Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Slopeside Edelweiss Condo at Durango Mountain Resort-Purgatory

Sue Martin

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Sue Martin

Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
April 1, 2015
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Slopeside Edelweiss Condo at Durango Mountain Resort-Purgatory

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights


Rico Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

This 3 bedroom 3.5 bath condo is located on the ski slope uphill from the main chair lift. The condo is truly ski-in ski-out. It has been totally remodeled with a private garage, washer/dryer, Queen size bedroom and bath on the first level.The second level has been reconstructed to a large living area/kitchen with a special ski storage area right at the back door. The third floor has two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a loft with twin beds. One of the upstairs bathrooms has a jacuzzi tub. The unit is fully furnished and can sleep 8 with 1 king, 2 queens, and two twins. All linens are provided.

Condo Rental Amenities: Edelweiss #8 is just 200 yards uphill from the main lift. You can easily put on your skis and ski downhill to catch the high speed 6 person lift to the top. When finished skiing, you can ski directly to the back door on a groomed ski run. The unit has 4 flatscreen HDTV s with a Blue Ray player. We also have netflix for free movie viewing. Wood burning fireplace, and fully furnished kitchen. There is a private garage on the first level that allows you to park ONE vehicle out of the snow. If you havea second vehicle, it must be parked directly behind the garage area.. 4-wheel drive recommended in winter.

Additional Info:

Beds: 1 King, 2 Queens, 2 Twins (in Loft)

Three 1/2 bath with jacuzzi

Sheets, Blankets, Pillows, Towels, & Wash Cloths


Refrigerator, Full Size Oven, Dishwasher, Microwave, Toaster/Oven, Coffee Pot, Blender, Mixer, Electric Skillet, Bread Machine, Dishes & Flatware , Mixing Bowls & large variety of Pots & Pans, Crock Pot

New full size washer and dryer on first floor

(3) Fire Extinguishers

Vacuum Cleaner

Cable TV with Netflix and a Blue Ray player

Games Cards, Poker Chips, Backgammon, Chess

Sewing Supplies (small wicker basket )

One Car Garage Parking. ONE additional car may be parked in front and parallel to the condo.

Unlimited Firewood

Keywords: Condominium

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Sue Martin (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
April 1, 2015

About Sue Martin

We live in Arlington, Texas and spend several weeks each year in Colorado. Our backyard is the San Juan Mountains and we are only FIVE feet from the ski run that takes you down hill to the six-chair lift. We can ski right to the back door and take a break for lunch or hot chocolate.

Sue Martin purchased this condo in 1999

Why Sue Martin chose Rico

This condo is a true ski-in and ski-out condo. It is an easy 25 minute drive from Durango, Colorado and we do not have to go through any major mountain passes to get there, which is a real bonus for winter driving.

What makes this condo unique

Skiing downhill to the lift and downhill to our back door is the best thing about our location. We are 25 minutes to Durango and 25 minutes to Silverton (an old gold mining town with lots of charm) The kids love watching and feeding the wildlife (Birds, chipmunks, and hummingbirds in the summer and Bears and chipmunks in the winter...however, we do NOT feed the bears)

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 18 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Slopeside Edelweiss Condo at Durango Mountain Resort-Purgatory
average rating of 4.888889 based on 18 reviews
Wildwood, Missouri

Fantastic condo for a perfect Vacation!

  • 5 of 5

We were three "empty nester" couples that have known each other since high school, all love Colorado, and were looking to spend an enjoyable week-long vacation together. We had a GREAT time! The condo was absolutely PERFECT! I would highly recommend it to anyone! It was clean, beautifully decorated, well-equipped, and the location was fantastic! The condo is about 20 minutes outside of Durango. We spent time in Durango, Mesa Verde, Silverton, Ouray and the Black Canyon, so it was a good central location for everything we did. We liked being outside the city and able to enjoy the beautiful mountain views. We made some hummingbird nectar for the feeder and loved watching all the hummingbirds It is an added bonus that the condo is in Durango Mountain Resort because you can shop, get Starbucks coffee, and use the recreational activities (ski lift, rent mountain bikes, etc). However, we came Labor Day week, so some of the activities closed after Labor Day.

The owners were very friendly and provided us with everything we needed to know to have a great time. Prior to our trip, they provided us with a list of suggestions for things to do and then they had additional information in the condo too. The information was very helpful! In addition to sightseeing, we did two hikes. The first hike we did was to Ice Lake, which is near Silverton. It was a strenuous 7.5 mile round trip hike, but the lake was breathtaking and WELL worth it! The lake is a spectacular powder blue color when in the sun. We also did the hike to Spud Lake (which is just down the road from the condo and was in the book of recommended hikes provided by the owners). The rock road getting there was a little rough though....we had to park the minivan about 3/4 of the way up to the parking lot because we couldn't make it any might need a high clearance vehicle to make it the rest of the way up. Once you get to the parking lot, you see a small lily lake. There were two beaver lodges in the lake (we saw the beaver), lily pads are all over the lake and there were a lot of ducks feeding among the lilies. The reflections of the clouds on the lake made for a beautiful photo-op! We then hiked the mile up to Spud Lake and it was another wonderful lake. We saw several people fly fishing there and also saw an osprey dive into the lake and catch a fish!

If you are interested in vacationing in the Durango and surrounding area, I highly recommend this condo!

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for all the nice comments. We love Colorado so much and are very pleased when our guests enjoy the condo and the area as much as we do. I will have to put Ice Lake on our bucket list! There are so many great places to visit there and it is impossible to do it all in one trip. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Please feel free to contact me if there was anything that needs our attention.
Dallas, TX, USA

Dream Vacation!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 6 (2 adults, a 17 year old, and 12 year old triplets) vacationed at Edelweiss #8 for a week this summer. The owners sent all the information we needed in advance, making our arrival smooth even though it was late at night. The condo was perfect for our family - a great layout, comfortable, and well-stocked. We even used the boot dryers after climbing up a waterfall! The hummingbirds and marmots right outside the back door provided endless entertainment, and the easy access to hiking and resort activities kept everyone happy. We drove up to Silverton a few times, toured the James Ranch (highly recommend it, stay for a burger and ice cream!), shopped/played at the Rec Center in Durango one day, and had one really nice dinner at the Sow's Ear. It was the perfect mix of outdoor activities during the day and indoor game-playing/movie-watching/family-cocooning in the evening, so great that I cried all the way out of the mountains on our way home! The icing on the cake was that the cleaning crew found and mailed our son's cell phone back to us - the kind of personal touch we truly appreciate. We can't wait to go back!

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad to hear that your family enjoyed the time on the mountain. It is a great place to "unplug" and relax. I learned something from you. I have never been to the James Ranch.That is something I will check out on our next trip. Thanks! Also haven't eaten at the Sow's Ear in a couple of years. Need to put that back on our list. Thanks for writing the review and please let me know if there is anything we can do to improve things on our end.

4th of July Fun!

  • 5 of 5

We had a group of 6 (4 adults and 2 children) that stayed for the 4th of July holiday weekend. We had a blast! The condo was great. Perfect layout with 2 bedrooms up and 1 down with common area in between. We had plenty of space. The unit has been remodeled and upgraded and had everything we needed. The only negative was the only worked about 50% of the time. We unfortunately had to work some while up there, and the lack of a reliable signal made this difficult. Outside of that, everything else was great. The unit backs up to the mountain with a mountain bike world cup trail just outside our door. The 4th festivities in Silverton were fabulous! We hope to make this a new annual tradition!

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking time to do a review. These really help us to meet the needs of our renters. This is the first we have heard about wifi problems, however we will check with the provider and let them know that you had a problem. Maybe it is something they can fix. I'm glad you had a good time and hope you will check with us again. I will definitely get with DMR to question the WIFI service. Thanks. Sue Martin
Randolph, Teas

Wonderful weeks stay!!!!!!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time in this condo. Everything was in good condition and certainly had all the amenities to make our stay very comfortable. The washer and dryer are super, the beds are comfortable, and having televisions in each bedroom allows watching different programs before a restful sleep. All the remotes need new batteries though. The kitchen is stocked with everything needed to cook any type meal. The coffee pot took about 30 minutes make coffee. So it may need to be fixed or replaced. I would highly recommend this condo to anyone wanting to have a relaxful vacation.

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review! Batteries for the remote! Something I never think of, even at home... Not sure what is up with the coffee pot. We have really hard water there and it could be clogged up. I will get our caretaker to run some CLR through it. Thanks again, and I am glad you had a relaxing and fun vacation! Hope to see you back next year. Sue
Benbrook Texas

Amazing family vacation!

  • 5 of 5

Had an amazing vacation with our kids! The condo was beautiful and in the perfect location. Kids enjoyed exploring, lots of trails for hiking and mountain biking. The kids also enjoyed going down to the resort, which a small walk down from the condo. They had many activities to do. They enjoyed the alpine slide and water walkers the best. There was so much to do! The scenic chair lift was great! We took it up and got off on the top and hiked down. Beautiful views!!!! Close to the condo there is a family of whistle pigs, kids got a kick out of seeing them and the chipmunks as well. On the way to the condo we stopped at the James farm, we had read about this place from a review. It was beautiful, we stopped and had lunch and got our meat supply for the week. They have fresh organic eggs, amazing cheese and the food was wonderful. I was very pleased they had gluten free options for my son. talking to the owner we found out they get their gluten free products from a local bakery. We decided to go visit this bakery and were pleasantly surprised with the amount of products sold there. The name of the bakery is The Intolerant Italian. The lasagna was fabulous and all their breads as well. Overall it was a wonderful vacation and we will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for writing a review! I learned so much from you and now I am anxious to go back to our condo. I have never seen the whistle pigs and I do not know anything about the "water walkers"!!! I have heard about James Farm, but never been there. You can be sure it is on my Bucket List for my next visit! Thank you so much and I am glad you had a wonderful time in our place! If I can't be there, I want others to enjoy it. Hope you can get back soon. Sue

My Favorite Ski Condo Ever!

  • 5 of 5

If you are planning a ski vacation to Durango, this is the perfect condo for 6-8 people. The layout of the condominium is fantastic. From the minute we walked in, we knew we were going to love our stay. Everyone really appreciated the space at the entrance from the ski trail into the living area. It is set up with a padded bench and plenty of storage space for coats, helmets and boots. The bench has a nice boot drying system underneath with timer control to make sure your boots are ready to go the next day. The living room is comfortably furnished and easily accommodated our party of seven. All of the bedrooms were nicely appointed and showers were great. The kitchen has nice appliances and plenty of counter space, pots, pans, utensils, etc. We really enjoyed using the grill on the porch in the evening. The sleds in the basement were put to good use each evening right outside the door. We also enjoyed watching the horse drawn sleigh pass by each night on trips up and down the mountain.

Skiing access to and from the condo is perfect. Walk four feet from the steps of the porch, step into your skies and glide down a gentle slope to the 6 man lift. Skiing back to the condo is easy for anyone with beginner-intermediate ability. The grade down to the base area is not to steep and is easy to walk when you are not skiing.

The whole experience was great and I am sure that we will want to book this condominium whenever we head back to Durango. Booking was easy and the owner was delightful! You will not find a better location on the mountain than this condominium. My family has previously rented ski condos about 12-15 times. This is my new favorite!

  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Im so glad you enjoyed our place. It is very comfortable and we love it too. Hope you will come back to visit many times. Our number of "frequent" visitors is growing rapidly and booking in advance is a good idea. Thank you for writing the review. Hope to see you back soon! Sue



Rates & Availability

From $200 Per night

Rico Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
SpringSummer/Fall Non Ski rate
Apr 1 2015 - Nov 26 2015
2 night minimum stay
Christmas/New Year Ski Season
Dec 18 2015 - Jan 3 2016
5 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

One Time Cleaning $180
Tax Rate 6.8%
Notes Our preferred method of payment is credit cards. We will never ask you to wire money. If someone wants you to wire money, report it to VRBO. It is a scam.

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Enter dates to see total


Rico Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3.5
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (1) New mattress and bedding purchased Dec. 2011, Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2) A twin trundle bed is on the loft. New mattresses and bedding purchased Dec. 2011
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • VCR
  • Balcony ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote