Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

'The Gecko Inn' Tranquil Location, Hot Tub, Fireplace,

Arthur Brunelle

Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Owner

Arthur Brunelle

Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
March 18, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

'The Gecko Inn' Tranquil Location, Hot Tub, Fireplace,

Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


North Conway House Rental Photos and Description

4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Loft + Den, Sleeps 12

A truly central White Mountain location!

Treat yourself to time in a tranquil vacation retreat that is private and charismatic, yet is close to all the attractions that make the Mount Washington Valley renowned. The home we call the ''Gecko Inn'' is located at the end of a wooded dead-end street with a two-acre wooded backyard, which makes for a very peaceful setting. The Moat mountains can be seen from the deck and bedrooms as you look across the expansive National forest.

Hot tub all year around

No matter whether your interest is skiing, hiking, canoeing, kayaking, golfing, shopping, or just plain relaxing the location of this house is ideally situated. It is three minutes to the spectacular North Conway public golf course, to Echo Lake, and to extensive hiking trails in the National forest, including the beautiful waterfalls and swimming pools of Diana's Baths. The Saco and Swift Rivers are very close by for water sports.

Awaiting you in North Conway Village, a short seven minutes away, is tax-free, outlet shopping, a plethora of spectacular restaurants, great nightly entertainment, numerous seasonal activities, sightseeing, and good old New Hampshire hospitality. Mount Cranmore ski resort is also within ten minutes. Attitash Bear Peak ski and Alpine water slide is a mere eight miles away and Mount Washington and Wildcat Mountain Ski Resorts are about a 20-minute drive. Thirty minutes to Bretton Woods Ski and 50 minutes to Sunday River.

Family fun and entertainment abounds in the Mount Washington Valley area. Story Land, Santa's Village, the Conway Scenic Railroad, museums, local farms, hay rides, and many other amusements are all within a short drive of the house. Skiers will appreciate the short distances to multiple ski mountains . Stay in North Conway and enjoy the Mount Washington Valley to its fullest in every season!

Inside the spacious contemporary home you will find three floors. The open-plan first floor has a full bathroom, a bedroom with two sets of bunk beds, a fully-equipped kitchen, a six-foot farmer's table and a breakfast bar, and a cathedral ceiling, extensively windowed living room, with fireplace, that opens onto a 300-square-foot deck from which you can enjoy peace and solitude, or have social gatherings.

The second floor has one bedroom with a queen-size bed and view of the Moat mountains, another bedroom also with a queen sized bed, a full bathroom, and a loft area with a single bed and seating space.

The lower, finished with full bath, bedroom with two single beds and a 2nd family room with TV and two queen sofa-beds. Walk-out basement can again be used as additional living space (put the kids down there with the 2nd TV!) Our hot tub is located outside on the deck in a glassed-in sun room.

The house is perfect for two families to share a vacation.

There is a gazebo in the backyard and a fire pit just outside for those romantic autumnal evenings. We do not have a grassed area for play as it is a wooded lot. The surrounding area is quiet and peaceful, with conservation land nearby for hiking and cross-country skiing.

New Hampshire room tax is included in all rates.

Full winter season rental Not available.

More Details
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Arthur Brunelle (Owner)
Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
March 18, 2015

About Arthur Brunelle

Travel, love and enjoy life

Karen and Arthur

Arthur Brunelle purchased this house in 1997

Why Arthur Brunelle chose North Conway

We have always loved this area. No matter what the season there is plenty to do

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 48 traveler reviews

Write a Review
'The Gecko Inn' Tranquil Location, Hot Tub, Fireplace,
average rating of 4.8958335 based on 48 reviews

Good Place

  • 3 of 5

We stayed there for 2 nights. Great location, very quiet. The house is really beautiful, you don't need to bring anything besides your food.Plenty of utensils in the kitchen. My concerns were that the backyard was poorly maintained, too much weed. The gazebo was really dirty, we couldn't use the tables and chairs, too much dust. The house floor was clean, but there's spider webs all over the place, and the basement was smelling with chemicals. The exhaust in the basement bathroom was unbelievably dirty, as the fans all around the house. My teenager daughter insisted in sleeping there (there's a bedroom) and got really sick with headaches and congestion. The cleaning fee is expensive, and because of that, I think the place should be in prestigious conditions, no spider webs and with a backyard we could use.

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We truly question the comments that there were spider webs in the house anywhere. Our cleaner is exemplary, as the previous 47 reviews will attest to. We were also at the home the following week and saw no cobwebs anywhere in the house. We checked the gazebo and indeed found some cobwebs there and accumulated pollen so made sure it got a good cleaning. There are also some spider webs high under the eaves of the house outside! We do not have a back yard. It is a wooded lot with a clearing for the septic. We cut that back a couple of times a year but it is not a grassed area for play. As for the chemical smell in the basement we are perplexed as 1) we don’t keep any chemicals in the house and 2) our cleaner is a “green” cleaner only using organic cleaners. We asked the guest who wrote the review to provide more details so we could follow up but have not heard anything from them. We are sorry we had an unhappy guest, our first in over 12 years, but wished that they had brought any concerns to our attention immediately upon finding those issues. As we have in that past we respond the same day, whenever possible, to correct things brought to our attention. We take everyone’s comments seriously and learn from those comments. More details from the guests, as requested via letter, would help us.

Family ski vacation

  • 4 of 5

Excellent home very family friendly and extremely clean. The kids loved the toys and the bunk beds. The kitchen was great to cook in, we look forward to a return visit.

  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Please let us know why we got a 4 star rating not 5. Out of 47 reviews I think we have only had 4 less than a 5 star rating. From your review comments it seems you were happy with everything but something held you back from giving us a 5. We strive to improve so let us know what could have been better from your perspective. Many thanks
Rhode Island, Massachusetts and Key West

Small Family Christmas Gathering

  • 5 of 5

House was large enough for all of us and comfortable too!

Close to town and skiing areas . Plenty to do for all of us .

The owner, Arthur, was very helpful. Answered every question I had.

My adult children loved the hot tub and our 1.5 year old had plenty of toys to play with.

A home away from home!!!

  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Charlottesville, Virginia

Excellent Property

  • 5 of 5

Our party of 4 adults was delighted by the property: It was well stocked, clean, and inviting--close to North Conway's attractions but away from the crowds. We arrived late in the evening and our GPS led us to the address without trouble. Our communications with the owners were pleasant and helpful. We would not hesitate to recommend it to friends visiting the White Mountains.

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Great, quiet place!

  • 4 of 5

We truly enjoyed our brief stay at The Gecko Inn. Our main reason for visiting the N. Conway area was to take our 2 toddlers to Storyland. The location of the rental house was perfect...about a 10-15 min. drive, and that's accounting for traffic! The house is very spacious with 3 liveable floors. Our family of 4 and a family of 3 were able to spread out quite comfortably. The children especially loved the toy "room" much toys in there!

Everything in the home was clean and fairly modern. The kitchen is very well equipped with most everything you would need. There were also plenty of extra linens. The only problem we encountered on our stay was that the hot tub was malfunctioning so we were not able to use it. But the owners were very prompt in returning our call and sending out a tech the next morning to fix it.

Definitely a great place for families with children or multiple families getting together. We hope to visit again!

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry about the hot tub. Things break but we really strive to respond quickly when notified of any issue. Thanks for your understanding
Revere, MA

Gecko Inn

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I spent four weeks at the Gecko Inn. The house was perfect for visiting family, including grandkids, and we all enjoyed the excellent late season skiing at Cranmore and Bretton Woods. The house is perfectly situated for easy access to all the local ski areas as well as shopping and restaurants in the vicinity. The owner was helpful in getting us set up and responded immediately to a plumbing problem that was quickly resolved. we would strongly recommend this property for any family looking to spend any length of time in the North Conway area.

  • Submitted: May 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway


Car: necessary

Other Activities: Kayaking, Miniature Golf, Boating, Snowboarding, Rock Climbing, Shopping, Snowmobiling


Rates & Availability

From $200 Per night

North Conway House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Cleaning $160
Notes From $200/nt - $1350/wk US Dollars
Dates Available: Year Round, not available for seasonal rental.

$1350/week.................. W/end-2nights $550...........Extra nights $200.

Columbus, MLK, Memorial, Veteran's & Labor Day Long Weekends .... $750/3 nights
Thanksgiving .....................$925/4 nights (Wed PM-Sun AM)

All rates include the NH 9% room tax.

Standard cleaning plus laundry c
Enter dates to see total


North Conway House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1900 sq. ft.
  • 3 stories
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Full 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , 1st Floor
    Full 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , 2nd floor
    Full 3 - toilet , shower , lower level
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 4 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , 2 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Pac' n' Play available
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • live theater
  • museums
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Fireplace, Phone with Answering Machine, Two Cable TVs, Two VCRs, Ipod docking station, Stereo/CD,Fully equipped kitchen, Toaster, Coffeemaker, Cooking Utensils and Dishes provided, All Bed and Bath Linens provided, Pac n Play, Ceiling Fans, Private Deck, Shade Awnings, Two Bikes, Pets Negotiable, Comprehensive Professional Cleaning between each rental period.

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote