Experience this beautifully remodeled landmark for days, week or months for holidays, vacation or just watching the world go by from a large comfortable veranda located at 471 Main Plaza. Being located on the Plaza overlooking the park in downtown New Braunfels, places The Schmitz within walking distance of the city's attractions and festivities.
Five spacious vacation rentals - studio, one and two bedroooms - are available, each fully furnished and themed after historical figures who you may or may not have wanted to know personally.
Enjoy the rich history of The Schmitz, originally named the Guadalupe Hotel. The first construction of the two-story structure began between 1850 and 1852. In 1858, Jacob Schmitz, a local inn-keeper, bought the building. By 1873, after adding a third floor, the name of the hotel was changed to the 'Schmitz Hotel'. The Schmitz was host to many stage coach travelers, for 'in the town there are two taverns...at either of which a man can regale himself with the fat of the land, well prepared and at moderate prices, while he may rest assured that his horse or mule is equally well cared for.' Many notables in the world of entertainment stopped off to perform here, not to mention many statesmen and military leaders. Some of the names taken directly from the register are: Abraham Lincoln, Governor Sam Houston, Jefferson Davis, Robert E. Lee and O'Henry.
Many alterations were made to the Schmitz throughout the course of its history, including renaming it as the Plaza Hotel and drastically remodeling it during the Art Deco period of the 1920's and 30's with a modernistic façade. The original façade of 1873 was restored in 1979 by the Conservation Society and the Schmitz remained vacant from 1979 to 1986 during which time it was stripped of its original trims, cornices, and other architectural backgrounds. In 1986 it was sold and the historic preservation continued.
The Schmitz building is listed in the National Register as a recorded Texas landmark, and is listed by the City of New Braunfels Historic Landmarks Commission.