Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Fabulous Oceanfront Home

Sharon Smolensky

Member since: 2007
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights

Contact the Manager

Sharon Smolensky

Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 14, 2015
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Fabulous Oceanfront Home

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights

Overview

Crystal Beach House Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, sleeps 12

Welcome to SeaQuest! Located just 5 miles west of High Island near Roll Over Pass with unobstructed views of the beach and ocean this beautiful and spacious home is perfect for 1, 2 or 3 couples or a family or two.

The beach and ocean are a short, flat walk (about 200 feet from our door to the sand) from our home. Or pack up the car with coolers, beach towels and chairs, boogie boards and the grill and drive right up to the beach. Spend the day walking the beach, shelling, building sand castles or just watching the dolphins frolic in the waves. Enjoy it-its your beach! Sip your first cup of coffee on the upper deck while watching the sun come up over the bay and return from the beach in time to enjoy a glass of wine while you watch the sun set.

Please note that this house is Oceanfront (the ocean is clearly visible with no other houses in between it and the ocean). It is not Beachfront (directly on the sandy beach). The beach is across the street just 200 ft from our front door. Our association owns the lot directly across from our home on the beach; you can walk or drive right to the beach.

This is not a party house and is reserved for our more discerning guests who will appreciate and respect it.

Again: Welcome to SeaQuest where a life time of fond memories begin.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Sharon Smolensky (Property Manager)
Member since: 2007
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 14, 2015

About Sharon Smolensky

Our beach home is owned by two couples from Burlington Wisconsin who have been life long friends and business partners. We particularly enjoy spending time in Texas with our children and grandchildren and really feel like the Bolivar Peninsula is our home away from home.

Sharon Smolensky purchased this house in 2005

Why Sharon Smolensky chose Crystal Beach

While visiting my sister in Beaumont a few years ago we decided to spend the afternoon in Galveston. As we drove through Crystal Beach we fell in love with the area. We had SeaQuest built in 2005 and have been enjoying the fun, sun and warm hospitatlity of the Texas coast ever since.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Sharon, just a quick note to let you know how much we enjoyed SeaQuest. My group is still talking about what a perfect spot it was. We hope to stay there again next fall if you’ll have us.



I thought I’d share a representative picture of our fishing adventure. This is a photo of me off the beach near High Island, one of THIRTEEN fish like this that the 3 of us caught there last Friday morning! These big fish were all released, but we also fished in Rollover Bay and the marsh near Stingaree, and ended up enjoying 2 fish feasts there and still had redfish fillets to bring home to our families. It was a great trip, thanks for sharing your home with us!

Ken



Thanks Ken; Thanks for sharing that awesome picture; Please see Ken's picture on the main page under "photos". And yes! Please come again, anytime!
Sep 2012
  • 1 of 3

Why HomeAway

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.7
based on 29 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Fabulous Oceanfront Home
average rating of 4.6551723 based on 32 reviews
Ben Wheeler, TX
5

Convenient and Homey

  • 5 of 5

The Gulf was not pleasant to us - the weather was cold and wet all week! Which made the home that much more comfortable! There was plenty of space for our family of five, and we could easily have had a second family stay with us. The property manager was quick to address some issues we had. The beach was right across the street, and the ferry to Galveston (which we rode several times) was a short drive. The area was extremely quiet, no subdivision of crazy spring-breakers - very peaceful. The kitchen was well stocked with pots and pans and cooking utensils, but be prepared to buy some cooking staples (flour, sugar, oils, condiments, etc) if you plan on cooking.

The beds were super-comfy, and the house was neat and clean. We'll be back - and hopefully next time we'll see the sun for more than 2 hours :-)

  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
2

Lovely area, house didn't quite match!

  • 2 of 5

We had a nice family time over Christmas staying in this house: me and hubs, his parents, sister and her hubs and their tiny baby.

The house was moderately clean - there were grubby marks on the walls and floors, and dusty baseboards. The bathrooms were old but clean. Some of the bedding was old and stained but seemed clean enough. All our pillows were very old, lumpy and sad. The floor looked like it could have done with a good polish. There were old stained rugs on the wooden floors in the living room so we had to put something on the floor to keep the baby off them.

Some of the kitchen utensils were dirty and we didn't want to use them. The kitchen contents were strange - blunt knives and veggie peeler, more frying pans than we could count, 2 old bent saucepans (the lids do not fit) and one huge useable saucepan, a couple of very old and tired chopping boards. In fact old and tired pretty well describes the house furnishings and contents. It was like someone went to a thrift store and bought a bunch of ugly old crockery and utensils. I agree with the previous reviewer who said that the whole house needs a deep clean.

There were several busted light bulbs around the house and the lighting in the living room was so feeble we had trouble seeing our board games! There are very strict rules about moving furniture around, but if more than 5 of you stay then you will have to, as there are not enough places for everyone to sit on the couches in the living room.

The plastic blind in our bedroom had several broken slats and strings. The toilet in my sister-in-laws bathroom was broken although I did arrange for someone to come and fix this. I did think the owner would have dealt with this, but it was left to me to arrange the maintenance with a local manager. The waste disposal in the kitchen sink broke and flooded everywhere - you could see this had happened before from the water damage to the cupboard underneath the sink. The plumber looked at this when he fixed the toilet. He was going to come back and replace the waste disposal, I have no idea whether or not he did. We were out - well we were on vacation.

So although we had a lovely time seeing each other and really enjoyed staying on the Bolivar peninsula, I would not come back and stay at Seaquest or recommend the house to anyone when there is so much choice on the coast. For just under a thousand dollars for 5 nights stay, I expect a better standard of cleanliness and less grungy facilities.

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: First let me say I'm sorry that your stay was less than anticipated. I wish you had let us know while you were there-we would have addressed your needs immediately as we did with the broken toilet. I live in Wisconsin which is why we have a property manager (Sharon) who arranged for the repair the same day despite the fact that it was Christmas Eve. The garbage disposal had a crack in it but he wasn't able to find a replacement until after the holiday. It has since been replaced. We did go down there in October and spent 3 days cleaning the house top to bottom: we washed all the baseboards, doors and jams, ceiling fans, window sills and cupboards inside and out. I washed every dish, glass, pot, pan and all the silverware. We fixed blinds, replace light bulbs (broken light bulbs? not when you arrived!) and smoke alarm batteries & made sure everything was in good working order. The kitchen is well appointed with cupcake and muffin tins, cake, sauce & frying pans, an oyster pot as well as every utensil you could possibly need. Not brand spanking new but very useable. And yes, the couches have accommodated many butts however they are, as you noted, clean and comfortable. The "strict" rules about moving furniture simply ask that you put it back where you found it: Sharon has arrived to find INSIDE furniture left OUTSIDE! There is seating for 5 in the living room, 4 in the dining room and 8 in the kitchen. Should be more than adequate for a home that rents for 12 people. I don't understand the comment about the baths being "old" and just for the record, the flooring is stained pine, designed for heavy traffic and easy cleaning but not supposed to be high gloss. At under $28 per person per night for 3 bdrms, 3 baths, a spacious living area, a well appointed kitchen and laundry room as well as 2 spacious decks with unobstructed views of the ocean I think it's a great deal! Most of our guests are repeat customers year after year and rave about the cleanliness and the prompt service Sharon provides-she's the BEST!
5

Awesome House with even better memories

  • 5 of 5

My family, my parents and my brothers family all stayed comfortably in this house. This house was perfect for our midsize families. We walked to the beach eveytime because it is literally right across from the house. The beach was literally OUR beach, no traffic, no crazy beach patrons and no messy beach. It was relaxing, quiet and we were our only competitors when it came to fishing. Everything was nice and neat and had a beautiful deck up top to watch falling stars and one in the middle the children enjoyed playing in. The owners were very accommodating as they worked with me in checking in a little early than expected. The mosquitos were a bit bad during the day because of standing water from a little rain but of course you can't control mother nature and it's creatures. We had bug spray and everything was all good. We will definitely be returning soon! Thank you Sharon and Sharon!! XOXO The Renteria's and The Cliffords!

  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
4

Great place for a family gathering.

  • 4 of 5

My family and I very much enjoyed our stay. Weather was crummy most of the time but the house was large enough that we were all able to stay inside with plenty of room. Close enough to the beach that we were able to walk over a couple of times between storms. We would rent from Sharon again.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
5

Excellent

  • 5 of 5

Excellent house to stay in. We enjoyed our time in your house.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Tatum, Texas
1

Beware looks can be deceiving

  • 1 of 5

My family arrived here June 23 and we leave June 26. I am going to write an honest review. I would like to warn potential renters of this beach house. The house itself is large and spacious and when you enter it looks appealing at first. We noticed on the guest book that the people who had just left wrote a pretty bad review of the house and that there was a roach problem. I thought surely not. Please don't let this be a problem! Well sad to say it is a BIG problem. We noticed roaches in the kitchen, countertops, and kitchen drawers. So gross. We had to wash the dishes before we used them. We left them in the dishwasher to stay and just kept reusing them. We put our stuff in refrigerator at all times. The kitchen drAwers and utensils are dirty. There were roaches all in the carport area under the house. We were so disappointed. Especially paying over a 1000.00. This is ridiculous. The trash bin outside is overflowing with roaches and guess what! They were in my Tahoe when we left today to go to galveston. Greatness. The house is in need of a huge deep cleaning. I really resent the fact that there are so many rules on leaving this place clean and it not being cleaned when we entered the house. I just felt uncomfortable the time we stayed because if you start looking around you realize it is not clean and it is a huge let down. We had a hard time getting the TV to work properly and could not get DVD to work. My daughters fell asleep on the couch and I really didn't even feel comfortable letting them sleep there for fear of bug issue. If you decide to rent this house bring plenty of RAID. Also it does mention there is a road in front of house. I want to make it clear this road is the main hwy 87 going through this area. The beach is close but it is not the same as staying on the beach because of traffic going by. We loved all the sea shells on the beach area in front of the house. We enjoyed staying on the deck out front and drinking coffee. The large deck underneath the house was handy when it rained.

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: And I in turn will write an honest response: this particular client had asked to get out of her contract with short notice. When she was told that there would be a penalty for cancelling with less then 30 days notice, as per the contract she signed, she was upset and ultimately decided to keep her reservation. We found out from the people just before her that they had seen roaches. As soon as they left we bombed the heck out of the house in the hopes of fixing the issue. Apparently it did not do the job so we hired a professional exterminator as soon as this client left. Their work is guaranteed so I'm confident that we have the situation under control Unfortunately we cannot control the way people live. We ask that they leave the house as clean as when they arrived. In this case they left cereal, popcorn and other food under the beds and in and under the couches. The exterminator was there while housekeeping was cleaning and even he pointed out that that it is an open invitation to roaches and other bugs when food is left around. She may have kept her dishes in the dishwasher but she left food scattered all over. I asked the property manager about the accusation that the house was not clean when these clients arrived and she assured me that it was indeed clean-she herself had cleaned it that very morning. I have seen how Sharon cleans and let me tell you-when she's done it is hospital clean! I have to wonder why the client didn't call me or the manager right away if the home did not meet up to her expectations. Why did she wait until after she left to bring it up. If there was a problem Sharon would have fixed it immediately. Please read the previous reviews and you will see that every other one says how nice and clean our home is. Our manager is the best and does an excellent job! Everyone raves about her!

Map

Galveston Island is a short drive and a ferry ride away and offers every kind of entertainment imaginable: shopping on the Strand, amusement and water parks, museums, fine or casual dining, antique shops, golfing, biking and water sports to mention a few. Take a boat or segway (those really cool personal transportation devices) tour of the historical district or visit the Aquarium Pyramid, rain forest pyramid and the I-Max theater at Moody Gardens. The Schitterbahn Indoor/Outdoor Water park was voted #1 in the nation and is open year round, rain or shine, hot or cold.

Other Activities: Shopping, boating, miniature golf

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $160 Per night

Crystal Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Peak Season
May 15 2015 - Oct 1 2015
2 night minimum stay
$325
$1,950
 
 
Off season
Oct 2 2015 - May 14 2016
2 night minimum stay
$160
$975
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$325
$1,950
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $100.00
Tax Rate 6.0%
Notes Check in 4:00 PM check out 11:00 AM
Winter rates (Oct 2nd through May 14th): $975 per week (7 nights) or $480 per weekend.
Summer rates (May 15th through October 1st) $1950 per week (7 nights)or $950 per weekend. This price includes linens and towels (not beach towels). Minimum Age for Renters
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Crystal Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , tub , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 double , 2 twin/ single
  • The bedroom configuration is as follows: The master bedroom has a queen sized bed with a pillow top mattress and a private bath. The second bedroom also has a queen sized bed with pillow top mattress. The bath-with washer and dryer-is right outside the door. The 'kids' bedroom has two bunk beds with single beds on top and doubles on the bottom. It also has a private bath.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The back deck overlooks a 450 acre Audubon sanctuary with a large variety of migratory birds. The lower deck offers 1500 square feet of outdoor living space with great views of the ocean and the Audubon Sanctuary. Enjoy the cool breeze out of the sun here or on the concrete patio below. And the fishing at Rollover Pass is a major attraction. The fully equipped kitchen has a breakfast bar and a large table for entertaining. The great room has a TV and a DVD player plus a game table and wet bar.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote