GORGEOUS SAN FRANCISCO FLAT

Owner

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Contact the Owner

Owner

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

GORGEOUS SAN FRANCISCO FLAT

Cole Valley Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Apartment, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Our delightful flat is perfect for your visit to San Francisco. Better and less expensive than getting a few hotel rooms - you can relax and enjoy your stay.

Located in a pleasant and active neighborhood of restaurants, coffee shops, bars and boutiques and just a short walk to Golden Gate Park (with its newly renovated Academy of Sciences and deYoung Art Museum), the historic Haight-Ashbury neighborhood, Buena Vista Park and Duboce Park.

An easy public transportation/car/taxi ride from the Moscone Convention Center (15 minutes), the Downtown Financial District (15 minutes), and Fisherman’s Wharf (15 minutes).

The flat is located on the 3rd floor of a 1909 Victorian. The flat offers the charm of the Victorian period with updated modern conveniences. You’ll find a well appointed kitchen with everything you need. The flat has 3 Bedrooms, each with Queen beds, a full bath with claw-foot tub and a separate half bath. A covertible sofa bed is available (extra charges apply) for extra guests in the living room, making it possible to sleep 8 in beds. There are separate dining and living rooms. The flat has a flat panel TV, DVD player, Wi-Fi and Cable. There is a washer and dryer located in the flat (daily fee applies) with laundry soap provided. The flat is well furnished, comfortable, light and bright.

When you stay at our flat, you’re a short walk to dozens of neighborhood restaurants serving breakfast lunch and dinner.

Great nightlife with a wide variety of bars – from pubs to sophisticated bars like Alembic (profiled in the NY Times). The Muni subway takes you most parts of the city without a car. Or hop a taxi to the Davies Symphony Hall or War Memorial Opera House. You’re close to everything in our flat.

Our flat will make your trip to San Francisco fantastic.

Keywords: Victorian Flat

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2009
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

My wife and I live in Cole Valley. We've lived in many different parts of SF since 1990, and we think Cole Valley is one of the most charming, accessible and interesting neighborhoods the city has to offer. Our young children also love it - there are so many things to do here for young kids, from the Park to Ocean Beach.

The Owner purchased this apartment in 2007

San Francisco is a unique destination city. Offering some European attributes and some American attributes, it is city like no other. And we wanted a rental in the same city where we live.

We live in Cole Valley, so we do a lot of strolling around the neighborhood. We check out the new exhibits at the deYoung Art Museum, and stop by to see the completely re-done Academy of Sciences, since they're only about 15 minutes walk from our house. And we spend a lot of time in Golden Gate Park at the playgrounds with our twins. When we can get a sitter, we go to dinner at one of the great restaurants, like EOS or Zazie, or we get a drink at the Alembic and a movie at the Red Vic - all a walk from our house.

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.8
based on 24 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Gorgeous San Francisco Flat
average rating of 4.75 based on 24 reviews
business
Gorgeous San Francisco Flat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p262930vb
(415) 632-6626 (California, USA)
Cole Valley San Francisco
San Francisco
5

INCREDIBLE LOCATION FOR A FUN SF EXPERIENCE

  • 5 of 5
My wife and I kept joking about how staying in this flat was like being on a movie set for a scene in a "charming, bustling city." It's an extremely cute area, with tons of little shops and cafes, friendly professional folks on the streets, the bells of the streetcar jingling cheerfully down on the corner, and an easy walk to Golden Gate Park. The flat itself is clean, spacious, and nicely set up for a relaxing, low-key stay. Great for our kids and great for our pooch, too, as the space is not too fussy. We did not find parking difficult (compared to San Francisco parking generally), but it helped to get a temporary "area J" permit from the city, which you can do at http://www.sfmta.com/services/permits-citations/parking-permits/residential-area-permits/rpp-types/short-term-permits
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Gorgeous San Francisco Flat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p262930vb
(415) 632-6626 (California, USA)
Cole Valley San Francisco
Appleton, Wisconsin
5

NEVER WANTED TO LEAVE THIS WONDERFUL FLAT.

  • 5 of 5
Myself and my family took a 16 day journey from Portland to San Fran and we ended it with a week stay in this wonderful flat. Cole Valley neighborhood is a great part of America to be, with some good restaurants and bars within walking distance of this particular flat. Also close is the Golden Gate Park which is a great place to let the dog and kids stretch their legs a bit,if their not worn out from hiking all the hills while walking around town.

More about the flat. If you're a romantic for turn of the century buildings, you are in luck. 10 foot ceilings open to windows that open to the street below and allow the warm northern California air in to fill the space and your senses. The veiw to the street below is nice as you can watch the hustle and flow of the city as it wakes from it's slumber, till it winds down to rest after another day of our lives has eclipsed it. Do you consider yourself a cheese snob? Again luck has found you. There is one of the coolest cheese shops right across the street, and I know my cheese people being that I am a Wisconsinite, AKA Wisconinadian. Also a few short steps away is a vintage ice cream shop, so you will not be short on your dairy intake during your stay. The flat has three very spacious bedrooms that are neat and clean with comfortable beds. The kitchen is newly remodeled, or so it seems, and has everything you would need to make your stay functional if you choose to cook. The dining room is huge by my standards with a big table for everyone to sit around and contemplate your next move as you take on the best city in California. That is pure opinion, I am not aware of any awards. The bathrooms are small but how much time do you need to spend in there? But there are two which is nice. Finally the front living room is a quaint place to congregate, sit and converse about all of the great things you got to do with your day, or are going to do.

About the owner..... Very accomodating, honest and upfront. This flat was not our actual destination as our original place of short term residancy fell through and we were without lodging. Getting a nice place in the middle of June in the Bay area with twelve hours notice can be tough. The owner squeezed us into a very tight rental schedule to save the day and our vacation. For this I simply say thank-you.

There are only two watchouts. Parking if you have a car, and the stairs to the flat are two stories straight up. I think they add to the charm, but we are all very mobile.
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 0002
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Gorgeous San Francisco Flat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p262930vb
(415) 632-6626 (California, USA)
Cole Valley San Francisco
Sydney, Australia
1

A VERY DISAPPOINTING EXPERIENCE

  • 1 of 5
Of all the places we have stayed in the US this is one to be wary of.

We just completed a family holiday in the US and stayed in a number of holiday rentals. And during all that time the only place that disappointed was this apartment.

The location is excellent, and the surrounding shops and ammentities excellent. And once you have figured out the transport system it's easy to get from the apartment into the San Francisco downtown.

However prospective renters need to note two things: the apartment is not of particularly high quality (as compared to others we have stayed at) and be aware of the landlord.

While the kitchen has been recently remodelled, overall the apartment is in need of a paint job and facelift. The carpets are stained and marked, the walls are chipped, doors creak and there are various bits and pieces that need fixing. As well the bathroom is tiny with a shower arrangement that is, at best, hard to use. The partment is not of the same standard as other places we stayed at for similar prices.

And be careful of the landlord. We didn't read the small print in the contract that specified that we could not get access to the washer and dryer unless we paid extra. The power cables are locked up and you have to pay an extra $30 to use the machines. When I expressed suprise at this supplementary charge I got a terse email from the landlord that bordered on being abusive... nice.

Then when we left, he deducted money from our security deposit for 'extra cleaning charges' - we had failed to empty the rubbish bins and strip the beds, etc. And we'd left some small food items in the fridge or kitchen. (Apparently the landlord emailed instruction on this prior to our departure, but, you know we were on holidays... so didn't see the email). Again this is not something we experienced anywhere else...

So overall it was a sad way to finish our holiday and it just didn't need to be that way :(.
  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Anthony, I'm so sorry you were disappointed in the rental. To address your points for the benefit of prospective renters:

1. We are very clear that laundry is extra - it's in the listing - immediately underneath Clothes Washer and Clothes Dryer it states "Use Fee Applies" and the contract the contract you signed says "Your lodging fees for this stay are $XXX (includes all taxes and fees, except fees for optional use of washer/dryer)." I don't know how you missed that but I don't think we can be faulted for hiding it in the "fine print." And although you characterized the charge "as one of the most ridiculous things I've come across", my response was simply factual. I apologize if you found that terse.

2. The check out procedures are in a binder in the flat and they were emailed to you a day before check out. Since we had exchanged email repeatedly throughout your visit it's surprising to hear now that this was an ineffective means of communicating. In addition to all of the food and trash you left in the flat, there were items broken - we informed you of this. It's not a big deal - we know it happens. We had a small charge for all of this and honestly, between the extra work from the cleaners and replaced items, we spent more than we charged you.

3. I don't know what challenges you had with the bathroom - it's a clawfoot tub and shower. It's in a picture on the listing. I had no questions, complaints or comments on this during during your stay (nor any from other guests).

4. As for the condition of the flat, of course it's not perfect. The pictures are accurate - the building is 105 years old. It was painted 4 years ago. The kitchen was done 7 years ago. Sure, it could use some touch ups, but it's in good shape and we maintain it well. And be realistic - it's priced at less than $50 per person per night. It's not the Ritz. That's available if you can afford it. For families and groups that are looking for more value, I think ours represents that. You're the only guest that's complained that it's substandard.

We have 20 reviews that give it mostly 5 stars. You gave it 1. I don't think prospective renters should be misled by your opinion. Having said all that, you and your family were fine guests to have in our flat and notwithstanding the cleaning charges and small breakage, we appreciate your staying there.
business
Gorgeous San Francisco Flat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p262930vb
(415) 632-6626 (California, USA)
Cole Valley San Francisco
4

TWO THUMBS UP!

  • 4 of 5
Can't say enough about this flat. It was in an awesome part of the city surrounded by great shops & places to eat. It fit our family of five comfortably and packed tons of character with its beautiful high ceilings, wood floors & large windows. We had our vehicle to park, which meant curbside drop offs and then hunting for a spot on the nearby blocks, but always successfully. Public trans is at the end of the block for those without a car. Our 3 kids (11, 13, 16) loved it here and it really gave us a feel for what it would be like to live here....which we all would love! Experiencing this city from a true 'home' base adds so much to the experience. The food in the area is amazing....must do Crepes on Cole for breakfast, then again for dessert Crepes. The Ice Cream Bar has these amazing ice cream sandwiches. This flat added so much to our week long vacation and made it truly special. Thanks for sharing this amazing flat Ted :)
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Gorgeous San Francisco Flat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p262930vb
(415) 632-6626 (California, USA)
Cole Valley San Francisco
Bethesda, MD USA
5

PERFECT LOCATION FOR FAMILY VACATION

  • 5 of 5
We just returned from a one-week trip to SF, where we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this home. According to our friends in the Bay Area, the flat is huge by San Francisco standards. It was so nice to have three well-sized bedrooms, a living room, a dining room, and a large kitchen for the same price as a hotel room. We had family and friends come up and hang out for an afternoon or a meal, and the space accommodated our guests plus our 4-person family very easily. (In contrast, it would have been tight and awkward to have guests visit us in our hotel room). The flat was clean and charming with wonderfully high ceilings. No, it wasn't brand spanking newly renovated and impeccable but that was fine with us - those flats would have been $1000 more than we paid.

Re: the amenities - we appreciated so many things, from the thick white towels to the basic cooking staples (e.g., canola oil, salt). The wifi worked perfectly. The beds were super comfortable, as another reviewer stated.

One of the BEST things about the flat is its AWESOME location. Everyone agreed that we hit the jackpot. Cole Valley has such a terrific vibe, with its coffee places, restaurants, and little shops. It is a vibrant neighborhood, but not over-commercialized (no Gap!). For groceries there's a market 1 block away and a Whole Foods only 5 blocks away. We loved walking to Golden Gate Park every day - the CA Academy of Sciences and children's playground are great. The N-Judah line, which stops right around the corner, takes you straight to the Embarcadero with stops downtown. It couldn't be easier.

We never met Ted, the owner, but we appreciated his low-key, efficient style. He was always pleasant and straightforward in his emails and communication. He provided succinct information re: checking in, checking out, and even trash and recycling so we knew exactly what to do.

So, to wrap up this long review, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and thank Ted for sharing his flat with us!
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Gorgeous San Francisco Flat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p262930vb
(415) 632-6626 (California, USA)
Cole Valley San Francisco
Redway CA
5

STAIRS STAIRS STAIRS

  • 5 of 5
Excellent flat with a great location. Well cleaned and airy rooms with wonderful natural light. Also, delightfully quiet for such a vibrant and active neighborhood. However, due note it is on the third floor. The stairs were a bit intimidating for my sister and kept our comings and goings a bit limited. With that said, everything else was great. Would recommend this flat as a great place to anyone with good knees and a healthy heart.

Cole Valley is a fun mellow part of the city to relax in and it has a safe and friendly vibe. Plenty of quality restaurants within easy walking distance. Great coffee shop and bakery one block away. Friendly "local" Pub to watch the games or just hang out. The Crepe place downstairs is great. Public transport to any where in the city is steps away. The Haight is within walking distance. The Castro is just over the hill .The Golden Gate Park and the De Young Museum very close by. We really enjoyed our selves.
  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Email Owner Email

Map

Nearest Point of Interest
Conservatory of Flowers
Nearest Point of Interest
deYoung Art Museum
Nearest Point of Interest
Academy of Sciences
Nearest Point of Interest
Boulonge de Cole Bakery and Cafe
Nearest Point of Interest
The Alembic
Nearest Point of Interest
Kezar Pub
Nearest Point of Interest
Crepes on Cole
Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Cole Valley Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
4th of July
Jul 2 2014 - Jul 6 2014
4 night minimum stay
$285
 
 
Labor Day
Aug 30 2014 - Sep 2 2014
4 night minimum stay
$285
 
 
Veteran's Day
Nov 9 - Nov 11
3 night minimum stay
$285
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 27 - Nov 30
5 night minimum stay
$285
 
 
Christmas/New Years
Dec 20 - Dec 31
4 night minimum stay
$285
$1,750
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$270
$1,750
$4,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $115.00
Washer/Dryer $20.00
High Chair/Pack N Play $20.00
Pet Fee $75.00
Refundable damage deposit $500.00

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Cole Valley Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Cooking Utensils ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (3), Baby Cribs (1) 1 pack n play, 1 high chair, 2 baby gates available at no charge., Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Extra charge for use of convertible bed and bed linens
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • pets considered ...
  • non smoking only
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
  • live theater
  • museums
  • zoo
  • health/beauty spa
Leisure Activities:
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • antiquing
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • shuffleboard
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • wind-surfing
  • mountain biking
  • swimming
  • fishing
  • tennis
  • cycling
  • basketball court
  • sailing
  • rock climbing
  • hiking
  • racquetball
  • golf
  • surfing
Email Owner Email

Other Vacation Properties

$1,463 per week
3 - 5 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$1,533 - $1,925 per week
3 - 5 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$1,355 per week
30 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4