Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Cozy Family Beach home

Cassandra

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Cassandra

Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 27, 2015
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Cozy Family Beach home

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

Astoria House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 3.25 Baths sleeps 3 couples plus kiddos

This home is very cozy and comfortable for the ultimate relaxation weekend. Just a 1/8 of a mile ( nice walk)from the beach where you can enjoy a beautiful sunset or hear the wonderful sound of waves on the shoreline.

House is fully stocked….each bedroom has a comfortable queen bed, TV and separate bath. Extra set of quality sheets are in each room. Upstairs couch folds out to queen bed. Linens in bedroom next to it.

Astoria has great art galleries and history. Seaside has Doogers restaurant and bumper cars. Gearhart has nice shopping and food. Costco and Fred Meyer are a few miles north.

VCR/DVD and Stereo is in great room………..there are some games and movies…

Washer/Dryer as well as a barbeque on front deck. There is no local phone service at the home at this time but most cell phones work.

Our beach is expansive and quiet. We get lots of sun and there are a variety of sand dollars and cockle shells for finding. You can walk which is about 3 blocks or we like to pack the car up and drive on and set up camp for the day. Lewis and Clark trails are there as well.

Will concider trade for rental in warmer climate for a vacation swap.

Keywords: Cozy family Beach Home 1/4 mile to beach to Sunset beach access. Short walk from house.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Cassandra (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 27, 2015

About Cassandra

Hello,

I am a father of a 21 year old son who shares my passion of golf. We enjoy using our membership to Astoria Country club when we can get away from the city. I love the beach; fresh air and soothing sounds of the ocean are very relaxing. It is a quick trip from Portland.I have been using Vacation by Owner for the past two and have had many wonderful families use my home for all over the states. Thank you for visitng our site and I hope you will find my home is one you will want to re-visit time again.

Cheers,

Chris

Cassandra purchased this house in 1997

Why Cassandra chose Astoria

I have been coming to the Astoria area since I was a young child. I love the community and the warm people who surround it.

What makes this house unique

Quarter mile from the beach (one of the few places you can actually drive your car onto the beach). Between Astoria and Seaside. Lewis and Clark trail head is a few minutes away featuring a 3 mile and a 5 mile hike. Near by shopping - Seaside, Costco, outlet mall, Home Depot and even a new Goodwill superstore.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.8
based on 17 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Cozy Family Beach home
average rating of 4.8235292 based on 17 reviews
3

Great location,needs a few adjustments

  • 3 of 5

We loved the house in general- well stocked, plenty large enough for our two families. Biggest problem is the house smells like dog urine. It is pretty strong in the main house but especially in the master bedroom and laundry room. We were provided only 4 dishwasher detergent pods for our entire 5 day stay & were required to strip sheets, wash towels and take out garbage even though we paid a cleaning fee. The kids were very excited to use the treehouse in front but there is no ladder to access it which was a disappointment. The Internet was extremely slow (only 1.3 Mbps which is extremely slow - we were unable to stream movies) and we were disconnected numerous times. That said, there were a ton of TV channels available with the satellite so we used that primarily.

We loved the area- tons to do and tons to see. We also love that the house was so close to Sunset Beach and the Fort to Sea trail which we hiked.

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Amy, I am sorry to hear you were so upset about the beach house. We take great pride in providing good service. I wanted to address each issue in hopes you would reconsider taking the negative review off the site. 1. . We were provided only 4 dishwasher detergent pods for our entire 5 day stay & were required to strip sheets. We provide one pod for each night people stay. Our service is instructed to put a pod out for each night stay. It sounds like we need to adjust this with each day. With the 4pm check in and 11 AM check out, we felt that was enough. The sheets being stripped is so we know what beds are used. Many times we only have one or two of the rooms used and this allows the cleaners to know to wash all beds used. We don’t require we just ask. When we have quick turn around it is not possible with one dryer to get every them dry if they are all used. the garbage under kitchen. We ask everyone to take out garbage under the sink. It is the beach and many people love to feast on seafood which can smell. The garbage can is just a few steps out the front door. 2. The owner was in the home two nights before you arrived and left the morning of your arrival. He did not smell any dog smell. We have not had dogs in the house since late December and have been down ourselves frequently not smelling anything. I believe you when you say there is a smell and I took action first thing this morning. I had cleaning people to go over and address any smell coming from the house. The reported there is not dog smell but feel an animal smell more like a skunk is lingering. Our heating furnace is located under the house and we are sending someone under to check to see if an animal may have gotten under there and perished or is nesting, If we had known while you were there this was going on I would have sent someone over to investigate immediately. I strongly believe telling future renters feeling the house smells like dog urine will be a huge negative effect on us. We do not allow dogs to urinate in our house and there are no stains in our carpets to claim it is dog urine. 3. Play house- We do not advertise we provide a playhouse and for liability issues we do not feel it is safe to have access to it. 4.Internet- We just got internet a few months ago and have returned the box twice we have been told it is just bad service at the beach. It is slow. Please accept our apologies for your accommodations, we were only a phone call away had we known.

A Pleasant Surprise

  • of 5

We had to make a last minute trip for a family matter and we contacted the owners/listing the day we arrived. They went out of their way to help us get the house reserved and booked. This was our first time using this service and we were a little skeptical about what we were doing. However, when we arrived at the house we were pleasantly surprised. The house was better than the pictures and everything was clean and in perfect working order. This house was our sliver lining and helped reduce the stress of our days events. We have already started making plans for a vacation at the house next year and we will be traveling all the way from Tennessee!

Thank you both for all of your help and allowing us to stay at your wonderful house.

  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Denver, CO
5

What a Deal!

  • 5 of 5

This house is a very comfortable place to stay when visiting the North Coast of Oregon. It's located in a small mixed use neighborhood just off the road to Sunset Beach State Park. The beach is a little too far to walk to with all your gear-instead you can drive onto the beach and have everything you could possibly need at your fingertips! It was a great beach for flying kites and having a bonfire. If you want tidepools and picturesque offshore rocks you can drive a short distance south to the secluded beaches at Ecola State Park, or Cannon Beach, a lovely old resort community with its big and much photographed haystack rock. Even closer to your vacation rental is the Coney Island style Seaside Resort and the quirky little town of Astoria to the N.E. It was really fun to hike about a mile thru the rainforest up to the historic Astoria Column for a wonderful view of the whole area and to fly balsam airplanes from the top after having made the 164 step accent! Our group of 7 from 1 to 70 loved the house and area as you can tell!

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5

We are currently staying at this residence and want to recommend it to those considering a getaway in this location. We have a 16 year old and a 14 year old that have had a blast here. The property was exactly as advertised. We haven't had a single problem with the property since we have been here. Working with our point of contact prior to coming up was effortless and everything was taken care of. We paid a little extra for an early check in because we were traveling from California and the property manager/owner had no issues with letting us do that. I would recommend this property to family and friends and when we get back up here, I would definitely consider staying here again. My kids love the Goonies so we spent one day just driving around Astoria looking up the Goonies house, The Flavel Mansion, the bowling alley, etc. The rest of the time was spent on exploring the local area: Seaside, Tillamook, Lincoln City, and a day of shopping in Portland. We would've hoped for better weather but the Pacific Northwest is the Pacific Northwest.

We brought our half Rotty half German Shepherd along with us and he loved it too. The beach was probably his favorite part.

I will update this at the end of the trip.

  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
arizona
5

Coastal getaway

  • 5 of 5

Loved it will definitly be back.

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
5

Fishing Trip

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time, the accomodations were excellent. My only issue was it would have been nice to have some general check out instructions. Otherwise the home was excellent. I would definately stay here again.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Map

Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Astoria Country Club
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
1/8 mile to Hwy 30
Car: recommended

Two minutes drive from sunset Beach access where you can drive right onto the beach. Ten min walk Lewis and Clark hiking trails blocks away. There is no ocean view from home. Lake with in few min walk. Check in is 4PM and Check out is 11AM. At times we can extend the check out to 12PM if we don't have rental back to back.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $159 Per night

Astoria House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
spring Break
Mar 20 2015 - Mar 29 2015
4 night minimum stay
$200
From
$250
Fri,Sat
 
 
Spring
Mar 30 2015 - May 31 2015
2 night minimum stay
$169
From
$189
Fri,Sat
 
 
june
Jun 1 2015 - Jun 30 2015
2 night minimum stay
$189
From
$199
Fri,Sat
 
 
July
Jul 1 2015 - Jul 31 2015
3 night minimum stay
$200
From
$225
Fri,Sat
 
 
Aug
Aug 1 2015 - Aug 30 2015
4 night minimum stay
$225
From
$250
Fri,Sat
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$159
From
$199
Fri,Sat
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $100
Pet Fee $25
Property Damage Protection $49
Tax Rate 8.0%
Notes Pet fee per night per pet is $25.00 Most Federal holidays which fall on a Monday are additional rates and three day min. spring break and all holiday weeks are at high season rate. Oregon- spring break is March 21st-March 31. ALL MAJOR HOLIDAYS AND SPECIAL EVENTS MAY HAVE HIGHER RATES. Check in 4pm and check out 11 am

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Astoria House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 9 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3.25
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Queen size Beds (3), Twin or Single Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1) porta-crib, clip on high chair, blowup queen mattress (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
soaking tub in master bathroom Check in is 4PM and Check out is 11AM

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

$1,650 - $2,000 per week
2 - 4 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$1,890 - $2,450 per week
2 - 3 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$600 - $1,300 per week
2 - 3 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 7

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote