Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Loft Like Spacious Catskill Mountain Retreat


Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 1, 2015
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Loft Like Spacious Catskill Mountain Retreat

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


Accord House Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 5)

Quietly nestled on the border of the Catskill Mountain Park, this unique 3 Bed, 2 bath loft-like home is minutes from the Ashokan Reservoir and many other Catskill hikes and villages. The rental is situated among Catskill towns like Woodstock, Shokan, Phoenicia, and Pine Hill (that offer a variety of mountain shopping, restaurants, and recreation) and the Rondout Valley farm communities of High Falls, Stone Ridge and Rosendale (each with fabulous restaurants, antique shops, farm stands, and outdoor opportunities).

The open floor plan of the kitchen and living area allows families and friends to gather for meals and games. The wood stove and the bold tile work creates a unique yet warm environment. There are 3 private bedrooms, one master with bath and queen bed, one with convertible bed, and one with double bed.

The screened in porch in the back faces the woods of the catskill mountains, The large sunny deck off the side faces rolling lawn with magnolia trees and vine-covered gazebo. A variety of wildlife can be viewed, enticing renters to trek further into the Catskill Mountain trails. The quiet solitude and clear starry nights at the property invite guests to relax and take it easy.

Artist owned, the home has an attached studio with sink for painting, sculpting, etc.

Enjoy spectacular fall foliage sightseeing, or hiking through autumn colored trails. Close to ski mountains, Lake Minnewaska. Another apartment in the building is sometimes rented.

Keywords: house

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 1, 2015

About The Owner

I've worked in the advertising industry in New York City for almost 20 years. I bought this place as a getaway from the city and to work on my personal work. Its a very inspirational area and full of interesting, warm, laid back people, artists, nature, wildlife, catskill mountains, great eclectic restaurants. I am now studying sculpture in California and decided to rent out my house so that others may enjoy the many awesome things that upstate has going for it, one being my house! thanks for looking and hope to have you.

The Owner purchased this house in 2004

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 8 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Loft Like Spacious Catskill Mountain Retreat
average rating of 3.875 based on 8 reviews
Brooklyn, New York

great place to get away!

  • 5 of 5

We had such a great week here! The main living space is very large with a high ceiling. The bedrooms are pretty small w/o much natural light, but fine if you're just planning on sleeping there anyway. The place is very quiet though there are lots of houses nearby. Everything in the house worked fine and it was clean, only complaint was that we wanted a more comfy couch to lounge on. Also the screened door to the deck was broken so we couldn't leave the door open for fresh air. And the deck furniture was very rickety. Monika was really responsive, which was nice. There is a person living next door, in the same house, but a different unit. She was nice to us and we didn't see her much. Most of the area's attractions, such as hiking, small town stuff, farms, require you to get in the car and drive a bit, but it's worth it to be in such a lovely setting. The roads up there are confusing and it's easy to get lost bc of the lack of street signs, FYI. We really loved our stay and would go back.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Good to know about the broken screen door! Will send someone to fix that. Thank you!

Amazing place in the woods

  • 5 of 5

I stayed here last summer and immediately loved the place. I'm very surprised to read the other reviews! We arrived at night and it was dark so getting in was a little strange (you have to go through the studio to get to the main room), but once we opened the door to the great room, we knew we picked a great place. The house is a funky, loft-like place with a wood burning stove, a great deck with a grill, and cozy bedrooms. Everything was done tastefully and you really get a sense of relaxation when you're there. The big bathroom is beautiful and the kitchen is well stocked with everything you might need to cook a big dinner. We were two couples there for the weekend and we had an amazing time relaxing, grilling, and playing cards on the amazing dining table. It's an older place and has some quirks, but definitely nothing I saw would prevent me from going back. I've told all of my friends about it and I'm planning a trip for the spring. Also, the owner was very easy to get in touch with and pleasant to deal with. Highly recommend!

  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
New York, NY

Mildew, Mold and Neglect

  • 1 of 5

We LEFT after ten minutes of arriving.

My husband and I arrived at dusk (actually a good thing because you couldn't see just how run-down the place was). We walked up the icy uneven steps to access the door that led you to some strange garage-like room. At the far end a door opened into the main 'loft-like' room. The size was indeed big and open - just what I wanted. However, the MILDEW and MOLD that permeated the room was so strong, we were taken aback. The place was disgusting. We walked down a narrow hall to the bedrooms - dark (half of the lights didn't have bulbs in them or didn't work), dingy and I couldn't imagine sleeping on those sheets that looked like they were made back in September and had not been used since. We opened up a door opposite the master bedroom and this woman 'the housekeeper' is on the other side of it smoking! Sorry - don't tell, she says. Literally the door had a few blocks of wood at the base of it - to tell us not to open it?! The walls are so thin you could hear everything. We walked back into the main room and I ventered into the kitchen -- old, never used and rotten. I didn't open cabinets for fear of mice.

In shock, we called the owner who said she was surprised, was receptive to cancelling the stay and apologized. She lives in California and I hope that is the reason for the neglect. Perhaps in the summer, with time outdoors, with the doors all open and with the place being used more, it wouldn't be so horrible. But frankly, I don't know. Everything is so rotted out and moldy - everything. Even the furniture, the rugs (you can't tell from the photos) -- I couldn't find one seat that I would want to sit in.

I'm writing this in the hopes that it saves some others from making a disastrous choice (we had to scramble to find a place to sleep the next 2 nights!) and to alert Monika that she really needs to put some money into the upkeep of this place, because as is, especially during winter, it is really uninhabitable.

I guess I am also appalled at the price -- it seems unconscionable. I thought sunny, clean, and somewhat hip open space in the woods. Instead, it's dingy, depressing and disgusting. Perhaps the lack of light was a plus.

Please don't rent this place until it receives major attention by the owner. I think she would be totally embarrassed to come see it as it is now.

  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: As soon as I was notified of this guest's dissatisfaction I immediately responded by investigating the situation. I am very meticulous about my property and have had no complaints in regards to the cleanliness, so I was indeed surprised. I found to my dismay that some of her claims were absolutely valid. I have since hired a new off-site housekeeping service. The housekeeper referred to in this review has been evicted and is no longer on the premises. The house has been professionally cleaned top to bottom and all bedding replaced with new linens. The kitchen is equipped with all new stainless steel appliances. There are no shared walls with anybody other than the guests of the house. I have the property managed by an independent company and have since replaced this service as well. All this said, the property is an unusual space, quirky, and eclectic in style. It is an artist studio/residence. A better fit for someone looking for something different from the standard "Country Living" cover. I am an art director/sculptor by trade and have taken great care to make it a creative and special place unlike any other home. I will always welcome feedback to make it a better experience for all my guests. I want everyone to really experience how special and magical it is. I will offer full refunds to anyone who is dissatisfied and stand by the quality and care that I put into the maintenance of the house.

Good for New Years Eve not for longer stay.

  • 1 of 5

This rental has a lot of potential. The living room area is huge. Japanese lamps, the large plant, huge art piece on the wall give it a feeling of open space under the roof. However the place is very poorly maintained. I rented it twice. Once for a long weekend and then for a month. My opinion is that it’s a decent place to do a New Years party, but pretty bad as far as prolonged staying. I don’t mind mice that much, but if you do, you should be aware that they will come to visit every evening. I kept all perishables in the refrigerator, but it does not matter, if you cook in the house they will be interested. I saw a rat in the kitchen once as well.

The place is always dusty despite the cleaning fee. Before I came for the second time, I asked the owner to make sure the place is in better shape than the last time. So the living room was clean, but the bedrooms still had whole clusters of dust. The last thing on hygiene is that there is large amount of mold under the sink in the kitchen (it drips on wood which has rotten). I wiped off the surface, but it has not helped much, the wood itself needs to be replaced, it really stinks. Last tip, bring some light bulbs.

You can have privacy in this rental, however, and it’s not apparent from the ad, that you will be sharing the house with at least two other families (permanent residents).

With my second visit I was very disappointed with the owner (who lives in California). She tried to bump up over what was in the ad (she said she made a typo). Also, she grossly overcharged me for the last day. I assumed (incorrectly) that since I am renting for a month (of May), the check out will be the morning of June 1st. So I thought that my check-out is one day later. I realized very late that it’s not. I left a two-minute voicemail (I verified that it went through at tmobile website). She claims she received nothing, which is probably just a lie. Now, I could understand if she charged me for another day at monthly rate. But she charged me this one day at the full daily rate + late fee (I did leave late because I lost the wrench to take my portable table apart). She said I must leave because the cleaner needs time to clean. But the cleaner (who leaves in the same house) told me she does not care if stay for another day.

Lastly it took me close to two months to get my deposit back. I had to remind her, she kept saying the bank has sent it when it did not, then she got "bogged down" with things. Unprofessional...

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: 1.The contract clearly stated that the check-out date is May 31st, 10am. Unfortunately, to deter late check-out there is a late fee as well as an additional day. I would have happily dismissed this fee, however, new guests were due to arrive at 3pm that very day. I did not receive any communication and was unfortunately forced to bill him. He signed a contract and agreed to the terms. I'm sorry this had to happen. 2.He did bring up the dust, I alerted my housekeeper but at no time did he mention rats, mice or mold. I have since sent someone to investigate. I take pride in my home and do everything I can to maintain my house with a team of managers, maintenance people, and professionals. I am extremely attentive to guests who raise any complaints. My guests satisfaction has always been my primary goal. 3. The building has another apartment, as stated in the description. I would not consider this the same house. The residences are very separate with separate entrances. I understand some guests prefer complete solitude so I price with that in mind. 5. The guest lost the original security deposit check that was sent to him. I happily sent him another. This took time. I now no longer request security deposits to avoid this hassle to my guests. Insurance is built into the rate.

Wonderful getaway, comfortable space

  • 4 of 5

We walked in and were astounded with the massive living room space! Great outdoor space too, didn't take too long to get out there from NYC. Owner is very responsive and accommodated us even though we called at the last second. Kitchen has nice pans and equipment, though be prepared to bring any additional spices besides salt and pepper.

Very close to all kinds of activities and cute little towns. This was a wonderful space to come back to after a long day of running around. We also had a blast playing Jenga (it has been years!), though we'd suggest adding some more movies to the DVD collection besides just "Shark Tale" - haha :)

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

  • 5 of 5

Great place to put the whole family. I housed one half on my wedding party here. The open kitchen area served as the spot for my rehearsal dinner and the kids still had enough room to run laps.

  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2009
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway


Skydiving, River Tubing, Sightseeing Train Rides, Farm Stands


Rates & Availability

From $185 Per night

Accord House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $40 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
housekeeping $85
Notes space for 2 cars maximum on the property
longer stays and large parties are subject to additional housekeeping fees

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total


Accord House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
  • 1 story
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • main bath with tub, master bath with shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Queen size Beds (1), full Beds (1), daybed (1)
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Video Game Console
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
adjacent artist studio available

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

$1,750 per week
5 night min stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 5
$1,800 per week
2 night min stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$1,575 per week
2 night min stay
  • 3 BR,
  • Sleeps 8

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote