Take Lots of Pictures
Submitted: May 12, 2011
Stayed: March 2011
This unit is in a good location with the town being as easy 15 minute walk away and the ocean directly below the balcony. Because it is on the top floor there is a lovely cross breeze which makes it cool at night for sleeping. The unit is, however, a little tired. There is a nice leather sofa which is very comfortable, but other furnishings are less so. The are baskets of dusty greenery in every room and the prints on the walls are sun faded. The washer and dryer are rusting and the dishwasher is hard to open. The kitchen supplies are curious; there are three coffee pots, but no salad spinner, the toaster takes several attempts to brown the bread and the icemaker does not work. The biggest problem though, is that the owners accused us of leaving the unit a mess even though we did all that was asked of us on the rental agreement and more. My mother walked into a screen door and the screen came loose at the bottom. For this, plus repair of an outdoor outlet we did not use and extra cleaning (beyond non refundable cleaning deposit) they kept a significant amout of our damage deposit and sent us messages accusing us of leaving dirty dishes and utensils scattered throughout the unit, of having more people staying in the unit than we paid for, and of being their worst guests ever. At my request they sent us photos. These photos showed a dirty oven which we never used, dirty placemats we never used, cords out of place and a frying pan which had not been properly cleaned. We were also blamed for an untidy linen closet and empty ice cube trays. I would encourage anyone staying is this unit to take pictures of every room, every cupboard and closet, to take pictures of any disorder before settling in. I would also take pictures after doing final cleanup.
This unit was not in top notch condition when we arrived, but the price was reasonable and we loved the location. Had we taken our own before and after pictures we would not have had to spend a month on unpleasant correspondence.
Tourists without a Car
Owner's Response: Consider This Traveler's Integrity -----
Donna's email comments upon arrival to our home states, " Everything seems to be in good order; " and "We found your unit is wonderful condition - clean refrigerater, stove, bathrooms, etc." - a contradiction to the review she posted.. --
An important response to one comment, "they kept a significant amout of our damage deposit" - 70% of her damage deposit was returned, deducting for replacement of a torn screen from our brand new screen door and replacement of a damaged exterior GFI receptacle (safety hazard). --
Here is the complete email she sent when they arrived --
"Judy, we arrived a day late due to problems in Seattle and San Francisco, but our car and your unit were still here. We are enjoying your place and my mother is spending afternoons on the chaise looking at the cruise ships. As I write this, she is enjoying her Gin and tonic and waiting to see if we are going to have a sunset. Everything seems to be in good order; we are not using the disposal, but have used the dryer for some clothes we hand washed. One thing: my mother noticed some stains on the carpet. I have not really noticed them, but if you are unaware of any stains, let us know and we will take pictures of what she found as I do not want to be held accountable for something someone else did.
We found your unit is wonderful condition - clean refrigerater, stove, bathrooms, etc. My mother has been happily dusting so your next guests should find your place in excellent condition. We are having warm sunny mornings by the pool, exploring the island until three or four, enjoying the pool during the late afternoon, eating in and watching DVDS. The weather has been in the low eighties and we are emailing friends in rainy Seattle with attachments of blue skies and breaking waves. My mother is most impressed by the proximity to the water. thank you, Donna"
Did you find this review helpful?