Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Beauty. Privacy. Relaxation. 3 suites. ocean views/rancho

Nicholas Halverson

Member since: 2010
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, spanish
Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Contact the Manager

Nicholas Halverson

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 25, 2015
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Beauty. Privacy. Relaxation. 3 suites. ocean views/rancho

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


Ojochal House Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedrooms with suites (private bath), 4 Bathrooms,

This is a beautiful house with easy access, incredible views and close to many amenities. The Southern Pacific zone of Costa Rica is one of the most beautiful places on Earth. There is very little development in this area of Costa Rica and you can enjoy the relaxation and beauty of paradise.

This home has everything. Comfort. Views. Easy access (which is rare in the Southern Pacific zone of Costa Rica). Year round 2WD access is all that is needed. There are ocean views, ever changing mountain views and wildlife nearby. Scarlet macaws, howler monkeys, green parrots and toucans (to name the most common).

Activities nearby : Withing 20 minutes you can go on zip line tours, horseback riding, whale and dolphin watching, golfing, deep sea fishing, hike in national parks or simply relax.

Shopping, pharmacies and grocery stores are all close also.

  • Events Allowed
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Nicholas Halverson (Property Manager)
Member since: 2010
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 25, 2015

About Nicholas Halverson

We built this house in beautiful San Buenaventura, Puntarenas, Costa Rica in 2008. We love to watch the sunsets over the ocean and during the day the views of the mountains behind us are simply breathtaking. Our family uses this house throughout the year (we also own several other properties in the development) and we have made it our only 'home-away-from-home'. We hope you enjoy it as much as we do. We just started the landscaping so our prices are little bit less than they will be in the next couple of years. We've planted over 100 plants, flowers, fruit trees, etc on the 1.5 acre lot.

Nicholas Halverson purchased this house in 2008

Why Nicholas Halverson chose Ojochal

We built this house with a swimming pool, hot tub, large master suite, on a lot with both ocean views and mountain views. We're from the Midwest USA and love looking at mountains as much as the ocean. The gentle breezes throughout the day are great. We have seen toucans and scarlet macaws flying by as we sit out on the patio. You never know what you'll see in Costa Rica.

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 24 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Beauty. Privacy. Relaxation. 3 suites. ocean views/rancho
average rating of 4.7083335 based on 24 reviews

Simply Amazing!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 5 were extremely comfortable in this home - plenty of space inside and out. The views from the home were breath taking, especially the sun setting over the ocean. We went zip lining, snorkeling at Cano Island, visited many beaches, swam in a secluded spring fed river with a waterfall, surfing - you name it, all with in 30 minutes of the Villa. The local restaurants were great, not one bad meal. Our property manager was extremely helpful - from setting up tours to telling us the best places to buy food and gas. My favorite part was sitting in the morning with a cup of phenomenal coffee while gazing at one of the most beautiful places in the world.

  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: HomeAway


  • 1 of 5

Our experience staying at this location was a nightmare since the day we booked! Communication with the owner is very poor, and even had an argument in an e-mail, as we were told we should stay somewhere else, two weeks before our departure!! When we did arrive in Quepos on Tuesday, we picked up a cel phone in Uvita and contacted the property manager, which in turn replied there was someone else in the house and we couldn't come stay until Thursday. What? you have to be seriously kidding! He ended up hours later in the day, finally accommodating us to our rental. The home itself.... outdated, dirty, and our sheets were not even clean, there was dirt and grit in the beds, interior of the home is in dire need of TLC The ants in the kitchen were insane, we had cereal on the counter, to find the bag was full of ants the next morning and not to mention no hot water in the kitchen, so don't use the dishwasher, the ants loved it though. The pool was filthy with green algae floating on the bottom.... and I don't mean a little, there was a lot. Hot tub doesn't work or should I say cold tub, no lights in the pools work.... don't let pictures deceive you, it looks nothing like it. The gardener was at our place every morning at 6:00 am...... for what reason...... we don't know, since our grass was never cut, but did notice our plastic pop bottles missing out of the recycle bin in the garage. One night his family showed up and toured up to the shed to pick up stuff...... so privacy.... hmmm, don't plan on skinny dipping, as you never know who might show up. We were then told by the property manager, we had no rush to leave during the last day of our stay, as we were leaving to another one of the owners homes just down the hill. Well, the gardener was bugging us to leave at 9:00am, as the cleaning ladies were waiting outside. We then packed up and went to the next home, which was cleaner except for the dishwasher full of dirty dishes. NO towels, or toilet paper to be found, washer and dryer did not work, no proper dishes or cooking utensils, another nightmare!! We have stayed in Costa Rica before and never have encountered a vacation, like we did with this one. Nick will keep saying to us, we got a deal, but seriously, it should have been free!! There are many other wonderful rentals in the area with much better accommodations and service!

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I provided this client with a discount given that she had agreed to book well in advance. After communicating with the client that they would need to move houses midway through their stay, two weeks after they originally booked and 4 months in advance, I gave her another discount, and offered them a full refund at that time. The double booking occurred as we donate three weeks of our house every year to non-profit organizations (scholarships for students to go to elementary school, theater scholarships) and one of the org told me their winner had selected a date in February unbeknownst to both of us, there was an overlap. However, as soon as I caught it, I contacted the client, offered a full refund if she wanted or another discount on the home. In an e-mail 2 weeks before arrival she belittled me and accused me of 'scamming her'. I told her perhaps this isn't the right location for you. My team and I work hard to provide a great experience for all of our clients, as you can read by the 20+ positive reviews. She did respond via email: "I apologize for my actions" Her claim that someone was in the house and they were going to have to move in later in the week is simply untrue. There was no one in the home before they checked-in. We have the same experienced cleaning crew and we have not had that complaint before - however, if she was upset about the cleanliness we would have immediately come back and cleaned it to her liking. Chips on the counter - this home is in the middle of a tropical rain forest. It is NEVER advisable to leave food out on the counters. The beauty of the rainforest is the wildlife - toucans, scarlet macaws, howler monkeys, etc. If you leave sweet/salty snacks open on the counter you will attract ants into the home however. Our pool is professional serviced/cleaned 2x/ week (Wed/Sat) by an experienced company. Neither the cleaner nor our workers nor the clients ever complained about this. The pool lights are remote controlled LED lights. The remotes were placed on the outdoor table with “Pool” and “Jacuzzi” labels on them. Gardener there every day at 6 am to water the flowers/plants/grass. It is the dry season in Feb and the plants would die without TLC. Had the client requested them not to show up at 6 am we would have honored that (as we have done with others) Skinny dipping: I have private testimonials from several clients that this is indeed possible and common! This review is malicious, unfair and untrue.

Amazing all around

  • 5 of 5

House was gorgeous, amenities were great and location/scenery was amazing !!!!

  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway


  • 4 of 5

I was privileged to stay at the Villa of Nick Halverson, as a potential investor for a home in the development. He was a gracious and wonderful host for the entire week, not to mention chauffer!!

Every day was an adventure! My week included beaches and markets, wonderful dining, the turtle refuge, hiking, howler monkeys at 4 am, fresh fruit smoothies, friendly natives, ziplines, a butterfly garden, macaws in the yard, the pool outside my door, lessons from Fran the gardener, little local grocery in the nearby village and the largest TOAD I have ever seen (every night on the patio). There was much more to do but I only had a week!!

The property was lovely, clean and well maintained.

If you are looking for a bustling one-stop tourist destination, this is not your choice!

IF YOU are looking for a native-like destination, quiet and tranquil, private and peaceful WITH CONVIENENT ACCESS to the tourist offerings then book your stay soon!!!

Better yet, look into having your own little Villa built-to-order right there and come back whenever you wish!! I am!!

  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: HomeAway

Great time in Costa Rica!!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great week in Costa Rica staying at this home. The scenerie is spectacular, with views of the ocean, the golf course and rainforests right from the patio. The view of the mountain range displayed weather formations as they occurred. The sound of monkey's screeching was captivating!! The on-site property manager was a great resource in helping find great activities and great restaurants. The local golf course was impressive; newly constructed, but played like a mature course. You'll feel like royalty staying in this home, with its spectacular views.

  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway

Our November Vacation

  • 5 of 5

We LOVED our vacation at your villa on the edge of the jungle! One of the glorious experiences was waking up to the early morning sounds of the varied birds and the howler monkeys. It was our favorite time of the day. We could always enjoy our morning coffee watching mahogany-billed toucans in a tree on the edge of the lawn. Sometimes we saw Scarlet Macaws. Ornithologists and entomologists both would consider themselves to be in heaven here. We were entertained by the leaf-cutter ants that made an actual path in the grass as they crossed the lawn to munch the leaves of a tree. We saw termite nests, and chartreuse butterflies. We were awed by walking sticks ten times the size of the ones we see in Minnesota! One night while we were swimming in the pool we were thrilled to see a coati emerge from the shrubbery perhaps to eat some of the impressive insects. Our week there was at the end of the rainy season. Each day there was more sunshine than the day before. One glorious day we rode Fran's docile horses up above the villa for a spectacular close-up view of jungle plants and a distant view of the ocean. We saw house-plants like dieffenbachia and Cordyline growing wild. We were within driving distance of a Mangrove swamp, a zip line and the Manuel Antonio National Refuge, and just a few minutes from some gorgeous ocean beaches where we saw hilarious crabs that scuttled into their burrows when we approached. The neighbors of the villa were friendly. We bought bananas from them several times, and when we couldn't find a small portion of eggs at the BM Supermercado we were able to purchase six eggs from a helpful woman who lived on our road. Oscar, one of the villa caretakers, taught us about the Achiote plant and showed us how its seeds make red paint. Guests who love nature and a quiet place away from raucous party-life will love your villa!

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: HomeAway


Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Palmar Sur
Nearest Barpub
2.5 Miles
La Ponderosa
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
San Buenas Golf Resort
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Costanera Highway (Hwy 34)
Nearest Restaurant
1.5 Miles
Seafood restaurant
Nearest Beach
9 Miles
Playa Ventanas
Car: necessary

San Buenaventura is a charming Costa Rica pueblo with approximately 400 people. There is a convenience store in town and you are close (5-10 minutes) from great restaurants.

Next door to a golf course

5 minutes from a new hospital

1 mile from the highway

Two tilapia restaurants within 10 minutes

Close to deep sea fishing, whale watching, beaches, surfing, hiking, zipline tours,.

From the property you will see scarlet macaws flying overhead (lapas), toucans and parakeets. In the early morning and at dusk you will be able to listen to the howler monkeys.

This property has both incredible ocean views as well as ever changing mountain views.

Other Activities: Shopping, zipline tours, canopy tours, scuba, whale watching, nature hikes

Golf: San Buenas Golf Resort is located next door. It is a private club but access is available with this rental.


Rates & Availability

Ojochal House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Xmas New Years 2014
Dec 21 - Jan 3
7 nights
Xmas New Years
Dec 22 - Jan 4
7 nights
High Season
Jan 5 - May 3
2 nights
May to Sept
May 4 - Sep 27
2 nights
Sep 28 - Nov 1
2 nights
November 2014
Nov 2 - Nov 29
2 nights
November 13
Nov 1 - Nov 30
2 nights
Fri, Sat, Sun
December 2014
Nov 30 - Dec 20
2 nights
December 2013
Dec 1 - Dec 21
3 nights
Fri, Sat, Sun

Additional information about rental rates

Notes From $950/wk US Dollars
Visa, MasterCard and Discover accepted.
Wire transfers to banks in either the USA or Costa Rica.

Ask to confirm pricing - we have occasional discounts.
Dates Available: Year Round
Enter dates to see total


Ojochal House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View ...
  • Rural
  • Village
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Computer Available ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • PC
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Safe
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Full 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Full 2 - toilet , shower
    Full 3 - toilet , shower
    Full 4 - toilet
  • Master bedroom has dual sinks (on mainfloor)
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Mainfloor - handicap accessible
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • Extra twin bed and two couches available. A pack-n-play crib is also available. Master bedroom is handicap accessible
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gazebo ...
  • Golf ...
  • Golf Clubs
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 garden chairs
  • Events Allowed
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
  • Whirlpool
  • Whirlpool
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • rain forests
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
All bedrooms have iPhone alarm clock chargers. 3G cell signal at the house.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote