Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

PRICELESS VIEWS... MOUNTAIN QUIETUDE.

Carol and Tony Hyde

Advertiser since: 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Carol and Tony Hyde

Advertiser since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 2, 2014
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

PRICELESS VIEWS... MOUNTAIN QUIETUDE.

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview

Mammoth Lakes Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 5)

**ASK US ABOUT DISCOUNTED LIFT TICKETS**

Come home at the end of an exhilarating day in Mammoth to your mountain sanctuary. This two-bedroom, two-bathroom condo is a home away from home, in a small, quiet complex. Sits 8000 feet up, yet is a 2 minute drive from town. The condo has panoramic views of the mountains, and a million-dollar view of the sunrise from the living room and master bedroom. Sit in the living room with your coffee and enjoy the sunrise, or hot toddy in the evening with the alpen glow over the mountains. We are 2 minutes drive to Canyon Lodger where you can buy lift tickets and get on the mountain. Or ski in/ski out for the adventurous: through the woods, half way down Blue Jay (chair 8), or walk 500 meters along Davison to Canyon Lodge. Peruse our eclectic selection of reading material in our cozy living room. TV-DVD in each bedroom, and large flat screen in living room.

Plenty of firewood available to sit in front of a roaring fire. Parking is right out front of the unit, park, unpack and walk in.

If you prefer cross-country skiing, the condo is about eight minutes to Tamarack Lodge Cross Country, the main cross-country place in Mammoth. Many trails begin there, and they rent skis and snow shoes as well. Mammoth is a winter wonderland, and the condo has easy access to it all, yet the fact that it's in a small complex (with a large Jacuzzi) makes it feel secluded and private.

The condo's master bedroom has a queen bed, an attached bathroom, and gorgeous views over the mountains. The second bathroom in the unit is right next to the second bedroom, which has a double bed and a twin bed arranged as bunk beds. Flat screen TV-DVD in both bedrooms. Another person can sleep on the sofa bed in the living room.

The open-concept floor plan means there are great views, from the kitchen, dining area and living room, of the mountains, snowcapped in the winter or just sparkingly gorgeous year-round.

Skiing is wonderful in Mammoth, but if you're planning a visit outside of ski season, there is no shortage of things to do. The great outdoors is on your doorstep at the condo; explore it via hiking, biking, fishing, swimming, anything you choose. The condo is near world-renowned outdoor beauty, such as Mono Lake and Yosemite National Park. That being said, after using this condo as a base camp for our high alpine explorations for many years, my husband and I have yet to exhaust the scenic trails just beyond our doorstep.

In any season, there's always something to see and do in and around Mammoth -- or you can just relax at the condo, your own mountain retreat.

Keywords: Condominium

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Carol and Tony Hyde (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 2, 2014

About Carol and Tony Hyde

Tony and Carol are avid outdoors people who love to spend time in nature. They live in the beach town of Encinitas where Tony surfs and Carol hikes and walks on the beach. They love to ski and hike together, and they fell in love with the hiking and skiing of the Sierras, home of John Muir Wilderness and Yosemite Park. The town of Mammoth is quaint and cozy and the people are friendly. Buying a condo in Mammoth allows them to visit as often as possible and enjoy the beautiful outdoors.

Carol and Tony Hyde purchased this condo in 1999

Why Carol and Tony Hyde chose Mammoth Lakes

Mammoth Mountain has some of the best snow in the world. The hiking trails are extensive and Mammoth and the Sierras are a backpacker's delight. Any trail will lead you to a lake or two, and the beauty is spectacular, with views in virtually every direction.

What makes this condo unique

Canyon Lodge is 2 minutes from the condo, and you can rent skis or get your lift tickets there, while avoiding the crowds at the Main Lodge. 8 minutes down the road is the famous Tamarack Lodge, home of the cross-country ski track. You can rent cross-country skis there and head out, or take a lesson. Or you can rent some snow shoes in town and head out the many trails of Tamarack. June Lake is 10 minutes away, with kayaking available, and within 5 minutes of the condo are many lakes for fishing. A fisherman's paradise. The famous Mono Lake is 20 minutes away, and Yosemite is down the road. In the summer, heading out from the condo, within 10 minutes you can be on beautiful hiking trails leading to summits and lakes and meeting up with the Pacific Crest Trail, or the John Muir Trail.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.4
based on 19 traveler reviews

Write a Review
PRICELESS VIEWS... mountain quietude.
average rating of 4.4210525 based on 19 reviews
business
PRICELESS VIEWS... mountain quietude.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270712vb
Mammoth Lakes Gold Country / High Sierra
Maui, Hawaii
4

I have been enjoying this condo for years!

  • 4 of 5
I have been enjoying this condo with breathtaking views for years! My focus was always on the beautiful view and great location for skiing and I always had a good time and comfortable stay however the feathertio beds and new furniture additions are a nice improvement to make my stays even more comfortable. Thanks for the improvements. I'll be back soon!
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Tom! We always love having you and your wife stay in the condo!!!
Warm regards,
Carol and Tony
business
PRICELESS VIEWS... mountain quietude.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270712vb
Mammoth Lakes Gold Country / High Sierra
1

Not what we expected

  • 1 of 5
My family and I were very disappointed in the condition of this rental unit. The furniture was in such poor shape, I don't think the Goodwill would even accept it. The shower heads are so low if you are over 5 feet you need to bend over to get any water on you. There were mouse traps in the kitchen cabinets , so we only ate out. The water pressure was so forceful in the kitchen two glasses were broke because they were knocked out of our hands while we tried to rinse them out. No wifi, stereo doesn't work and you can't use a hairdryer because you might blow a circuit.
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: HI Ellen,
So sorry you did not enjoy the condo. We had another negative review, so my husband and I went up the day you checked out, and put in some beautiful new furniture in the living room, and fixed the nozzle of the kitchen sink. Looks beautiful now! Wish we had gotten there before your family came! By the bye, there is wifi and it works great, and it is okay to use a hair dryer, use them all the time in the winter! Thanks for your review..the condo has had a facelift! Warm regards,
Carol
business
PRICELESS VIEWS... mountain quietude.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270712vb
Mammoth Lakes Gold Country / High Sierra
Santa Clara CA
5

Magical Weekend Get away

  • 5 of 5
Memorable weekend. the comfortable condo provided a cozy atmosphere as we came back from long hikes.
We loved looking at the view from the living room and admired a spectacular sunrise from the bedroom.
Hope to go back soon
July 2014
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
PRICELESS VIEWS... mountain quietude.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270712vb
Mammoth Lakes Gold Country / High Sierra
San Diego, CA
5

Our Family Loves This Condo!

  • 5 of 5
This cozy condo was the perfect mountain retreat for my family. It was clean, well maintained and had lovely views. The location was very convenient and not too far from town. We appreciated how helpful the owners were with booking this place and their suggestions on what to do in the area. We look forward to our next stay. Will definitely be back. :)
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
PRICELESS VIEWS... mountain quietude.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270712vb
Mammoth Lakes Gold Country / High Sierra
Oakland, CA
2

The beds, oh the beds

  • 2 of 5
We stayed in this unit for a week during the summer and found it to be in desperate need of updating. The mattresses were terrible; hard, lumpy and very uncomfortable. The living room furniture was dated, uncomfortable, and even falling apart (one chair had its upholstery held on with packing tape). The appliances were very old, though they seemed to work fine. Perhaps for a weekend, this unit would be okay, but after sleeping on the beds and sitting on the furniture for a week, we all had back pain.

The location was very nice, the jacuzzi worked well, and the view was lovely (though partially blocked with a large tree). In addition, there were several new-ish looking TVs, though we didn't use them, so I can't vouch for how well they worked.

I feel bad writing a less than favorable review, because the owners were so helpful. We had trouble getting the internet working, and the owners were incredibly responsive and had the internet company call me to remedy the problem! Every email with a question was responded to immediately. If the unit got some newer furniture, and a better bathroom door in the master (it was an odd folding plastic accordion door that did not close completely), we would definitely stay here again. Unfortunately, without some serious updates, this is not a comfortable place to stay.
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, you are our first unfavorable one! Yet we appreciate all feedback, and we are heading up to Mammoth this weekend, with some beautiful new living room furniture..it is time to let go of our furniture that has so many memories! We were heading up there to do some updates, you have just inspired us to take some furniture as well:) Oh yes..we will take some featherbed toppers as well!! We love our condo, and want others to enjoy it too!!!Warm regards, Carol and Tony
business
PRICELESS VIEWS... mountain quietude.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270712vb
Mammoth Lakes Gold Country / High Sierra
4

Perfect and cozy!

  • 4 of 5
Had a wonderful stay! This is a place where you walk in and feel right at home. The view from the living room/deck was fantastic. The location is great! It is clean. Would definitely stay here again!
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Map

Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Mammoth-Yosemite Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Canyon Lodge or Mammoth Village Bars
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
state highway 395
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
in the village complex
Nearest Ski
500 Miles
Mammoth Mountain... click in just up our road
Car: recommended

all season sports and recreational paradise, in bounds-out of bounds (check with Mammoth Mountaineering, on Main St. just beyond Old Mammoth Rd-by Taco Bell)

great fly fishing in summer, all kinds of outfitters, try TroutFitters by Shell St. corner of Main and Old Mammoth. Literally your doorstep to the High Sierras, if you like hiking and scenic beauty don't miss Mammoth, its alot more then a great ski mountain. Great summer festival scene, music etc.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $115 Per night

Mammoth Lakes Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Christmas
Dec 18 2014 - Jan 1 2015
4 night minimum stay
$240
 
 
Martin Luther King
Jan 16 2015 - Jan 19 2015
3 night minimum stay
$225
 
 
President's Day
Feb 13 2015 - Feb 17 2015
3 night minimum stay
$225
 
 
Summer
May 1 2015 - Sep 30 2015
3 night minimum stay
$115
From
$125
Fri,Sat
$780
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$185
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $135
Tax Rate 13.0%
Notes Tax 13%
Cleaning $125.00
No Smoking Unit

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Mammoth Lakes Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 bunk bed , Bunk bed with double bed underneath and twin on top
    Convertible bed(s) - Sofa pull-out in living room.
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Comfortable queen bed and beautiful view from bed.
  • Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), Bunk Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling

Other Vacation Properties

$833 - $2,443 per week
2 - 3 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$1,193 - $5,103 per week
2 - 3 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 7
$1,073 - $4,893 per week
2 - 3 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote