SLOPESIDE EDELWEISS CONDO AT DURANGO MOUNTAIN RESORT-PURGATORY

Sue Martin

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Sue Martin

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2009
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

SLOPESIDE EDELWEISS CONDO AT DURANGO MOUNTAIN RESORT-PURGATORY

Cascade Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

This 3 bedroom 3.5 bath condo is located on the ski slope uphill from the main chair lift. The condo is truly ski-in ski-out. It has been totally remodeled with a private garage, washer/dryer, Queen size bedroom and bath on the first level.The second level has been reconstructed to a large living area/kitchen with a special ski storage area right at the back door. The third floor has two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a loft with twin beds. One of the upstairs bathrooms has a jacuzzi tub. The unit is fully furnished and can sleep 8 with 1 king, 2 queens, and two twins. All linens are provided.

Condo Rental Amenities: Edelweiss #8 is just 200 yards uphill from the main lift. You can easily put on your skis and ski downhill to catch the high speed 6 person lift to the top. When finished skiing, you can ski directly to the back door on a groomed ski run. The unit has 4 flatscreen HDTV s with a Blue Ray player. We also have netflix for free movie viewing. Wood burning fireplace, and fully furnished kitchen. There is a private garage on the first level that allows you to park ONE vehicle out of the snow. If you havea second vehicle, it must be parked directly behind the garage area.. 4-wheel drive recommended in winter.

Additional Info:

Beds: 1 King, 2 Queens, 2 Twins (in Loft)

Three 1/2 bath with jacuzzi

Sheets, Blankets, Pillows, Towels, & Wash Cloths

Kitchen

Refrigerator, Full Size Oven, Dishwasher, Microwave, Toaster/Oven, Coffee Pot, Blender, Mixer, Electric Skillet, Bread Machine, Dishes & Flatware , Mixing Bowls & large variety of Pots & Pans, Crock Pot

New full size washer and dryer on first floor

(3) Fire Extinguishers

Vacuum Cleaner

Cable TV with Netflix and a Blue Ray player

Games Cards, Poker Chips, Backgammon, Chess

Sewing Supplies (small wicker basket )

One Car Garage Parking. ONE additional car may be parked in front and parallel to the condo.

Unlimited Firewood

Keywords: Condominium

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Sue Martin

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2009
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

We live in Arlington, Texas and spend several weeks each year in Colorado. Our backyard is the San Juan Mountains and we are only FIVE feet from the ski run that takes you down hill to the six-chair lift. We can ski right to the back door and take a break for lunch or hot chocolate.

Sue Martin purchased this condo in 1999

This condo is a true ski-in and ski-out condo. It is an easy 25 minute drive from Durango, Colorado and we do not have to go through any major mountain passes to get there, which is a real bonus for winter driving.

Skiing downhill to the lift and downhill to our back door is the best thing about our location. We are 25 minutes to Durango and 25 minutes to Silverton (an old gold mining town with lots of charm) The kids love watching and feeding the wildlife (Birds, chipmunks, and hummingbirds in the summer and Bears and chipmunks in the winter...however, we do NOT feed the bears)

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.9
based on 16 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Slopeside Edelweiss Condo at Durango Mountain Resort-Purgatory
average rating of 4.875 based on 16 reviews
business
Slopeside Edelweiss Condo at Durango Mountain Resort-Purgatory
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275975vb
(817) 994-4212 (Texas, USA)
Cascade South Central Colorado
5

4TH OF JULY FUN!

  • 5 of 5
We had a group of 6 (4 adults and 2 children) that stayed for the 4th of July holiday weekend. We had a blast! The condo was great. Perfect layout with 2 bedrooms up and 1 down with common area in between. We had plenty of space. The unit has been remodeled and upgraded and had everything we needed. The only negative was the wifi...it only worked about 50% of the time. We unfortunately had to work some while up there, and the lack of a reliable signal made this difficult. Outside of that, everything else was great. The unit backs up to the mountain with a mountain bike world cup trail just outside our door. The 4th festivities in Silverton were fabulous! We hope to make this a new annual tradition!
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking time to do a review. These really help us to meet the needs of our renters. This is the first we have heard
about wifi problems, however we will check with the provider and let them know that you had a problem. Maybe it is something they can fix. I'm glad you had a good time and hope you will check with us again. I will definitely get with DMR to question the WIFI service.
Thanks.
Sue Martin
business
Slopeside Edelweiss Condo at Durango Mountain Resort-Purgatory
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275975vb
(817) 994-4212 (Texas, USA)
Cascade South Central Colorado
Randolph, Teas
5

WONDERFUL WEEKS STAY!!!!!!

  • 5 of 5
We had a great time in this condo. Everything was in good condition and certainly had all the amenities to make our stay very comfortable. The washer and dryer are super, the beds are comfortable, and having televisions in each bedroom allows watching different programs before a restful sleep. All the remotes need new batteries though. The kitchen is stocked with everything needed to cook any type meal. The coffee pot took about 30 minutes make coffee. So it may need to be fixed or replaced. I would highly recommend this condo to anyone wanting to have a relaxful vacation.
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review! Batteries for the remote!
Something I never think of, even at home... Not sure what is
up with the coffee pot. We have really hard water there and it could
be clogged up. I will get our caretaker to run some CLR through it.
Thanks again, and I am glad you had a relaxing and fun vacation!
Hope to see you back next year.
Sue
business
Slopeside Edelweiss Condo at Durango Mountain Resort-Purgatory
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275975vb
(817) 994-4212 (Texas, USA)
Cascade South Central Colorado
Benbrook Texas
5

AMAZING FAMILY VACATION!

  • 5 of 5
Had an amazing vacation with our kids! The condo was beautiful and in the perfect location. Kids enjoyed exploring, lots of trails for hiking and mountain biking. The kids also enjoyed going down to the resort, which a small walk down from the condo. They had many activities to do. They enjoyed the alpine slide and water walkers the best. There was so much to do! The scenic chair lift was great! We took it up and got off on the top and hiked down. Beautiful views!!!! Close to the condo there is a family of whistle pigs, kids got a kick out of seeing them and the chipmunks as well. On the way to the condo we stopped at the James farm, we had read about this place from a review. It was beautiful, we stopped and had lunch and got our meat supply for the week. They have fresh organic eggs, amazing cheese and the food was wonderful. I was very pleased they had gluten free options for my son. talking to the owner we found out they get their gluten free products from a local bakery. We decided to go visit this bakery and were pleasantly surprised with the amount of products sold there. The name of the bakery is The Intolerant Italian. The lasagna was fabulous and all their breads as well. Overall it was a wonderful vacation and we will definitely be back!
  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for writing a review! I learned so much from you and now I am anxious to go back to our condo. I have never seen the whistle pigs and I do not know anything about the "water walkers"!!!
I have heard about James Farm, but never been there. You can
be sure it is on my Bucket List for my next visit! Thank you so much and I am glad you had a wonderful time in our place! If I can't be there, I want others to enjoy it. Hope you can get back soon.
Sue
business
Slopeside Edelweiss Condo at Durango Mountain Resort-Purgatory
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275975vb
(817) 994-4212 (Texas, USA)
Cascade South Central Colorado
5

MY FAVORITE SKI CONDO EVER!

  • 5 of 5
If you are planning a ski vacation to Durango, this is the perfect condo for 6-8 people. The layout of the condominium is fantastic. From the minute we walked in, we knew we were going to love our stay. Everyone really appreciated the space at the entrance from the ski trail into the living area. It is set up with a padded bench and plenty of storage space for coats, helmets and boots. The bench has a nice boot drying system underneath with timer control to make sure your boots are ready to go the next day. The living room is comfortably furnished and easily accommodated our party of seven. All of the bedrooms were nicely appointed and showers were great. The kitchen has nice appliances and plenty of counter space, pots, pans, utensils, etc. We really enjoyed using the grill on the porch in the evening. The sleds in the basement were put to good use each evening right outside the door. We also enjoyed watching the horse drawn sleigh pass by each night on trips up and down the mountain.

Skiing access to and from the condo is perfect. Walk four feet from the steps of the porch, step into your skies and glide down a gentle slope to the 6 man lift. Skiing back to the condo is easy for anyone with beginner-intermediate ability. The grade down to the base area is not to steep and is easy to walk when you are not skiing.

The whole experience was great and I am sure that we will want to book this condominium whenever we head back to Durango. Booking was easy and the owner was delightful! You will not find a better location on the mountain than this condominium. My family has previously rented ski condos about 12-15 times. This is my new favorite!
  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Im so glad you enjoyed our place. It is very comfortable and we love it too.
Hope you will come back to visit many times. Our number of "frequent" visitors is growing rapidly and booking in advance is a good idea.
Thank you for writing the review. Hope to see you back soon!
Sue
business
Slopeside Edelweiss Condo at Durango Mountain Resort-Purgatory
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275975vb
(817) 994-4212 (Texas, USA)
Cascade South Central Colorado
5

WEEKEND TRIP FOR THE MUCK & MIRE IN DURANGO

Weekend Trip for the Muck & Mire in Durango
  • 5 of 5
Always a great stay! Love the proximity to the lift area. Our first time staying in the summer. So much to do: hiking, mtn. biking, ziplining, Alpine Slide, other Village activities. Looking forward to our annual
ski trip stay at the condo!
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review of our condo. I'm glad you enjoyed your
summer activities. I agree with you. I enjoy Durango Mountain just as
much during the summer as I do in the winter. We love having you and your family
stay with us. Hope to hear from you next Ski season.
Sue
business
Slopeside Edelweiss Condo at Durango Mountain Resort-Purgatory
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275975vb
(817) 994-4212 (Texas, USA)
Cascade South Central Colorado
SoCal
4

NICE CONDO

  • 4 of 5
SUMMER - I spoke with Travis over the phone prior to our reservation & he happily answered my many questions & was very helpful. His mother (Susan) who emailed us was also very helpful when it came to things to do in the area.
Our family of 7 (6 adults, 1 teenager) stayed 1 week in this nice condo. Location in the Durango Mountain Resort was good. A very short walk past about 6 other condo's put you on the short path to the center where the activities are at. It was clean. Beds were in good condition - ours was perfect for my husband, but too hard for me. There's no a/c but is still comfortable w/ windows open & fans running. Bedrooms all had ceiling fans, but there was only 1 free standing fan. Would be nice to have another for the loft area (twin & trundle) was warm at night. The downstairs bedroom was always nice & cool.
There's nice flat screen tv's in each bedroom & we used Netflix in the living room a few nights. The kitchen has most items you need, including many spices. There was only 2 kitchen towels though, so bring lots of paper towels. The bbq wasn't working good - had a very hard time getting it hot enough.
Since it was summer we were able to take 5 showers in a row. Some running at the same time before we ran out of hot water, which was really nice for 7 people all dirty from a days activities in the evening. Water pressure was good too. It was nice to have a separate bathroom for each bedroom.

There was a few maintenance items that we discovered & we made the owner aware of them, so I'm sure they will have them addressed right away. We contacted them during our visit regarding a missing screen & they responded immediately & arranged to have someone come the next day. We opted not to have them come, since we were going to be gone, but their quick response was appreciated.
During the summer you can park a second car sideways directly behind the car parked in the carport since there's no snowplow coming thru.
The area is very pretty, located about 30 min north of Durango. There's only a couple restaurants to eat at nearby though, so you will either want to bring food to cook or make the drive back to Durango or north to Silverton (also about 30 min) for eating out. This was not to bad since the drive both directions is so pretty it goes by very quickly & gives you many chances to take in the beauty of the area. I have posted a review of the summer activities at the Resort on tripadvisor.com.
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the suggestion of another freestanding fan for the loft.
Our family hasn't had anyone stay on the loft in years, so we didn't think about it. Travis will be going up in August so he will be making any needed repairs and I will tell him that we need another fan and
more towels for the kitchen. Those towels are like socks that get
eaten by the dryer!! Don't know where they go?!?!
Email Owner Email

Map

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Cascade Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
SpringSummer/Fall Non Ski rate
Jun 17 2014 - Nov 20 2014
2 night minimum stay
$200
 
 
Christmas/New Year Ski Season
Dec 19 2014 - Jan 1 2015
5 night minimum stay
$600
$4,200
 
 
Martin Luther King Holiday Ski
Jan 16 2015 - Jan 19 2015
3 night minimum stay
$450
 
 
President's Day Holiday Ski
Feb 13 2015 - Feb 16 2015
3 night minimum stay
$450
 
 
Spring Break Ski Season
Mar 9 2015 - Mar 22 2015
5 night minimum stay
$600
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$375
 

Additional information about rental rates

One Time Cleaning $180.00
Tax Rate 6.8%

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Cascade Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out ...
General:
  • Wireless Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Ice Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Cooking Utensils
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3.5
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (1) New mattress and bedding purchased Dec. 2011, Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2) A twin trundle bed is on the loft. New mattresses and bedding purchased Dec. 2011
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • VCR
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • restaurants
  • health/beauty spa
Leisure Activities:
  • wildlife viewing
  • shopping
  • miniature golf
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • horseback riding
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • hiking
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • hunting
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • kayaking
Email Owner Email

Other Vacation Properties

$840 - $2,520 per week
2 - 3 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 10
$1,400 - $2,400 per week
4 - 5 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 9
$250 - $350 per night
3 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 8