BEAUTIFUL DUTCHESS COUNTY MINI FARM ON 17+ SECLUDED ACRES AND FISHING PONDS

Colleen Meehan

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Contact the Owner

Colleen Meehan

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

BEAUTIFUL DUTCHESS COUNTY MINI FARM ON 17+ SECLUDED ACRES AND FISHING PONDS

Rhinebeck House Rental Photos and Description

6 bedrooms, 4 full bathrooms, sleeps 10

Your very own mini-farm in the heart of the country. 17+ acres with 3 ponds and a stream and trails right on the property, perfect for horse back riding and hiking in the nice weather, cross country skiing when it turns winter. In the light-filled, art-filled house, you can throw huge dinner parties for the whole gang and have everyone stay over. There are 6 bedrooms, two so enormous, they have their own sitting areas. There are 4 bathrooms, 2 en suite.

The mid-century house was recently redone by an architect/ artist and full of unusual touches like the kitchen counter made with parsley. Yes, parsley! You can hang out on the patio or lounge outside in back, curl up in the library or hide upstairs in the gangster party room.

Did we mention hiking trail with a veiw of the Berkshires from the top? And we're only two miles from two public golf courses -- Carvel which is just off the Taconic and the Red Hook Country Club on Route 199. Lots to do!

Winter Wonderland: Ever dream of living right on a ski resort? Well, if we get snow- you can! The winding 17 acres of Winding Road Farm allows cross country skiing- right out the door!

And no snow? No problem- Catamount, Hunter, Belayre and Windham, with their state-of-the-art snow making abilities are a short drive away.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • wheelchair accessible
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Guestbook comments from the owner
We had a great time. The house was big enough for all of us and did not feel crowded. We used to all live in Syracuse NY and meet at each others house but it is not possible now that we live in NJ, MA and NY. So it was nice to have a house away from home where we could meet.



We went for a walk at Poet's walk (beautiful view, a tad muddy). Everybody was happy with the house.
Mar 2013
  • 1 of 5

Colleen Meehan

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2010
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.6
based on 19 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Beautiful Dutchess County Mini Farm on 17+ Secluded Acres and Fishing Ponds
average rating of 4.5789475 based on 19 reviews
business
Beautiful Dutchess County Mini Farm on 17+ Secluded Acres and Fishing Ponds
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261768
+1 8457586080
Rhinebeck Hudson Valley
5

Great House to Hold large group

  • 5 of 5
We stayed at this house the past weekend and had truely a wonderful time. The amenities are great. Were able to sleep a total of 12 of us and never felt like it was too cramped. This kitchen is well stocked with plates and dishes and is large enough to accommodate a large group for cooking. The house is fully furnishes with enough seating for all and also has some cool art on the walls!

Thanks again for letting us use this property!
  • Submitted: May 5, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: What a nice review- thanks! You all seem to be the neatest group we ever had so kudos to you too. You are always welcome! Colleen
business
Beautiful Dutchess County Mini Farm on 17+ Secluded Acres and Fishing Ponds
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261768
+1 8457586080
Rhinebeck Hudson Valley
5

Perfect stay!

  • 5 of 5
We recently hosted a preschool teachers' retreat at this lovely home, and couldn't have asked for more! The house was clean, comfortable, and spacious - with six bedrooms, 4 baths, and lots of additional nooks and spaces for extra air mattresses, etc. if you need them, there was space and privacy for all. Plenty of room for cooking and enjoying large meals together, and space for group hanging too. The grounds were beautiful even in the snow, and Rhinebeck is only a short drive away. And Colleen couldn't be nicer! We loved our stay!
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: How nice!
Wedged between several Nor'easters, I was worried Molly and her gang would not fare so well. So glad they enjoyed their stay and hope they consider Winding Road again.
Colleen
business
Beautiful Dutchess County Mini Farm on 17+ Secluded Acres and Fishing Ponds
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261768
+1 8457586080
Rhinebeck Hudson Valley
Mount Laurel, NJ
5

AMAZING PROPERTY!!!

  • 5 of 5
Me and ten of my best friends from out of town stayed at Blue Lake House for my daughter's weekend wedding celebration at Ruffland Farms, Milan, NY. Our stay was wonderful! We took pictures on the teeter totter on the lawn and spent evenings on the patio enjoying our time together. The house is beautiful and well appointed and their was more than enough room for all of us.
Dana, thank you for the beautiful flowers that welcomed us on our arrival. Although, there were air conditioners, we didn't need them. The weather was perfect!!!
Everyone is still talking about the house and the wonderful weekend.
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Hi Brenda: Thank you so much for your kind words. I am so glad you and your friends enjoyed your time at Winding Road Farm. Please come back again soon!!! Congrats on your daughter's wedding!!!!

Best,
Dana
Property Manager
business
Beautiful Dutchess County Mini Farm on 17+ Secluded Acres and Fishing Ponds
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261768
+1 8457586080
Rhinebeck Hudson Valley
Grand Rapids, MI
3

Great for a large group gathering.

  • 3 of 5
I like to start on a positive note so I will say the house
was great for a large group of adults. The issues we had
(and there were many) were addressed quickly and with lots of apologies.
The home is not what I would consider a luxury rental. Sheets and towels
are well used, there were rooms with no furniture that could of been used as another seating area for conversation and morning coffee. The kitchen faucet kept coming off as did the handles on the refrigerator! The master bed was VERY comfortable but the other beds were like Goldilocks's problem- either too hard or too soft.
The outside doors and sliders did not have screens so there was no cross ventilation on hot evenings. The biggest issue was the problem with kitchen waste coming up into the bathtub. Again, the owner was very apologetic and bought us a lovely dinner as a consolation but until that problem is resolved I would not stay there. The area is beautiful, great sightseeing, shopping and historical attractions, and very good restaurants. The house has some pluses but the issues I mentioned certainly impacted the enjoyment of our week.
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Guest:

Thank you for your review and your constructive feedback. We are sorry that Winding Road Farm (WRF) did not meet your expectations. As you noted, we tried our very best to deal with some unfortunate, unexpected issues that turned up. We are glad you enjoyed the Thai dinner and other goodies!

Unfortunately, your arrival coincided with the recent departure of a larger group ( a handful more than we normally accept) who stayed at WRF for 7 weeks. We have never hosted a group of this size and duration and learned that we need to do a few things differently next time. The kitchen waste issue and the other smaller issues you noted, which have been resolved, was a direct result of this large group stay. Again, our sincerest apologies that you were adversely impacted as a result.

We have been fortunate to be consistently booked since we entered the vacation rental business approximately three years ago. As you can see from the overwhelmingly favorable reviews, a vast majority of people have enjoyed their time at WRF and return on a regular basis. With that said, we agree that some sprucing up was needed. Thank you for noting that new towels and linens were in order. Out with the old and in with the new! Future guests please note that the new ones are simply that. New. Not fancy Frette or 300 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets. We don't advertise ourselves as a luxury rental so please don't have those expectations before coming to WRF. What you should expect is a clean, large, fun (a light fixture made out of an empty tequila bottle and some cool artwork) house with an open floor plan on a great piece of property with a terrific location. Perfect to enjoy good friends and family!

As far as empty rooms, there is only one. It is a party room that our guests use as they wish. In our posting, we say it is a Fun Room big enough for Brownie sleepovers! Included in the posting is a photo of this room showing that there isn't any furniture. After all, you need room for the sleeping bags!

We appreciate your taking the time to write the review. Our guests' feedback is critical in our business and we are glad that we have a chance to improve the quality of service we offer as a result.
business
Beautiful Dutchess County Mini Farm on 17+ Secluded Acres and Fishing Ponds
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261768
+1 8457586080
Rhinebeck Hudson Valley
3

Girl's Weekend

Girl's Weekend
  • 3 of 5
The house was exactly what we were looking for as far as accomodations. We were 11 women who every year go away for a few days. The bedrooms and baths were enough. The bedrooms were clean but 2 of the bedrooms had no shades on windows. The bathrooms were clean and new like..

The kitchen was a disappointment. The floors were not clean. There was an ant problem. The stainless steel refrigerator was clean inside but the outside was horrible. There is a stainless steel cleaner that is sold in Ace Hardware that would have made a big difference. Same for dishwasher.

The lighting over the kitchen table is not bright enough.
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your thoughtful review. I am glad you had an enjoyable girl's weekend. The floor plan of the house is certainly well suited to large groups. I am sorry you found the kitchen not up to your standards of cleanliness. We pride ourselves on providing a clean property as you saw in the bathroom and bedrooms. In fact, we have only had one other complaint over the years. I did go over to the house today and did not see any ants although I did purchase some traps just in case. We also have a new stainless steel cleaner so no more streaky appliances!
business
Beautiful Dutchess County Mini Farm on 17+ Secluded Acres and Fishing Ponds
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261768
+1 8457586080
Rhinebeck Hudson Valley
5

Great House and Property

  • 5 of 5
The house was great! We went with a group of 6 couples and we all had plenty of space. The house was kept very clean. The property is beautiful, although we got a huge snowstorm while we were there! I was very happy that the owners had someone come and plow the driveway, so we didn't have to worry about getting out.

All in all, it was a great trip- I highly recommend the house and hope to be back!
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Lauren:

So glad that you and your friends enjoyed ringing in the New Year at Winding Road Farm. Our snow plow guy does do a great job so our guests don't miss out on experiencing all that the Hudson Valley has to offer (including several ski resorts within an hour drive)! Please come back and visit soon!

Best,
Dana
Property Manager
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Albany or Stewart are under an hour away
Nearest Train
10 Miles
Amtrak
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Route 199 and the Taconic Parkway
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Wilcox Park -- big lake
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Rhinebeck or Red Hook
Nearest Ski
50 Miles
Belair, Hunter, Wyndham, Catamount
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Carvel or Red Hook Country Club -- both public
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Rhinebeck has world famous restaurants
Car: necessary

Hiking through 17 + wooded acres with views and fishing in one of the two ponds only a step outside your door. There’s so much to do nearby- the shops and restaurants of Rhinebeck, Red Hook, and Tivoli are ten minutes away. There are galleries and performing arts centers minutes away in Rhinebeck and in Red Hook at Bard College. And many more close by in Millerton, Millbrook, Hudson, Woodstock and New Paltz. Downhill skiing is less than an hour away. And of course, there’s always something going on at the Dutchess County Fairgrounds. Ninety miles to NYC. Did we mention it's also under two miles to two different public golf courses? Carvel (near the Taconic) and the Red Hook Country Club. Swimming holes, State Parks with boating and lakes, creeks, fishing, horseback riding, we have it all.

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Rhinebeck House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
Jun 27 2014 - Sep 4 2014
3 night minimum stay
$750
$3,100
$10,000
 
 
Late Summer/Fall
Sep 5 2014 - Nov 25 2014
2 night minimum stay
$450
From
$450
Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,750
$9,000
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 26 2014 - Nov 30 2014
3 night minimum stay
$500
 
 
Christmas/New Years
Dec 20 2014 - Jan 3 2015
3 night minimum stay
$500
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$450
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
Property Damage Protection $49
Cleaning $200
Notes Please contact us for information regarding longer stays.
Mandatory Cleaning Fee of $250 per stay. Guests purchase insurance protection through HomeAway site
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Rhinebeck House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Water View ...
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Family
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Laundry Soap
  • Activities Guide
  • Hair Dryer
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Wireless Internet
  • Internet
  • Towels Provided
  • Garage
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Iron & Board
Kitchen:
  • Grill
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Freezer
  • Oven
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Blender
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Master Bedroom Suite - 1 king , Sitting Area
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Sitting Area
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 5 - 1 double
    Media Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Sitting area at top of stairs
    Bedroom 6 - 1 double , Sitting area at top of stairs
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Games
  • Video Library
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • CD Player
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Bicycles
  • Beach Towels
  • Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • wheelchair accessible
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • pond
  • forests
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
  • playground
  • coin laundry
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • eco tourism
  • walking
  • horseback riding
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
Local Services & Businesses:
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • hunting big game
  • water tubing
  • mountain climbing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting small game
  • ice skating
  • skiing
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • equestrian events
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • hunting
Notes:
If there is something that you require, feel free to ask. We can usually make arrangements. Don't forget there are two public golf courses within two miles of the house -- Carvel which is just off the Taconic and the Red Hook Country Club on Rt 199.
Email Owner Contact Me