Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

BEST OF TAHOE KEYS - WATERFRONT HOME ON 'LAKE TALLAC' IN KEYS

Lauren Hammitt

Advertiser since: 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

Contact the Owner

Lauren Hammitt

Advertiser since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
November 18, 2014
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

BEST OF TAHOE KEYS - WATERFRONT HOME ON 'LAKE TALLAC' IN KEYS

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

Overview

Overview

Tahoe Keys House Rental Photos and Description

House, 4 Bedrooms + Den, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 12)

Successful vacation rental and well appointed, this lovely 4-bedroom, 3-bath home offers tranquility and privacy and convenience within Tahoe Keys. This home has full-lot frontage on Lake Tallac (aka the 'sailing lagoon'), the 1/2-mile-long, forested lake within the Keys. Views, outdoor spaces and at-home recreation including private dock with watercraft. After enjoying the day at Lake Tahoe, come home to your own semi-private Lake Tallac with wildlife, forest, mountain, sky and star views - Tahoe Keys without the crowds!

This home has been owner-occupied, and the quality of the furnishings and appointments reflects this. Living room and dining room are furnished in leather and maple and have great natural light and lake, forest and mountain views. A digital stereo home theater with large screen Sony LCD HDTV, DVD library, CD player and Wii game system provide upstairs entertainment. Downstairs is a game room with regulation size Olhausen pool table, vintage Thomas electric organ and second LCD HDTV. Outside is the deck with hot tub, back yard, and private dock with 2 kayaks and a rowboat.

This home offers great privacy, relaxation and at-home recreation, and the feeling of 'getting away from it all' while being centrally located in the Keys. Of course you also get all of the amenities that make Tahoe Keys so popular - the beautiful, level neighborhood for easy walking and bicycling, spectacular mountain views, two community pools, seven tennis courts (two in the large open park directly across the street), the semi-private beach on Lake Tahoe, easy access to Heavenly Valley, the Stateline casinos, South Lake Tahoe, Highway 50 and the Emerald Bay Road. If you own a boat for Lake Tahoe, the Tahoe Keys Marina and its convenient launch facilities are only a few minutes down the street. The Keys waterways with Lake Tahoe access are directly across the street.

This home is well-organized for groups of up to three families or for large or extended families. There is a second master bedroom downstairs. Adults can socialize in the upstairs living room with large balcony while kids play in the downstairs game room or in the back yard, or on Lake Tallac. Dine outside on balcony or indoors. Pets are welcome with approval, and the back yard is fenced to keep them safe from the wildlife, and vice versa. There is a 10 percent discount for repeat renters and referrals.

Here you come home to privacy and tranquility on your own, semi-private forested lake in a home that provides great entertainment, relaxation and at-home recreation, in a central location in the busy Keys - the best of both worlds in Tahoe Keys.

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Lauren Hammitt (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english

About Lauren Hammitt

In our vacation home we set out to find a beautiful, private and relaxing setting close to the best of the South Shore's outdoor recreation, fine dining and nightlife activities, that also offers great at-home recreation. We found it here. Come home to your own semi-private, forested lake while being centrally located in Tahoe Keys -- without the crowds!

Lauren Hammitt purchased this house in 2009

Why Lauren Hammitt chose Tahoe Keys

Tahoe Keys is famous for its central location near all of the South Lake Tahoe activities, and for all of its amenities - the marina, tennis courts, community indoor and outdoor pools, and all of the rest that makes Tahoe Keys a premier vacation choice. Fronting Lake Tallac makes this home particularly wonderful for the peace and tranquility it offers -- the enjoyment and recreational opportunities of a semi-private lake, while being centrally located within Tahoe Keys. Here, you come home to a quiet lake with forest and wildlife views, not the docked boats and back yards along the waterways on the other side of the street.

What makes this house unique

Our goal is to create a home that you will want to visit again. Semi-private, forested lake, privacy, tranquility and views, great home entertainment, luxury towels and linens, mountain-themed appointments, outdoor hot tub, private dock with kayaks, a boat, large outdoor grill, regulation Olhausen pool table, bicycles (2) and more. This home is organized for multi-family (2 or 3 families), extended families or groups of up to three couples. Pets on approval, fenced backyard, refundable cleaning/security deposit, 10 percent discount for repeat renters.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you so much for the weekend getaway accommodations. The Spring season up here is beautiful, lots of wildlife viewing from the backyard. Sadie enjoyed fetching the ball in the water. She wants to live here all the time.
May 2010
  • 1 of 15

Why HomeAway

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4
based on 6 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Best of Tahoe Keys - Waterfront Home on 'Lake Tallac' in Keys
average rating of 4.0 based on 21 reviews
business
Best of Tahoe Keys - Waterfront Home on 'Lake Tallac' in Keys
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273167vb
-(925) 708-9746
Tahoe Keys South Lake Tahoe
Walnut Creek, California
5

A wonderful Tahoe home

  • 5 of 5
A group of friends have gathered at Tahoe for over 20 years. We have rented 10 different homes. This is our fifth year of staying at this home. It is a special place on a wonderful pond with a dock and boats which you can use. The home is well maintained and welcoming--it feels like a home. Everything is provided except what you choose to eat and drink. We are especially appreciative of the cleaning policy. We have never had the option at any of the other Tahoe rentals of a return of a portion of our cleaning deposit, which we have taken advantage of every year at this rental. We choose not to do a thorough cleaning job and have received a generous refund every year.
  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Best of Tahoe Keys - Waterfront Home on 'Lake Tallac' in Keys
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273167vb
-(925) 708-9746
Tahoe Keys South Lake Tahoe
4

Beautiful Wilderness Lagoon Perfect for Families!

  • 4 of 5
Lovely Home on the Tahoe Keys Lagoon. Perfect for large families with children and pets. We are a family with many children ranging from age 12 to 2 and this place was perfect for entertaining all of them. The kayaks, canoe and small boat are great for anyone to enjoy. Awesome fishing for the kids from the dock with no worries of large boats. Put the kids in a life jacket and let them have a blast! The upper deck is perfect for everyone to enjoy a meal or have a beverage. Great scenic views of wildlife, birds and a perfect vantage point to watch the kids play and fish. Also were able to enjoy the spa and the kids loved getting a game of pool in before dinner in the billiards room. We were able to fit our 17' boat in the garage with one other car also. The beds were fairly comfortable and the family room was big enough for everyone to sit and enjoy a movie to wined down. Great DVD movie selection including all the channels you will need on the TV.
The kitchen could use some updating and the dock does need some work as one of the floats was damaged but these were minor on our list of needs. Cleaning policy is fair and will save you some money on the overall cost. All in all, great trip and perfect house for our growing family. We will return sometime in the near future and hope to make this trip a regular occurrence. Although we did love this place, we only gave it four stars because of a few items noted above. 100% recommend this home for families with children. You won't be able to get them away from the lagoon once you get there!
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Best of Tahoe Keys - Waterfront Home on 'Lake Tallac' in Keys
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273167vb
-(925) 708-9746
Tahoe Keys South Lake Tahoe
Berkeley, CA
5

Wonderful Tahoe Vacation Spot

  • 5 of 5
We have stayed in this lovely house for three separate summers and have loved each visit. The home is perfect for our extended family (including our dog) and is very comfortably equipped. The grandkids love the kayaks and fishing from the dock, and the adults love the hot tub and relaxing on the deck and watching all the wildlife. We frequently see ospreys and beavers, and once even saw a bear across the lagoon. Birdwatching is actually pretty good from the nice comfort of the deck chairs. The pool table is fun for everyone too.
Tom and Lauren offer an unusual but flexible cleaning deposit option. We usually spend a couple hours on our last morning cleaning and straightening up and usually get most or all of the deposit back. If we don't have the time or have something more pressing to do, then we leave it for others to do the cleaning and forfeit the deposit. We find this option very generous and it has worked very well for us. We have usually received our entire deposit back.
The Lake Tahoe area is a wonderful place to visit during all four seasons. We like the summers best and are glad we have discovered this lovely place to rent. Our family looks forward to returning each year.
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Best of Tahoe Keys - Waterfront Home on 'Lake Tallac' in Keys
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273167vb
-(925) 708-9746
Tahoe Keys South Lake Tahoe
5

An enjoyable stay!

  • 5 of 5
This home is set up well for families and pet friendly. The yard is fenced and there is a park and tennis courts across the street. We especially enjoyed sitting on the deck overlooking the lagoon and using the kayaks. We also enjoyed the pool table and hot tub. The home is very clean and comfortable and we appreciated the welcome basket upon our arrival. The owners were great to deal with, very responsive and they provided 8 complimentary guest passes to use at the Tahoe Keys facilities.

They offer a refundable cleaning deposit which made our trip more affordable.

We will definitely rent again and recommend this home to our friends and family.
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Best of Tahoe Keys - Waterfront Home on 'Lake Tallac' in Keys
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273167vb
-(925) 708-9746
Tahoe Keys South Lake Tahoe
El Cerrito, CA
2

Just pay the cleaning fee!

  • 2 of 5
The house was alright for a last minute rental, and the location was good. However, just pay the cleaning fee! 5 adults wasted our last day on cleaning instead of having fun on the water - kind of sucks, plus then the long drive home.
The feedback as to why we lost half of the cleaning deposit was that we didn't fold the towels properly, put the dining table decorations back in the exact location, hadn't unloaded the dishwasher, didn't put away all of the kitchen gadgets to their appropriate places, there was a spot on the fridge, a spot on the floor, there was sand in the hot tub, etc. You couldn't do it right, do don't bother!
Seriously, if you sleep downstairs, it smells like cat pee (not sure if they own cats or if the juniper jungle outside is the culprit but smells bad nonetheless). The bathroom toilets do not work well. The real kicker for me was after wasting our energy cleaning the house, the garbage service is a mile's drive down the road. There isn't proper garbage service at the house. Disgusting! Who wants to put that in their car?
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have successfully managed our vacation rental for the last five years and have had many. many happy guests. We offer an optional refundable cleaning deposit. Many guests tell us they like the flexibility of this policy and it works well about 98% of the time. We do have high standards but our guests consistently arrive to a clean, well appointed and comfortable home.
We made every effort to satisfy this guest. We refunded their cleaning deposit in full but were told there would be a negative review posted (by a guest we had never heard from) if we did not change our cleaning deposit to a flat fee. We provided a detailed list of what needed to be cleaned and organized after their stay; the review includes only a partial list.
In our contract we ask that a guest tell us upon arrival or any time during their stay to contact us with any issue so we can address and resolve it. We consistently make every effort to be responsive to our guests. We did not hear from this guest until after their stay and they commented "We quite enjoyed our weekend at your home." The review is the first we became aware that there was any issue with the bathrooms.
Our home is located in the Tahoe Keys and we are required to pay for a weekly garbage service. Pickup day is Friday and cans may not be left on the curb. Tahoe Keys HOA requires that vacation renters use the dumpsters near their office if they depart on any other day. We also do not require guests remove the garbage if they choose not to and the review is the first we became aware of this issue.
We do not allow cats in the property. No guest has ever complained of any such odor before. The review is the first we became aware that there was any odor and when I followed up the guest told me that there were several guests that have bad allergies. We were at the property before this guest arrived and after this guest departed and we did not notice any odor.
This review is not indicative of our home or the typical guest experience. Our goal is for our guests to have an enjoyable stay and to return again. We appreciate our guests taking the time to offer comments and suggestions and we take them seriously.
We do not normally solicit guests for reviews but will make every effort to provide more current reviews and or guest comments.
business
Best of Tahoe Keys - Waterfront Home on 'Lake Tallac' in Keys
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273167vb
-(925) 708-9746
Tahoe Keys South Lake Tahoe
Somerville, MA
3

Comfortable cabin but make sure it is very clean when you leave

  • 3 of 5
My friends and I went up there for 2 nights to ski in Heavenly and we found the house to be comfortable, warm, and easy to find. The living space was nice and the kitchen was well equipped. The hot tub was there but we didn't use it. They have a cool organ there as well. There were enough beds for everyone but I still preferred the couch because the bunk bed room was too small.

Some minor issues we had are that the fireplace was broken and we couldn't get the fire to get bigger. A lot of the kitchen condiments/spices are also expired so use them at your own risk! Lastly, the hot water ran out when all the baths were in use.

We were kind of disappointed by the cleaning policy. We kept the house clean and we brought our own towels. We laundered all the sheets and placed them on the beds. We also scrubbed the kitchen and bathrooms and vacuumed the floors as well. Finally we tossed the garbage out in the community dumpster. Magazines were arranged nicely. The only thing we missed was swapping the king and queen bed linen. After all our work, we still got billed for 6 hours of cleaning. I don't know what the cleaning person did there for 6 hours must have watched the TV or something or fell asleep. That was very upsetting and had I known that they were going to charge us for 6 hours cleaning anyways, I wouldn't have bothered to be extremely detailed in our cleaning at all. What stinks is before we used the master bath, we had to clean it even because parts of it were gross.

After some back and forth with the cabin owner they refunded 2 hrs of cleaning, but it still left a bad taste in our mouth. In summary, good cabin, comfortable living space, tricky cleaning policy.
  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We wish to thank the reviewer for his positive comments, and note this is the first time we have had any dispute with a party and also our first critical review. The party contacted us because they were dissatisfied with the cleaning deposit refund. Almost all parties receive the deposit back in full or with charges for 1-2 hours or less of further cleaning. This party had not cleaned at all, resulting in a full 6 hours of clean-up work, which we did personally.

The party, however, stated they left the home completely cleaned, which certainly was not what we found on arrival, and threatened a negative review. For the sake of good will, we agreed to an additional refund of two hours of cleaning charge to settle the matter amicably and avoid a bad review. They agreed, accepted the additional refund, then posted their review anyway.

We contacted VRBO and forwarded the e-mails showing that we had already settled with the party by adjusting the refund. However, VRBO's response was "we do not investigate reviews" but that we could explain about the settlement in our response. We are disappointed this party chose to post their review anyway after we had responded and agreed to the additional refund, which we did not feel was warranted based on the uncleaned condition of the house.

We provide a refundable cleaning deposit for responsible guests to save money if they want to clean the house themselves. If they don't want to clean up, that's fine too, but then we charge for cleaning. This takes a much greater management effort than simply charging everyone a large standard cleaning fee, as we visit the house personally each time to decide how much we can refund and do whatever clean-up is necessary. We inform guests that it takes about 6 person-hours to do a complete cleaning.

Sadly, what we've learned from this is that our refundable deposit does leave us exposed to those few people who will "game the system." However, we are continuing to offer it as most of our renters want this and hopefully there are not many "bad apples" out there.

Regarding Josh's other issues: we found and removed three condiments that were out of date by 1-2 months; the bunk bed room is exactly the size pictured on the website; the house has a standard water heater; this was a party of 10, apparently the hot water ran out when everyone showered the same morning; and the "broken" fireplace worked perfectly if you turned on the switch, as it says in the instructions.

- Tom & Lauren

Map

Map

Photos

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rates & Availability

Tahoe Keys House Rental Rates

Notes

  • From $260/nt - $300/wknd - $1900/wk
  • US Dollars
  • Apr 04-May 26, Sep 07-Nov 21 .. $260/night .. $300/weekend (Fri-Sat) .. $1900/week
  • Nov 21- Apr 3, May 25-Sep 06 .. $330/night .. $385/weekend (Fri-Sat) .. $2420/week
  • 2 nt min;3 nt if Fed or Thanksgiv Hol;4 nt if inclds Xmas Eve/Day or NY Eve/Day
  • Fed or Thnksgiving: add 25% to total rent for all rentals including nts during:
  • MLK Jr. Day Wkd.; Pres. Day Wkd.; Mem. Day Wkd.; 7/4 Wkd.; Labor Day Wkd.
  • Add 35% to total rent for all rentals during: Xmas Eve/Day, New Year Eve/Day
  • paymnt due 30 dys pr stay or 60 if hol. 10% local tax applies in addition to rate
  • 10% xcl fee if xcl w/in 30 days of stay; $250 REFUNDABLE clng/sec dep ($350 w/pet)
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Amenities

Tahoe Keys House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • King size beds (1) Master suite: California King, luxury linens & comforter, separate sitting area with fireplace & views., Queen size Beds (2) Queen beds in downstairs master and second upstairs bedroom., Twin or Single Beds (2) Single bed in second upstairs bedroom (in addition to queen). Extra mattress in supply room., Child Beds (1) Child-size bed in supply room., Bunk Beds (2) Downstairs "bunk room" sleeps four in two bunk beds. Bunk room is on separate hallway, which keeps downstairs master quiet at night.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Private dock has 2 kayaks and rowboat for Lake Tallac. Tahoe Keys is a large level neighborhood with open mountain views, with semi-private beach and all amenities (2 community pools, sauna, tennis, etc.). Tahoe Keys is one of the few areas where you seldom need tire chains or 4x4 due to level roads and frequent plowing. Walk to tennis, great for bicycling, 2 community pools and sauna (facility charges may apply), and all the other Tahoe Keys amenities, plus Lake Tallac!

Other Vacation Properties

$2,205 - $4,025 per week
2 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 10
$2,940 - $7,315 per week
3 - 5 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 11
$2,275 - $4,200 per week
2 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 7 BA,
  • Sleeps 12

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote