Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

The Smithsonian Vacation House - Walk To The Museums - Free Parking - Waterfront

Wavely Veney

Member since: 2007
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Wavely Veney

Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
April 18, 2015
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

The Smithsonian Vacation House - Walk To The Museums - Free Parking - Waterfront

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Southwest Waterfront Townhome Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedrooms, 2 Full Bathrooms, 1 Half Bathroom, Sleeps 10

Why stay at a Hotel, when your entire family can stay in the center of the District of Columbia, only blocks from the National Air & Space Museum in the DC waterfront area for Much less! Absolutely wonderful describes this house, a spacious Three-bedroom, 2 full + 1 half baths, 2-level town home located in Waterfront/SW, Washington DC’s beautiful marina district. Just walking minutes from L'Enfant Plaza mall, metro, Smithsonian, museums, and the Mall, this home is close to I-395 going to Virginia and Maryland. Walk to the Cherry Blossoms, the fireworks on the Mall, and the WWII & Vietnam memorials. Boasting a fabulous location, the Smithsonian Vacation House is on a quiet cul-de-sac with off-street parking, yet it is in walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Don't delay, book today! We look forward to servicing you.

This lovely Capitol Hill property offers the option of 2 levels featuring 3 Bedrooms with 2 1/2 Bathrooms or 3 levels featuring 4 Bedrooms with 3 1/2 Bathrooms to accommodate up to 14 guests! Contact us today for details!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
Wavely Veney (Property Manager)
Member since: 2007
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
April 18, 2015

About Wavely Veney

I live by the Golden Rule, do unto others as you would have them do unto you; taught to me by my beautiful Mother May. She passed her entrepreneurial spirit on to me from a very early age and I learned that behind every successful person is a team of family and friends providing unconditional support. That team makes me who I am today, a successful and genuine African-American Man.

Why Wavely Veney chose Southwest Waterfront

I learned of this property a few years ago from a friend and fell in love with the vision to renovate this home to the beauty it should be. Such an exquisite area deserves a beautiful home to enhance the eclectic area that is the Beachfront Marina.

What makes this townhome unique

My favorite part of this home is the welcoming courtyard that leads you to a splendid balcony where you will feel the need to stop, turn around, and breathe in the view.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4
based on 41 traveler reviews

Write a Review
The Smithsonian Vacation House - Walk To The Museums - Free Parking - Waterfront
average rating of 4.0 based on 41 reviews
Green Lane, PA
5

Our Stay at the Smithsonian Vacation House ~ April 6-13, 2015

  • 5 of 5

What a wonderful choice for our family vacation in DC! The house is in a spot that allows easy walking to the Smithsonian museums, Waterfront Metro and a well-stocked Safeway grocery store (which was great for picking up stuff for supper on the way home each day)!

There's also an athletic field next door for our grandchildren to play kickball, and an elementary school playground around the corner.

The neighborhood has a safe feel, and we walked the area confidently with our family of 12 (including 4 grandchildren from 6-13 yrs old). Being able to add the use of the downstairs apartment for the nights we had 12 instead of 10 people made it a perfect way to expand.

The house itself is spacious and nicely appointed, with a well-equipped kitchen and lots of non-perishable staples left by previous guests who continue to "pay it forward". We took turns in the Jacuzzi tub after walking miles each day, and saved bundles by eating breakfast and dinner in our "home".

Waverly was an excellent host, very responsive before and during our stay, bringing a brand new gas grill and supplying other small items we needed, as well answering our numerous questions with patience :)

We strongly encourage you to stay here and enjoy the delightful combination of location and amenities!

  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank You for staying at the Smithsonian Vacation House! It was a pleasure hosting you! Wavely Veney 202-294-8565
3

So-So Stay

  • 3 of 5

My family and I booked a trip to DC and this place suited our needs. Very close to the metro/grocery store, walking distance to the National Mall and parking was included for our rental car.

The downsides were that, I felt that I had to stay on top of the Property Manager to get any information on check in, location of the rental, etc. Only received that information after I asked for it. It wasn't proactive, which was annoying.

Also there was no hot water for the first two days. Property Manager had to get the city out to fix, so we didn't get hot water until almost a full 48 hours after we checked in. Property Manager was willing to make arrangements for us to shower at a hotel, but had I purchased the Extra Insurance (only purchased the Property Insurance), I would have demanded my money back. Not having hot water was an issue I'd rather not have dealt with while on vacation.

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: My apologies to the Guest regarding the quality of there stay. SW waterfront is currently undergoing construction and the water was temporarily out and is not a result of our quality of service . Please contact me regarding a refund or a free nights stay in the near future. Wavely Veney 202-294-8565
4

WHAT A NICE EXPERIENCE

  • 4 of 5

THE HOUSE WAS VERY GOOD LOCATED, NEAR LOTS OF POINTS OF INTEREST AND OTHER FACILITIES, LIJKE RESTAURANTS, SUPERMARKETS, ETC.

THE PROPERTY WAS FINE, THE BACK YARD NOS O CLEAN, THE BBQ NEEDED MAINTENANCE. BESIDES THIS, ALL WAS VERY GOOD.

I WOULD RECOMMEND IT.

  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
5

Great Place to stay and Happy visit

  • 5 of 5

The Smithsonian Vacation House was a perfect location for seeing the National Mall and sights, in addition to being close to two metro stations. L'Enfant Plaza station additionally has regular bus services to Dulles, so airport access to both airports is within an easy walk. Grocery store and drug store close by so the location was very convenient for my large extended family. The property manager was an excellent host and was always available on cell phone. He was very accommodating and helpful to our large family, half of whom had to leave a couple days early. House could be cleaner, but this is a minor concern. Kitchen was very clean and we used it a lot. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
4

Excellent Location

  • 4 of 5

Location is excellent whether wanting to walk, drive or ride the Metro. Was disappointed that the grill didn't work & several things needed some attention; however, Wavely said he would send the plumber and another grill at 8 a.m. next day but we declined as the grill moment of July 4th had passed. He was easy to get in touch with during our stay. Still a month later we are waiting for return of our deposit which should be sent since many things needed fixing before we arrived. Overall, it was a good place for our family of 7.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I wish to thank you all for your feedback. We are striving for perfection and take your feedback seriously. As of today, August 6, 2014. Security deposits are no longer required!!
5

Great location and comfortable sleeping!

  • 5 of 5

We had 8 family members (including 3 children) in our group and we had plenty of room in the house to sleep and plenty of bathrooms to use. We walked everywhere on the mall and used the Metro to travel to Arlington and to the Nationals baseball stadium. We had two cars. One we parked in the reserved spot and one in front of the house. The owner delivered our parking pass so we could park on the street. Wavely (the owner) said that he was available 24/7 to answer our questions and we found that to be very true. We called him to ask for directions many times and he answered all of our calls and gave us several options for directions. We called him when we arrived at the house, and he gave us the lock box code for the key. We thought the house was perfect for us and enjoyed our visit to Washington, DC.

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway

Map

Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Ronald Reagan Airport
Nearest Train
0.5 Miles
L'enfant Metro
Car: not necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $350 Per night

Southwest Waterfront Townhome Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring/Summer
Mar 24 2015 - Sep 22 2015
2 night minimum stay
$350
$2,400
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning $175 + Tax
Tax Rate 7.0%
Notes 275
The Following Holidays are observed and specials rates are applicableThanksgiving, Christmas, Memorial, Cherry Blossom, 4th July, Memorial, Presidents, Veterans, MLK
Come experience our beautiful Nation's Capital from a luxurious perspective! Enjoy the upcoming holidays in comfort and style. We are offering a special discounted weekly rate of $1600 for the entire month of December! Take advant

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Southwest Waterfront Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • River
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Laundry Soap
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • PC
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
  • Master Bathroom features jet body spray and skylight.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Chair
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • The master bedroom can accommodate three guests.
Entertainment:
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • 3 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • eco tourism
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • roller blading
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote