Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Family Retreat Near McCormick Place, Parks, Museums.

Family Retreat Chicago

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, russian, Lithuanian
Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Owner

Family Retreat Chicago

Member since: 2008
Speaks: english, russian, Lithuanian
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 25, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Family Retreat Near McCormick Place, Parks, Museums.

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


Chicago House Rental Photos and Description


This property is less then 10 minutes to Downtown Chicago, Museums, Parks, just a short walk to trains and buses. Also it is very close to the White Sox Stadium (U.S. Cellular Field), McCormick Place, China Town, Shed Aquarium, South Loop restaurants and stores, Loop night life and entertainment. It contains all amenities, including Dish Network cable, wireless Internet, large family room, sauna room for your relaxation and pool table in the basement. This house is perfect for a large family who is looking for perfect vacation in the superior, quality rental home or group of people who

are visiting Chicago with work purposes and need a short term comfortable stay.

The house sleeps up to 14. There are 4 queen size beds, sofa sleeper (full) in the Basement and 1-2 queen size air mattresses can be arranged to accommodate more guests.

Master bedroom is overlooking to a beautiful roof top deck. The deck has a grill, dinning table and 6 chairs for your perfect summer barbecue and entertaining.

2nd. Level:

1 Master Bedroom with Queen Size bed, dresser and a chest with 24'TV. Jacuzzi Tub, double vanity and over sized shower.

2nd Bedroom with Queen Size bed, Ironing board and Iron in the closet.

3rd. Bedroom with Queen/Full Size bed.

4th Bedroom with Queen/Full Size bed.

Second Bathroom with 6' soaking tub and double vanity.

1st.Level :

Living area with gas fireplace for your relaxation and 52” Plasma TV.

Dining Room seats 6+.

Powder Room on the same level.

Kitchen is fully equipped with SS appliances, basic cookware, serving plates and glasses.

It also has 24” flat screen TV.

Office is set up in the family room by the kitchen with WIFI.

Lower Level:

One very large family room with 42' screen flat TV, 3 sofas, Pool Table with all accessories,1-2 air mattresses.

There is 4 person Sauna room and full third Bathroom.

Laundry room contains


Keywords: 3 Story Single Family House.

More Details
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Family Retreat Chicago (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, russian, Lithuanian
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 25, 2015

About Family Retreat Chicago

I am a Commercial/Residential Real Estate Broker for Chicago area and a homeowner of the property. I started working in the Real Estate business 10 years ago and bought this house as an investment property with hopes to flip it and make some money, but as the market progressed to the down side I decided to start something new and join the vacation rental market. The house has a lot of heart and hard work in it. My family was working with the developer closely to have everything this house might need for our renters to feel like at home away from home.

Family Retreat Chicago purchased this house in 2006

Why Family Retreat Chicago chose Chicago

It is very close to any city attractions, Grocery store, public transportation, McCormick Place, US Cellular Field, China Town, South Loop, Grand Park, Lake.

What makes this house unique

Enjoy the sauna and pool table.

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 15 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Family Retreat Near McCormick Place, Parks, Museums.
average rating of 4.6 based on 15 reviews
St. louis, MO

Guys weekend

  • 5 of 5

Family retreat was great. Exactly as described online. Everything went as planned and security deposit was refunded promptly after departure. Having seven guys for the weekend the house was perfect offering many sleeping areas so no one had to bunk. Location was great, I suggest using Uber that is what we had the best of luck with on transportation. Like 20 dollars to Michigan Ave and the drivers are there in less then ten minutes usually. All in all if you are staying with a group this is the place for you I would stay again no matter what if I return to chicago. Vaida was very easy to deal with and did not bother us while we were there. We were all very happy with our stay thank you Vaida for letting us rent out your beautiful home.

  • Submitted: May 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Brian, I very thankful for your super review. I am happy you enjoyed your stay and had fun in Chicago. Thank you for a tip on the taxi company. Since I do not live in Chicago, I don't use many options of transportation. Uber is something new in our city. I am glad to hear that it was working for you. From now I will recommend it to all my guests. Any time you are coming back, please contact us for your accommodations. We will be glad to have you.
Columbia, MO

Great space, not thrilled with security deposit charge

  • 3 of 5

Some friends and I rented this space for a long weekend in Chicago. The location isn't great but we felt perfectly safe staying inside with doors locked. Some cabs didn't want to pick us up/drop us off at nights. That was the biggest issue we faced with location. Property itself was beautiful, well stocked kitchen, etc. My only complaint would be that we were charged an outrageous amount for 12 towels that were used to wash makeup off of our faces. They were white towels that easily could have been bleached. Further, some of the towels had small holes when we arrived so they already weren't in great condition. There was no mention of not using white towels for makeup in the contract and no notices left at the actual property. I've stayed at other properties that have provided black towels for makeup purposes. It is unreasonable to only provide white towels and assume they will not be used for makeup. I would have bleached the towels myself before leaving if I knew we would be charged for 12 (less than new) towels.

Other than that, the property was great. Plenty of space and in good condition.

  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us. I a bit surprised to hear about the taxi issue. We never had a problem our selfs and never heard from other guests about this kind of issue. Maybe the taxi companies you were calling, were too far from the location you were staying? Since we have many businesses staying at the property during the conventions at McCormick, the taxi is used often. The make up removal wipes are used for the purpose to remove the make up. It is personal hygiene supply, that is why we do not provide that. Towels have stains, even if you bleach it several times. I didn't think to put the sentence in to the contract since, to me, it was obvious, but now, I have a note, not to use the towels for make up removal. Thank you for an idea. There is always extra older towels in the laundry facility for accidental spills, or snow clean up during the winter. These towels are not in perfect condition and it is not placed in the bathrooms for that reason. The brand new towels were purchased before your stay and left through out the house in the bathrooms. I hope, that these little mischievous, didn't spoil your visit and you will remember us for your next visit to Chicago.
Indianapolis, IN

Perfect for a larger group!

  • 5 of 5

My college girlfriends (+hubbys) try to get together annually for a weekend vacation. We decided to meet in a central location, Chicago. Needless to say it is difficult to find a home to accommodate a group of 8! This house worked perfectly. It has 4 bedrooms and is a short car/cab ride away from everything. We drove most places but I know that one person in our group took a $15 Uber ride downtown. Honestly, between the sauna, pool table, and space, we stayed in the house most of the weekend. The owner was very easy to work with, overall I highly recommend this VRBO! Would stay again! 5 STARS!!!

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much, Christy, for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. You are welcome to come back any time you are visiting Chicago.
Minneapolis, MN

Family Vacation in Chicago

  • 3 of 5

This place fit the needs of our extended family of 12 aged 2 to 72 years old. The kitchen counter and DR table allowed our family to all eat at one time. We also used the deck for dining.

The location provides close access to the CTA for museums, etc. but also means constant motor noise. The neighborhood is a mix of fairly new residential mixed with heavy industrial which is not pleasant.

We got take out from Chinatown and also ate dinner there one night.

Family members enjoying walking and running in the neighborhood: 3 miles to Lake Michigan, 2 miles Comiskey Park and former Mayor Daley's home.

The Wifi does not work well. There are lines across the TV.

The place lacks some basics like soap (bar soap, dish detergent, sponges for washing dishes, etc) and paper products (enough toilet paper and paper towels).

Note to owner: the place needs some painting, nicks on furniture repaired, and basement curtain rod tension repaired.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in Chicago and our house. I am sorry for any inconveniences. I wish I would have known you needed some instructions to find the dish soap refill for the counter bottle and the hand soaps in all the bathrooms, during your stay. We do not provide soap bars and we informed you before your arrival. The paper towels and toilet paper are always in the house with one extra roll. Since we have different number of people and different length of stays, we leave a standard amount of supplies and leave up to the guests to purchase additional supplies if needed. The basement blinds usually stays down for the privacy reasons and since it is not moved a lot, it gets a bit harder to pick it up. But you always have a choice to close and open the blinds with the control stick which works fine. The place gets the refreshing treatment every year after the peek season ( Jan, Feb). Thats when we paint, repair and change things if needed. I will keep your notes in mind when we evaluate the house and decide what needs to be done. Thank you


  • 5 of 5

Luv the place!

My college friends and I have used VRBO in the past for get- togethers: fom San Fran to MI every 3 months... and we fell in love with with this place! It has ample parking space, and the house itself was large enough that we didn't have to sacrifice our own individual space. The neighborhood was quiet, and it was a stone's throw away from all the parks and museums, and downtown. The kids went to the museums, while the adults went shopping downtown... eventhough that it was near in the center of the city, the house feels like "home". It was also accessible by bus and the El. Vaeda was very accommodating: she was very helpful in guiding us during our weekend get-away. We recommend this place to everyone who wants to come to Chicago, and experience city life to its finest!

  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Oh, Geraldine, I am so thankful for a nice word. I am glad you and your friends had fun and enjoyed the house. Thank you for taking a good care of the house. It looked very clean as my cleaning crew reported :).You and your group always welcome to our vacation rental. Thank you again.

Great place to stay in Chicago

  • 5 of 5

We were a group of 9 adults, an executive coach and 8 candidates to MBA visiting MBA programs in Chicago and Ann Arbor.

Good: the house was gorgeous. the neighborhood seem a little out of the way at the beginning but when you are driving it results in the middle of everything and very convenient. A friend that used public transportation to visit us told me that it was easy to get there also by public transportation but I recommend having a car, not only for the house but for the city. It was very clean. The floors perfect. The living very nice. the dinning room great. The kitchen precious. Great china, cuttlery and rest of the equipment. the rooms were very nice. Great bedspreads, clean bathrooms, great towels, good lighting on the house.

Problems: there were not enough linens in the house. There should be at least 3 more complete sets of sheets and blankets. They did not leave a nice welcoming gift to us like in San Francisco (wine) so we missed it. We could never operate the alarm system, there should be better instructions. There was not any bathroom soap and that was not nice either. One expects soap at least if not shampoo and conditioner. There should be at least two additional chairs for the dinning table, as it can sit 10-12 people but there are not more chairs. I would have loved to find some place mats for the dining table to protect it. I missed some additional kitchen knifes and an icecream scoop.

  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway


Millennium Park
Willis Tower
Art Institute of Chicago
John Hancock Center
Clarence Buckingham Fountain
Navy Pier Ferris Wheel
McCormick Place
U.S. Cellular Field
The Magnificent Mile
The Signature Room at the 95th
Grant Park
Architecture River Cruise
Adler Planetarium & Astronomy Museum
Chicago Bulls
Greek Islands
North Avenue Beach
Kingston Mines Chicago Blues
Chicago White Sox
Shaw's Crab House
Macy's State Street
Oak Street Beach
Gibsons Bar & Steakhouse - Chicago
Goodman Theatre
Willis Tower
The University of Chicago
Giordano's Pizza
Nearest Airport
7.2 Miles
Midway, O'Hare
Nearest Ferry
5.8 Miles
Navy Pier
Nearest Train
0.6 Miles
Ashland Orange line
Nearest Motorway
Nearest Beach
2.8 Miles
31st street Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
China Town.
Nearest Point of Interest
McCormick Place.
Nearest Point of Interest
South Loop
Nearest Point of Interest
US Cellular Field
Nearest Point of Interest
Dominic's Food Store
Nearest Point of Interest
Connie's Pizza.
Nearest Point of Interest
Ashland Orange Line
Nearest Point of Interest
Burmham Park Harbor.
Nearest Point of Interest
University Village
Nearest Point of Interest
Little Italy
Nearest Point of Interest
Navy Pier
Nearest Point of Interest
Mag Mile
Nearest Point of Interest
Willis Tower
Car: recommended

Other Activities: Shopping, site seeing, night life.


Rates & Availability

From $400 Per night

Chicago House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Peak season for 3 night stay
May 1 2015 - Nov 30 2015
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100.00
Refundable damage deposit $750.00
Cleaning $175.00 + Tax
Tax Rate 14.5%
Notes Credit cards, personal/business checks.
Enter dates to see total


Chicago House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Downtown
  • Family
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Security System
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Queen size Beds (4), Sleeper Sofa or Futon (1)in the basement.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Wood Deck
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna
  • Whirlpool
  • jetted tub ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • ice skating
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • swimming
  • tennis

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote