Lauren Hammitt

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

Contact the Owner

Lauren Hammitt

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


Tahoe Keys House Rental Photos and Description

House, 4 Bedrooms + Den, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 12)

New on market in 2010, this lovely 4-bedroom, 3-bath home offers tranquility and privacy within Tahoe Keys. This home has full-lot frontage on Lake Tallac (aka the 'sailing lagoon'), the 1/2-mile-long, forested lake within the Keys. Views, outdoor spaces and at-home recreation including private dock with watercraft. After enjoying the day at Lake Tahoe, come home to your own semi-private Lake Tallac with wildlife, forest, mountain, sky and star views - Tahoe Keys without the crowds!

This home has been owner-occupied, and the quality of the furnishings and appointments reflects this. Living room and dining room are furnished in leather and maple and have great natural light and lake, forest and mountain views. A digital stereo home theater with large screen Sony LCD HDTV, DVD library, CD player and Wii game system provide upstairs entertainment. Downstairs is a game room with regulation size Olhausen pool table, vintage Thomas electric organ and second LCD HDTV. Outside is the deck with hot tub, back yard, and private dock with 2 kayaks and a rowboat.

This home offers great privacy, relaxation and at-home recreation, and the feeling of 'getting away from it all' while being centrally located in the Keys. Of course you also get all of the amenities that make Tahoe Keys so popular - the beautiful, level neighborhood for easy walking and bicycling, spectacular mountain views, two community pools, seven tennis courts (two in the large open park directly across the street), the semi-private beach on Lake Tahoe, easy access to Heavenly Valley, the Stateline casinos, South Lake Tahoe, Highway 50 and the Emerald Bay Road. If you own a boat for Lake Tahoe, the Tahoe Keys Marina and its convenient launch facilities are only a few minutes down the street. The Keys waterways with Lake Tahoe access are directly across the street.

This home is well-organized for groups of up to three families or for large or extended families. There is a second master bedroom downstairs. Adults can socialize in the upstairs living room with large balcony while kids play in the downstairs game room or in the back yard, or on Lake Tallac. Dine outside on balcony or indoors. Pets are welcome with approval, and the back yard is fenced to keep them safe from the wildlife, and vice versa. There is a 10 percent discount for repeat renters and referrals.

Here you come home to privacy and tranquility on your own, semi-private forested lake in a home that provides great entertainment, relaxation and at-home recreation, in a central location in the busy Keys - the best of both worlds in Tahoe Keys.

Keywords: House

More Details
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
Lauren Hammitt (Owner)
Advertiser since 2009
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

About Lauren Hammitt

In our vacation home we set out to find a beautiful, private and relaxing setting close to the best of the South Shore's outdoor recreation, fine dining and nightlife activities, that also offers great at-home recreation. We found it here. Come home to your own semi-private, forested lake while being centrally located in Tahoe Keys -- without the crowds!

Lauren Hammitt purchased this house in 2009

Why Lauren Hammitt chose Tahoe Keys

Tahoe Keys is famous for its central location near all of the South Lake Tahoe activities, and for all of its amenities - the marina, tennis courts, community indoor and outdoor pools, and all of the rest that makes Tahoe Keys a premier vacation choice. Fronting Lake Tallac makes this home particularly wonderful for the peace and tranquility it offers -- the enjoyment and recreational opportunities of a semi-private lake, while being centrally located within Tahoe Keys. Here, you come home to a quiet lake with forest and wildlife views, not the docked boats and back yards along the waterways on the other side of the street.

What makes this house unique

Our goal is to create a home that you will want to visit again. Semi-private, forested lake, privacy, tranquility and views, great home entertainment, luxury towels and linens, mountain-themed appointments, outdoor hot tub, private dock with kayaks, a boat, large outdoor grill, regulation Olhausen pool table, bicycles (2) and more. This home is organized for multi-family (2 or 3 families), extended families or groups of up to three couples. Pets on approval, fenced backyard, refundable cleaning/security deposit, 10 percent discount for repeat renters.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you so much for the weekend getaway accommodations. The Spring season up here is beautiful, lots of wildlife viewing from the backyard. Sadie enjoyed fetching the ball in the water. She wants to live here all the time.
May 2010
  • 1 of 15
Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.



Best of Tahoe Keys - Waterfront Home on 'Lake Tallac' in Keys
average rating of 3.0 based on 1 reviews
Best of Tahoe Keys - Waterfront Home on 'Lake Tallac' in Keys
(925) 708-9746
Tahoe Keys South Lake Tahoe
Somerville, MA

Comfortable cabin but make sure it is very clean when you leave

  • 3 of 5
My friends and I went up there for 2 nights to ski in Heavenly and we found the house to be comfortable, warm, and easy to find. The living space was nice and the kitchen was well equipped. The hot tub was there but we didn't use it. They have a cool organ there as well. There were enough beds for everyone but I still preferred the couch because the bunk bed room was too small.

Some minor issues we had are that the fireplace was broken and we couldn't get the fire to get bigger. A lot of the kitchen condiments/spices are also expired so use them at your own risk! Lastly, the hot water ran out when all the baths were in use.

We were kind of disappointed by the cleaning policy. We kept the house clean and we brought our own towels. We laundered all the sheets and placed them on the beds. We also scrubbed the kitchen and bathrooms and vacuumed the floors as well. Finally we tossed the garbage out in the community dumpster. Magazines were arranged nicely. The only thing we missed was swapping the king and queen bed linen. After all our work, we still got billed for 6 hours of cleaning. I don't know what the cleaning person did there for 6 hours must have watched the TV or something or fell asleep. That was very upsetting and had I known that they were going to charge us for 6 hours cleaning anyways, I wouldn't have bothered to be extremely detailed in our cleaning at all. What stinks is before we used the master bath, we had to clean it even because parts of it were gross.

After some back and forth with the cabin owner they refunded 2 hrs of cleaning, but it still left a bad taste in our mouth. In summary, good cabin, comfortable living space, tricky cleaning policy.
  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We wish to thank the reviewer for his positive comments, and note this is the first time we have had any dispute with a party and also our first critical review. The party contacted us because they were dissatisfied with the cleaning deposit refund. Almost all parties receive the deposit back in full or with charges for 1-2 hours or less of further cleaning. This party had not cleaned at all, resulting in a full 6 hours of clean-up work, which we did personally.

The party, however, stated they left the home completely cleaned, which certainly was not what we found on arrival, and threatened a negative review. For the sake of good will, we agreed to an additional refund of two hours of cleaning charge to settle the matter amicably and avoid a bad review. They agreed, accepted the additional refund, then posted their review anyway.

We contacted VRBO and forwarded the e-mails showing that we had already settled with the party by adjusting the refund. However, VRBO's response was "we do not investigate reviews" but that we could explain about the settlement in our response. We are disappointed this party chose to post their review anyway after we had responded and agreed to the additional refund, which we did not feel was warranted based on the uncleaned condition of the house.

We provide a refundable cleaning deposit for responsible guests to save money if they want to clean the house themselves. If they don't want to clean up, that's fine too, but then we charge for cleaning. This takes a much greater management effort than simply charging everyone a large standard cleaning fee, as we visit the house personally each time to decide how much we can refund and do whatever clean-up is necessary. We inform guests that it takes about 6 person-hours to do a complete cleaning.

Sadly, what we've learned from this is that our refundable deposit does leave us exposed to those few people who will "game the system." However, we are continuing to offer it as most of our renters want this and hopefully there are not many "bad apples" out there.

Regarding Josh's other issues: we found and removed three condiments that were out of date by 1-2 months; the bunk bed room is exactly the size pictured on the website; the house has a standard water heater; this was a party of 10, apparently the hot water ran out when everyone showered the same morning; and the "broken" fireplace worked perfectly if you turned on the switch, as it says in the instructions.

- Tom & Lauren





Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates


Tahoe Keys House Rental Rates


  • From $260/nt - $300/wknd - $1900/wk
  • US Dollars
  • Apr 04-May 26, Sep 07-Nov 21 .. $260/night .. $300/weekend (Fri-Sat) .. $1900/week
  • Nov 21- Apr 3, May 25-Sep 06 .. $330/night .. $385/weekend (Fri-Sat) .. $2420/week
  • 2 nt min;3 nt if Fed or Thanksgiv Hol;4 nt if inclds Xmas Eve/Day or NY Eve/Day
  • Fed or Thnksgiving: add 25% to total rent for all rentals including nts during:
  • MLK Jr. Day Wkd.; Pres. Day Wkd.; Mem. Day Wkd.; 7/4 Wkd.; Labor Day Wkd.
  • Add 35% to total rent for all rentals during: Xmas Eve/Day, New Year Eve/Day
  • paymnt due 30 dys pr stay or 60 if hol. 10% local tax applies in addition to rate
  • 10% xcl fee if xcl w/in 30 days of stay; $250 REFUNDABLE clng/sec dep ($350 w/pet)



Tahoe Keys House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain View
  • Wireless Internet
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Telephone
  • Garage ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Microwave
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Kitchen ...
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • King size beds (1) Master suite: California King, luxury linens & comforter, separate sitting area with fireplace & views., Queen size Beds (2) Queen beds in downstairs master and second upstairs bedroom., Twin or Single Beds (2) Single bed in second upstairs bedroom (in addition to queen). Extra mattress in supply room., Child Beds (1) Child-size bed in supply room., Bunk Beds (2) Downstairs "bunk room" sleeps four in two bunk beds. Bunk room is on separate hallway, which keeps downstairs master quiet at night.
  • Stereo
  • DVD Player
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Pool Table
  • CD Player
  • Video Library ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets considered ...
  • non smoking only
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • restaurants
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • live theater
  • cinemas
Leisure Activities:
  • miniature golf
  • wildlife viewing
  • horseshoes
  • sight seeing
  • boating
  • sledding
  • shuffleboard
  • shopping
  • horseback riding
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • jet skiing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • parasailing
  • skiing
  • hunting
  • cycling
  • sailing
  • mountain biking
  • water skiing
  • kayaking
  • racquetball
  • cross country skiing
  • golf
  • snowboarding
  • tennis
  • fishing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowmobiling
  • wind-surfing
  • hiking
  • swimming
Private dock has 2 kayaks and rowboat for Lake Tallac. Tahoe Keys is a large level neighborhood with open mountain views, with semi-private beach and all amenities (2 community pools, sauna, tennis, etc.). Tahoe Keys is one of the few areas where you seldom need tire chains or 4x4 due to level roads and frequent plowing. Walk to tennis, great for bicycling, 2 community pools and sauna (facility charges may apply), and all the other Tahoe Keys amenities, plus Lake Tallac!

Other Vacation Properties

$1,950 - $3,675 per week
2 - 10 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 10
$2,016 - $3,675 per week
2 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 10
$2,345 - $3,050 per week
2 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 7 BA,
  • Sleeps 12