beautiful beach - house in need of an overhaul
Submitted: July 9, 2011
Stayed: June 2011
Beautiful location, but not a well-maintained or welcoming home.
Cons were numerous for a home in this price range. The entry from the car part was dark because all the light bulbs were burned out (they were replaced when we asked the next day.) The entrance had a bad odor and was unbelievably hot from exhaust from an apparently unvented dryer in the laundry room. The first toilet I used was broken (chain was not connected - how was that not noticed?) shower doors were off track and the back steps were wobbly. There was one bath towel only per person for the week. Not a single lounge chair was to be had at the pool or on the little deck - dining chairs only! The entire yard is pure crabgrass watered by a malfunctioning sprinkler system that produced puddles of sandy mud.
Pros- it's steps from a beautiful beach, as pictured!
I have rented frequently from VRBO and found this to be the least welcoming of any place to date - clearly a rental house and not a rental home.
Owner's Response: We appreciate your feedback. You are totally correct about the lawn condition being subpar. The irrigation system is run off the owner’s well and it had run dry due to the near drought conditions we had experienced in this area causing the water table to drop. For the lights in the garage and toilet lever – our maintenance manager responded immediately and showed you that you did not turn on the light switch controlling all of these lights –they all worked upon flipping the light switch on. The chain for the toilet lever had fallen off and was immediately repaired for you. The entrance room where the washer and dryer are located is in the enclosed garage area and obviously not part of the heated and cooled square footage of the home – the entire living area is on the second floor above the garage.
We responded to the light and toilet issues immediately and resolved to your complete satisfaction – we thought. There was outside deck furniture for the previous guests, and if we had been informed of this inconvenience while you were there we would have been happy to provide them for you. We wish you had done so and given us the chance to improve your vacation experience.
Helpful votes: 6/6
Did you find this review helpful?