Submitted: June 8, 2012
Stayed: April 2012
This was a tough review to write because our overall experience at ‘Greek Paradise in Oia’ was definitely not as good as we expected. We loved Oia, and hope to go back. But next time, we will choose a different cave house.
To be fair, the cave house was exactly as described and as shown in the pictures. It’s in a good location right in the heart of Oia. The patio has a nice view of the caldera, but not 180 degrees as there is a large building to one side.
We chose this particular cave house primarily for the location and the fact that it had a washer/dryer. As it turns out, the washer/dryer is not self-service – which was a big issue for us as we were completely out of clean clothes upon arriving in Santorini. After some difficulty communicating, the maid finally helped us out. There doesn’t seem to be any self-service laundry on Santorini – although I did see laundry services in Fira and Kamari.
Breakfast was simple – a spinach pie or a piece of bread delivered in a Tupperware dish – tasty, but not much. We had trouble coordinating the deliveries with the housekeeper so we were woken up several mornings in order to answer the door when she knocked repeatedly (despite having left a note on the door in Greek and English).
The bathroom has beautiful mosaic tiled walls – but beware that the height of the room would make it difficult for anyone taller than my 5 ‘ 11” to shower there (as it was, I had to hold the nozzle above my head). I had to duck down to get into the bathroom. And the canopy bed in the bedroom made the already small back room seem even more claustrophic.
The owner, Maria, was not on Santorini during our stay. We picked up and dropped off the key at a local shop, where the young shopkeeper was pleasant but not especially welcoming. Based upon the other reviews, I’m guessing that we would have had a better experience if she was there to coordinate.
We had done a lot of research before selecting Greek Paradise in Oia, and were disappointed – not the value that we were expecting or received at the other places we visited in Greece.
Tourists without a Car,
Owner's Response: Dear Christine, firstly I would like to thank you for having the courtesy to mention that GREEK PARADISE IN OIA is advertised exactly as it is in reality.
You can find nowhere in the description that the house has a 180 view. In the posted photos one can see that there is a house at the right side. However that does not bother the visitor to enjoy an unobstructed view of the Caldera. If it was a real obstacle you would have seen it because, as you mention, you had made a detailed research!
Nowhere in the site is written that the washed/drier is self-service. On the other hand it is clearly mentioned that the first use is for free as another offer to our guests. Our aim is to help guests having an easy time in our house. Talking about your case, the maid was informed and your matter was solved within 24 hours. There is a basket next to the closet just for that reason, for you to put clothes you would like us to wash for you.
Concerning the height of the bathroom. The house is called a cave house because it is in a cave, it was dug in the volcanic ash more than 1000 years ago. People then were shorter and they had constructed their home accordingly. However inside the bathroom is about 2 meters high.
We believe that offering a traditional homemade pie and homemade freshly baked bread is the kind of the original food someone would like to taste in Santorini. Breakfast is a courtesy of the house and sorry if it didn’t suit your exact taste.
The instructions to the maid were for the breakfast to arrive at your front door between 9:00 and 10:00. We wouldn’t have thought that it would be early for you. This has changed and now it is according to guests’ request.
At the time of your arrival I was not able to be in Santorini but let me remind you of our exchange of mails satisfying all your needs, coordinating appropriately the stuff in Santorini.
I would like to pinpoint that there is no comparison between staying in a cave house in Santorini to being accommodated in other places in Greece. The cave house is unique and I am sorry that you chose to zoom at trivial details than to be open to all that original, natural beauty that was spreading in front of your eyes!
Dear Christine, once again I thank you for choosing “Greek Paradise” as your Oia accommodation and I wish you would come again so as to appreciate its view and the Greek hospitality, two factors which previous guests have emphasized on.
Helpful votes: 5/7
Did you find this review helpful?