Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Stunning Waterfall Estate with Private Cove and Beach! Trees! Sunsets!

Jenna or Marshall Mandell

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 5 nights

Contact the Owner

Jenna or Marshall Mandell

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 20, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Stunning Waterfall Estate with Private Cove and Beach! Trees! Sunsets!

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 5 nights


Highland House Rental Photos and Description

4 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, 1 half bathroom, sleeps 12

(See gorgeous video below) Incredible, unique estate located off a long private driveway! Charming, modern 'Swiss Chalet' on 4 acres of serene trees and views, with private cove and inviting beach on a wooded all sports lakefront lot! Stunning waterfall/pond feature is inspirational! You'll think you're dreaming! Granite full service kitchen with stainless fridge, range, dishwasher and microwave! Living room with fireplace and hardwood floors! 3 new full bathrooms! Finished walkout lower level leads to shaded relaxing patio next to stream/waterfall with a four foot fall! You stress will be washed away. Great sunsets off the giant deck! Boat launch on site! Lakefront fire pit with lots of tree stump seats just like at camp for roasting marshmallows! Closest neighbor is 200 feet away from house! Access the main lake under a convenient bridge that accommodates most recreational boats! Did I mention that you'll think you're dreaming? This estate inspired, a website based in a virtual forest where you can make positive messages on the trees causing them to grow! Log on to Heartbark for free. No drive-bys without appointment!

Peaceful, Serene, Great Views and Amenities: People head north so they can find beauty, mature trees, a feeling of peace and to feel like they're far from the city. With this exceptional home on four forested and waterfront acres, you're already there. The waterfall makes you feel like you're in the mountains or out west! The beautifully designed and landscaped lot is big enough that you can take a walk or find a quiet peaceful spot all to your own! Enjoy the view of the lake and the house from the tip of the peninsula or sun yourself on the inviting beach and private sun/swim deck. Have a seat on the huge deck that looks down over the lot and enjoy the sunset on the other side of the lake! Watch for Deer, Raccoon, Blue Heron, Beaver, Otter, Ducks, Geese, Swans, Birds, Frogs, Fish. There's good fishing (please catch and release). You're not going to want to leave!

Local Fare & Access to World Class Entertainment!: If you like relaxing, skiing, golf, horseback riding, boating, swimming, shopping or great eating you're in luck. You'll love the Highland House, with a varied menu and great pizza. Walk through neighboring Milford's restaurants and shops. There's great golf at Dunham Hills. 25 minutes away is Twelve Oaks Mall that offers shopping including Nordstroms, Macy's, Lord and Taylor and great boutiques.

Catch major concerts at DTE Energy Theater, while the city and suburbs of Detroit offer world class dining, prime entertainment and classic museums. There is gambling at one of Detroit's casinos like the Motor City, Greektown or the MGM Grand. With a passport you can cross over to Windsor, Canada which is known for fine dining, great views of Detroit, gambling and shopping.

Clean Updated and Cozy!: All the beds are new, plush and supportive. There's plenty of room to spread out, even it is rainy. There's a living room with fireplace and and a roomy family room with second entertainment area. View the lake from many rooms. There's cable TV, videos library, book library, playing cards, board and video games and included free WI-fi. Note: The Waterfall feature may not be running during cooler weather due to possible freeze conditions.

Get inspired! This property and it's majestic trees inspired the website, which is based in a virtual forest where the user can make positive messages on the trees, causing them to grow higher! Join us on Heartbark to get a feel for this inspirational home! Note: Our video was taken in the morning, when it's shady. Property is not as shaded in the afternoon for fun in the sun!

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Jenna or Marshall Mandell (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 20, 2015

About Jenna or Marshall Mandell

Privately and family owned. Friendly, loving, understanding, family people with four kids. We'd love to hear from you and accomodate anything we can for you. Note: We're in the real estate business, so we have a pretty tight contract to make sure no one can harm our home, but we're really friendly and never have had a in issue with an Occupant.

Why Jenna or Marshall Mandell chose Highland

Welcome to the Hearbark Home, which is place of serenity and beauty rarely found anywhere. The home is well cared for, clean, has modern amenities and a location close to town where you can get whatever you need with a short car ride. If you're looking for a place where you feel like you're on a private estate and like to relax surrounded by beauty and not other neighbors or occupants, then this is the place for you. Everybody loves this unique site.

What makes this house unique

On four acres

Private quiet cove

Waterfall running during the warm season

Giant view deck

Towering mature trees

Lots of parking

Closest neighbor is 200 feet away

Large private beach

Private road leading to house

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 5 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 11 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Stunning Waterfall Estate with Private Cove and Beach! Trees! Sunsets!
average rating of 4.5454545 based on 11 reviews

Christmas Family Getaway

  • 3 of 5

Our family of 12 stayed in this rental over Christmas. The home was set on a nice lot on the water in a small cove. It was winter so we did not use the outdoor toys and water access but it looks like it would be beautiful in the summer months. The home was smaller than we thought but it was fine for our 4 day getaway for presents and family games. We expect the home to feel larger when you can use the outside deck areas during warmer months. Expectations and communication with the owners was very well done and they were very easy to work with. The fireplace was a great feature with beautiful granite. With that said, there are a few things worth noting about this location. At the time, the home had a strange odor- we couldn't figure out if it was sewer or animals- which led to us leaving a night before our scheduled departure time. This was very upsetting to us since one of our children was allergic and reacted to whatever the smell was in the home. It seemed the odor came from the basement so we shut the basement door and stayed out of there. This made the usuable space even smaller but we dealt with it. We did not want to upset our vacation. The home is very neat and well painted but bathroom faucets sprayed everywhere, the dishwasher was not secured and difficult to use, there was minimal water pressure and a couple times the water went out completely for about 10 minute durations. The beds were pretty with nice linens but the mattresses were awful. Most of us slept on the floors. While this home is adorable, it is relatively small for winter gatherings and needs maintenance.

  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice review and your stay! It is gorgeous in the Summertime. The odor you were referring to was probably from excessive moisture at the well pump and a small amount of mildew, which has been cleaned. Of course, we don’t like to hear about an ill child, but there could be multiple reasons why your child wasn’t feeling well and our hundreds of guests have never complained about getting ill from the home or the water going out. Maybe there were many people taking a shower at once? No one has ever complained about the mattresses. They are premium mattresses purchased new from Art Van.
Macomb, MI

Birthday Weekend

  • 5 of 5

My husband and our two little boys rented this cottage to celebrate my birthday. With small children we were looking for a nice getaway, still surrounded by all the city amenities, and only an hour from our home, this was perfect for us. The cottage is very private and secluded in it's own little lagoon area of the lake, exactly what we were looking for. It has the full "up north" feel, without actually being "up north". The boys loved playing on the sandy beach and wading in the water. The canoe and paddleboat were enjoyed by all. We fished, we relaxed, we built sandcastles, we had a great time. The amount of chairs and different areas to sit on the property almost seems like you are at a resort. I greatly appreciate this house being pet free and seemingly free of scents/fragrances allergens with the little ones. We look forward to returning to this home, we had a wonderful three days but we could have easily enjoyed an entire week. The owner was extremely accommodating, inviting, professional, and a joy to work with. I am someone who reads reviews and but typically does not take the time to write them, but this property deserved to having another great review written.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Danielle, Thank you so much for taking the time to write those kind words. Come back and visit soon! Marshall and Jenna

Ladies Retreat

  • 4 of 5

The Ladies from the church chose to stay here to have our Womens Retreat and we enjoy ourselves. The home had plenty of space for 10 women. We were able to use the paddle boat and canoe and use the firepit. Overall a great experience plenty of towels and blankets. Most of the ladies were from the city so spending the weekend in a wooded area was different but relaxing.

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: HomeAway

Adorable, cozy, peaceful, and unforgettable!

  • 5 of 5

My family chose this property for our extended family get-together - we had 9 adults and two kids (four generations!) in this house, and we absolutely loved it!! We would stay there again in a heartbeat. Jenna was a fabulous resource for amenities in the area, was super friendly and answered every one of our many questions, and we felt very well taken care of. I admit that before we got there I was nervous about all of us fitting, but upon arriving I was amazed at how roomy it was. The two living areas, combined with the decks, the beach, the swing and the numerous other places to go and relax on the property meant that we never felt cramped, but we were also close enough to enjoy our family togetherness. We were all very impressed with the updated and luxurious feel of the kitchen and bathrooms. The kitchen was perfect for the family dinners we cooked every night, and all the outdoor amenities kept everyone busy. The house was so well stocked with supplies and activities, it was so comforting and relaxing and truly like a home away from home - but with a waterfall, a beach, and a tranquility we don't get at home!

We had a ton of fun going to local restaurants, a mom&pop ice cream place, the enormous outlet mall nearby, and the kids loved the neighborhood playground. It was so relaxing on the property, and there was always someone on the swing, sunbathing on the beach, reading in the hammock, or having a cup of coffee on the deck. The landscaping was gorgeous and the little personal touches around the entire property lets you know this place is loved and cared for. I'd totally recommend this for people wanting to relax and enjoy nature, but still be close to shopping, restaurants, and in-town living. Great for families!

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time for the kind words and for staying at our home. We hope you visit again. Best wishes. Jenna and Marshall

Serene experience

  • 4 of 5

We stayed a week here and had a great time. The property is very private and serene. Great fun fishing right off the doc. The owner was very responsive to our questions and pleasant to interact with. The canoe was so fun and paddle boat too. Bonfires in the evening lakefront truely memorable. This place is unique in a beautiful way. The only reason I did not give five plus stars is because we did not want to swim in the lake in front of the home. But a short boat ride and we were in swim worthy waters. Would not deter us from staying at this lovely property again. There is lots to do in the area, including spash park, hiking, you name it.

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Anne for the great review and we're glad you enjoyed yourself. Our family loves swimming near the docks where the water depth is about 6-7 feet deep and is quite roomy, but yes, there is a lot of swimming out on the main lake as well. Again, much thanks and please come again!
TX, FL, MI, MA, & MD

Great location

  • 4 of 5

Very nice house on a wonderful large private almost secluded lot. It’s close to the metro area, but quite private with a very large lawn extending out onto the peninsula. Neighbors are pretty much hidden by the trees or way across the lake from the private cove. Having the canoe was great. We enjoyed watching the swan family with 3 cygnets every day. Fishing was good right at the dock. Beds were very comfortable, except for the convertible sofa of course. There was lots of outside seating. Close enough to stores and shopping. The listing was very accurate and complete.

The negatives were that the pontoon boat was unavailable due to maintenance issues. Other maintenance issues included a leak in the canoe. It was fixed within two days. The hammock was rotted out but the owner reimbursed us to replace it. Many of the windows did not have screens or cranks to open them. This was a problem when the power went out for 12 hours. Candles or flashlights would have been useful. Kitchen lacks mixing bowls, 9x13 and 8x8 baking pans, and a vegetable peeler.

The biggest disappointment was the weed infested cove. It wasn’t just the season. No other house that we saw in the lake had such a weed infested waterfront. It needs maintenance.

No property is perfect , and overall we were pleased with our 8 days there and would rent this property again.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Kurt and Cindy for staying and for your good review. As a response, the pontoon boat is never included in any rental. The power was out for hundreds of thousands in the area. Just the same we will make sure emergency supplies are on site, which is a grood suggestion. I wasn't aware of a leak in the canoe and I'm looking to replace it. I will also increase our kitchen supplies. Other input is also valuable that we're looking into. Thanks again for the great input. The Heartbark House


The French Laundry
" in Fenton 15-20 mins from the Lake House. I think Mondays kid..."
"General Grocery less than 10 mins east on M-59 "
2630 E Highland Rd
"For family dining try The Highland House huge me..."
6775 Highland Rd
"Winter fun Alpine Valley Ski Area"
Colasanti's Produce & Plants
"Gourmet Grocery "
Siam Fusion
"6845 Highland Rd #15, White Lake Township, MI 48383 (248) 887-1300. Worth the wait. "
Milford House Bar & Grill
"Snappy casual surroundings, tasty comfort foods, and sports... what more could anyone ask fo..."
White Lake Inn
"Fun party dining on the water try live music. "
2075 Oakland
"Highland Hills Golf Club Clubhouse: (248) 887-4481 Fax: (248) 889-1920 Email: info@highlandh..."
2055 S Milford Rd
"Kensington Mills Falls & Kidz Clubhouse - Mini Golf - Trip Advisor Review: This miniature go..."
Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Detroit Metropolitan or Flint, MI Airport
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Many bars, restaurants in the area.
Nearest Golf
7 Miles
Dunham Hills (Gorgeous)
Nearest Motorway
7 Miles
US 23/Highland Road (M-59) or I-96 and Milford
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Many, Many!
Nearest Ski
5 Miles
Alpine Valley
Nearest Beach
15 Metres
Out your front door!
Car: recommended

10 minutes from restaurants, 24 hr. Meijer, horseback riding, Diehl Cider Mill, fine golf courses and Alpine Ski Resort. 30 minutes to a Twelve Oaks Mall, Ann Arbor, Flint Airport, DTE Energy concerts. One hour from Detroit Metro airport, Downtown Detroit, Frankenmuth and Windsor, Canada. Experience major shows, festivals, concerts, restaurants, or gambling. The home offers an 'up north' private estate setting, in a safe, suburban area. You'll love driving off into the woods to your private retreat, yet being close enough to great shopping and restaurants. Indeed a rare property and location!

Other Activities: Winter: cross-county skiing, ice skating, snowmobiling, ice fishing, ice hockey, hunting, skiing, sledding, make a snowman, bowling, boardgames, read a good book.


Rates & Availability

From $185 Per night

Highland House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Peak/"Summer" 2015
May 15 2015 - Sep 29 2015
5 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 1 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 1 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Notes -Winter rates are $100 per week night and $150 per weekend night. The waterfall will not be running.
-The cleaning fee is $150 for 6 or less people. Additional charges may apply for more than 6 people.
-If a guest brings a small boat, there is a $35 per day fee. Boats with a bimini may not get under the bridge to the main lake.
-The paddle boat and canoe are including at no extra charge.
Enter dates to see total


Highland House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Lake ...
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Mountain ...
  • Ski in/Ski out ...
  • Town ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront ...
  • Waterfront
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Main Floor
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Lower Level
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , 2nd Floor
  • All New!
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , 2 floor
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , 2 floor
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Main Floor
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , Lower Level
    Bedroom 5 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Lower-Fold out
  • The fold out couch is located in the lower living area.
  • Books ...
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Boat Dock
  • Canoe
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Patio
  • Pedal Boat
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 12 garden chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • autumn foliage
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
-Relax on the huge deck, patio or beach. -Great swimming area. -Take a walk on the peninsula and watch the boats go by or enjoy the sunsets -Have an awesome campfire experience in the evening at the lakefront campfire set up. -Main dining table seats 6, but more chairs can be added to seat 8, plus people can eat outside on the deck and in the living room. There is also breakfast bar seating and additional dining for 4 in the lower level. -The living room couch would also be suitable for sleeping or napping, especially for kids with sleeping bags. -Great lower level family room that walks out to patio and waterfall with TV, videos, games. -Granite kitchen is remodeled with new appliances. -Laundry room with washer and dryer in lower level. -Forced air heat and central air. -Sorry, there is no crib or playpen.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote