OCEANFRONT-POOL-JACUZZI-WOW! HALF PRICE 2013 SALE! $250

From
$250
Enter dates to see total
Email Owner Email

Brian Crawford

Speaks french
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

This owner accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn More

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

OCEANFRONT-POOL-JACUZZI-WOW! HALF PRICE 2013 SALE! $250

Hilo House Rental Photos and Description

House, 4 Bedrooms + Den, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

A GREAT oceanfront home overlooking the Pacific on top of a bluff. The house is nicely appointed and decorated, full of unique art and books. The kitchen is large, well stocked and has seating for family meals. There is also a library, family room, dining room, and living room perfect for watching movies and entertaining.

There is plenty of outdoor space including a patio/lanai with more seating. There is a 15 foot by 30 foot pool and an eight person Jacuzzi. The outdoor shower is hooked up to 120 gallons of solar hot water. Two 42 inch televisions, high-speed internet access, and lots of kid things. This is a real family home and we welcome those who are looking for a great Hawaiian experience.

It is important for our guests to know what our home is and what it is not. It IS an oceanfront property on the Pacific which offers incredible views. Trade winds and ceiling fans are our cooling system rather than air conditioning. It is NOT a condominium or hotel. There are coqui frogs and on rare occasions, you may see the occasional pest common to the tropics. The house is situated on a 100 foot bluff which is entirely fenced in. Children could climb over it although our three, raised here from birth, never did. Surprisingly, we do not have mosquitoes yet screens are installed in all of the rooms. The salt spray may at times make the indoor environment feel damp. Please look at our reviews and be sure that what we offer is what you are looking for. We will answer all questions honestly and openly as we only want guests that will be comfortable in our home.

The Neighborhood

Honoli'i is a small area just three minutes outside of Hilo, the county seat for the Big Island of Hawaii. It is the most 'Hawaiian' of all of the larger towns in the State. East Hawaii is mainly an agricultural area with a lot of farming. Sugar has been replaced by exotic fruits, flowers, macadamia nuts, and coffee. If you are looking for a 'local' Hawaiian experience, this is the place!

There is a famous surfing spot with a black sand beach just three minutes from the house and Hilo has lots of local parks and spots for recreation. Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kilauea Volcano are 40 minutes away and as of this writing the 20 year old eruptive phase shows no sign of ending. Mauna Kea, at 13,500 feet, is the world's foremost center for astronomy with more than ten of the world's largest telescopes.

Rain measures around 120 inches per year in Hilo so it is verdantly green and there are waterfalls everywhere. Lisha and I have lived all over the world yet have been here 23 years, much longer than anywhere else. It really is a fabulous place. We travel for adventure, relaxation, and to share the world's treasures with our children.

If you want to stay in or near Hilo, be sure to look at the location of the listings you are considering. Many that are listed under Hilo and North Hilo are actually in the Puna District and can be as far as a thirty to forty minute drive from town. Also, do read reviews and use them to give you clues about what might be important to you and also, what an owner has done to address or rectify any perceived shortcomings. Also remember that one disgruntled guest does not define a property.

Keywords: Home

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets considered
  • limited accessibility
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • smoking allowed
  • children welcome

Brian Crawford

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2007
Speaks french
Enter your email address to view the phone number

Camp Crawford is a movable feast! We set up our home for maximum fun and enjoyment. Right now home base is Frankfurt, Germany where Brian and Lisha work for the U.S. State Department and Clarissa, Winston and Randall are completing their International Baccalaureate Diplomas at Frankfurt International School.

Brian Crawford purchased this house in 2000

This is one of our Hawaii homes and is complimented by a place in Hermanus, just outside of Cape Town, South Afria. Incidentally they are nearly perfect antipodean points....

Fabulous ocean vistas, sounds of the sea, and the Big Island to explore...

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

This owner accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn More

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Property Reviews

59 Reviews Write a Review
Oceanfront-Pool-Jacuzzi-Wow! Half Price 2013 Sale! $250
average rating of 4.4411764 based on 59 reviews
business
Oceanfront-Pool-Jacuzzi-Wow! Half Price 2013 Sale! $250
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p116922vb
+49 1707887081
Hilo Hilo District
5

Wonderful!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
My family and I spent 7 days here and found it to be amazing. We had open doors all the time with the soothing sound of crashing waves lulling us to sleep. We were treated by whales everyday out the back veranda. The house itself was clean and well maintained. Yes, we did have to adjust to the singing frogs, but truly enjoyed our time here.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Oceanfront-Pool-Jacuzzi-Wow! Half Price 2013 Sale! $250
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p116922vb
+49 1707887081
Hilo Hilo District
Albion, Michigan USA
5

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We felt at home the minute we opened the door the first time. The house was clean and inviting! The whales greeted us everyday with waves and breaching . The view was breathtaking . We can't wait to come back !
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Wow! Thanks for your generous comments. Naturally we are thrilled that you appreciated so much about the Big Island, Hilo, and our home. As I sit in snowy Crans-Montana in the heart of the Valais, in the center of Switzerland, as distant from Hawaii as it could be yet faintly similar, I am reminded of the World's special places. Lisha and I met here over twenty five years ago and we consider this Alpine wonder to be the start of our joint adventure that places Hawaii squarely at its center. Please come back whenever you can. Aloha! Brian and the Crawford Family
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Oceanfront-Pool-Jacuzzi-Wow! Half Price 2013 Sale! $250
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p116922vb
+49 1707887081
Hilo Hilo District
Indiana
4

Amazing view

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
The property was gorgeous the view was spectacular I felt like we were living like rock stars. To open up the French doors of the master bedroom and see the beautiful Pacific ocean with whales dancing and playing was so amazing. I would have freighted the property of excellent but I felt there was a communication disconnect between the property owner and the property manager causing us to have a couple unsettled moments. The hot tub was not working and we were not notified they show the property during our stay so we had to leave the property we were told we could have a late check out for surprised by the house keeper telling us that we needed to leave for another renter to come. In spite of all of that I would read rent this property again it was so so beautiful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Patricia
So happy the property overwhelmed you despite the inconveniences that we asked you to endure. As I've mentioned in previous responses, we have great faith in our manager and housekeepers. However since we are twelve time zones away in Germany communication isn't always what we'd like. We try with every stay to make it a perfect experience and are so pleased that you would come back. We hope you do! Aloha, Brian
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Oceanfront-Pool-Jacuzzi-Wow! Half Price 2013 Sale! $250
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p116922vb
+49 1707887081
Hilo Hilo District
USA
5

YES!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
First, my wife and I were very impressed with the location and the accommodation at this location in Hilo. They have a fantastic view of the ocean to wake up to and the hot tub is incredible. The house is conveniently located close to town for shopping at the local Farmers Market and there is a great City Park to walk along the Ocean Shoreline to take in the view.

The best part of this whole experience however was the outdoor shower. I/we can't say enough about how wonderful it was to get up in the morning and take a sun heated shower in the fresh morning air. Would we go back to this house in the future? We give a resounding two thumbs up and a shout from the mountain tops, "YES".
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Ron and Christine! So glad you enjoyed yourself both on the Big Island and at 47 Honoli'i Place. We have revamped the outdoor shower since your visit, installing new valves and a even bigger and better shower head, if you can believe it! Hope you can make it back for another visit soon. Aloha and happy holidays. Brian and family.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Oceanfront-Pool-Jacuzzi-Wow! Half Price 2013 Sale! $250
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p116922vb
+49 1707887081
Hilo Hilo District
Fairbanks, AK
4

Belated Review

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This house is amazing! We were in Hilo for my daughter's wedding and housed our family of six very comfortably. The decorating is eclectic and the perfect backdrop for my daughter's pre-wedding photos. The manager was very responsive when we had issues with the jacuzzi. The only negative, however, was our problem with rats. The owner was aware of this and responsive to our complaint. We let it go, however, because we took away too many positive memories to ruin it with that one issue. I gave it four stars because it is a one of a kind house in a great location! Sorry for the delayed review and thank you for sharing your house.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It's never too late for a review, Susan! Glad you had a good time and that the wedding went well. I'm glad Melanie and her team were able to address the issues. As you can see from the more recent responses I have made, we contracted with Terminex to eliminate the rodents while we were on homeleave this past summer. Hawaii being in the tropics means they are still out there, but hopefully very few and far between at 47 Honolii.... Have a great holiday season. Aloha, Brian
Helpful votes: 2/2
Email Owner Email

Map

Nearest Airport
6 Miles
Hilo
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Honoli'i Beach Park
Car: recommended

Explore the incredible Hawaii Volcanoes National Park - Eden next to the Inferno. Lava has been flowing for almost twenty years, creating new land from the Pacific and nightly light shows that are out of this World! The entrancce to the Park is just a thirty minute drive from the house.

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Hilo House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Minimum Stay
 
Merrie Monarch
Apr 19 2014 - Apr 26 2014
$3,500
Flat fee
8 nights
 
 
Christmas and New Years
Dec 19 2014 - Jan 10 2015
$500
$3,000
3 nights
 
 
Merrie Monarch 2015
Apr 5 2015 - Apr 12 2015
$3,500
Flat fee
8 nights
 
 
My Standard Rate
$250
$1,600
$6,429
2 nights
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150.00 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Hilo House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
  • 1 story
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Waterfront
  • River
Theme:
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Living Room
  • Internet
  • Towels Provided
  • Broadband Access
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Covered Parking
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Oven
  • Kitchen ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Ice Maker
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Outdoor Shower - outdoor shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
    Den - On request futon, inflatable mattress and pack 'n play.
Entertainment:
  • Television ...
  • Games ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • pets considered
  • limited accessibility
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • smoking allowed ...
  • children welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • nude beach
  • rain forests
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
  • reefs
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • museums
  • health/beauty spa
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • walking
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • eco tourism
  • whale watching
  • shelling
  • boating
  • sight seeing
  • shopping
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • ATM/bank
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • equestrian events
  • skiing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • hunting
  • pier fishing
  • snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • hiking
  • golf
  • swimming
  • fishing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • tennis
  • cycling
  • kayaking
  • spelunking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • basketball court
  • surfing
Email Owner Email