THE SMITHSONIAN VACATION HOUSE - WALK TO THE MUSEUMS - FREE PARKING - WATERFRONT

Wavely Veney

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Manager

Wavely Veney

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

THE SMITHSONIAN VACATION HOUSE - WALK TO THE MUSEUMS - FREE PARKING - WATERFRONT

Southwest Waterfront Townhome Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedrooms, 2 Full Bathrooms, 1 Half Bathroom, Sleeps 10

Why stay at a Hotel, when your entire family can stay in the center of the District of Columbia, only blocks from the National Air & Space Museum in the DC waterfront area for Much less! Absolutely wonderful describes this house, a spacious Three-bedroom, 2 full + 1 half baths, 2-level town home located in Waterfront/SW, Washington DC’s beautiful marina district. Just walking minutes from L'Enfant Plaza mall, metro, Smithsonian, museums, and the Mall, this home is close to I-395 going to Virginia and Maryland. Walk to the Cherry Blossoms, the fireworks on the Mall, and the WWII & Vietnam memorials. Boasting a fabulous location, the Smithsonian Vacation House is on a quiet cul-de-sac with off-street parking, yet it is in walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Don't delay, book today! We look forward to servicing you.

This lovely Capitol Hill property offers the option of 2 levels featuring 3 Bedrooms with 2 1/2 Bathrooms or 3 levels featuring 4 Bedrooms with 3 1/2 Bathrooms to accommodate up to 14 guests! Contact us today for details!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
Wavely Veney (Property Manager)
Advertiser since 2007
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

About Wavely Veney

I live by the Golden Rule, do unto others as you would have them do unto you; taught to me by my beautiful Mother May. She passed her entrepreneurial spirit on to me from a very early age and I learned that behind every successful person is a team of family and friends providing unconditional support. That team makes me who I am today, a successful and genuine African-American Man.

Why Wavely Veney chose Southwest Waterfront

I learned of this property a few years ago from a friend and fell in love with the vision to renovate this home to the beauty it should be. Such an exquisite area deserves a beautiful home to enhance the eclectic area that is the Beachfront Marina.

What makes this townhome unique

My favorite part of this home is the welcoming courtyard that leads you to a splendid balcony where you will feel the need to stop, turn around, and breathe in the view.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4
based on 38 traveler reviews

Write a Review
The Smithsonian Vacation House - Walk To The Museums - Free Parking - Waterfront
average rating of 4.0 based on 38 reviews
business
The Smithsonian Vacation House - Walk To The Museums - Free Parking - Waterfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258987
+1 202-294-8565
Southwest Waterfront Washington DC
5

Great Place to stay and Happy visit

  • 5 of 5
The Smithsonian Vacation House was a perfect location for seeing the National Mall and sights, in addition to being close to two metro stations. L'Enfant Plaza station additionally has regular bus services to Dulles, so airport access to both airports is within an easy walk. Grocery store and drug store close by so the location was very convenient for my large extended family. The property manager was an excellent host and was always available on cell phone. He was very accommodating and helpful to our large family, half of whom had to leave a couple days early. House could be cleaner, but this is a minor concern. Kitchen was very clean and we used it a lot. I would definitely stay here again.
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
The Smithsonian Vacation House - Walk To The Museums - Free Parking - Waterfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258987
+1 202-294-8565
Southwest Waterfront Washington DC
4

Excellent Location

  • 4 of 5
Location is excellent whether wanting to walk, drive or ride the Metro. Was disappointed that the grill didn't work & several things needed some attention; however, Wavely said he would send the plumber and another grill at 8 a.m. next day but we declined as the grill moment of July 4th had passed. He was easy to get in touch with during our stay. Still a month later we are waiting for return of our deposit which should be sent since many things needed fixing before we arrived. Overall, it was a good place for our family of 7.
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I wish to thank you all for your feedback. We are striving for perfection and take your feedback seriously. As of today, August 6, 2014. Security deposits are no longer required!!
business
The Smithsonian Vacation House - Walk To The Museums - Free Parking - Waterfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258987
+1 202-294-8565
Southwest Waterfront Washington DC
5

Great location and comfortable sleeping!

  • 5 of 5
We had 8 family members (including 3 children) in our group and we had plenty of room in the house to sleep and plenty of bathrooms to use. We walked everywhere on the mall and used the Metro to travel to Arlington and to the Nationals baseball stadium. We had two cars. One we parked in the reserved spot and one in front of the house. The owner delivered our parking pass so we could park on the street. Wavely (the owner) said that he was available 24/7 to answer our questions and we found that to be very true. We called him to ask for directions many times and he answered all of our calls and gave us several options for directions. We called him when we arrived at the house, and he gave us the lock box code for the key. We thought the house was perfect for us and enjoyed our visit to Washington, DC.
  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
The Smithsonian Vacation House - Walk To The Museums - Free Parking - Waterfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258987
+1 202-294-8565
Southwest Waterfront Washington DC
Orinda, CA
4

great location and amenities

  • 4 of 5
We are a family of 5, visiting for colleges and Spring Break. The house is very spacious and boys were pleasantly surprised to find Fusball and access to a PC. Safeway & Metro approx 3 blocks + reserved parking at house gave us a lot of flexibility. The Mall is 10 minute walk, thus you really don't need car if you prefer walking and public transport. Owner very responsive and accessible. Great stay. Thank you!
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
The Smithsonian Vacation House - Walk To The Museums - Free Parking - Waterfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258987
+1 202-294-8565
Southwest Waterfront Washington DC
Atlanta, GA, USA
5

Great Location and Good Family Feel!

  • 5 of 5
Great location in regards to grocery store, restaurants, and the Metro. Plenty of room for friends and cozy atmosphere. 8 of us stayed there for a conference and it was a great time!
  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
The Smithsonian Vacation House - Walk To The Museums - Free Parking - Waterfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258987
+1 202-294-8565
Southwest Waterfront Washington DC
2

Very bad customer service

  • 2 of 5
Upon arrival couldn't get into property called owner went to answerphone, managed to gain access as the key code box was broken.
No tourist/local information inside the house. which would have been helpful other properties we have stayed in have supplied these.
We informed the owner of a leak under the sink and one of the controls on the cooker was melted. He told us a plumber would attend the next day, didn't appear for 2 days so we had to keep mopping up the water, no reference to the issue with the cooker. Upon our return contacted the owner on numerous occasions to get our deposit back, DIDN'T reply to e-mails, had to contact Home-Away to initiate a complaint, only when Home Away contacted him did he reply to my e-mails. he then told me that we had stayed for more days than we had and refused to return our money, he also stated that he had given us a refund on the cleaning fee due to the problem with the leak, this was not the case and no refund of the cleaning fee has been refunded. Only received my deposit back when I sent a copy of my airline booking. A THOROUGHLY unpleasant experience , the owner was very bad at communication.
House was close to amenities.
The house was very pleasant and spacious.. Seating in the living room was limited and the kitchen equipment was also very sparse. House was clean and tidy.
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Email Manager Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Ronald Reagan Airport
Nearest Train
0.5 Miles
L'enfant Metro
Car: not necessary
Email Manager Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Manager Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Southwest Waterfront Townhome Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Spring/Summer
Mar 24 2014 - Sep 22 2014
2 night minimum stay
$290
From
$310
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,850
$5,850
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$275
$1,750
$4,495
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $175 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $49
Tax Rate 7.0%
Notes 275
The Following Holidays are observed and specials rates are applicableThanksgiving, Christmas, Memorial, Cherry Blossom, 4th July, Memorial, Presidents, Veterans, MLK
Come experience our beautiful Nation's Capital from a luxurious perspective! Enjoy the upcoming holidays in comfort and style. We are offering a special discounted weekly rate of $1600 for the entire month of December! Take advant
Email Manager Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Southwest Waterfront Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • River
Theme:
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • PC
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Hair Dryer
  • Laundry Soap
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Toilet Paper
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
  • Computer Available
  • Parking Off Street
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
Kitchen:
  • Stove
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Ice Maker
  • Stove
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Freezer
  • Oven
  • Microwave
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
  • Master Bathroom features jet body spray and skylight.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Chair
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • The master bedroom can accommodate three guests.
Entertainment:
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Radio
Outside:
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Barbecue
  • 3 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • coin laundry
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • scenic drives
  • outlet shopping
  • sight seeing
  • eco tourism
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • ATM/bank
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf privileges optional
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • cycling
  • golf
  • water skiing
  • roller blading

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Email Manager Contact Me