Submitted: May 29, 2012
Stayed: May 2012
House was great and had some of the most comfortable beds I ever slept in. Sorry to say that the beach was the worst I have ever seen, seaweed three feet deep and trash littered the beach so that the kids couldn't even find sand to play in. We will never come back.
Owner's Response: It is very rare that we get a bad review, and to receive a one star rating despite the fact that you had positive comments about our house itself is disappointing. We regret that you had a negative experience, and we always appreciate the guests who return year after year. We are pleased that you did enjoy our home and are sorry to hear you will not be back.
With the ocean, we must accept the good as well as the bad. Seaweed is a plant that grows in the ocean and from time to time becomes uprooted as it is designed by nature to do by seasonal tides, and deposited on shorelines all over the world. This resource from the ocean is used by nature to nurture the next generation of sea turtles and crustacea that use it as a nursery.
Surfside Beach in Treasure Island is a natural beach which also means un-manicured...the beach is public, and at the whim of the ocean. People with no respect for Mother Nature litter the beaches, and though every effort is made to keep the area clean it is impossible to prevent trash from washing ashore with the tides.
We strive to do everything within our control to ensure a memorable vacation in a wonderful home. Unfortunately seaweed and trash on a public beach is beyond our control. It is true that it can be an inconvenience at times, and is mostly unpredictable.
Helpful votes: 5/5
Did you find this review helpful?