Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.


Kathy Colville

Advertiser since: 2009
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Bedrooms 5
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Contact the Manager

Kathy Colville

Advertiser since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 18, 2015
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


Bedrooms 5
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


Davis House Rental Photos and Description

House, 5 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 12-14)

Our home here in Timberline WV, might not look like much from the picture, but inside you will find it is very family friendly. Our home lives and flows perfectly for big families, or several couples to share. The large stone wood burning fireplace dominates the upstairs family room, features vaulted open ceilings, and flows into a large dining area and fully stocked kitchen.

Our home sleeps up to 14 persons with 2 large bedrooms and a full bath upstairs; one bedroom with a queen bed, the other with 2 singles. On the main level you will find a bedroom with a king sized bed and another full bath. Downstairs in the basement you will find a room with a double bed and a half bath, and a separate room with 2 sets of bunk beds (4 twins). The huge family room also has a futon and pull out queen sofa bed, as well as a large tv, a variety of VHS movies, and games to play. If you are skiers, you will find it's quite convenient to come in from the slopes, and sit to take off your gear right in the locker room. Rubber mats keep the floor safe and there's plenty of storage for everyone's ski gear.

You will love this home!

Keywords: House

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Kathy Colville (Property Manager)
Advertiser since: 2009
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 18, 2015

About Kathy Colville

Hi, I'm Kathy and I have 2 beautiful grown daughters, two adorable grandaughters, and two handsome grandsons as well. We live in Northern Virginia and love to ski. In 1999 we wanted to go skiing to welcome in the millennium, and we came across this charming home, right on the slopes in Canaan Valley at the Timberline resort. We fell in love. It was such a warm family home. Since that time, my family and friends have spent the beginning of every new year in this home. We have it set up to accommodate lots of family and friends. The downstairs is perfect for kids of all ages to hang out and watch tv or play games, while upstairs is the quiet area near the fireplace. We have it stocked with all cooking accessories you could need, and the hot tub outside is perfect for relaxing after a busy day of skiing. I think your family will love this home as much as we do!

Kathy Colville purchased this house in 1999

Why Kathy Colville chose Davis

We bought the ski home in this area because it was just a short & scenic 2.5 hour drive from our home in Northern Virginia. The slopes offer many gentle runs, as well as more challenging ones. Canaan Valley is one of the first areas to get snow and it is usually plentiful, at least for the east coast.

What makes this house unique

We love to cook, bake and eat. We play family games at the dining table enjoying the cozy fire in the stone fireplace in the living room. Or we are relaxing with a glass of wine in the hot tub on the covered deck. Skiing is right outside our door, but after the ski season is over, white water rafting, hiking, mountain biking and ATV's trails are also fun family spring and summer activities located just minutes from our home.

Guestbook comments from the manager

I just wanted to let you know what an awesome time my group and I had at the place this weekend. The house is even nicer than the pictures suggest; everyone was very impressed. We'll certainly be in touch to book for next year!

Thanks again,

Feb 2011
  • 1 of 3
Bedrooms 5
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 23 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Ski at Timberline! Walk to the Slopes from This Spacious Home!
average rating of 4.347826 based on 26 reviews

As Advertised but Mouse Infestation

  • 1 of 5

We rented the house for our family's Thanksgiving weekend and, minus the mouse poop, would have been reasonably satisfied with the accommodations. As noted by many reviews, this house is a large, well-laid out space that can handle a crowd. A few things were quite worn (such as the family room sofas, stained upstairs rug) and some basics (dishwasher soap) were missing. Otherwise, everything was fine. The big issue was the mice. We discovered mouse droppings on literally every floor of the house. Obviously, we scrubbed the kitchen as best we could and locked away all food each night and we still woke up to mouse dropping. It was revolting. Just to give you a feel for the experience: there were mouse droppings by the upstairs bed frame, in the basement linen drawers (on the extra sheets), on the main floor window frame, and all over the kitchen (in mixing bowls, on the napkin/linen cart, everywhere). I took pictures to document and am happy to share those.

I don't blame the owner for the mice but we should have been warned. Clearly, the house was infested and the owner knew this. There were mouse traps out on the floor of the entry level - which our small children pointed out to us. When we complained, the owner offered to have pest control come out but we had a pregnant woman in addition to the small children in the house and didn't want to add chemicals and more traps to the debacle. I have rented through VRBO numerous times and this was my first bad experience. The owner should have told us there was a possible issue, even if she thought it was resolved (which is hard to imagine given the extent of the infestation), and absolutely should have warned us that there were traps out in the open that children could find.

  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for choosing our home for your vacation. We take negative comments very seriously, however, I feel yours is overly harsh. You should have been warned that there are mice in a home that is located in the mountains in the woods in winter? Really? I am surprised as adults you would not have considered that. Our home is not "Infested with mice". It is however, on an ongoing pest treatment service, to avoid mice and other pests, and that is why you saw the mouse traps. As you can see, no one else has mentioned a mouse "infestation", and my entire family uses this home every year at Christmas. When you called, I immediately offered to call our pest company, to see if anything else could be done. To say that you had a pregnant women at the house, and didn't want that, was your option. But you should know that the pest companies use mice traps, not chemicals to treat for mice. I am sorry that the traps around were a bother. There is really no other way to keep mice out of a basically vacant home in the woods. We regularly check for holes to the outside, and try our best to keep all critters out of the house. The only thing we could have done better, was to have the house cleaned a second time, right before you came, to insure the mouse droppings were not around. I am sure that it was cleaned after our last tenants, and then there was a break until Thanksgiving. For that I apologize. But to say the house was a 1 out of 5, I think is very unfair. Again, I am sorry you were so "revolted". I would have been happy to refund your money and let you out of the rental. We had a very high demand for those dates, and I am sure we could have filled the time with other renters, and you could have found a hotel close by.

Ski Weekend

  • 5 of 5

The moment we saw the subtle Harry Potter decor we fell in love immediately! We had a wonderful experience renting this home for 3 nights. We had a large group and found that there was more than enough room for all of us and plenty of extra blankets to cozy up with. There was a great open floor plan to entertain everyone and an awesome mud room we could store our ski gear in. It was a short walk to the slopes which allowed us to get as much skiing in as possible! For those who didn't ski, they enjoyed the hot tub and a quick drive to tubing. I highly recommend this residence for any future trips. The owner answered all of our questions and was very accommodating.

  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you again for choosing our home for your vacation. We are so very please you had such a good time. We always appreciate the time it takes to write a review. I hope you will choose us in the future, should you come back to Timberline.
Bristow VA

Ski Weekend

  • 5 of 5

My family has skied at Timberline for over 8 years. This year we decided to rent a house with 2 other families for our annual trip. This house was perfect for our weekend. We had 5 teenage boys who enjoyed taking over the 1st floor. It was nice have them in their own space while the adults enjoyed the top 2 floors. The house is nicely proportioned and close to the slopes. There is plenty of space to spread out and relax. 2 of the adults did not ski and were happy to just sit back and relax. The owner answered all of our questions quickly. We will definitely book again next year.

  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you had a great time at our home. We too find the fireplace intoxicating, and find ourselves relaxing instead of skiing. We look forward to having you as guests again.

MLK Weekend

  • 4 of 5

Stayed here for MLK weekend with 10 adults. All of the rooms have separate heating which was a plus. We had all of the necessities for a solid trip. We had more than enough space and we didnt even use the downstairs portion of the house, except to sleep. We were able to fit four cars in the drive way and we still had space for one more. The mud room was an awesome feature to store our gear. I am not sure why every cabin doesn't have one. The walk to the slopes was about 60 yards, up a slight hill, but still better than driving. All in all it was a solid house and I would stay there again.

  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for choosing our home for your ski vacation. We are glad you enjoyed it, and thank you for the very nice review. We too, love our ski locker area. Keeps the snow, mess, skis etc, confined to a rubber matted area. I hope you will choose our home again should you come back to Timberline.

Okay Stay

  • 3 of 5

We stayed at this home for a long weekend in January. The house is well located and very close by the bottom of Timberline Ski Resort. It was better to ski 'into' than out but our group was fine with that. The house's layout is fine and the amenities are also okay, but there are some maintenance issues that need attention and some owner choices that had us wondering. Both closets in the master bedroom were utilized. One locked, the other stocked with owner ski apparel. An email from the owner suggested we move it, but we've never encountered personal belongings overtaking all closet space in a rental before, and I did not want to tackle slogging someone else's stuff upstairs. There was no closet and no dresser in the lower queen/double bedroom, leaving my sons things to sit on the floor. There is also no closet or dresser in the bunk room. One burner on the stove was not working and the oven seriously needed cleaning. The couch in the lower level is broken (one section) and the couches in the upper level were pealing their 'leather' coating. On the plus side, the kitchen was reasonably well stocked (though missing pot holders), the fireplace and hot tub wonderful and there was plenty of room for all. The house has lots of good points, and in fairness the owner was as responsive as I expected. However, the owner stated they were there over New Years and with us checking in only a few days later, the things we noted had to be present during their stay. Overall, the house was just okay for the price. We've rented a lot of properties over the years...some really bad, some fantastic. This was just in between.

  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Chris, thank you for choosing our home for your stay in Timberline, and I am sorry that the home did not meet your expectations. I do however, want to address the closet issue you have brought up. Just so everyone knows, there are actually 2 double wide closets in the master bedroom, one of which is locked for owner supplies. The other does have around 4 coats/ski bibs, which other tenants have left at our home. We leave them out for renters, in case they need an extra coat. That is why when you called, I suggested that you just put them on the floor, so you could use the entire closet. Upstairs, both bedrooms have big closets, and the bedroom in the basement has a two wall bench and peg board area to hang clothes. It is true, that the bunk room does not have a closet, we are working on adding one there. When we got your review, and saw that the burner was not working, I immediately called the maintenance person, they came out and checked it and said that it was just not pushed in all the way, and is working fine, I had them clean the oven as well. When my family came over the holidays, we noticed for the first time that the couches upstairs are loosing the leatherette, but were functioning fine. We allow pets in our home, and I think the sofa has taken the brunt of that. We will be replacing them this summer. I will post new pictures when we do. I also know that my cleaner/maintenance person brought you out pot holders as soon as you mentioned you did not have any. It is difficult, as you might imagine, to have anyone be able to check all these supplies after every renter. The very best we can do is try and fix the issues once they are brought to our attention. I do want to say though, that when we talked about the potholders, you mentioned there were plenty of kitchen towels, but that you didn't want to use those. We try very hard to keep our home stocked and clean for our renters. And I thank you for mentioning that. I hope you will choose to stay with us again, should you come back to Timberline.

Our Christmas getaway

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful family Christmas at your house. With plenty of room, it was clean and very family and pet friendly. The owner and the housekeepers were very helpful and responsive with answers to questions for planning and on site help. Love the Canaan Valley area. We will be back!!

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Susan, thank you for the very nice response, and for the 5 stars. We are glad we could provide you with a wonderful vacation.


Nearest Barpub
Timberline Lodge
Nearest Restaurant
Timberline Lodge/Fireside Grill

Zip Lining and Mountain Biking Right at Timberline Four Seasons resort during the warmer months.


Rates & Availability

From $317 Per night

Davis House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $500
Refundable damage deposit $300
Notes Refundable reservation/security deposit due at time reservation is confirmed.
If scheduled stay is reserved less than 30 days in advance, the full rental amt is due at the time reservation is confirmed, otherwise 1st half is due 60 days in advance, & 2nd half is due 30 days in advance.
Rental fee is all inclusive; there are no add'l charges for tax,cleaning, or linen rental (all linens included).
Enter dates to see total


Davis House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Resort ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet
  • 2.5
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
    Bedroom 5 - 4 bunk bed
    Convertible bed(s) - 2 queen
  • King size beds (1) On main level, Queen size Beds (1) Upper level, Double Beds (1) lower level, Twin or Single Beds (1) Upper level, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Futon & pull out couch in lower level family room, Bunk Beds (2) lower level
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • jetted tub ...
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote