
 
Seasonal Rate
May 23 2015 - Jun 26 2015
6 night minimum stay
$650
$3,900
 
 
Seasonal Rate
Jun 27 2015 - Jul 10 2015
6 night minimum stay
$770
$4,620
 

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees

Amenities

Seaside Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Ocean View
General:
  • Iron & Board
  • Internet
  • Air Conditioning
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Linens Provided
Kitchen:
  • Ice Maker
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Dishes & Utensils
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • 2.5
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (6)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Balcony
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • restaurants
  • live theater
  • health/beauty spa
  • cinemas
  • playground
Leisure Activities:
  • sight seeing
  • shopping
  • shelling
  • miniature golf
  • boating
  • outlet shopping
Local Services & Businesses:
  • medical services
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • swimming
  • rafting
  • snorkeling/diving
  • parasailing
  • jet skiing
  • wind-surfing
  • water skiing
  • surfing
  • cycling
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • tennis
  • golf

Other Vacation Properties

$6,958 - $11,683 per week
4 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 4 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$2,625 - $5,500 per week
0 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$1,800 - $4,549 per week
3 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 8