SIX BEDROOM - SOUNDSIDE - LINENS AND TOWELS PROVIDED FREE.

From
$1,195
Enter dates to see total
Email Owner Email

Steve Taylor

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

This owner accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn More

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

SIX BEDROOM - SOUNDSIDE - LINENS AND TOWELS PROVIDED FREE.

Duck House Rental Photos and Description

House, 6 Bedrooms, 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 12)

This beach house is 8 years old and is well maintained, clean and has all the amenities you need to have a relaxing week at the beach. It is located on a quiet cul-de-sac and has privacy on all sides with only one home located close to it and they are separated by trees. Empty sandlots are on two sides of the home.

The larger than average 12x32 pool and hot tub offers privacy and comfort.

Located within a 10 minute walk or 5 minute bike ride is the town of Duck which offers shopping, spa, a great park for the kids and adults alike, fantastic local restaurants and activities for everyone. The beach is a 10-15 minute walk,5 minute bike ride or drive and park at the beach in 2-3 minutes.

Come see why Duck is THE destination for travelers world wide.

Each bedroom has its own TV and a 46' flat screen TV is in the main living area.

The downstairs family room sports a wet bar, flat screen TV, stereo, playstation.

This home has a view of the sound close by.

Come relax,you won't be disappointed!

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only

Steve Taylor

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2010
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

We started coming to the Outer Banks in 1981 and in 2001 we decided to buy a beach house to be able to enjoy the beach the way we wanted to.

In 2004 we relocated to the OBX from Virginia and have never looked back. Our time spent here is more than fantastic as it is something we dreamed of for years and will remain a dream finally realized.

Steve Taylor purchased this house in 2005
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

This owner accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn More

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Property Reviews

Six Bedroom - Soundside - LINENS AND TOWELS PROVIDED FREE.
average rating of 4.5 based on 4 reviews
business
Six Bedroom - Soundside - LINENS AND TOWELS PROVIDED FREE.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p282683vbi
(540) 414-4537 (Virginia, USA)
Duck Outer Banks
5

Excellent house, great for families with young children

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This was our 3rd trip to OBX and 3rd time was really a charm. The other houses we stayed at were adequate, but not spacious or convenient enough. This house is really the best bang for your buck, especially with the awesome pool in the backyard. My family (wife and 3&2 yr old) and I used the middle floor rooms, sister/brother in law used the basement rooms and my mother/father in law used the king master on the top level. So the layout really works in your favor if you need to divvy up the rooms among extended family.

Furniture - great, comfortable - dining table is extra large and everyone can sit at the table. Outdoor furniture was used for coffee in the morning and very nice views in the morning from the roof top deck.

Kitchen - Great for cooking/prep/etc. We cooked 4 nights we were there and there were 4 people cooking and moving around the kitchen without any issues. Cookware is sufficient, tableware is good as well. Grill was used each night and was awesome. I love to grill, so we had our fill of grilled meats that week.

Pool/Hot Tub - Pool is very big. For small children, it's much better than the ocean. It was very clean when we got there. Hot tub can easily sit 4-5 adults. It was nice sitting on the back porch at night in the hot tub. Very quiet.

Location - we're a walking family (we have dogs) so we load up the kids in the double jogging stroller and walk to town and to the beach with no issues. From the house and walking directly down Seabreeze Dr., it took us (with 2 small children) 7 minutes to get to the beach access point. It took us about 10 minutes to walk to the boardwalk at Duck, which where we let the little ones run loose.

The only thing we weren't aware of was that there is no soap, toilet paper, dish soap etc. So make sure you pack them ahead of time or plan to go shopping right away. It will only be an issue if you need to use the bathroom when you first get there (depending on the length of your trip). Not a complaint, just a comment to inform renters.

Again, for the price, when you factor in location, pool, size of house, etc. it is a really great deal. We loved it so much that we automatically wanted to come back in 2014 and we already reserved for 2014.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Sean,
Thanks for the great review and we appreciate your kindness. We are grateful that you have decided to stay with us again in 2014. Again, thanks for taking the time to let others know about our house.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Six Bedroom - Soundside - LINENS AND TOWELS PROVIDED FREE.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p282683vbi
(540) 414-4537 (Virginia, USA)
Duck Outer Banks
South Hampton, New Hampshire
3

Lesson learned...

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Overall, the property was sufficient. There is more than enough room for a large family and the amenities were reasonable. It is close to the beach and down town. Unfortunately we had to sleep on a mattress pad one evening because the linen wasn't the right size for the bed. We also had to hike up and down 3 flights of stairs to use the refrigerator because one of them wasn't working properly. I would also recommend that you point out any stains on the rug that you observe when you first get there in case it becomes an issue at the end your stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, People with Disabilities
Owner's Response: We always have our appliances in working condition but unfortunately during the summer our guests are in and out of the refrigerators so often that they can't cool. We supply 2 refrigerators to accommodate our guests to keep the use down on just one.The refrigerator in question is still in the kitchen and works fine without any problems. We ask all our guests to read the contract supplied to them at the time of making your reservation and it clearly states to report any problems with the home. We are proud to supply a better than average clean home and we do hold our guests responsible for damage and for stains that are above and beyond normal wear and tear. We depend on our private cleaners to supply the information to us on a weekly basis concerning the cleanliness of the home after our guests have checked out and in some instances the guests have no regard for the next guests comfort.
business
Six Bedroom - Soundside - LINENS AND TOWELS PROVIDED FREE.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p282683vbi
(540) 414-4537 (Virginia, USA)
Duck Outer Banks
Northern VA
5

We loved it!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We loved the house! It was super clean, had good clean bedding and towels, great outdoor decks, a really great large pool and hot tub that was cleaned mid-week and great space for our extended family. The kids also loved the basketball hoop and we used the outdoor shower more than we used the inside ones. After swimming, it was great to be able to shower and not track water into the house. We could easily walk to the beach (albeit across the big road) and walk to the town of Duck. We even enjoyed riding the old but functioning bikes. The sound is right down the street and it would really be the perfect house if there was a community dock that allowed for crabbing and fishing. We enjoyed the puzzles but would have appreciated some board games for the kids. We all agreed that the previous yellow color on the exterior of the house was much nicer than the current bright aqua color but the kids could easily identify the house. We would definitely come back to this house again!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Just would like to clarify that the big road is actually a busy street and most vehicles will stop and let you cross as the speed limit is 25. Not to be confused with a main road in the city.
Sorry about the new color as I liked the yellow better also.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Six Bedroom - Soundside - LINENS AND TOWELS PROVIDED FREE.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p282683vbi
(540) 414-4537 (Virginia, USA)
Duck Outer Banks
Springfield, VA
5

Value, quality, cleanliness, and location make this a winner!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
My extended family of seven adults and I stayed in Steve and Dee’s house for one wonderful week in June of 2010. This was our first time at the Outer Banks and this house was perfect. The house is situated in a cul-de-sac on the sound side but it is absolutely within walking distance to the beach and the quaint and eclectic stores at Scarborough Faire Shopping Village. The houses on this quiet street are set far enough apart that you are not bothered by your neighbors and the area is safe, clean, and close to everything. Our adventures took us all the way up to Corolla and down to Hatteras but we were still very pleased with the location, price, and value of this beach house.

The rooms and beds in the home were very comfortable, the pool and grounds were clean and well kept, and the house was very well equipped with everything you could possibly need for your stay. The swimming pool is large and we all enjoyed numerous cookouts out by the pool. The various decks that surround the front and side of the house on different levels allowed our different groups and couples to enjoy the outdoors, each in their own little niche.

Sunsets were amazing from the top floor deck. The dining area was perfect for the eight of us and we loved eating, watching tv, playing board games, and just relaxing in the open floor plan of the top floor. By the way, the couches were so comfortable that it resulted in an excessive amount of naps (that's not a bad thing though)!

The owners are very kind; Steve called just to check up on us and asked if everything was going well. They were easily accessible and we felt good knowing that we could reach them anytime we needed.

This house is perfect and I would definitely recommend it to anyone family. Some beach house owners set ridiculous rates and overcharge their guests, but these owners have set very reasonable rates for an exceptional house resulting in superb value. My family, friends, and I always ty to stay in private homes/condos whenever we vacation and this was one of the best experiences I have had with renting a private residence. We will definitely stay at Steve and Dee’s beach house if we come back to the Outer Banks!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you SOO much for the review. Your kind words are more than we could have asked for and we hope you will come stay with us again.
Just contact us and we will do anything we can to accomodate you and your family.

Steve and Dee
Helpful votes: 5/5
Email Owner Email

Map

Nearest Airport
70 Miles
Norfolk,Va.
Car: necessary

Enjoy the village of Duck, away from the hustle and bustle of the Outer Banks, but yet close enough to enjoy all the activities of the Outer Banks. Restaurants, quaint shops, a soundside park where you can enjoy music, plays, fish or launch your kayak are a few of the amenities.

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Duck House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Minimum Stay
 
Off Season
Apr 5 2014 - May 23 2014
$1,195
7 nights
 
 
Spring
May 24 2014 - Jun 6 2014
$1,495
7 nights
 
 
Early Season
Jun 7 2014 - Jun 13 2014
$2,195
7 nights
 
 
Pre Summer
Jun 14 2014 - Jun 20 2014
$2,395
7 nights
 
 
Peak
Jun 21 2014 - Aug 15 2014
$2,995
7 nights
 
 
Late Summer
Aug 16 2014 - Aug 29 2014
$2,395
7 nights
 
 
Fall
Aug 30 2014 - Sep 5 2014
$1,895
7 nights
 
 
My Standard Rate
$1,195
7 nights
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500.00
Tax Rate 7.0%

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Duck House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2300 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Water View ...
General:
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Parking
  • Living Room ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Telephone
  • Air Conditioning
  • Wireless Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Toaster
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • Cooking Utensils
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Dining ...
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • King size beds (2) One king bed with private bath on top level and mid level, Queen size Beds (3) Two queens on mid level with shared bath and one queen on bottom level with shared bath., Baby Cribs (1) Portable crib, Bunk Beds (1) Bunks on bottom level with shared bath
Entertainment:
  • Television ...
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Games ...
  • CD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Video Library
  • Stereo
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Deck / Patio
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets considered ...
  • non smoking only ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • paddle boating
  • wildlife viewing
  • walking
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • boating
  • sight seeing
  • miniature golf
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • swimming
  • kayaking
  • surfing
  • parasailing
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • deepsea fishing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • golf
Notes:
This beach house is located in a cul de sac and has one neighbor and their view of the home is limited due to trees. It is a rental home also.There are open sand lots across the street and on one side of the house. Privacy you don't get with most beach homes.
Email Owner Email

Other Vacation Properties

$3,440 - $5,960 per week
7 night minimum stay
  • 6 BR,
  • 5 BA,
  • Sleeps 12
$1,619 - $4,964 per week
  • 6 BR,
  • 7 BA,
  • Sleeps 12
$1,594 - $5,144 per week
  • 6 BR,
  • 5 BA,
  • Sleeps 14