SIX BEDROOM - SOUNDSIDE - LINENS AND TOWELS PROVIDED FREE.

Steve Taylor

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

SIX BEDROOM - SOUNDSIDE - LINENS AND TOWELS PROVIDED FREE.

Duck House Rental Photos and Description

House, 6 Bedrooms, 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 12)

This beach house is 8 years old and is well maintained, clean and has all the amenities you need to have a relaxing week at the beach. It is located on a quiet cul-de-sac and has privacy on all sides with only one home located close to it and they are separated by trees. Empty sandlots are on two sides of the home.

The larger than average 12x32 pool and hot tub offers privacy and comfort.

Located within a 10 minute walk or 5 minute bike ride is the town of Duck which offers shopping, spa, a great park for the kids and adults alike, fantastic local restaurants and activities for everyone. The beach is a 10-15 minute walk,5 minute bike ride or drive and park at the beach in 2-3 minutes.

Come see why Duck is THE destination for travelers world wide.

Each bedroom has its own TV and a 46' flat screen TV is in the main living area.

The downstairs family room sports a wet bar, flat screen TV, stereo, playstation.

This home has a view of the sound close by.

Come relax,you won't be disappointed!

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome

Steve Taylor

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2010
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

We started coming to the Outer Banks in 1981 and in 2001 we decided to buy a beach house to be able to enjoy the beach the way we wanted to.

In 2004 we relocated to the OBX from Virginia and have never looked back. Our time spent here is more than fantastic as it is something we dreamed of for years and will remain a dream finally realized.

Steve Taylor purchased this house in 2005
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.7
based on 7 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Six Bedroom - Soundside - LINENS AND TOWELS PROVIDED FREE.
average rating of 4.714286 based on 7 reviews
business
Six Bedroom - Soundside - LINENS AND TOWELS PROVIDED FREE.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p282683vb
(540) 414-4537 (Virginia, USA)
Duck Outer Banks
Indiana
5

Fun in Duck

  • 5 of 5
The house was perfect for 10 people (6 adults and 4 kids). All amenities, including pool and hot tub, were spacious and well maintained. We walked to dinner every night in Duck, about 20 minutes. The beach is a 10 minute walk. There is parking or a drop off location, which is what we did. Someone would drop us off then go back to the house and walk the 10 minutes. Duck has plenty of shopping and restaurants and beautiful sunsets. The outdoor concert was awesome. It couldn't have been a better vacation. Keep in mind that you do have to cross a busy road to get to the beach and walk to Duck. We did not have any problems but people with many kids may have issues. Drivers often stopped so that we could cross. Make sure to try Duck Donuts.
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review of our rental house. The two lane road in Duck can be very busy during vacation and unless you rent on the ocean side there is no way to avoid it. The speed limit is 25 MPH and as you stated people will stop to let you cross. It is usually best to drop the little ones off with an adult at the beach.
business
Six Bedroom - Soundside - LINENS AND TOWELS PROVIDED FREE.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p282683vb
(540) 414-4537 (Virginia, USA)
Duck Outer Banks
Strongsville, OH
5

Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
My family and I have never been to the Outer Banks. We didn't know if we should rent a house through one of the many realters or through VRBO. We are so happy we went through Steve (who owns the house) and VRBO. Steve was so accomodating to all my questions. The house was wonderful, more than we expected, very spacious. Actually the house is better than the pictures. To all of us it was the perfect place. You can walk to the beach, the city of Duck is just down the road. The street is a cul-de-sac so the children could be in the front of the house and you didn't worry about traffic like some of the other streets. The pool was such a hit with the grandchildren, my oldest kept saying how big "our" pool was as she checked out other ones on our walks. The kitchen and house had everything one could ask for. Plenty of room for everyone and sitting on the deck early in the morning or late at night was so amazing. We would and have recommended this house to friends and relatives. We hope to return again the future.
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We work hard throughout the year to try and provide an enjoyable vacation for our guests. We hear about and have been in situations where guests were not given priority and that can make for a not so pleasant experience. Our guests can be sure that we will respond immediately to any concerns and that you are OUR number one priority when staying in DuckTales.
business
Six Bedroom - Soundside - LINENS AND TOWELS PROVIDED FREE.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p282683vb
(540) 414-4537 (Virginia, USA)
Duck Outer Banks
Raleigh NC
5

Lots of room for everyone and the pool was great

  • 5 of 5
We had 2 teenagers and 2 young adults with us and the family dog. The house was everything we expected and more. Loved having the two family room areas so the younger folks could hang out downstairs and play video games. The house is well decorated and the furniture is nice and comfy. The ocean was a bit cold so having the pool to take a swim in after a day at the beach was wonderful. The hot tub was nice to relax in after dinner. Easy access to the beach with a quick bike ride. Also easy to ride your bike to the shops or down to the boardwalk at the sound. We have stayed at many VRBO houses before and would return to this one. You won't be disappointed.
Steve quickly answered any questions I had and was quick to respond to any concerns during our stay.
I always wonder about the linens in the houses. The towels are bright white and fluffy. So you don't need to worry. Everyone has a set. And the linens for the beds are ready and waiting for you.
The house was well appointed and clean. Lots of dishes and pots and pans in the kitchen. Also having a fridge downstairs was nice when you are at the pool or downstairs watching tv or playing video games.
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We love to get responses from our guests. Especially ones like this but also if anything is wrong we like to hear about so we can correct the problem. It makes our work to have a clean and comfortable home worth while. This is the first year without a pool table and to hear that the extra family room was enjoyed is refreshing. Thank you so much and hope to see you again.
business
Six Bedroom - Soundside - LINENS AND TOWELS PROVIDED FREE.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p282683vb
(540) 414-4537 (Virginia, USA)
Duck Outer Banks
5

Excellent house, great for families with young children

  • 5 of 5
This was our 3rd trip to OBX and 3rd time was really a charm. The other houses we stayed at were adequate, but not spacious or convenient enough. This house is really the best bang for your buck, especially with the awesome pool in the backyard. My family (wife and 3&2 yr old) and I used the middle floor rooms, sister/brother in law used the basement rooms and my mother/father in law used the king master on the top level. So the layout really works in your favor if you need to divvy up the rooms among extended family.

Furniture - great, comfortable - dining table is extra large and everyone can sit at the table. Outdoor furniture was used for coffee in the morning and very nice views in the morning from the roof top deck.

Kitchen - Great for cooking/prep/etc. We cooked 4 nights we were there and there were 4 people cooking and moving around the kitchen without any issues. Cookware is sufficient, tableware is good as well. Grill was used each night and was awesome. I love to grill, so we had our fill of grilled meats that week.

Pool/Hot Tub - Pool is very big. For small children, it's much better than the ocean. It was very clean when we got there. Hot tub can easily sit 4-5 adults. It was nice sitting on the back porch at night in the hot tub. Very quiet.

Location - we're a walking family (we have dogs) so we load up the kids in the double jogging stroller and walk to town and to the beach with no issues. From the house and walking directly down Seabreeze Dr., it took us (with 2 small children) 7 minutes to get to the beach access point. It took us about 10 minutes to walk to the boardwalk at Duck, which where we let the little ones run loose.

The only thing we weren't aware of was that there is no soap, toilet paper, dish soap etc. So make sure you pack them ahead of time or plan to go shopping right away. It will only be an issue if you need to use the bathroom when you first get there (depending on the length of your trip). Not a complaint, just a comment to inform renters.

Again, for the price, when you factor in location, pool, size of house, etc. it is a really great deal. We loved it so much that we automatically wanted to come back in 2014 and we already reserved for 2014.
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Sean,
Thanks for the great review and we appreciate your kindness. We are grateful that you have decided to stay with us again in 2014. Again, thanks for taking the time to let others know about our house.
business
Six Bedroom - Soundside - LINENS AND TOWELS PROVIDED FREE.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p282683vb
(540) 414-4537 (Virginia, USA)
Duck Outer Banks
South Hampton, New Hampshire
3

Lesson learned...

  • 3 of 5
Overall, the property was sufficient. There is more than enough room for a large family and the amenities were reasonable. It is close to the beach and down town. Unfortunately we had to sleep on a mattress pad one evening because the linen wasn't the right size for the bed. We also had to hike up and down 3 flights of stairs to use the refrigerator because one of them wasn't working properly. I would also recommend that you point out any stains on the rug that you observe when you first get there in case it becomes an issue at the end your stay.
  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, People with Disabilities
Owner's Response: We always have our appliances in working condition but unfortunately during the summer our guests are in and out of the refrigerators so often that they can't cool. We supply 2 refrigerators to accommodate our guests to keep the use down on just one.The refrigerator in question is still in the kitchen and works fine without any problems. We ask all our guests to read the contract supplied to them at the time of making your reservation and it clearly states to report any problems with the home. We are proud to supply a better than average clean home and we do hold our guests responsible for damage and for stains that are above and beyond normal wear and tear. We depend on our private cleaners to supply the information to us on a weekly basis concerning the cleanliness of the home after our guests have checked out and in some instances the guests have no regard for the next guests comfort.
business
Six Bedroom - Soundside - LINENS AND TOWELS PROVIDED FREE.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p282683vb
(540) 414-4537 (Virginia, USA)
Duck Outer Banks
Northern VA
5

We loved it!

  • 5 of 5
We loved the house! It was super clean, had good clean bedding and towels, great outdoor decks, a really great large pool and hot tub that was cleaned mid-week and great space for our extended family. The kids also loved the basketball hoop and we used the outdoor shower more than we used the inside ones. After swimming, it was great to be able to shower and not track water into the house. We could easily walk to the beach (albeit across the big road) and walk to the town of Duck. We even enjoyed riding the old but functioning bikes. The sound is right down the street and it would really be the perfect house if there was a community dock that allowed for crabbing and fishing. We enjoyed the puzzles but would have appreciated some board games for the kids. We all agreed that the previous yellow color on the exterior of the house was much nicer than the current bright aqua color but the kids could easily identify the house. We would definitely come back to this house again!
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Just would like to clarify that the big road is actually a busy street and most vehicles will stop and let you cross as the speed limit is 25. Not to be confused with a main road in the city.
Sorry about the new color as I liked the yellow better also.
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
70 Miles
Norfolk,Va.
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Nearest Golf
7 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Car: necessary

Enjoy the village of Duck, away from the hustle and bustle of the Outer Banks, but yet close enough to enjoy all the activities of the Outer Banks. Restaurants, quaint shops, a soundside park where you can enjoy music, plays, fish or launch your kayak are a few of the amenities.

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Duck House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Late Summer
Aug 16 2014 - Aug 29 2014
7 night minimum stay
$2,395
 
 
Fall
Aug 30 2014 - Sep 5 2014
7 night minimum stay
$1,895
 
 
Spring
Apr 4 2015 - May 15 2015
7 night minimum stay
$1,295
 
 
Late Spring
May 16 2015 - May 29 2015
7 night minimum stay
$1,595
 
 
Pre Season
May 30 2015 - Jun 12 2015
7 night minimum stay
$1,895
 
 
Summer
Jun 13 2015 - Aug 21 2015
7 night minimum stay
$3,095
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$1,295
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 7.0%

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Duck House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2300 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Water View ...
General:
  • Parking
  • Living Room ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Telephone
  • Air Conditioning
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Ice Maker
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Toaster
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Dining ...
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • King size beds (2) One king bed with private bath on top level and mid level, Queen size Beds (3) Two queens on mid level with shared bath and one queen on bottom level with shared bath., Baby Cribs (1) Portable crib, Bunk Beds (1) Bunks on bottom level with shared bath
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Video Library
  • Stereo
  • VCR
  • CD Player
  • Video Games ...
  • Games ...
  • Television ...
  • DVD Player
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Books
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Deck / Patio
Suitability:
  • pets considered ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • restaurants
  • churches
  • playground
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
Leisure Activities:
  • miniature golf
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • beachcombing
  • paddle boating
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • golf
  • parasailing
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • swimming
  • surfing
  • kayaking
  • deepsea fishing
Notes:
This beach house is located in a cul de sac and has one neighbor and their view of the home is limited due to trees. It is a rental home also.There are open sand lots across the street and on one side of the house. Privacy you don't get with most beach homes.
Email Owner Contact Me

Other Vacation Properties

$1,400 - $4,480 per week
7 night minimum stay
  • 6 BR,
  • 6 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 16
$3,440 - $4,910 per week
7 night minimum stay
  • 6 BR,
  • 5 BA,
  • Sleeps 12
$1,250 - $2,650 per week
7 night minimum stay
  • 6 BR,
  • 5 BA,
  • Sleeps 14