CHOCORUA NH SUMMER HOUSE IN TAMWORTH

Jean Brown

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Jean Brown

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

CHOCORUA NH SUMMER HOUSE IN TAMWORTH

Tamworth House Rental Photos and Description

House, 5 Bedrooms, 2 bath, sleeps (8)

Old-fashioned New England summer house: 5 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, large living/dining area, screened-in porch, mountain view, meadows, walking distance to Chocorua Lake. Sleeps 8.

Linens, dishes, washing machine, dryer, dish washer, fire place, large porch with beautiful view of Chocorua Mountain, access to small private beach shared with neighbors.

Hiking, swimming, boating, theater, contra dancing.

House description: There are five bedrooms, two downstairs with a bathroom with shower, one on the middle landing, and two upstairs with a bathroom with bathtub but no shower. There are lots of sheets, towels and blankets, cookware, a dishwasher, washing machine, a dryer and a line outside and one inside in the breezeway. The linen closet is upstairs just before the bathroom. The outside big door in the living room will slide open to a screen. There is a big porch looking out on Chocorua Mountain. It's quite private with about a seven-minute walk to a swimming area, shared with our neighbors, on Chocorua Lake. It's all pretty simple and basic. Wireless internet is now available at the house.

Suitability:
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Guestbook comments from the owner
We had a great time. Enjoyed great fishing and boating, the fireplace, and, most of all, the great library. Thanks for the memories.
Aug 2011
  • 1 of 6

Jean Brown

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2010
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

3
based on 3 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Chocorua NH summer house in Tamworth
average rating of 3.0 based on 3 reviews
business
Chocorua NH summer house in Tamworth
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p281162
603 323-8122
Tamworth White Mountains
5

CHOCORUA VIEW CARRIAGE HOUSE

  • 5 of 5
This charming old homestead is lovingly maintained. The listing description is totally accurate and the owner is a delight to work with. It's a place that is perfect for a large gathering or a smaller group interested in relaxing and reading on the breezy and large screened porch that looks out to Mt. Chocorua. The location far off the road makes it wonderfully safe for your pet. If you're not one to sit still, there's shopping and lots of activities in North Conway, driving the Kancamagus Highway, taking in a play at the Barnstormers theatre, and visiting the Remick Country Doctor Museum. The dirt road is lovely for long walks and there are many lakes nearby for swimming and kayaking, or for the more adventurous, a day hike to the summit of Mt. Chocorua.
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the review. We couldn't have a better endorsement for my family summer house where, as children, we did so many of the activities that you describe so well. I really appreciate your wonderful list of all that the house and the area has to offer. Thank you!
business
Chocorua NH summer house in Tamworth
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p281162
603 323-8122
Tamworth White Mountains
Montreal
2

DARK AND UNCOMFORTABLE HOUSE

  • 2 of 5
Though this house has a nice location, it was very uncomfortable for our stay. The house is extremely dark, making it nearly impossible to read in the evenings. Due to the staircases, falls are also possible. In addition, every bed in the house is shot. After a long hike in the mountains, one craves a good night's sleep, though this is difficult on old, damaged beds, all of which need to be replaced. In addition, the house has a mold and a mouse problem. There is a very unpleasant odor.

With a bit of maintenance, the owners might make this a more comfortable property.

The owners require renters to drive garage to the dump; the drive is at least twenty minutes away.
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The last negative reviewers of the house are those who left the house trashed and damaged. It is hard not to believe that this review is not petty revenge for the fact that we very strongly objected and and charged them for the extra cleaning costs and the damages. The review says more about them than it does about the house The contract requires them to leave the house in the condition they found it. With the garbage, everybody in the area takes their garbage to the dump. This is the country. Nobody has ever objected to that before. It is one of the conditions for renting the house. If they don't want to take out the garbage, they shouldn't rent the house. It is an old house. We keep it not to rent it, but because it is very dear to our family, and for this reason, we keep it as we remember it, and much of the furniture is old. Many people think that, with the barn, meadow, and Chororua mountain in the background, it has the loveliest view in the area. The vast majority of our renters find the house and the property very charming. The property itself has real historical significance. Abraham Lincoln's son stayed there many times. In the country mice are not uncommon. All houses in the area have the problem and we battle to deal with it. Bears have been seen very close to the house. What would they do in that case? It is hard to believe that somebody who in the country is bothered by mice can get very far up any mountain. This is not at all an expensive summer rental property. This in not a Holiday Inn, which for a week would cost substantially more and wouldn't remotely have the equivalent view. The telltale is that the reviewers, while identifying the property, remained anonymous themselves, so as to avoid taking personal responsibility, behavior we find consistent with their treatment of the house.
business
Chocorua NH summer house in Tamworth
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p281162
603 323-8122
Tamworth White Mountains
2

POORLY MAINTAINED, DIRTY AND A MOUSE PROBLEM

  • 2 of 5
Having rented many vacation properties, in my opinion this house is not in a suitable condition for renting. It is shabby, damp and really requires some attention spent on it. From the outside it looks lovely, but the interior is not well maintained or properly cleaned. I did not expect new furnishings, but I did not expect blinds that were held together with staples, holes in curtains, flaking paint and water/mold stains on the ceilings. We arrived to find a mouse nest in the hutch (and one very surprised mouse) and mouse droppings all over the kitchen work surfaces and cupboards, in and around the china, cutlery and coffee filters. While there, we set traps and caught 4 mice. Living in the country myself I understand the problem, but little seemed to be being done to rectify the situation. The mouse traps in place were old and dusty and looked like they hadn’t been touched in ages. The bed linen was stained and despite looking in the linen closet, we couldn’t find more items that weren’t stained. Many of the pillows were old, lumpy and heavily stained too. One of the beds had a wooden board under the mattress and it still sagged terribly. In general the house required significant cleaning as there were layers of dirt and dust all over the place with cobwebs inside the pots in a cupboard. Due to the mouse activity and unclean condition of the cooking pots and utensils we decided to eat out. The bathrooms were newer and clean. No fire alarms or CO2 detectors were installed. The location of this house is perfect for families with children being set back of the road and also an ideal location for all the sights of the White Mountains.
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry that these renters felt this way. The house is an old summer family house. It is not a hotel. It has been lived in and enjoyed by many satisfied renters and family members. The furnishings are not new, but adequate and acceptable. Previous renters have found charming what these renters objected to. The cleaners come between rentals and leave it in good condition for the next family. We are constantly trying to update the house. Last year new bathroom fixtures were installed. This year, there will be a new living room floor. We do have a (family friendly) pest control plan with Orkin, but apologize for any mice that get through. We really want the house and the renters to be well-matched. As you can see from the other very positive reviews, that is the case.

Map

Car: necessary

251 Chocorua Lake Road, Chocorua NH 03817

Other Activities: Hiking, swimming, boating, theatre, contra dancing.

Photos

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable
This listing does not have a published calendar. Please contact the owner for availability.

Tamworth House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
US Dollar
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
summer
Jun 15 2014 - Sep 15 2014
7 night minimum stay
$1,000
 
Notes: We only rent by the week or longer.   

Notes

  • Summer only. $1000/week
  • In 2014 available from middle June, July and August and first half of Sept. We only rent by the week or longer.

    $1000/ week or $1800/ fortnight
  • $1000 per week or $1800 per fortnight

Amenities

Tamworth House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Lake
General:
  • Internet
  • Wireless Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Grill
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Microwave
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
    Bedroom 5 - 1 king
Entertainment:
  • Books for Kids
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Wood Deck
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
Suitability:
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • library
Leisure Activities:
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • outlet shopping
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf privileges optional
  • mountain climbing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • swimming
Notes:
Linens, dishes, washing machine, dryer, dish washer, fire place, large porch with beautiful view of Chocorua Mountain, access to small private beach shared with neighbors. Wireless internet is available at the house.