PEACEFUL LAKE COTTAGE LOCATED ON QUIET COVE CONVENIENT TO I-85

Owner

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Contact the Owner

Owner

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

PEACEFUL LAKE COTTAGE LOCATED ON QUIET COVE CONVENIENT TO I-85

Lavonia House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 9)

Convenient to Interstate 85,and first lake exit from Atlanta. This cozy cottage is located on Lake Hartwell on a quiet cove. We are 1 mile from Tugaloo State Park(tennis, beach area, putt-putt and nature trails) in a family oriented neighborhood. The house offers 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. The beds include a king on the main floor master, 1 queen and 1 double bed in the second bedroom downstairs, and 1 queen and twin in the third bedroom also downstairs. The third bedroom can also be used as a secondary living area. There is a large screened-in porch to take in the lake views as well as a patio below. Neighborhood has paved streets.

We have a large covered boat dock so bring your boat! There are 2 Public boat ramps. One is 1 mile and the other is 3 miles away by land .It is 4 miles by water to Harbor Light Marina. Swimming and fishing are a must and then sit and enjoy the serenity of the lake as the sun goes down. We have 200 feet of water frontage with a gentle slope so kids and pets have plenty of space to play.

Shopping is only 20 minutes away at Tanger Outlets in Commerce, GA or you can enjoy a football game at Clemson University which is 30 minutes away.

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Events Allowed
This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2009
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.4
based on 10 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Peaceful Lake Cottage Located on Quiet Cove Convenient to I-85
average rating of 4.4 based on 10 reviews
business
Peaceful Lake Cottage Located on Quiet Cove Convenient to I-85
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258525vb
(864) 230-2627 (South Carolina, USA)
Lavonia North Georgia Mountains
Royston, GA
5

GREAT FOR FAMILY WITH TEENS

  • 5 of 5
My wife and I rented this cabin for a long weekend. We had three Teens and two preteens and there was plenty of room! The cabin was clean and well kept Mr. Pace had his boat to the outside of the slip and I had the covered slip for my boat. I have rented several places on different lakes and have never had an owner give up his slip for the renter. The Paces are great to deal with and answer all emails and phone calls promptly. The beds were comfortable and we really enjoyed having 4 televisions. I wouldn't hesitate to rent this home again. Thanks for sharing your lake house! The Hodges Family
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 0014
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Peaceful Lake Cottage Located on Quiet Cove Convenient to I-85
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258525vb
(864) 230-2627 (South Carolina, USA)
Lavonia North Georgia Mountains
Alto, GA
5

LARGE FAMILY HAD A GREAT TIME!

  • 5 of 5
We are a large family with many kids ranging from 3 to 21 and we thoroughly enjoyed our time at this lake house over the week of 4th of July, 2013. The master bedroom was huge and spacious with a nice private bathroom. The living area and kitchen were open so we could cook, play games and grandpa still watch his TV and all be together. The downstairs was a perfect space for all the kids and included two areas so the girls could be in one and the boys in the other along with a bathroom. The cabin was very clean and had everything we needed and bugs were not a problem at all in the house or on the porch (reference to previous review). We always take big pots/pans when we travel or camp because we are such a large family but we really did not even need them because the kitchen was so well stocked. The best part of the whole place was the huge screened in front porch with a picnic table and plenty of chairs for us to enjoy the night air, the rain and the sound of the tree frogs along with board games and cards. The driveway was steep but our vehicles had no problem getting up and down. The walk to the dock was wonderful through beautiful trees and even though there were neighbors (nice homes also) the trees were a great buffer. Back to the porch - my husband and I even chose to sleep out there a few nights and it could not have been any nicer with the ceiling fans going. We got a lot of rain that week but the porch stayed dry and hearing it at night was just as I remembered growing up at my parents lake house. We also took our boat and felt it was very safe at the dock. The cove was peaceful and we felt safe to let the kids use the kayaks to paddle across the lake and have team races and diving contests (lots of water). The bigger part of the lake was great for tubing and cruising. Tugalo State Park and boat ramp were very convenient.

We had one issue to face due to the mass amounts of rain. The dock shifted and caused the walkway to need repair. The owners responded immediately. It did not slow us down at all and we still had access to the dock.

We would recommend this house/cabin to other families with children or just adults. OH! My father was with us and he is 79 years old. He needed a little help getting into the cabin with the steps but he would have needed help with any steps and he had no issues manuevering the house and facilities.

We hope to visit again next year! The price is right and it is just waiting for more fun!
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Peaceful Lake Cottage Located on Quiet Cove Convenient to I-85
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258525vb
(864) 230-2627 (South Carolina, USA)
Lavonia North Georgia Mountains
Alto, GA
5

LARGE FAMILY HAD A GREAT TIME!

  • 5 of 5
We are a large family with many kids ranging from 3 to 21 and we thoroughly enjoyed our time at this lake house over the week of 4th of July, 2013. The master bedroom was huge and spacious with a nice private bathroom. The living area and kitchen were open so we could cook, play games and grandpa still watch his TV and all be together. The downstairs was a perfect space for all the kids and included two areas so the girls could be in one and the boys in the other along with a bathroom. The cabin was very clean and had everything we needed and bugs were not a problem at all in the house or on the porch (reference to previous review). We always take big pots/pans when we travel or camp because we are such a large family but we really did not even need them because the kitchen was so well stocked. The best part of the whole place was the huge screened in front porch with a picnic table and plenty of chairs for us to enjoy the night air, the rain and the sound of the tree frogs along with board games and cards. The driveway was steep but our vehicles had no problem getting up and down. The walk to the dock was wonderful through beautiful trees and even though there were neighbors (nice homes also) the trees were a great buffer. Back to the porch - my husband and I even chose to sleep out there a few nights and it could not have been any nicer with the ceiling fans going. We got a lot of rain that week but the porch stayed dry and hearing it at night was just as I remembered growing up at my parents lake house. We also took our boat and felt it was very safe at the dock. The cove was peaceful and we felt safe to let the kids use the kayaks to paddle across the lake and have team races and diving contests (lots of water). The bigger part of the lake was great for tubing and cruising. Tugalo State Park and boat ramp were very convenient.

We had one issue to face due to the mass amounts of rain. The dock shifted and caused the walkway to need repair. The owners responded immediately. It did not slow us down at all and we still had access to the dock.

We would recommend this house/cabin to other families with children or just adults. OH! My father was with us and he is 79 years old. He needed a little help getting into the cabin with the steps but he would have needed help with any steps and he had no issues manuevering the house and facilities.

We hope to visit again next year! The price is right and it is just waiting for more fun!
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Peaceful Lake Cottage Located on Quiet Cove Convenient to I-85
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258525vb
(864) 230-2627 (South Carolina, USA)
Lavonia North Georgia Mountains
2

VERY 'BUGGY' VERY STEEP AND VERY OVERPRICED!

Very 'Buggy' Very Steep and Very Overpriced!
  • 2 of 5
I spent 2 weeks in this cottage and so I think I have a pretty good feel for it. First of all, the photos do not show you the steepness of the grade of the driveway. The path to the dock isn't steep, but long and there are cracks in the paved areas where you could trip. You enter by the first floor (remember, if you want to lock the house you will have to repeat this daily). where it is more like an underground bunker than a nice room (this is where the washer/dryer are located). Personally, I would feel claustrophobic in the downstairs, but that is just me. You have to walk up a flight of steep stairs (it has a railing) and then the living area is as pictured (open). Now, to get to your car, you would have to walk outside, up steps, and god forbid you take the trash out...about a 10% grade awaits you! I would NOT recommend this for anyone who is not fit, period. The house was full of bugs: different types of cockroaches, spiders, no matter what I did, they would appear. I kept my clothes in my suitcases the 2 weeks because the cockroaches were in the dressers. I told the owners (after I left) that I would recommend a good professional pest control company. The appliances are old and bottom of the line (not even a timer on the oven!). The place is so packed with 'stuff' it is ridiculous. There is no place to put your things! When I opened the one small closet in the bedroom there were 2 vacuum cleaners, and a stack of 'stuff' piled to the side of the closet and a (?) ski glove fell on the floor! ditto the kitchen, and I won't get into the health/safety considerations of leaving condiments in the refrigerator. The dock area can be noisy (sound travels over water!) even if you don't see anyone , crying children, barking dogs, etc. are annoying. As far as 'relaxing'...my first day was a nightmare...gas people, telephone people, and to top it off, some strange man showed up to ask if he could borrow my hose around 6:30 p.m.!! I also read about recent crime (hold ups in peoples homes) in the Gumlog area, and didn't feel particularly safe. The house/cabin is really a pre-fab unit, no view, not dirty, but not clean, not noisy but not quiet, difficult to get in/out of (both in your car/by foot)...no, it was overpriced for what it was and although the owners seem nice and did everything they could to fix things, I would not 'not' recommend it, but certainly would not highly praise it. (I also don't like the fact it had a FOR
SALE sign in the front yard
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: As the owners we don't feel we need to respond to each comment. We just hope that future renters will read all of the reviews and not just this one. We will add more pictures to the VRBO website to give as accurate as possible the picture of our lake house.

The house is sprayed twice a month because of the large amount of rain we have been having. Once by a pest control company and once by me.

Lastly, we would have appreciated knowing during her 2 week stay that she was that unhappy. We would have worked with her to fix the problems.
business
Peaceful Lake Cottage Located on Quiet Cove Convenient to I-85
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258525vb
(864) 230-2627 (South Carolina, USA)
Lavonia North Georgia Mountains
Winston Salem NC
5

IF YOU WANT TO RELAX THIS PLACE IS IT

  • 5 of 5
This was a very RELAXING!!! It was well equipt, beds were comfortable,very clean.We sat on the screened in porch in the mornings drinking our coffee and watched as the deers walked around. The dock was fun also as we swam off of it.The owner was very helpful and gave us a name of a boat marina where we had rented a pontoon boat. the people there were very nice. We will recommend this place to everyone and you wont regret it, as we will be re renting this place again.Its peaceful, relaxing, clean, quiet. Alot of room, I can go on about this place but youll have to experience yourself words cant discribe how NICE it was!!!!!!
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Peaceful Lake Cottage Located on Quiet Cove Convenient to I-85
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258525vb
(864) 230-2627 (South Carolina, USA)
Lavonia North Georgia Mountains
Winston Salem NC
5

JOHN & DORA

John & Dora
  • 5 of 5
This was a clean and well equipt cottage. If you want quiet and relaxing place this is it !! Beds were comfortable. Sat on screened in porch while drinking our coffee and watch as 2 does walk threw the woods. The owner was very helpful and gave us names of marinas near by in which we rented a pontoon boat. When we go on vacation again we will not hesitate in staying here again !!!
  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Email

Map

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Lavonia House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$165
$990
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $80 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 10.0%
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Lavonia House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Living Room
  • Internet
  • Heating
  • Towels Provided
  • Parking
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Washing Machine
  • Air Conditioning
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Wireless Internet
  • Linens Provided
Kitchen:
  • Stove
  • Dishwasher
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Oven
  • Microwave
  • Kitchen ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Refrigerator
  • Ice Maker
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Dining
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • DVD Player
  • Books
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Deck / Patio ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Events Allowed
Attractions:
  • restaurants
  • cinemas
  • churches
  • playground
  • winery tours
  • marina
  • health/beauty spa
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • horseshoes
  • bird watching
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
  • shopping
  • miniature golf
  • boating
  • antiquing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • mountain biking
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • kayaking
  • skiing
  • cycling
  • tennis
  • hiking
  • fishing
  • hunting
  • rafting
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Tugalo Park is 1 mile away and they have free minature golf, horseshoes, volly ball, geo caching, beach area, hicking, kayak and canoe rental.
Email Owner Email

Other Vacation Properties

$225 per night
2 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$800 - $1,300 per week
3 - 5 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
  • 7 BR,
  • 7 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 22