Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

TROPICAL ISLAND POOL HOME WITH CASITA & 400 FOOT DOCK

Steven Cervantes

Advertiser since: 2007
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Steven Cervantes

Advertiser since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 20, 2014
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

TROPICAL ISLAND POOL HOME WITH CASITA & 400 FOOT DOCK

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

Roatan House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms + Detached Unit that sleeps 2, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 1-8)

One and a half acres of lush Roatan landscaping holds this Island style home with three bedrooms, three bathrooms, 360 degree wrap around balcony with incredible views. This property also has a Casita that is private if you are traveling with another family or just need extra room. The property boasts a beautiful swimming pool and use of our 400 foot dock that is right on the water for you to swim, snorkel, scuba, or fish off of. The property is completely furnished with everything that you would need right down to beach chairs. It is close to many restaurants and fun things to do.

THIS PROPERTY HAS BEEN FEATURED ON HGTV'S HOUSE HUNTER'S INTERNATIONAL. They are constantly re-airing the program so look it up under 'Roatan Relocation' to see a better view of the entire property and Island.

Keywords: House and Casita

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Steven Cervantes (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2007
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 20, 2014

About Steven Cervantes

Our family went to Roatan on a scuba diving vacation and just fell madly in love with it! We live in Southern California and get down there as often as we can.

You will just LOVE ROATAN!!!

Why Steven Cervantes chose Roatan

This property is 1.5 acres of lush Roatan landscape with Banana trees, Papaya trees and all sorts of tropical flowers. The swimming pool was one of the first on the Island and it has a beautiful Palapa table to stay out of the sun. There is also a Casita that you can use if your party is larger or you are traveling with a second family.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.9
based on 22 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Tropical Island Pool Home with Casita & 400 Foot Dock
average rating of 4.8636365 based on 22 reviews
business
Tropical Island Pool Home with Casita & 400 Foot Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273360
+1 -714 7154303
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
2

Renter Beware

  • 2 of 5
My wife, two kids (2 and 3) and I stayed at Casa Cervantes for 13 days. We had originally wished to stay for a full 3 weeks, but do to the condition of this rental, we cut our stay short.

Upon arriving on Roatan, the care taker, Kerry was to meet us at the airport as we were renting his vehicle. We showed up at the airport, walked around for twenty minutes, scared out of our minds that we had completely abandoned before a man (not Kerry) came up to tell us that Kerry was going to be late. Not a good start to our relaxing vacation.

When we finally got to the Casa, it was DIRTY! Roaches in the bathroom and the kitchen are not acceptable for any rental. The pool was also not as depicted in the pictures. The pool was "cleaned" every day, but was still green and fuzzy and the tiles were missing on the sides which left razor sharp mortar. Both myself, and more importantly, my daughter were cut on the feet by these edges. We could not use the pool.

Another issue is the water quality of the house. The house uses a well which produces fairly pure water. Every time we turned on the shower or sink, the water had an extremely foul odor. Kerry came over several times to attempt to fix this. We determined that the hot water heater was causing the problem. Instead of replacing or fixing the problem, an additional filter was added to put additional chlorine in the water. it did not fix the problem, only covered it up. The contaminants were so bad that they caused my children to break out in rashes.

I contacted the owners about this and they tried to tell me, without seeing my children that they were only bug bites! I live in North Carolina. I know what bug bites look like. That is besides the point though.

Another issue is that we were told that the Casita would not be in use while we stayed in the Casa. For at least 5 days, the Casita was occupied by a family with many children, which meant a lot of noise and commotion during our "relaxing" stay.

On the upside, the care taker and gardener were very helpful and kind. The owner decided to refund our money after we fought her for quite a bit of time. Needless to say, we will not be returning to any of the Cervantes' properties. I came expecting more and was very disappointed. The house is large, but not well cared for. When looking at the pictures, note the date. The bathrooms and kitchen are in disrepair and quite disgusting. I truly believe the reviews on this property are fabricated by the owners.
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This family stayed in Casa Cervantes back in March and has waited 7 months to write such and exaggerated and inaccurate description of this property because he was impossible to please. He did not make one complaint for his first 8 days at the property yet once he found another place that was more suitable for what he wanted for his children, he complained incessantly until we realized there was no pleasing him.
We've had reviews prior to his stay and after his stay, none of which depict the condition as he describes and by the way, all of which were written by people that actually stayed at the property, not written by the owners!! We would never ignore a clients concerns and have always addressed any issue regardless of size a client may have concerning our properties. Our property manager was out there on numerous occasions including in the middle of the night to address any and all of his concerns no matter how small they could have been. His comment concerning someone staying inside of the Casita is without merit and we have never promised any client that rents the Casa that the Casita will remain empty unless they decided to rent it themselves. This was never mentioned before that there were people staying in the Casita until now.
No pool tiles have ever been missing and nobody else has ever cut their feet on the pool tile as he claimed. If our cisterns are not full of rain water, the water system reverts to the well water. Our property manager tried diligently to fix the water heater problem by putting new filters in and draining the existing water until we could replace the water heater.
We are always doing projects to upgrade or maintain this beautiful property.
We have recently refinished the pool and put in a new filter system. We removed the old water heater and put in a brand new water heater. We emptied the cisterns, cleaned them out and have let them fill with new fresh rain water. We also put new stone tiles along the pool deck to replace some of the wood that was there. The property is in great condition and with all of those upgrades, there is still an occasional sulfur smell in the water.
We do not take complaints lightly. If there is merit to them, we address them.
Needless to say, we would NEVER rent any of our properties to this family ever again!!!!
business
Tropical Island Pool Home with Casita & 400 Foot Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273360
+1 -714 7154303
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
5

Great central location, but private & quiet

Great central location, but private & quiet
  • 5 of 5
Roatan is a beautiful island with a ton of character, friendly locals and a wide variety of things to do every day. We rented a 4x4 truck conveniently from the property manager, Kerry, and were able to explore the entire island. Casa Cervantes is in a great location that is central for everything! From the well-known (and rightly so!) white sand beaches & turquoise waters of West Bay Beach to Palmetto Point all the way to Paya Bay on the east end of the island. We also enjoyed the Sandy Bay beach a short walk from the house near Spooky Channel, even doing some fishing from the dock & hiring a boat from West End to pick us up there for a day to explore the waters fishing and snorkeling. We really enjoyed hiking at Carambola Gardens, Arch’s Iguana Farm, zip lining, dolphin encounter at Anthony’s Key Resort, Blue Harbor Tropical Arboretum, but especially loved our day spent at Hole in the Wall Bar near Jonesville for their all you can eat steak & lobsters. We also loved Rotisserie Chicken in West End.

Casa Cervantes was the perfect size and layout for our family of 4. We only rented the main house and not the casita. The pool was awesome for a quick dip and the palapa was nice too. The wrap around decks with outdoor seating and views of the tips of the tropical trees and ocean in the distance was relaxing. There is a big guava tree outside the kitchen and we picked fresh guavas for breakfast every morning. My boys would collect coconuts and the gardener would open them up with his machete for fresh milk everyday too! Just make note that the house only has a wall AC unit in the master bedroom that you can turn on at night. It did get a bit hot and stuffy for our boys and in the evenings, but they have fans and you can open up the windows & doors to get a little cross-breeze. Also beware that although there is a washer/dryer, you are on an island so everything rusts and all of our clothes came out with rust stains, so wash with caution. The house has most everything else you need, including beach towels. They are a little old but still work the same nonetheless. There is a cd player available in the living room so bring some music. We love to cook and small shops and vendors are everywhere, as well as 2 big grocery stores that have everything you need. The only other suggestion I would have is if they could get some decent knives for those that like to cook. Overall, Casa Cervantes was a great vacation home for my family and I’d love to go back!
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for enjoying our property! Since your stay we have done some major improvements. We emptied our pool and totally re plastered and retiled it, added a new filter system and new LED pool light for evening swimming. We also replaced some wood decking with non skid tile leading from the pool to the Casa. We put in a brand new water heater and we cleaned out our cisterns, We haven't been there since this work has been done but we have been told that this has improved the rust problem with the washing of the clothes. Thank you for your suggestions and we will be sending new beach towels and steak knives down very soon. We would love to see you visit us again!! Thank you
business
Tropical Island Pool Home with Casita & 400 Foot Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273360
+1 -714 7154303
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
Cincinnati, Ohio
5

Tropical Rainforest Beauty

  • 5 of 5
This adorable place sits secluded in an area of Sandy Bay called Sunnyside. We rented both the Casa and the Casita. The surrounding beauty is breathtaking. The owner, Debbie, was just wonderful at communicating with us via phone and email in an instant. If we had anything negative to say it would be our needs of wanting an air unit in the Casa living area of the home. The air unit is only in the master bedroom. We will definitely enjoy this home again next year!
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers
business
Tropical Island Pool Home with Casita & 400 Foot Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273360
+1 -714 7154303
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
Eureka, CA, USA
5

It's a little slice of paradise

It's a little slice of paradise
  • 5 of 5
This is a very charming wooden home with a wraparound deck and pool. The view of the water in the near distance is beautiful, as are the sounds of the local birds. The house comes fully stocked with all the cookery that you need to prepare meals while you are staying there and the stores are a close drive. The owner Debbie was wonderfully accommodating and can provide you with a vehicle to rent or you can rent one at the airport. The scuba diving off the coast of Roatan is fantastic and the weather while my group was there was just fantastic. I don't even have cable at home but cable was available at the casa and we were able to catch some Olympic events while we were winding down at night and that was nice. There is Internet available but it was sporadic at the house during our trip and in town in general. As other folks have noted in their reviews, one week here is just not enough! I very much recommend this rental.
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Tropical Island Pool Home with Casita & 400 Foot Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273360
+1 -714 7154303
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
Birmingham, AL
5

Wonderful houses, pool, and dive site! AND great owners!

  • 5 of 5
I wanted to take a moment and write a review about my wonderful stay in Roatan at the Cervantes Casa in Sunnyside. First, I would like to say how wonderful it was to work with Debbie in this transaction. I along with between 3 and 8 other people stayed at the casa and the extra cottage for almost a month, July-August 2013. The main house is very well furnished compared to a lot of places in Roatan as this is my 4th trip there. Modern TV allowed us use an HDMI cable to watch movies off our laptops which is always a plus. Bathrooms are amazing for this price range house. The outside decks around the main house and pool are amazing. Only complaint was the lights outside around the grill were very lacking for cooking at night. (yes there is a grill, a huge plus) Pool was well taken care of and we used it many times a day. Loved the table by the pool. There were very few bugs, which in Roatan is rare. Beds were comfy. Front bedroom has ceiling fan that couldn’t be used, but floor fans made up for it as they were ample throughout the house. Kitchen was very well stocked. Just add food.
Now to the best part, as if all that wasn’t good enough. The dive site off the dock is called spooky channel and is chock full of large grouper, snapper, eels, large parrotfish, lobster, scorpion fish, crabs, permit jack, barracuda, hogfish, swim throughs, an awesome channel and a coral head on the outside that are all spectacular. We all could dive for free at a shop closer to Milton’s Bight, but we chose to dive this site most of the time, and we snorkeled it just about every day sometimes for 3 hours. Great for free diving as it hits 91 ft at its very deepest point and a comfortable 40-75 through most points. Truly an amazing site.
Again, I can’t say enough about Debbie, we had 3 major problems with our travel plans and Debbie worked with us in our favor to help us through them all, she was truly a gem. I highly recommend staying here if you have many people or the need for two master suites with two other bedrooms.
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Tropical Island Pool Home with Casita & 400 Foot Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273360
+1 -714 7154303
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
5

Roatan Paradise

  • 5 of 5
I am in love with the island and the house! Our stay has been so great! The location is easy to access all areas of the island by a short taxi or bus ride. The snorkeling is the best! One of the most sought channels is just past the dock, which is called "Spooky Channel". The walk to the dock is not bad and the view from the porch is wonderful. I really don't want to leave. The caretaker of the house is wonderful and full of information. There is a great notebook that has good information about things to do and where to do it. Debbie has been great and easy to access for information. If you want a great get-a-way, this is your place!!
  • Submitted: May 29, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: HomeAway

Map

Nearest Airport
8 Miles
Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Blue Parrot
Nearest Ferry
12 Miles
Ferry
Nearest Golf
20 Miles
Golf Course
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Blue Parrot
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Beach

Ziplining

Mangrove tours

Horseback riding on the beach

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $225 Per night

Roatan House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Christmas
Dec 20 2014 - Jan 4 2015
7 night minimum stay
$2,300
 
 
Easter/Semana Sante
Mar 28 2015 - Apr 11 2015
7 night minimum stay
$2,300
 
 
Low Season
Sep 19 2015 - Dec 12 2015
3 night minimum stay
$225
$1,675
$4,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$325
$1,960
$6,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Notes $500-$2300/wk US Dollars
Casa from $1675/wk (1-4) to $1875/wk (5-6), plus $500 security deposit.;
Low Season rates: from $1400/wk (1-4) to $1600/wk (5-6), plus $500 security deposit.
Holiday rates ......... $2300/wk, plus $500 security deposit.;

Casita: 1-2 people .... $ 600/wk, plus $300 security deposit.
Low Season rates:...... $ 540/wk, plus $300 security deposit.
Holiday rate $750
50% of total upon booking of property with balance due 30 days prior to your arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Roatan House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Bottled Water
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking
  • Security System
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , air conditioned
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , celing fan & floor fan
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , celing fan & floor fan
  • You can also rent the Casita with the Casa making it 4 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms, and 2 kitchens
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Boat Dock
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Car Optional
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote