MONTEJO BEAUTY-PRIME SANTA ANA

Kate Kelly

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Contact the Owner

Kate Kelly

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

MONTEJO BEAUTY-PRIME SANTA ANA

Merida House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms + Office, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 2-5)

This gorgeous Centro house on a quiet street is ideally located ten blocks from the Plaza Grande, five blocks from the Hyatt Hotel, and a stone's throw from Paseo Montejo and Anthropology Museum. Shopping and restaurants are nearby. This expansive three bedroom, two bathroom home has been restored with care, preserving historic details, such as, pasta tile floors, stained glass windows, and wood beamed ceilings that soar up to 17 feet.

The dining room opens onto a beautiful outdoor patio featuring a generous-sized pool set in a lush tropical garden. Indoor/outdoor living at its best. The large kitchen with dining nook and two bathrooms are newly renovated.

Three air-conditioned bedrooms (two queen, one full, washing machine, equipped eat in kitchen, and wifi internet/cable are included in this stunning historic home.

We invite you to make our home your home in this Spanish colonial city of Merida.

Keywords: House

Suitability:
  • pets considered

Kate Kelly

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2009
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

If you want to go back in time but have modern day amenities, this is the place.

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

3.7
based on 3 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Montejo Beauty-Prime Santa Ana
average rating of 3.6666667 based on 3 reviews
business
Montejo Beauty-Prime Santa Ana
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p262779vb
(718) 604-2683 (New York, USA)
Merida Yucatan
5

Lovely house

  • 5 of 5
My criteria for a house in Merida was that it had to be colonial with high ceilings throughout. This house was more than I had hoped for! I liked the layout of the house very much even though I got "lost" in it at first because of the many doors but they were also one of the things I liked,big tall wooden doors. The kitchen is separated from the main house by a little covered through way outside which I thought was just fine and then the third bedroom and second bathroom were on the other side of the kitchen which made it perfect for guests.
I felt that the furnishings were just right and really again just what I could have imagined for this style of house. The ceilings make a big difference as far as the temperature goes and the feeling of space and light. Each room had beautiful pasta tile floors, another thing I had wanted. In the main house there is a very large master bedroom with a table that could be used for work and or meals plus another good sized bedroom. The kitchen was large and also had an eat in area. There was yet another dining area off of the living room that overlooked the garden, patio and pool. I loved the pool! It was just the right size for my needs and was all one depth, I think about 5 feet. What a savior that pool was in the Merida heat. The small garden area surrounding the pool was also very nice and there is a small pond along the back that has little fish in it. Birds would come and visit the garden and on one particularly hot day I saw a couple of them taking brief dips in the pool to cool off which was fun to watch.
It is a very private little piece of serenity I thought.
Only about a block and a half to the big main boulevard of Paseo Montejo where there was an Italian restaurant around one corner and directly across the street an Irish pub which has really good fish and chips. You are also only about three blocks from Santa Ana square and market which has several inexpensive food choices and we would pick up food from there and then eat at the house. If you have a car there is parking on the street or right around the corner there is a public parking place where you pay to park your car but it is locked up at night and there is always someone there during the day.
On Sundays they close one side of Paseo Montejo for pedestrians and cyclists. They also have horse drawn carriages that go up and down the boulevard. Most importantly I always felt safe. I highly recommend this lovely house!
  • Submitted: May 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Montejo Beauty-Prime Santa Ana
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p262779vb
(718) 604-2683 (New York, USA)
Merida Yucatan
5

A wonderful house with exceptionally helpful staff

  • 5 of 5
I stayed at this house for a week over the Christmas Holidays with my husband, my mother and my daughters (aged 6 and 8). The house is huge and beautiful, just as described and shown in the pictures. The location was perfect, very quiet and at the same time very close to the old city center, museums,etc. There is a lovely French cafe and bakery at the end of the block, 2 minutes away, that serves great food and espressos and cappuccinos! We walked everywhere and felt very safe even late at night. The staff at the house was extremely helpful. The owner's agent arranged for someone to meet us at the airport and drive us to the house. This person left his email address and telephone number and was readily available whenever we needed him. He gave us useful advice on things to see and do and he even drove us to the rental car agency for us to pick up our car and then also drove us to the airport on the day of departure. The property was clean and well-maintained. The house is very simple and functional, perfect for a family with children. My daughters loved the pool and the water feature. My mom enjoyed reading in the sunny patio. There was something for everyone. Overall, everything was easy and we truly had a wonderful vacation in Mérida. We can't wait to go back!
  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Montejo Beauty-Prime Santa Ana
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p262779vb
(718) 604-2683 (New York, USA)
Merida Yucatan
Vancouver
1

"Montejo Beauty" ? - Not an accurate description and photos do not accurately reflect appearance.

"Montejo Beauty" ? - Not an accurate description and photos do not accurately reflect appearance.
  • 1 of 5
We stayed at this house for 31 days in March; this is our third VRBO in Merida. We were disappointed in this house and some of the policies. Specifically, they insist that the deposit be paid in US$ but they send it back to you in MX; we had to pay the exchange charges so it was a big hit on my deposit. Also, I’m not sure how they calculate the electricity but they charged us more than double what we paid last year when we stayed in a much bigger house for 11 more days. The air conditioners, ceiling fans and appliances in this house are old and don’t work well so maybe they are less efficient than new ones? For the amount of rent paid we were very disappointed in the décor of the house. The furnishings looked like thrift store discards (no quaint antiques here), in fact the living room didn’t even have a coffee table nor side tables – just an old broken down couch, chair and a TV on a stand. There weren’t many decorative items or pictures on the walls, just some nails where things had been removed – it looked like the house had been stripped of anything of value and all that was left was the stuff no one wanted. The bed linens were old and faded; the dishes were chipped and mismatched; many things were broken (microwave, coffeemaker, air conditioners, overhead fans, toilet seats, TV, couch, door locks, water feature, etc.) and even though they did replace or fix some of these items after we complained the house still has a worn out look to it. Not all the windows had screens so it was difficult to cool the house without letting in hordes of mosquitos. What little clothing storage there is in the bedrooms, is taken up with many old stained pillows, excess tattered linens, old books and CDs and other useless junk. The finish on the inside of the very cheap, tin pots was flaking off. The house itself is pretty, although it needs a paint job and some serious maintenance, and we loved the pool. The location is great and the area is pretty quiet for Merida. The manager did react quickly when we complained but the place still isn’t up to the standard one would expect for the rent paid. The owner sent an email to apologize BUT she and the manager kept saying “no one else has complained!” so felt no real sincerity. They did give us a small discount (which I haven’t received yet) and a dinner at a local restaurant but I would've preferred to just have the house look at least something like the photos - I don’t get a “do over” on my vacation.
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is unfortunate that this person has not taken into consideration all of the things that were done after the start of complaints, i.e. new sheets were provided, plates, etc. All in all, over $1000USD was spent on new linens, dishes, TV, etc in an attempt to make her happy. The refund was sent in MXN pesos but was received in USD at their end. A breakdown of the electric bill was provided showing the number of kWh and the rate.
It was explained to them that due to a family emergency, a coffee table and a few other items could not be provided in time. The previous renters were there for six weeks and had no complaints. They moved out the same day as her arrival. The property manager, who manages this house works for a well known company in Merida and I am peeved that she has been brought into the mix. She and her staff leaned over backward to provide her with absolutely everything she requested within 24 hours of each request.
It is strange, given the complaints this woman now has, but not so come to think of it, that this person would ask to rent the house again and/or purchase it.
New renters have already moved in and will be there until July. They have had no complaints.
This house will be fully furnished (coffee table in situ) after I visit in September and will be more than ready for rentals thereafter.
As we all probably know, a bad review, albeit from a person who tends towards lengthy, overly descriptive emails, can jeopardize rentals going forward. As a result of this, I am publicly stating that the woman will not receive the reduction offered. A forwarding address was sent by her for me to send a USD draft on April 5 at 12:03pm. As we know, this was a Sat. and her review was sent to me on Mon. April 7 at 12:19pm. She used this "threat" of a review from the get go. She could have requested anything she wanted and would have received same.
She mentions that our response was "no one else has complained" in a very flippant way, however, the fact (no insincerity here) of the matter is that we never have received complaints with regard to this house, ever, even, as mentioned, with the most recent prior renters who left the day of their arrival and the present renters.
I would be more than happy to request my present tenants, and future tenants, to post reviews of the house so that everything is put into perspective here.
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Car: not necessary

Property is located just less than two blocks from Paseo Montejo. It is on a quiet street and is within walking distance from Centro. There are a number of restaurants on Paseo Montejo and in Centro.

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Merida House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter season
Nov 1 2014 - Mar 31 2015
3 night minimum stay
$150
$950
 
 
Summer season
Apr 1 2015 - Oct 31 2015
3 night minimum stay
$125
$850
 

Additional information about rental rates

Notes Reduced rate for monthly stays.
Easter, Christmas, New Year and Carnival - $175 per night, $1100 per week.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Merida House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Monument View ...
General:
  • Wireless Internet
  • Broadband Access
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Linens Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Microwave
  • Kitchen ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Refrigerator
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Queen size Beds (1) Queen bed in Master Bedroom and Queen in back bedroom, Double Beds (1) In front bedroom.
Entertainment:
  • Stereo
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • CD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
Suitability:
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • live theater
  • health/beauty spa
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • shopping
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • fitness center
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • swimming
Email Owner Contact Me

Other Vacation Properties

$245 per night
3 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$1,800 - $3,000 per week
3 - 5 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • 2 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 5
$1,000 - $1,700 per week
1 - 3 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 4 BA,
  • Sleeps 6