Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

ARCHITECT'S KONA COFFEE FARM HOUSE

Mo Snell

Advertiser since: 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Contact the Owner

Mo Snell

Advertiser since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 18, 2014
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

ARCHITECT'S KONA COFFEE FARM HOUSE

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

Holualoa House Rental Photos and Description

House, 1 Bedroom + Other (See Description), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2 adults)

Snell Kona Coffee Farm is located on the historic Mamalahoa Highway in the Kona Coffee Belt area.

The half-acre coffee orchard of four hundred trees surrounds two beautiful custom designed and built homes; the farm house and a cottage.

The farm is 1200 feet above sea-level on the slopes of Hualalai Volcano (dormant) with breath-taking views of Kona and the vast Pacific Ocean. The farm house has a spacious covered lanai and sliding glass doors that open completely onto the lanai with unobstructed 180 degree views of the Pacific Ocean. A 4 foot deep lap pool adjoins the lanai.

The property is terraced with lava rock, landscaped with a variety of tropical plants and very private.

The homes were designed by renown Seattle architect, Chris Snell. He built the homes for his wife and daughter. The architecture mimics traditional Hawaiian hale (homes) and Japanese farm houses.

The building materials are unique to the Kona-area. He incorporated lava rock walls, hand milled Ohia trees for framing and paneling. The homes are constructed by the best carpenters and craftsmen on island.

The farm house is built of hand milled Ohia wood. The slider doors are teak. The kitchen cabinets are bamboo with black granite counters. The roof is galvanized metal and exposed on the interior of the home. The roof replicates the corrugated tin roofs seen on old coffee shacks. The home is exquisite in every detail. The bed room looks over the lap pool into the coffee orchard.

This a working farm and during coffee harvest from September to December, you can watch coffee picking and processing on the farm.

Snell Kona Coffee Farm is only a ten minute drive down the mountain to Kona Town for shopping, and beautiful white sand beaches for swimming and snorkeling. Holualoa is a quaint town located 3 miles south of the farm.

The town is an artist-community and home to numerous art galleries. Mamalahoa Highway is a historic road, the High Road, and runs through the heart of Kona Coffee Belt with many fascinating towns, galleries, farms and historical sites.

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Mo Snell (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 18, 2014

About Mo Snell

I enjoy farming Kona Coffee, swimming in the ocean and learning about 'old Hawaii.'

Mo Snell purchased this house in 1998

Why Mo Snell chose Holualoa

The farm is a 15 minute drive down the mountain to Kailua-Kona for shopping and beautiful white sand beaches for swimming and snorkeling. Holualoa is a quaint town located 3 miles south of the farm. It is an artists' community and features numerous art galleries. Mamalahoa Highway is an historice road and runs through the heart of the Kona Coffee Belt with many fascinating towns, galleries, farms and historical sites.

What makes this house unique

The farm house is surrounded by coffee trees, palm trees, avocado and other fruit trees for privacy. The quiet beauty of the surrounding jungle, the tropical song birds and the verdant coffee orchard imbue health and serenity.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.8
based on 20 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Architect's Kona Coffee Farm House
average rating of 4.75 based on 20 reviews
business
Architect's Kona Coffee Farm House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p280051vb
+1 -808-238-5223
Holualoa Kona Coast
Boise, Idaho
5

Amazing!!!

  • 5 of 5
Thank you so much for having the vision and putting so much of yourselves into building this incredible home AND being willing to share it. Your place made our vacation a wonderful experience and we cannot wait to come back. It was an honor to stay in your lovely space and we cannot thank you enough, Mo and Chris.
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Architect's Kona Coffee Farm House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p280051vb
+1 -808-238-5223
Holualoa Kona Coast
5

A Real Gem - beyond all expectations, we loved the experience.

  • 5 of 5
The views are outstanding, the location is private, the house has a soothing feel to it, everything worked very well, high end appliances etc.

Woke up to bird song and rooster crows every morning, poured a kona coffee and took in the views of the coast.

Wouldn't have changed a thing. Will definitely recommend to friends and family.
  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Architect's Kona Coffee Farm House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p280051vb
+1 -808-238-5223
Holualoa Kona Coast
Cleveland, Ohio
5

Perfect month on the Big Island

  • 5 of 5
My husband and I spent four weeks in this beautiful spot. We loved the abundance of papaya, avocado, tangerines and lemons growing on the property as well as the nice neighbors who were very generous and also gave us grapefruit etc. The location is convenient to so many activities. Shopping at the local markets was fun and made it easy for us to prepare many of our own meals. The beautiful setting and view provided glorious views and sunsets. Mornings and evenings can be chilly because of the open-air design of the house, but there were plenty of blankets available to ward off the chill. It was a'perfect four-week getaway from our Ohio winter. we would go back and do it again!
  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha,
I love the tropical fruits and avocados too.
In December, my neighbor's star fruit tree
Fruited and we enjoyed pounds of it! Next month the lillikoi or passion fruit comes in. Mahalo for your kind review and come back soon.
business
Architect's Kona Coffee Farm House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p280051vb
+1 -808-238-5223
Holualoa Kona Coast
Austin, Texas
5

Dream Vacation Spot

  • 5 of 5
We had the best week staying in this rental. It was so amazing that it was hard to tear ourselves away some mornings! The other renters comments on the home are spot on so I thought I'd leave a couple of tidbits for upcoming rentals based on questions I had prior to our arrival.
The kitchen is fully equipped- has everything you would need from cooking gear to salt/pepper/spices. We used the blender a lot for fruity drinks by the pool. They also provide laundry and dish detergent/soap/trash bags, toilet paper etc. (Other rentals I've been in didn't so I was curious and had written to Motter before hand!)
There is fresh fruit on the farm (I'm assuming dependent upon time of year) but we ate our fill of fresh oranges and starfruit from the property and avocado from the neighbors stand.
This is a working farm and the little man that prunes/works the trees is lovely. He brought us a bag of fresh fruit one evening when he heard us pondering whether a tree had flowers or fruit on it.
There are beach towels, yoga mats, a small cooler for picnics, and snorkel gear.
You're 10-15 minutes from downtown Kona and the closest grocery store although there's a fruit stand practically next door and a small "general store" down the street.
I did not know this but when ripe, coffee "cherries" are red. So cool. The property is lined with coffee trees and it's really lovely.
Prepare yourself for a great and comfortable week of open air living. This home was a dream come true.
  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Architect's Kona Coffee Farm House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p280051vb
+1 -808-238-5223
Holualoa Kona Coast
San Jose, CA
5

jedj

  • 5 of 5
We had a wonderful Christmas vacation at the Architect's Kona Coffee Farm House. The house is absolutely stunning. Every detail was very well thought out. We loved the way the entire back of the house opened up to make the living and outdoor area as one. Fabulous view of the ocean. Quiet neighborhood...except for the roosters. (Don't forget to pack earplugs) We would definitely stay here again. Mahalo!
  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
business
Architect's Kona Coffee Farm House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p280051vb
+1 -808-238-5223
Holualoa Kona Coast
2

Great house, but...

  • 2 of 5
On the positive side: This house is beautifully crafted to the very last detail. The workmanship is truly spectacular. The views are amazing and you almost feel like you are outside, even when indoors, given the vast openness of the floor plans and slideable doors. The property feels isolated but is located conveniently near Kona. It had plenty of supplies (but the owner left her own things in various drawers and closets which was a bit unusual to see as a renter).

On the negative side: While beautiful, the slidable doors are very sensitive and even when gently used do not always or easily close properly. The owner charged me $28 to send someone out and get a door back on its track and did not tell me ahead of time that there would be a charge. Additionally, I felt that it was not fair for me to pay to fix for something that was faulty in the first place. There are many special and evidently easily breakable features of this house (like the TV that slides up from within a cabinet - cross your fingers that it doesn't break) but I would never stay on the properly again for fear that the owner would keep my deposit.

Also, there is no dark spaces anywhere at any time and no blinds or any means to create a dark space. So if the sun is up, plan to be up (the roosters help a lot with this).

The bed (as well as the futon, which is somewhat expected) are very hard. I like a firm mattress but this was a bit much. Either the bed or futon mattress should be replaced with a softer option to give the renter a choice.

Finally, one of the (male) neighbors is quite noisy and was always walking near the driveway. Very creepy to say the least. He was also very rude when spoken to.

So, overall, while the property is beautiful, renter beware. The negatives could be overcome, but my interactions with the owner based on the issue of the door were not positive to say the least. Because of this alone and I can not recommend this property.
  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Visitor,

Please accept my apology for any discomfort I caused. Of course I will refund the $28.

The TV very simple to operate. Just read the instructions. None of the other guests have expressed concerns about operating the TV.

The mattress in the bedroom is new. I have never had any negative reviews. Some have commented on how comfortable it is.

I bought the property from my mauka neighbor. He lives alone and is very quiet. I have never had any complaints about him or from him.

I hope other renters will not be deterred from renting my beautiful and serene home. I have a great track record of returning damage deposits.

Aloha

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Keohola - Kona Airport

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $235 Per night

Holualoa House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$235
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $100
Tax Rate 9.75%
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Holualoa House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Large soaking tub, shower with view of coast line.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Queen size Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • spelunking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Other Vacation Properties

$740 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$665 - $770 per week
2 - 3 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 2
$845 - $950 per week
3 - 4 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 2

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote