Enter dates to see total
Email Owner Email

Owner John/Ellie Day

Speaks english, tagalog, ilocano
Bedrooms Studio
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


Kaneohe Studio Rental Photos and Description

Studio + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 2)

Small, cute, clean, simple, cool and affordable get-a-way on the other side of the island, nestled up on a hill, overlooking Kaneohe Bay, probably one of the most beautiful views you'll ever see in your life. The sun setting behind the Koolau Mountains, back-dropping the Bay, the palms waving in the trade-wind breeze,sounds of birds singing in the trees shading the property; the many different shades of blues and greens, and white, fluffy clouds, coloring the landscape. Beautiful!!

(note: FYI! please be aware we are in a tropical location and do have an occasional bug that may wander in)

and lastly, we cannot offer you a 40' t.v.

nor alot of space, nor a Ja-cu-zi,

our only air? is the trade-wind breeze,

and our piped in music? The song of the bird in the tree

But, we do have 2 things we can offer you,

affordable rates, and........


(see also Our little Shack under the tree at listing #-3708322)

  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair accessible

Owner John/Ellie Day

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2009
Speaks english, tagalog, ilocano

Brought Mom and Dad to Hawaii when I was 7, back in the early 1900's, when they bought our home here, on the side of a hill, overlooking Kaneohe Bay, when there was only 1 road over the Pali to our side of the island. They have always entertained people as I was growing up, so we figured we should do the same and create a unit on the property so you can enjoy what we have for a reasonable price. If we don't get to personally meet, its because we are at our other cottage, 5000 miles west of here, on the island of Samar where we often spend some of our life at my wife, Ellie's, homeland.

Also look for the availability of our beach cottage on the island of Samar which is now on our other VRBO site.- including real estate for sale for those of you interested in investing in beachfront property on some of the beautiful, virgin, pristine islands within the 7,107 islands of the Philippine Archipelago.

Aloha, Uncle Dan & Ellie.

Owner John/Ellie Day purchased this studio in 1954

Mom and Dad's choice in 1954

Bedrooms Studio
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


Property Reviews

33 Reviews Write a Review
---A Room with a View---
average rating of 4.878788 based on 33 reviews
---A Room with a View---
Kaneohe Oahu
Colorado Springs

First trip to Hawaii

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This was our first trip to Hawaii. We chose to stay at "a Room with a View" because it was away from hectic tourist locations in Honolulu, but close enough to visit. We LOVED the accommodations. The view was amazing. Uncle Dan and Ellie were GREAT. We arrived late on Nov. 1 after traveling all day. We were going to try to find a local eaterie, but were met by Dan and Ellie, who invited us to stay for dinner!! Their hospitality was wonderful! We loved falling asleep each night with the island breeze and waking every morning to have our coffee on the Lanai, before hitting the road to explore the island. If we get the opportunity, we will stay there again. Would recommend this relaxing location to anyone visiting.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
---A Room with a View---
Kaneohe Oahu

Beautiful Kaneohe Bay. Highly recommended.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
I live on the big island and my wife and I were looking for a vacation rental in Kaneohe so we could go to a birthday party. We were looking for a while and we were so fortunate to find this accommodation that happened to be located just 4 miles from family and the party locale. The description of this place is accurate. It's a little smaller than the average rooms where we've stayed in the past but it's features (see descriptions) more than make up for the space. The parking spot is less than 20' to either of the 2 entrances. The bedroom space is very comfortable and the view from the room and outside lanai were just beautiful. Waking up in the comfortable bed/bedding to the cross ventilation and the sounds of palm trees as you look out at Kaneohe Bay...so peaceful. The value for staying in Kaneohe is unmatched. Price includes all taxes and fees, which brings actual room cost much less. Additional cleaning fee is nominal. My wife and I hope to return and there is nowhere on the island (we are both from Oahu) that we'd rather stay. I highly recommend Uncle Dan and Ellie's hale and from the looks of their calendar, you would need to book early. Thank you very much!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Wow jack and jodie. Ellie says "so sweet". I gotta agree with you though. Pretty nice here. Nice to have you guys. And as I said in a personal letter, I thot our maid had come and cleaned and prepared the room for our next Guests. But ellie said "no. Jack and jodie left it that way." You guys are unbelievable. Hope to see you again, in the future.
Uncle Dan and Ellie
---A Room with a View---
Kaneohe Oahu
Orlando, FL

Simple, Lovely Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
I have stayed here three times now, in December 2011, December 2012, and March 2014. The first two times I came as a solo female traveler, and the most recent visit I brought my boyfriend. My parents moved to Oahu when I was in college, so I was familiar with the island. My parents have since moved away, but I come back to Oahu to visit friends and vacation. I chose “A Room with a View” because I dislike the busyness of Honolulu. I usually spent a night or two in Honolulu and the rest of the time here. The description of the room is extremely accurate, a 200 square feet studio with a full bathroom and kitchen area with mini refrigerator and one butane burner. The room is very clean with fresh linens (including beach towels!). The photos accurately reflect the property. Uncle Dan has always responded to my emails within 24 hours and clearly communicated expectations to me (like what time I should arrive, etc). In return, I communicate to him what time I will arrive and depart. The location is great, there are three highway options from Kaneohe to Honolulu (H3, Likelike Highway, Pali Highway), so you can be in Honolulu or get to the airport in 30 minutes by car. I highly recommend renting a car. Taking the Bus is an option, but you will spend quite a bit of time waiting for it, and it will take 2-3 times longer to get where you are going. The first time I stayed, I was nervous because I was a solo female traveler, but it turned out great. It was clean, safe, and quiet with private entryway. I love this place and appreciate the kind and generous spirit of Uncle Dan and Ellie. They are wonderful, accommodating hosts, and I hope to see them again soon.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks again Tiffany for choosing us. Always nice to have happy and thankful guests and to know they enjoyed their stay. check out our new place, our Shack in the Back at listing #3708322, our Lil Shack under the Tree- but remember: its just a shack! :-)
Uncle Dan/Ellie
---A Room with a View---
Kaneohe Oahu

A Major Let Down

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
First, a distorted promise by " UNCLE DAN" to pick us up at the airport and down hill after that. It was advertised as small but should have read "tiny" or "miniscule". The room is an attachment to the owners house. It is shack like and badly in need of paint. The area surrounding one of the entry ways was messy in the extreme. The smelly uncovered garbage pails were a short distance from one of the doors. We were told there were bikes available before completing the rental agreement but not told that the property was on a cliff and one of the bikes had no gear changer and bicycling was out of the question.
The décor of the room was pathetic though the bed was comfortable. There was no real toaster available. There were several pots and pans but no stove. Some of the frying pans were coated with mold and stored in a moldy cupboard space. The louvered glass panelling beside the bed was dirty.
No fresh towels or linens were offered unless we asked for them.
We had preferred not to stay at Waikiki but were desperate and left "Unhappy Days" a wk. early for a lovely condo a block from the beach in west Waikiki for only slightly more money. We did not ask for a week's refund but would accept it if it was forthcoming.
One relieving feature was Ellie - a sweet lady.
This property could be what it is advertised if the problems listed above were addressed. eg. for one, at least curtain off the garbage area.
And by the way we live very ordinary lives and in very ordinary circumstance. We did not expect luxury.
Owner's Response: Well- i think constructive criticism is good, and i will definitely do something about those garbage cans. Sorry about the leuvers. We must've missed that. We would like to defend ourselves with the rest that was said. On the day our Guests were to arrive, and we had not heard from them, i decided to call, only to find out they were not coming for another week. Strange, i thot, they would not call to tell us that. When they arrived a week later, i did not charge them the monthly rate, but only for 3 weeks, which we did not have to do. But i felt bad they missed a week. Most rentals require payment in full before check in, and no show means you forfeit your payment. We only require a deposit, with balance due upon check in. And once checked in, no refunds for early check outs.
As our ad says, our place is small and we are up on a hill, as stated in the first page. To comment that we did not say this is simply untrue. We have a new toaster oven, so we do/did have a toaster, and we have a butane stove that works just fine. Yes, our place is simple, the decor, and as stated it is attached to our home/garage and it is as seen in the pictures. We are told by other guests our pics are very accurate.
Yes, I did tell them if they need a ride we could pick them up at the airport at 11:30 pm, but being in Hawaii for a week, to rent a car is best. When they suddenly informed me they were not coming for a week- i was no longer available to pick them up. Another couple, last year, from Russia, Ivan and Elena, could not afford a car at christmas time, so we did pick them up. Most do rent cars.
They asked if we had bikes. I told them my kids do, and they would be happy to let them use them. No charge of course, and not part of any contract. Sorry the bikes were not up to their standard. Towels and sheets? of course ellie makes sure those are supplied when asked for, and her standard is high for cleanliness. But will check those pots and pans better next time.
and then? one day they were gone- a week before they're scheduled check out- no word. no word of thanks. nothing. Well, as it is written " you can please some of the people all the time, and all of the people some of the time, but you cannot please all the people, all the time"- i think Abraham Lincoln said that- But rather than going on defending ourselves further, for the benefit of future Guests, i will let our other 30 plus reviews thru out the years speak for us.

uncle dan/ellie
Helpful votes: 2/2
---A Room with a View---
Kaneohe Oahu

Beautiful view, awesome hosts, great price.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
I really appreciate the simplicity of Happy Days. There’s a peaceful atmosphere away from the bustle of Honolulu. Uncle Dan and Ellie were more than just gracious hosts, they became friends and are more helpful than a concierge at a big hotel. Their welcoming aloha spirit really made our visit fun.
The view from the lanai or even just lying in bed is intoxicating. Surrounded by tropical trees, the view of the water and mountains makes it hard to leave.
A note for physically challenged travelers: the place is on one level with no stairs but doorways are a bit narrow. It worked for me by using walking poles and would probably be fine for a walker.
The secluded setting will make you forget your busy daily lives.
Owner's Response: Thanks guys! Glad it worked out for you. We do say "wheelchair accessible" in the site, but i guess its not really wide enough for a wheel chair. What i'm trying to say, is that, if you are handicapped, you can park next to the unit and get in via the garage entrance, but now we see that only if you can walk in. And once in, we also do not have handicap accessories like handles in bathtubs, etc. but at the same time we do want all to know that if your handicap isn't too severe, i think you can still access the unit. in any rate, glad you guys enjoyed your stay. It was good having you and thank you for choosing us.

uncle dan/ellie
Helpful votes: 1/1
Email Owner Email


Car: recommended

Safeway Store is 2 miles away, and is part of a shopping center with other stores.

Other Activities: shopping, kayaking, basketball, mini golf, parasailing

Email Owner Email


Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Kaneohe Studio Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Minimum Stay
Feb 3 2014 - Feb 1 2015
2 nights

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $50.00
just give a call and pay a deposit of 25%, which goes towards your balance, and pay your balance upon arrival. The security deposit is not separate from your total, its part of it.
Notes cleaning fee is $50.
25% security deposit to hold your reservation; We also do accept visa/master/discover cards.
Hawaii State Tax # W04896156-01
Hawaii State Taxes included (see owner for details)
95/nite- $665/week---- we accept visa/master/discover cards
Email Owner Email


Kaneohe Studio Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • studio
  • floor 1
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View
  • Near The Ocean
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Adventure
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Hair Dryer
  • Parking ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Internet
  • Towels Provided
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Paper Towels
  • Basic Soaps
  • Toilet Paper
  • Wireless Internet
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Grill
  • Kitchenette
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • Room w/a View - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • A nice, comfy Sealy Posturepedic Queen Size bed.
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Beach Towels
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio
  • pets not allowed ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • theme parks
  • cinemas
  • zoo
  • restaurants
  • museums
  • bay/sound
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • beachcombing
  • scenic drives
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • snorkeling/diving
  • tennis
  • sailing
  • basketball court
  • parasailing
  • kayaking
  • deepsea fishing
  • golf
  • fishing
  • surfing
  • snorkeling
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
a couple who stayed with us from Australia, who loved fishing, walked everyday down to a public right-a-away which access's Kaneohe Bay and cast their lines to catch 'oio' or Bonefish in English. He said that this area is a bonefish capital of the world, the best he's seen, and that he even read that info ahead before arriving. I did not know that.....

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Email Owner Email