STUNNING WINE COUNTRY GATED ESTATE WITH POOL AND TENNIS COURT

Owner

Advertiser since 2009
Speaks english
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Owner

Owner
Advertiser since 2009
Speaks english
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

STUNNING WINE COUNTRY GATED ESTATE WITH POOL AND TENNIS COURT

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Overview

Sonoma House Rental Photos and Description

House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 4 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Originally built in 1916 by the British Embassy for the Ambassador's vacation retreat, this beauty sits majestically on a knoll with spectacular views of the surrounding vineyards, Arrowhead Mountain and the Northern section of the San Francisco Bay. Updated over the passing years, the home offers all the modern conveniences but retains its original charm. The Main house is 3,500± square feet to include 2 spacious bedrooms and 2 full bathrooms. A sun porch, large living room with fireplace, dining room & well-appointed kitchen are all oriented around the inviting (completely fenced) patio area complete with solar heated, in-ground pool.

A separate 2 bedroom Guest Cottage with 2 full baths, steam shower and sauna & a kitchenette is on the other side of the pool area. The Guest Cottage also offers phenomenal views of surrounding vineyards from its hilltop location. The grounds encompass 12.5± acres offering complete solitude and privacy behind a private gated entry. A (hard court) tennis court & a separate sport court with small pavilion area are included in the offering. Truly a quintessential wine country retreat property.

Keywords: Estate Home, Villa, House

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Owner
Advertiser since 2009
Speaks english

Why The Owner chose Sonoma

Originally purchased as a primary residence due to the unique qualities and private setting.

What makes this house unique

The property feels like it is a million miles away but is a stone's throw from Downtown Sonoma & Napa. You can choose to stock the refrigerator(s) and never leave or go wine tasting, enjoy world renowned restaurants in both Valleys, or partake in the many events held each weekend in Wine Country.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.8
based on 10 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Stunning Wine Country Gated Estate with Pool and Tennis Court
average rating of 4.8 based on 10 reviews
business
Stunning Wine Country Gated Estate with Pool and Tennis Court
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273501vb
Sonoma Sonoma County
Los Angeles, New York and Dallas
5

Three couples who love the wine country

  • 5 of 5
Our party of old friends arrived on a beautiful, sunny day after a stop in the San Francisco Marina. The Bay was sparkling that day, but nowhere near the way our eyes lit up when we entered the gate to this Sonoma estate. What a wonder! Our only concern, we might drop or break some of the great furnishings and gourmet kitchen supplies. As it turns out, Mother Nature did some of that for us in the biggest quake in 25 years. But it gave us more time to spend in the most beautiful setting any of us have ever enjoyed in the Bay Area. The pool was great for this lap swimmer. Our only regret, none of us are tennis players. The casita gave two of our couples plenty of room and dinner in the big house was one of the highlights of the stay. Naturally, we left a few pounds heavier, but with high anticipation for our next visit to this wonderful place. I hesitate to say what a bargain it was for fear the price may go higher. No hotel could possibly compare.
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: The owners are delighted that you left such a glowing report on vrbo about your stay in the house, and want to thank you for it. They also want to thank you for being such troopers during the earthquake! Although it certainly had to provide war stories for many cocktail parties to come, it does take some grit to get through one of them.
business
Stunning Wine Country Gated Estate with Pool and Tennis Court
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273501vb
Sonoma Sonoma County
Downers Grove, IL
5

OUTSTANDING PROPERTY!

  • 5 of 5
We spent two nights in downtown San Fran and then we rented this property for a long weekend with three other couples. The three couples were all connected to us as family and friends plus the eight of us have never all traveled together (I was a little concerned).....this home was perfect! Everyone had plenty of their 'own' space. The home and guest house are very spacious and the pictures do not do it justice. It was above and beyond our expectations! We went to dinner the first night in downtown Sonoma, large restaurant on the corner, can't remember the name of it (hotel attached)....great food! We had booked a day of wine touring with Sonoma Wine Tours (Soussan Taleghanii) and visited four different wineries via a limo....it was a great day! Since drinking wine all day we ordered dinner that night from an Italian restaurant and had it delivered....another great idea! The next day we relaxed around the pool (too chilly to swim, but lots of sun) and then drove to downtown Napa - the girls did some shopping while the guys watched the world series. We came home that night and used the very large grill to make burgers....another great evening!
I have to say, everyone thought this was one of their best trips ever! I am hoping we will be back some day!
  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Stunning Wine Country Gated Estate with Pool and Tennis Court
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273501vb
Sonoma Sonoma County
Chicago, IL
4

Great stay

  • 4 of 5
The house and property is absolutely stunning! We used the tennis courts, hot tub, both kitchens.. it was fully equipped and better than we expected. The water smells a little funny but other than that- it was perfect!
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers
business
Stunning Wine Country Gated Estate with Pool and Tennis Court
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273501vb
Sonoma Sonoma County
Los Gatos
5

Incredible character in an amazing home with "wow" factor!

Incredible character in an amazing home with "wow" factor!
  • 5 of 5
I rented this estate for my wife's surprise 40th birthday party. We had massage therapists come by, hired a private chef for a gourmet dinner and had some friends stop by for a lunch by the pool. This home has wonderful character and is a true wine country experience with lots of charm, a chef's kitchen, great pool and comfortable beds. It wowed my wife and our guests. The dinner with our small group at the large dining room table was a very memorable experience as well. Highly recommended for a special occasion or just a great escape.
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Stunning Wine Country Gated Estate with Pool and Tennis Court
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273501vb
Sonoma Sonoma County
Santa Barbara
4

Inspection

  • 4 of 5
This is a beautiful vacation home. However make sure you have a representative from the owners present when you arrive. Make a thorough inspection of the house and grounds before accepting the condition of the home. We were accused of sitting on a railing on the back deck and breaking it. We informed the owners that we did not even use this deck and the railing in the photo they sent of the damage validated our claim by the evidence of undisturbed spider webs. The owners agreed to refund our complete deposit but insisted we caused the damage completely insulting our integrity. In our contract the owners stated that the hot tub would be cleaned and filled with new water for our enjoyment. However, the hot tub was not ready and no provision was made to compensate for its disrepair. There was also a problem with the comfort of the bed in the pool house.
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We regret that this renter portrayed their experience negatively, as the owners and management make every effort to provide a favorable experience for all renters. We clearly have a difference of opinion regarding the damaged railing and “undisturbed cobwebs,” but as stated, this renter’s deposit was returned in full. Regarding the hot tub, it was non-functional for some time and was pulled from the vrbo property description earlier this year, however there was a time lag before we realized the language was still in the contract itself. All renters were informed it was not operating. For future reference, a brand new hot tub has been installed for current and future renters. As far as the beds in the cottage are concerned, this web posting is the first we have heard about any problem with any of the mattresses on the property, and perhaps these folks don’t understand how to use the controller on an expensive king-size air bed - use the up arrow for firmer, and the down arrow for softer. The 2nd bedroom has a top quality Serta queen mattress, so we’re confused what their problem was with these beds.
business
Stunning Wine Country Gated Estate with Pool and Tennis Court
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273501vb
Sonoma Sonoma County
Phoenix, AZ
5

Perfect Location. Perfect Amenities

  • 5 of 5
We had a group of four couples, and this home suited our every need perfectly. It's a gorgeous hilltop lot with incredible 360 views, and it's situated at an easy drive from the Bay Area with easy access to the Sonoma and Napa wine regions. The private areas are secluded and comfortable and the common areas are spacious, well appointed and accomodating. The kitchen is amazing: HUGE prep areas, double ovens and a range with gas burners, build in grill AND griddle...it's a cooks dream. The grounds are amazing as well, and we can't wait to try this home in the summertime to dip in that pool. Love this home!!
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Sonoma House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
July - October
Jul 1 2014 - Oct 31 2014
2 night minimum stay
$1,150
 
 
November - December
Nov 1 2014 - Dec 31 2014
2 night minimum stay
$1,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 9.0%
Notes Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.
Holiday rates upon inquiry
$500 Security Deposit
50% rental rate 60 days prior to arrival
50% rental rate 30 days prior to arrival
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Sonoma House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Covered Parking
  • Fireplace
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
  • Four bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
  • Sauna
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • mountain biking
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Concierge service available, please inquire.
Email Owner Contact Me

Other Vacation Properties

  • 4 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$2,800 - $3,370 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 10
  • 4 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 10

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote